Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clubs & Socs Week.

• 23-11-2010 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭

So whats happening???? Is it going ahead. The SU tell me nothing :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭Drodan

Havn't heard a thing either, though I'm rarely in college atm, only 2 lectures a week.

Not entirely impressed with the level of organisation from the SU tbh, like being told that budget requests had to be in in a hour for November a while back. Takes me more than an hour to get into college! What's worse is I requested that money LAST month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Drodan wrote: »
    Havn't heard a thing either, though I'm rarely in college atm, only 2 lectures a week.

Not entirely impressed with the level of organisation from the SU tbh, like being told that budget requests had to be in in a hour for November a while back. Takes me more than an hour to get into college! What's worse is I requested that money LAST month.

Don't get me started... Am very pissed though at Diarmuid. He didn't even tell us if we got funding this month, and he's NEVER in the office, and everything seems to be left until the very last minute.

Bitch, bitch, moan, moan etc :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Block G Raptor

KonFusion wrote: »
    Don't get me started... Am very pissed though at Diarmuid. He didn't even tell us if we got funding this month, and he's NEVER in the office, and everything seems to be left until the very last minute.

bumped into Diarmuid in the common room y-day. where he told me Clubs and Socs week is postponed until FEBRUARY!!!(as he left it to late to organise anything) cant remember if its the week before Rag week or after!!
    Lads we need to act now I think you know what I mean !!
    ffs I seem to have more info on clubs and socs activities than he does

bumped into Diarmuid in the common room y-day. where he told me Clubs and Socs week is postponed until FEBRUARY!!!(as he left it to late to organise anything) cant remember if its the week before Rag week or after!!

Why the ****ing **** did we have to wait until he was asked? why wasn't an email sent around to the CEO's? The lack of communication is ridiculous!!

Edit: damn swear filter shouldnt apply to mods :P

Act how exactly?

Ultimate isn't even being sent out on the weekly sports e-mail either to say when training is on. I know I need more signs up like.

Honestly considering you hear this every year of how the SU will do everything they can to try and establish a new club, apart from Vinnie last year until I gave up, they're actually making it more difficult. Considering I had a lot of work done to have a blitz to promote the sport in the college, try to gain some interest, and then I'm not even told that the gym is being taken off me for this second sign up day (which was last minute too), very frustrating indeed. I'd be lucky to get any other college team to Blanch now after that, too unreliable.

Act how exactly?
    I've PM'ed you Drodan

He "Forgot" my funding request this month so I'm left trying to organise our annual exhibition without knowing if we have any money or not. he apologised for forgetting and assured me that I didn't have to worry about the funding as he'd sort it but I'm not exactly confident that the money will be there when I go looking for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭brendanL

Hmm if my memory serves me correctly, and if you ask Vinny, most clubs and socs officers 'pre-vinny' were pretty much non-existant and not really helpful at all. Usually the student president settled our problems ... as is the case sometimes these days with louise. However, I think Diarmuid does do the hours he's paid to do... and yes he could be better at replying to emails, but essentially, compared to everyone bar Vinny, he's doing an ok job.

There was even a guy I heard of ages ago that got so stressed as clubs and socs officer that he just left the position,
    and another guy stepped in, unpaid and did his job because he didn't want to see the societies go to crap.

Which takes us back to my point that it was just that the way Vinny took interest in societies to personally making sure things were ok for you, makes Diarmuid look bad ;D.
    But I don't consider some one bad at their job for not rising above their call of duty ;D.

It's just a different way of doing things. While it may be awful for some, and I'm not saying it has or has not been for me ;D I think there is some chilling out we need to do in terms of expectations. The guy does his best when you ask him for help... and I don't expect more then that from him.

Diarmuid did say that the societies practically run themselves which as a general rule is true, defining our own rules/regulations and making sure fresh members are made board members and so on ourselves. So the guy probably does have some self admitted bias to help clubs more then socs, but only because they really need it.

Now if he didn't come in any day.. well then there'd we hell to pay ;D.

Now back on thread topic :D
    Diarmuid hasn't said anything to me recently about this ;D.

>.> lawl XD

I do know for a fact that the work load for the course he's doing has jumped up to ridiculous levels this year.

I'm not saying he's doing a bad job, I'm saying particular aspects could be improved on.

brendanL wrote: »
    Hmm if my memory serves me correctly, and if you ask Vinny, most clubs and socs officers 'pre-vinny' were pretty much non-existant and not really helpful at all. Usually the student president settled our problems ... as is the case sometimes these days with louise. However, I think Diarmuid does do the hours he's paid to do... and yes he could be better at replying to emails, but essentially, compared to everyone bar Vinny, he's doing an ok job.

There was even a guy I heard of ages ago that got so stressed as clubs and socs officer that he just left the position,
    and another guy stepped in, unpaid and did his job because he didn't want to see the societies go to crap.

Which takes us back to my point that it was just that the way Vinny took interest in societies to personally making sure things were ok for you, makes Diarmuid look bad ;D.
    But I don't consider some one bad at their job for not rising above their call of duty ;D.

It's just a different way of doing things. While it may be awful for some, and I'm not saying it has or has not been for me ;D I think there is some chilling out we need to do in terms of expectations. The guy does his best when you ask him for help... and I don't expect more then that from him.

Diarmuid did say that the societies practically run themselves which as a general rule is true, defining our own rules/regulations and making sure fresh members are made board members and so on ourselves. So the guy probably does have some self admitted bias to help clubs more then socs, but only because they really need it.

Now if he didn't come in any day.. well then there'd we hell to pay ;D.

Now back on thread topic :D
    Diarmuid hasn't said anything to me recently about this ;D.

>.> lawl XD

How dare you bring logic into this!!! I wont have it!

Rabble!! Rabble!! Rabble!!

Burn the establishment!!!!

Out of interest does anybody have any ideas set up for this if it goes ahead? If we could try integrate clubs and socs events to make them bigger, badder and more awesome it might be a good idea, help them all grow etc.

by this point in the year... when we go back that is. Most people who haven't joined a society yet have either dropped out due to exams or are too busy, or atleast think they are XD. I'm still up for doing it, one new member makes anything worthwhile but I really think we've missed the boat on this one, if anything it should of been 'sign up week' were we had loads of events all week ie su tells us all we have to do... atleast three events regardless of what they are during the week... rather then two poorly advertised sign up days.

Sign ups in the sports hall isn't a new problem, it's been a bit ropey always mainly because I think walking into the sports hall on your own purely because the doors are open, doesn't happen, only groups pluck up the courage to venture in, without being told exactly what's in there, most people just walk on by.

-begins humming- oh walk on byyyyyyy ;D

Photosoc have a few things that will appeal to the wider student body (hopefully) in the pipeline for this so keep your eyes peeled. also were gonna hold our annual exhibition in that week aswell

Well hopefully we can do something. I mean with the amount of people playing ultimate in the college atm, any chance to gain even one or two people, I can't pass it up really.

Only thing I can really do is play an exhibition match. Main problem there is indoor sucks and the chances of actually getting people out to the pitches for an outdoor game to have a look are just very slim, to say the least.

Maybe if a lot of us try organise something on one particular day and have a table set up (I'm talking massive and unavoidable yoke with posters, music etc) just where the lil steps are down to the canteen set up from 10am for the entire day.

Well hopefully we can do something. I mean with the amount of people playing ultimate in the college atm, any chance to gain even one or two people, I can't pass it up really.

Only thing I can really do is play an exhibition match. Main problem there is indoor sucks and the chances of actually getting people out to the pitches for an outdoor game to have a look are just very slim, to say the least.

Maybe if a lot of us try organise something on one particular day and have a table set up (I'm talking massive and unavoidable yoke with posters, music etc) just where the lil steps are down to the canteen set up from 10am for the entire day.

Yeah I'm up for this, perfect spot, right opposite su projector which we can hijack :D.

Great Idea
    Also Mark Cummins (Networking Lecturer) gave me a great Idea that he did in college. basically all the clubs and socs compete with each other over the day at each others disciplines. ie GAA V Soccer in Rugby. Badminton V Ultimate in Basketball and so on. If you are playing a team at there own game away scores count double and if its a girls team against mens team scores again count double so If a girl scores against the mens soccer team at soccer then it 4 goals and so on I've mentioned this to diarmuid and he''s up for it

Great Idea
    Also Mark Cummins (Networking Lecturer) gave me a great Idea that he did in college. basically all the clubs and socs compete with each other over the day at each others disciplines. ie GAA V Soccer in Rugby. Badminton V Ultimate in Basketball and so on. If you are playing a team at there own game away scores count double and if its a girls team against mens team scores again count double so If a girl scores against the mens soccer team at soccer then it 4 goals and so on I've mentioned this to diarmuid and he''s up for it

Yeah I've heard him talk about that. Sounds like an epic idea :D, we've already been organising compsoc v airsoft. But it's yet to happen, however I think we'd get great turn outs if it was all society's.

As CEO's we should make this happen with or without an official clubs and socs week

True, but some societies will need time to oraganise funding for their events. So we can't just assume that it's possible. I know for compsoc.. it'd be a gamer or design a website from scratch, best wins. Probably best to go down the website road as a picture could be a website XD. Perhaps even both... anywaysss

It should be awesome.. I think there's two ways of doing it though.
    1: a week/day where all societys get to compete in all other societies disciplines.

2: An overall score is kept for the year. All societies must organise and invite other societies to the event.. and all societies must run atleast 1 event.

I think we can manage number 1 on our own.. as number 2 requires SU asistance ie a third party.. also if we get everyone together on one day for number 1.. It'll be a lot of craic ;D

True, but some societies will need time to oraganise funding for their events. So we can't just assume that it's possible. I know for compsoc.. it'd be a gamer or design a website from scratch, best wins. Probably best to go down the website road as a picture could be a website XD. Perhaps even both... anywaysss

It should be awesome.. I think there's two ways of doing it though.
    1: a week/day where all societys get to compete in all other societies disciplines.

2: An overall score is kept for the year. All societies must organise and invite other societies to the event.. and all societies must run atleast 1 event.

I think we can manage number 1 on our own.. as number 2 requires SU asistance ie a third party.. also if we get everyone together on one day for number 1.. It'll be a lot of craic ;D
    Brilliant. Do you think we could organise a CEO's meeting to discuss this or would that be stepping on Diarmuids toes?

If anything were proving what he said, running ourselves.

He should deffinatly be there if there's a meeting espcially if a society needs to arrange permission for the hall ...or taking over the cantine ;D, but he doesn't have to organise it, although were gonna need an email sent out to all students looking for the ceo's to come along.

Probably something Louise will help us with, other then that, I think we really do need to meet up so we get this going. How about the week after the exams when were all off... or the one following that when were back in.

we've already been organising compsoc v airsoft. But it's yet to happen, however I think we'd get great turn outs if it was all society's.

Yeah those airsoft feckers are lazy f**ks... :P

This all sounds good anyway. Will be up for doing whatever after the exams.

Yeah those airsoft feckers are lazy f**ks... :P
    Yeah I guess I shouldn't entirely blame them.. I haven't even asked Aifsoft about it.. for... welll ages XD.

the one following that when were back in.
    Might be better

Yeah I'd be up for doing that alright, considering there's only like 3/4 ultimate players nowadays we'd struggle for numbers but why the hell not like.

Think it's a great idea for all the CEO's to meet up and organise stuff, the more we can promote the clubs and socs the better like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Quinsopher

What is the craic with the ultimate? Are ye still goin or what? Been looking to join since the start of the year but no one seems to know anything about it, or maybe I'm just looking in the wrong places!

Yeah mate we're still going. For some reason Ronan stopped putting it into the weekly sport e-mail update yoke which was annoying. Plus from about late October I was only getting one or two at training and they were mitching off class to go. When there's little people there it's tough to actually do anything you know. There's been a couple signs about the place but obviously not enough.

PM me your e-mail n all that and I'll send you the details. N hop onto the fb page too.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/ITB-Ultimate/160191453694

If you had like 3-5 mates who want to play too that'd be awesome ;)

Any plans to hold a meeting n whatnot?

I'm deffo still up for it. Ive been assured by the SU that Clubs and Socs week is going ahead around Feb 26th to coincide with the institutional review

Just got this off Diarmuid, for anyone who hasn't seen it or is interested.

"Hey guys,

Welcome back to semester 2!!

There will be a finance meeting next Wednesday the 2nd of February, all Budget requests MUST be handed in to the SU office or to myself by 5pm Monday.
    Any budget request forms handed in after this deadline WILL NOT be put forward for consideration at the finance meeting!!

As discussed earlier in the year, ITB will be having its FIRST CLUBS & SOCS WEEK!! (22-24th)
    Every Club and Society will be expected to hold and event or activity on campus.
    Anything that will promote your Club or Society is acceptable. This is your opportunity to show the college what you represent and why they should look at your Club or Society in their time here at ITB.

Personally I want as much atmosphere on campus as possible and I will be looking into different ideas for general entertainment!! I would like every CEO to email me their proposed idea for there event so I can organise your time slots and get a feel for what you are thinking!! If anyone is struggling for ideas PLEASE don't hesitate to contact me and I'm sure we can come up with something!!

If you have an idea that is costing anything put it in the budget request and we can sort out the financing that way.

Looking forward to hearing all your crazy ideas!!

Happy weekend,
    Diarmuid"

Stuffs is happening, yeay. Just to run the idea off people as what I might do. I'll hopefully be able to get my club team in and have two seperate games of Ultimate in the sports hall where anyone can drop in and play for a few points. It'd be OCS-v-ITB Players+whoever wants to give it a go. Maybe two half hour games from like 12-12:30 and 1:30 to 2pm or something.

Good stuff!

No idea what to do for airsoft soc... Running around shooting on campus may cost a few eyes... Not mine of course, so I don't really see why it matters :P :D

Might do something with nerf guns or some such, but not sure if I can price them by Monday. Ah sure we'll see....

Ba Bump....

Just noticed in the email it says "22-24th"

So clubs and socs week is actually 3 days? or is this a typo?

I'll sticky this until it's over.

was planning on doing something on monday... and then I re-read the email... seems clubs and socs week is almost clubs and socs day XD.

Should have a few things on each day for it.... get psyched for some ps move... either in the common room or elsewheres... I'm hoping else where as the last place that needs more presence of CompSoc is the common room XD.

This CEO's meeting should still go ahead.. kinda bawked on asking louise about it/other ceo's that I know due to workload straight away this semester. Sooooo I'll be talking to the ceo's who know me over the next few days? and then maybe a chat with louise.... we can organise to use the old su office for a meeting.