Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rocky Road to Dublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Ok. Well done on your race. Racing when feeling crap isnt a good idea. See you at Dublin full hopefully

In fairness it was only my legs that felt crap so I knew I was safe enough. good luck with the rest of your training as well. Hope the ankle clears up quickly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Well done for toughing it out P. Sounds similar to how I felt in the national half, feel your pain. Just one of those things. Hope you're feeling better.
    Mr Slow wrote: »
    Well done on digging in and finishing P but you shouldn't race when feeling like that, there's nothing surer to prolong any illness. Mind yourself!

Pot. Kettle. Yellow. :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

I'm speaking from painful experience :cool:

Well done for toughing it out P. Sounds similar to how I felt in the national half, feel your pain. Just one of those things. Hope you're feeling better.

Looking back I think it might have been more tiredness than anything else rather than anything sickness related. Felt fine running yesterday morning. No harm in having to dig in and work hard anyway.

Well done on digging in and finishing P but you shouldn't race when feeling like that, there's nothing surer to prolong any illness. Mind yourself!

Thanks C. I stopped feeling sorry for myself when I saw you on the sidelines :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Well done P, great run on sore feet. :eek:
    (can't believe I missed Downton Abbey :()

• Registered Users Posts: 12,851 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

pistol_75 wrote: »
    In fairness it was only my legs that felt crap so I knew I was safe enough. good luck with the rest of your training as well. Hope the ankle clears up quickly.

Going to try a run tonight and see how it goes. For some reason the right knee is kicking up but i think its mind games.

Never felt so tired over the last few days since i cant run!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

Well done P. Fab time for someone who wasnt feeling top class!

Monday

6.89 miles in 1:03:08

Avg Pace 9:10
    Avg HR 211 (anyone see spikes like this with new battery?)

Nice run this evening with a few hills and appearances from rats out of ditches. Met a club mate for part of it and pace slowed a bit. No harm in that I suppose. Heading to Germany early Wed morning till Friday night but should get a run in on Thursday evening.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|77.58
    Total|881.69

• Registered Users Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Good going on Saturday P. Well done for sticking at it when it was easier to quit. Mind the body.

Tuesday

6.26 miles in 54:31

Avg Pace 8:42
    Avg HR 198??

Run with the club this evening.ost people recovering from weekend. Pace picked up a good bit for last couple of miles finishing strong. Now for a 4:30 alarm call :-(

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|83.84
    Total|887.95

Thursday

6.5 miles
    Avg Pace 10.11
    Avg HR 215

Travelled to Germany on Wed for 3 days work stuff. Got out on Thurs eve and clocked up a few miles with work colleague.

Saturday

20 miles
    Avg Pace 9:20
    Avg HR 212

Wasn't looking forward to this. Left home Wed at 4:30am and got home 11pm Fri night pretty tired. Set out in afternoon with 3 others from club. Went pretty ok in the end if a bit stop start as one of the others picked up an injury. Glad to have got to 20.

Sunday

3.35 miles
    Avg Pace 9:55
    Avg HR 209

Short recovery run this evening to finish off highest mileage week for a while. Will take that with 3 days away.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|113.69
    Total|917.8

Thursday

6.5 miles
    Avg Pace 10.11
    Avg HR 215

Travelled to Germany on Wed for 3 days work stuff. Got out on Thurs eve and clocked up a few miles with work colleague.

Saturday

20 miles
    Avg Pace 9:20
    Avg HR 212

Wasn't looking forward to this. Left home Wed at 4:30am and got home 11pm Fri night pretty tired. Set out in afternoon with 3 others from club. Went pretty ok in the end if a bit stop start as one of the others picked up an injury. Glad to have got to 20.

Sunday

3.35 miles
    Avg Pace 9:55
    Avg HR 209

Short recovery run this evening to finish off highest mileage week for a while. Will take that with 3 days away.

What's your max hr?

It's an issue with the battery :) which I changed a couple of weeks ago. Thought it might have settled down after a few uses but it hasn't. Need to check it out.

Tuesday

6.4 miles
    Avg Pace 9.05

Rest day on Monday with plenty of foam rolling and finding plenty of tight spots (ouch). Club run last night few miles to warm up and the 3 quicker miles. Was a bit tied for time or would have gotten a few more miles in.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|120.09
    Total|924.2

Wednesday

10.11 miles
    Avg Pace 8.43

So I had been wearing Saucony Omni for the last month or so and they had felt fine. couple of issues in the 1/2 marathon but my long run at the weekend my feet were in tatters during and after (not a pretty picture). Back to Amphibian King yesterday evening. Most of the damage was on the inside of my foot and seemed to be caused by rubbing/friction. To cut a long story short I left with a pair of Brooks Adrenaline (slightly wider) and a different type of sock to try instead of the 1000 mile.

Headed out last night with the intention of giving them a good test. Despite skin on my feet not being healed fully there was no issue or giving out during the run. So far so good. Long run the weekend will hopefully confirm these are the runner for me.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|130.2
    Total|934.31

Wednesday

10.11 miles
    Avg Pace 8.43

So I had been wearing Saucony Omni for the last month or so and they had felt fine. couple of issues in the 1/2 marathon but my long run at the weekend my feet were in tatters during and after (not a pretty picture). Back to Amphibian King yesterday evening. Most of the damage was on the inside of my foot and seemed to be caused by rubbing/friction. To cut a long story short I left with a pair of Brooks Adrenaline (slightly wider) and a different type of sock to try instead of the 1000 mile.

Headed out last night with the intention of giving them a good test. Despite skin on my feet not being healed fully there was no issue or giving out during the run. So far so good. Long run the weekend will hopefully confirm these are the runner for me.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|130.2
    Total|934.31

I use the those brooks runners and have to say they are great. Once you move to brooks, you never go back i found out.

Should try the brooks racing flats, they are great, i be using them for dublin marathon.

I use the those brooks runners and have to say they are great. Once you move to brooks, you never go back i found out.

Should try the brooks racing flats, they are great, i be using them for dublin marathon.

So far I have to agree with you. Felt a lot easier effort wise last night and legs are in good shape today.

It's the brookes ghost I have. Try them the next time .

Thursday

5.03 miles
    Avg Pace 9.40

Recovery run this evening. Nothing exciting to report :)

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|135.23
    Total|939.34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Why would he wear a neutral shoe when he is wearing a support shoe ???
    Run in what suits you !!!

Why would he wear a neutral shoe when he is wearing a support shoe ???
    Run in what suits you !!!

forgot adrenaline were a support shoe. Since I got the orthotics I can use the ghost ones.

Saturday

20 miles
    Avg Pace 9:36

Early LSR this morning. Was brrr at the start but was grand by the end. Did it with a friend from work. Felt comfortable throughout and no problems with feet being the most important.

Think I'll do the Athlone 3/4 next weekend.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|155.23
    Total|959.34

Monday

7 miles
    Avg Pace 9:24

Easy 7 miles this evening. Signed up for Athlone 3/4 today. Also looks like I'll have to spend the week before the marathon in Germany with work. FFS

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|155.23
    October|7
    Total|966.34

Tuesday

3.06 miles w/u @ 9:44 pace

8x800m w/2min recovery @ 3:43, 3:41, 3:41, 3:41, 3:40, 3:39, 3:39, 3:16

1.46 miles w/d @ 9:40 pace

Club session last night and most of the marathon group were doing a Yasso 800 session. There was a couple of people aiming to run these at 3:45 so I joined them. Led the 2 of them around all of the reps keeping an eye on the pace as best we could in the dark. Were instructed for the last one to pick it up over the last 400 which I did.

Nice session and felt strong throughout.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|155.23
    October|15.72
    Total|975.06

Thursday

6.09 miles @ 9:48 pace

Out before work this morning. Pace slow but effort wise felt quicker. Guess its a combination of not being used to running so early and a couple of extra layers.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|155.23
    October|21.81
    Total|981.15

Thursday

4.56 miles @ 9:24 pace

Few miles with club this evening nice and handy. First time doing 2 sessions in the day as knew it was only way to get mileage in today. Went well

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|155.23
    October|26.37
    Total|985.71

Saturday

4 miles @ 9:04 pace

Few miles to loosen the legs this morning. Athlone 3/4 tomorrow.

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96
    September|155.23
    October|30.37
    Total|989.71

Sunday - Athlone 3/4 Marathon

19.66 miles in 2:52:44
    Avg Pace: 8:49 pace

Headed down to Athlone with a guy from the club and picked up Jcsmum on the way. Nice journey down and was trying to decide how to run the race. finally decided on taking the first 6 miles handy enough, run the next 10 at marathon pace/effort and then warm down for the last portion.

Set off on time and a little bit of congestion for the first few hundred metres but opened out after that. Hoped to run the first 6 miles around 9:15ish but the pace averaged around 9 minute miles.

Got to work after 6 miles and upped the pace a bit for the next 10 miles. There was a few easier miles here but also a couple of tough climbs and even the nett downhill miles tended to have lots of undulations so hard to get into a consistent pace. Pace averaged out around 8:30ish for the 10 miles. Felt like I could have continued on but remained disciplined.

Found it hard to bring the pace down for the first while and legs seemed to react to the slower pace. Serious hill that seemed to go on forever between 18 & 19 and then a nice bit of downhill to the finish. Really well run race and would recommend it to anyone in the future running Dublin.

1st 1/4 58:31
    2nd 1/4 55:24
    3rd 1/4 58:50

Month|Miles
    January|142.97
    February|106.12
    March|44.40
    April|84.88
    May|86.84
    June|110.98
    July|95.99
    August|132.96