Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greens are gone - Election imminent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Eh, hello? People of Ireland?

Do you honestly think that people in Ireland at this stage shouldn’t be causing as much havoc as possible in order to get this government out of office? A government, contrary to the propaganda they fed you, do not have the true mandate of the people. I mean come on guys if this was France, Greece or even Britain then there would be more than a dozen overturned or burning cars dotted around the city centre before the Green Party ever announced their potential intentions this afternoon. The sovereignty of this country is being ripped to shreds yet a majority of the public are content enough to sit down with a nice cup-a-tea on the sofa watching mind ‘mushing’ entertainment like the X-Factor. And lone behold, what do we have on boards.ie tonight but a cohort of politically correct restrictive individuals who only learn until the last minute, the very last second that their prior attitudes were in vain. You know what I say to those people; TYPICALLY IRISH! Yes, I despair to call myself an Irishman in these present times. And don’t, just don’t try to say that my comments are a pile of melodramatic cobble wash, they aren’t. You, yes you, the people of Ireland decided back in 2007 to vote for Fianna Fáil again even though there was mammoth of evidence and even tribunals held in which treachery of builder, T.D.’s, cabinet ministers and even a Taoiseach all associated with that party that who’s very name lies vile on the tongues of many. All I can say is shame; shame that you didn’t have the heignsight to recognise the true face of your oppressor, shame that you didn’t act sooner and shame that you let it come to this. The very least you could all do at this stage is force the government, through whatever means possible, to call an election in the next month, not in January, NEXT MONTH!

Call me an extremist republican, a ‘Sinn Féiner’, a ‘militant socialist’, a ‘troll’, no, I am deadly serious. Ban me and delete this post if you want for inciting hatred or violence but you will finally see when the cloud has fallen from your eyes when it could not get any deeper, that you should have acted. This is the eleventh hour, this is the moment that will decide the future of your children and your children’s children. What do you want them to say when they look back on the legacy of this generation; cowards, fools, begrudgers, layabouts, or even traitors? I certainly don’t want to be viewed in such a lightBut all the above is just words to you, mere words, not really reality, is it? I have to spell it out to you;

There is a budget on the way very soon before January. January is too late to call an election the damage would have already been done. Fianna Fáil doesn’t have the competence or the initiative anymore to help the people of Ireland. The minute they decided to favour the builders, the bankers and their friends before the Irish people they had lost the competence, will and initiative to care about the electorate. They view us only as mere toys to play games with from time to time for their own selfish gain. Would you allow someone who betrayed you to decide your future? Frankly you’d be a fool in my eyes if you did. And call me a diehard but I’m not the only one with these views, I am not a mere keyboard warrior. Act now or face the consequences!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

Tell me how you really feel :P

Ok, lets have a look at our options of the leader of the new Government, Kenny or Gilmore.

Now do you see where I am coming from?

To be honest, it is not the leader of a party you should be focusing on IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Do you honestly think that people in Ireland at this stage shouldn’t be causing as much havoc as possible in order to get this government out of office? A government, contrary to the propaganda they fed you, do not have the true mandate of the people. I mean come on guys if this was France, Greece or even Britain then there would be more than a dozen overturned or burning cars dotted around the city centre before the Green Party ever announced their potential intentions this afternoon. The sovereignty of this country is being ripped to shreds yet a majority of the public are content enough to sit down with a nice cup-a-tea on the sofa watching mind ‘mushing’ entertainment like the X-Factor. And lone behold, what do we have on boards.ie tonight but a cohort of politically correct restrictive individuals who only learn until the last minute, the very last second that their prior attitudes were in vain. You know what I say to those people; TYPICALLY IRISH! Yes, I despair to call myself an Irishman in these present times. And don’t, just don’t try to say that my comments are a pile of melodramatic cobble wash, they aren’t. You, yes you, the people of Ireland decided back in 2007 to vote for Fianna Fáil again even though there was mammoth of evidence and even tribunals held in which treachery of builder, T.D.’s, cabinet ministers and even a Taoiseach all associated with that party that who’s very name lies vile on the tongues of many. All I can say is shame; shame that you didn’t have the heignsight to recognise the true face of your oppressor, shame that you didn’t act sooner and shame that you let it come to this. The very least you could all do at this stage is force the government, through whatever means possible, to call an election in the next month, not in January, NEXT MONTH! Call me an extremist republican, a ‘Sinn Féiner’, a ‘militant socialist’, a ‘troll’, no, I am deadly serious. Ban me and delete this post if you want for inciting hatred or violence but you will finally see when the cloud has fallen from your eyes when it could not get any deeper, that you should have acted. This is the eleventh hour, this is the moment that will decide the future of your children and your children’s children. What do you want them to say when they look back on the legacy of this generation; cowards, fools, begrudgers, layabouts, or even traitors? I certainly don’t want to be viewed in such a light.
    But all the above is just words to you, mere words, not really reality, is it? I have to spell it out to you;
    There is a budget on the way very soon before January. January is too late to call an election the damage would have already been done. Fianna Fáil doesn’t have the competence or the initiative anymore to help the people of Ireland. The minute they decided to favour the builders, the bankers and their friends before the Irish people they had lost the competence, will and initiative to care about the electorate. They view us only as mere toys to play games with from time to time for their own selfish gain. Would you allow someone who betrayed you to decide your future? Frankly you’d be a fool in my eyes if you did.
    And call me a diehard but I’m not the only one with these views, I am not a mere keyboard warrior.
    Act now or face the consequences!!

OMG guyz - read dis post ^^ ppl that post in big letters talk big sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Whats Brian Dobsons problem? If he was that rough on FF TDs and ministers we'd be a lot better off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Nope I don't at all. I would be happy to see either of those (preferably Gilmore) as taoiseach instead of Cowen or Lenihan or whoever else FF puts forward. How can you possibly say the three are equal? Do you even know the differences between their policies on the bank bailout and guarantees? They are massively different.

Now you are talking silliness. They are as incompetent as each other, they were all leading politicians while the country was brought to it's knees. There are a couple of interesting threads around on Gilmore and the crap he was spouting, as early as '07. If ever a politician was made for the opposition, it is him.

And yes, I am aware of their policies. Mandates are great, we need smart charismatic leaders to implement them, and engage with the people

We have none, none, none, none.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Eh, hello?

Reduce the print and insert paragraphs for gods sake man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

They definitely are and I believe that in the next election we will see a huge increase in FF 'gene pool' independents. ex-FF supporters cannot bring themselves to vote for FG or Lab and will choose one of these independents who will gladly join FF in a coalition if asked and may indeed be co-opted back into the party by the end of the next government's term. Anyone voting independent should be very careful about finding out where that candidate has stood in the past and with who.

Case in point Beverly Pooper-Scooper Flynn:mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Was just going to post about gormless. He is going round in circles, spouting absolute schíte !

I'm more disappointed with the RTE angle again....emotional language. Things being said like "FF feel stabbed in the back", "a question of trust". :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Nope I don't at all. I would be happy to see either of those (preferably Gilmore) as taoiseach instead of Cowen or Lenihan or whoever else FF puts forward. How can you possibly say the three are equal? Do you even know the differences between their policies on the bank bailout and guarantees? They are massively different.

If so then I'm entitled to my opinion too.

yes of course but if everyone agreed on politics it would be very boring. The important thing is to vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

omahaid wrote: »
    Whats Brian Dobsons problem? If he was that rough on FF TDs and ministers we'd be a lot better off

Yeah - just watching him now on the news - bizarre. I'm not really a greeny but jaysus - its hardly balanced reporting........................

Brian Cowen to make statement at 7PM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭Degag

I have to say it was interesting listening to the News at One today, Pat Rabbitte seemed like he was sh1tting bricks at the thought of Labour actually having to put something constructive into the upcoming budget, all those criticisms and soundbytes that they have been carefully preparing for the aftermath of the government's budget potentially just went up in smoke with today's developments. He did not seem a happy camper at all.

Yes, he can talk the talk but i always wondered if he could walk the walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Cowen making statement at 7pm. Deja vu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Taoiseach to make a statement at 7pm. Source RTÉ.

I eat my words, government over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

Brian Clowan to make an announcement at 7pm, wonder what it is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭jcrowbar

Cowen is to make an announcement at 7pm. Hopefully RTE won't **** that up too!

Cowen to give a statement in half an hour - Six One staying on air

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Bye Brian!! :)

Do you honestly think that people in Ireland at this stage shouldn’t be causing as much havoc as possible in order to get this government out of office? A government, contrary to the propaganda they fed you, do not have the true mandate of the people. I mean come on guys if this was France, Greece or even Britain then there would be more than a dozen overturned or burning cars dotted around the city centre before the Green Party ever announced their potential intentions this afternoon. The sovereignty of this country is being ripped to shreds yet a majority of the public are content enough to sit down with a nice cup-a-tea on the sofa watching mind ‘mushing’ entertainment like the X-Factor. And lone behold, what do we have on boards.ie tonight but a cohort of politically correct restrictive individuals who only learn until the last minute, the very last second that their prior attitudes were in vain. You know what I say to those people; TYPICALLY IRISH! Yes, I despair to call myself an Irishman in these present times. And don’t, just don’t try to say that my comments are a pile of melodramatic cobble wash, they aren’t. You, yes you, the people of Ireland decided back in 2007 to vote for Fianna Fáil again even though there was mammoth of evidence and even tribunals held in which treachery of builder, T.D.’s, cabinet ministers and even a Taoiseach all associated with that party that who’s very name lies vile on the tongues of many. All I can say is shame; shame that you didn’t have the heignsight to recognise the true face of your oppressor, shame that you didn’t act sooner and shame that you let it come to this. The very least you could all do at this stage is force the government, through whatever means possible, to call an election in the next month, not in January, NEXT MONTH! Call me an extremist republican, a ‘Sinn Féiner’, a ‘militant socialist’, a ‘troll’, no, I am deadly serious. Ban me and delete this post if you want for inciting hatred or violence but you will finally see when the cloud has fallen from your eyes when it could not get any deeper, that you should have acted. This is the eleventh hour, this is the moment that will decide the future of your children and your children’s children. What do you want them to say when they look back on the legacy of this generation; cowards, fools, begrudgers, layabouts, or even traitors? I certainly don’t want to be viewed in such a light.
    But all the above is just words to you, mere words, not really reality, is it? I have to spell it out to you;
    There is a budget on the way very soon before January. January is too late to call an election the damage would have already been done. Fianna Fáil doesn’t have the competence or the initiative anymore to help the people of Ireland. The minute they decided to favour the builders, the bankers and their friends before the Irish people they had lost the competence, will and initiative to care about the electorate. They view us only as mere toys to play games with from time to time for their own selfish gain. Would you allow someone who betrayed you to decide your future? Frankly you’d be a fool in my eyes if you did.
    And call me a diehard but I’m not the only one with these views, I am not a mere keyboard warrior.
    Act now or face the consequences!!

You've failed, because i'm not reading that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Just reported on TodayFM that Cowen is to make a statement at 7pm.

What I want to know is where are Fine Gael today? I've heard nothing from them. Any chance they're negotiating with FF to support the budget?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

jcrowbar wrote: »
    Cowen is to make an announcement at 7pm. Hopefully RTE won't **** that up too!

I'll probally watch it on sky incase.

The Frontline is going to be right fun tonight!
    Expect the beating of chests and all trying to get their sound-bytes in for the upcoming election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭take everything

I can't believe this tbh.
    Gormley is trying to out-Fianna Fail Fianna Fail.
    Again, self-preservation at all costs.
    But they seemed to have fcuked up the timing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Brian Cowen to make statement at 7PM

sdonn wrote: »
    Taoiseach to make a statement at 7pm. Source RTÉ.

I'd say that will be the fat lady singing then ....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Anyone see the possible parting shot that sums up FF in Government ?

Stuck in between reports about how the government could even be gone by this evening is the report about how people in Donegal were currently voting in their by-election.....a vote which will be binned within between 24hrs and 2 months!

FF wasting our money for the last time ?

Knowing him, it'll be a 'we are where we are and I'm not to blame' speech and much licking of lips

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Brian Cowan will probably make a non-statement at 19:00.

omahaid wrote: »
    To be fair, anytime i've seen him interviewing politicians, i haven't seen any bias. He seems to ask him questions they don't want to hear or answer. Fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

peasant wrote: »
    I'd say that will be the fat lady singing then ....:D

Harney's going to be at the press conference ? ;)

EDIT : Damn you, Biggins, with your high moral ground.....making me look bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Degag wrote: »
    You've failed, because i'm not reading that.

I edited the post, I was using Word to write it up (which is set to 12 by default on my PC) then I copy and pasted it. I think that's why it got so big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Now you are talking silliness. They are as incompetent as each other, they were all leading politicians while the country was brought to it's knees. There are a couple of interesting threads around on Gilmore and the crap he was spouting, as early as '07. If ever a politician was made for the opposition, it is him.

And yes, I am aware of their policies. Mandates are great, we need smart charismatic leaders to implement them, and engage with the people

We have none, none, none, none.

I'm talking silliness? You're the one spouting meaningless phrases. Compare NAMA, the FG Good bank/Bad bank strategy, and Nationalisation, and come back to me when you can tell me the differences between the three policies. At the minute you're simply shoving your fingers in your ears and deciding that they are all the same because you want them to be, you want to not have to make a choice. What proof do you provide to show they are all the same? More of your own personal opinion; fair, balanced and well researched of course.

Buceph wrote: »
    What I want to know is where are Fine Gael today? I've heard nothing from them. Any chance they're negotiating with FF to support the budget?

Enda Kenny was briefly on 6.01. Looking for election straight away - surprise surprise.

Gilmore on now saying Cowen should take the trip to the park now.

All very predictable.

I can't decide who is worse. Kenny or Gilmore. They both come across about as authoritative as Sharon Ni Bheolains gee.

To be fair, anytime i've seen him interviewing politicians, i haven't seen any bias. He seems to ask him questions they don't want to hear or answer. Fair play to him.

Dobson shot his bolt and reputation years ago with his Bertie interview.

Plus he's in a position whereby he interviews people on the national broadcasters evening news that he's coached in media management - only in Ireland.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Anyone see the possible parting shot that sums up FF in Government ?

Stuck in between reports about how the government could even be gone by this evening is the report about how people in Donegal were currently voting in their by-election.....a vote which will be binned within between 24hrs and 2 months!

FF wasting our money for the last time ?

The by-election is a big part of what's forced them into this corner; if they go tonight it will be the best money FF ever wasted.

I can't decide who is worse. Kenny or Gilmore. They both come across about as authoritative as Sharon Ni Bheolains gee.

That's what i'm thinking. Cowen out and one of them in. It doesn't fill you with great hope does it?

gambiaman wrote: »
    Dobson shot his bolt and reputation years ago with his Bertie interview.

Plus he's in a position whereby he interviews people on the national broadcasters evening news that he's coached in media management - only in Ireland.

Have a listen to the drivel on Sky News. That's Media Management.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Ladies and Gentlemen, with a bit of luck we will tonight witness the last ever Fianna Fail Taoiseach announce his resignation and we will be rid, once and for all, of this polluted and corrupt party which has destroyed our nation.

Either that or else will elect them back with a comfortable majority in a couple of years time....actually yeah, probably this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Obviously a GE wouldn't affect the negotiations with the IMF, when our Taoiseach is in siege mode in government buildings, hosting party meetings, our Finance Minister is at some ceremony at an IT and the leader of the junior party is calling a press conference!

The negotiations will carry on with the senior civil servants during the campaign.

The sports presenter must be pretty bored at this stage!

I'd keep her entertained ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Listening to the average schmo on the street being interviewed by RTE, it's enough to make you cringe in embarassment.

Drum roll please....

• Registered Users Posts: 343 ✭✭Gigiwagga

Buceph wrote: »
    I thought he was brilliant. Showed restraint and kept the scumbags back. Remember, any other country in the world and armed police would have shot the lot.

The shinners are making things worse. What the country needs now is to show it's politically stable. An election with a clean hand over of government would do exactly that. Idiots storming the Oireachteas buildings just make us look like Greece.

But Ireland isn't politically stable by a long shot. Do you mean give the 'impression' to outsiders that Ireland is stable, when most outsiders know full well it's a basket case, as is much of Europe. The wheels are off the cart folks, face it. Time to grease those buttocks up some.

Maybe we should have next years Paddys Day Parade early, like next week, sure the foreigners love that, they'll think everything is grand then.

Damn those Shinners so....uncouth.

Jesus, that is some amount of media scrambling outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I'm talking silliness? You're the one spouting meaningless phrases. Compare NAMA, the FG Good bank/Bad bank strategy, and Nationalisation, and come back to me when you can tell me the differences between the three policies. At the minute you're simply shoving your fingers in your ears and deciding that they are all the same because you want them to be, you want to not have to make a choice. What proof do you provide to show they are all the same? More of your own personal opinion; fair, balanced and well researched of course.

Maybe try and get your emotions under control and read what people write.

You repeat the word "same" over and over again. Why?.

What I actually said was, no leading politician in this country has any creditability.And mandates or not, none of them inspire confendence in me or for most people.

Expect sky news and BBC to be watching this live maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Gigiwagga wrote: »
    But Ireland isn't politically stable by a long shot. Do you mean give the 'impression' to outsiders that Ireland is stable, when most outsiders know full well it's a basket case, as is much of Europe. The wheels are off the cart folks, face it. Time to grease those buttocks up some.

By politically stable I mean that the government is allowed to govern, elections are fairly held, and non-extreme parties are in charge, and any handover of government is without problems.

Sinn Fein are economically quite extreme. The influence they will have is a worry to business.

Fcuk! Rte political commentator says it will be the same old sh!te - tough times, challenge, important decisions, I've a job to do. :mad:

Maybe try and get your emotions under control and read what people write.

You repeat the word "same" over and over again. Why?.

What I actually said was, no leading politician in this country has any creditability.And mandates or not, none of them inspire confendence in me or for most people.

Well 'for most people' is patently wrong going by the opinion polls. You haven't produced a single shred of evidence to show why Kenny and Gilmore have no credibility.

SeaFields wrote: »
    Fcuk! Rte political commentator says it will be the same old sh!te - tough times, challenge, important decisions, I've a job to do. :mad:
    Yea... schite. My hopes were so high till he said that.
    It will be the usual crap and spin then. :(