Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mature Students survey ?

Options
  • 22-11-2010 4:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone im doing an assignment at the moment on the difficulties of going back to education as a mature student, I have a few questions below that I would appreciate if you could answer, you dont have to answer them all anything at all will be helpful. Thanks

1 What were your reasons for returning to education ?

2 What were your main concerns about returning to education ?

3 How do you get on with the younger people on your course ?

4 Do you find it hard to get back into the academic side of your course ?

5 How do you find coping with the financial side of going back to education ?

6 Do yo think the financial supports available to you are adequate and fairly distributed ?

7 Have things changed since you were last in Education ?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 28,357 ✭✭✭✭looksee

These answers relate to a course a few years ago in (age) late 40's.

1. Upskill
    2. Would I be able for it (I was)
    3. Fine, I didn't try to be a 'mammy' or take charge, and treated them with respect, they accepted me and did not make an issue of my age.
    4. No, except for the language we were obliged to study. There were no significant exams, all continuous assessment and portfolio.
    5. No financial support.
    6. N/A
    7. Difficult to compare 60's secondary with 90's Institute of Tech, nothing struck me as particularly different within those parameters.

In many ways probably easier to be a mature student than a young student.