Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo-North Leitrim Election 2011 Mod Warning #290

• 23-11-2010 2:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭

Well it looks like one is coming. :rolleyes:

Will everyone vote for the same old daft feckers that got us into this mess.

so who is it for you? 118 votes

Fianna Fáil
    0% 0 votes
    Fine Gael
    11% 13 votes
    Labour Party
    26% 31 votes
    Sinn Fein
    12% 15 votes
    Socialist/UAL
    22% 26 votes
    Greens
    13% 16 votes
    Independent
    2% 3 votes
    Other
    5% 6 votes
    Undecided
    0% 0 votes
    Not Voting
    6% 8 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Well it looks like one is coming. :rolleyes:

Will everyone vote for the same old daft feckers that got us into this mess.

I didn't vote those daft feckers the last couple of times.

Who knows, but a serious change is needed from the top down.

Serious answer. I suppose we have to wait until the candidates are announced. See who running and leading the various parties, and take into account the greater good, the running of the country and not just the constituancy.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Personally, Jimmy Devins and Declan Bree and Eamonn Scanlon can kiss my ass for a vote. They'll be lambasted if they have the cheek to turn up at my door!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

irish-stew wrote: »
    Who knows, but a serious change is needed from the top down.

I reckon that should be from the bottom up.

All of those at the 'Top' are so far removed from the reality on the ground, that as far as I can see, none of them deserve any of our votes.

It's gotten to the stage where I'm seriously thinking of running myself!

I have no prior political experience,not affiliated to any party.

Flirted with the Greens :eek: but decided against that. I'm still a committed tree hugger though :cool:

The SWP flirted with me (and anyone else who gets out on the street), but I just don't dig it, but would probably be a socialist in the broad sense of the term.

My main beefs are with the EU and capitalism. One because of it's commitment to the other.

The EU has too much power. We need to be able to make decisions closer to home and make local politicians relevant.

On a local level, something has to be done with the health and education systems, as well as helping people out who are in need of it.

Just imagine all the people out there, busting themselves to pay a mortgage for a house not worth the money, while hundreds of other houses lie empty and people living in squalor, totally insane.

Capitalism is just sh1t.

So I'm for radical political reform and making the economy serve the people, not the other way round. And making sure that sustainability was the cornerstone of any new direction.

As well as revisiting the Corrib gas field issue, big time, and stopping the dodgy US military flights through Shannon.

So who'd vote for me?

tl:dr

I'm thinking of running in the election and want to know if I'd get your vote..

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I'm in two minds right now, do I put a sign up saying "no politicians" on my gate and postbox. Or should I let them come down the drive and my German Sheperds will 'greet' them for me.

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭tedshredsonfire

I am pretty much A political but if FG got in which is likley then Perry would be in a good spot for a ministerial post which would be gret for sligo as I am sure he would get things for sligo. Unfortuanltly that goes back to the problem of cronyism and local deals but too much of that went to Healy rae in Kerry. If Kenny was leader it could be good for the west.
    Pete while I really admire you for even considering going forward show me where socialism works? I really like the idea but it hasn't worked anywhere in the world. Capitalism is the reason you pay a few pence for a tea bag, why innovation happens, why products get improved, why we are now talking on a forum. M Fingleton getting a million bonus as the society he ran went down the tubes is not capitalism but corruption. Ditto for the banks. Even the socialist union leaders are on six figure salaries.
    Please don't see this as capitialism.
    All that being said I would applaud you to the roof tops for running and taking a stand for your beliefs but proabably still wont vote for you purely on ideology. I wouldn't do it for love or money so good luck to you Pete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Lads,I haven't been around Sligo much lately,what's the story,did a seat become free?

• Registered Users Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

I cant see perry and mcloughlin not getting in.
    I wonder will devins even put his name forward.
    I expect eamon scanlon to get in by a small margin ahead of okeeffe , colreavy and marc mcsharry.
    Awaiting a backlash:D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

I am pretty much A political but if FG got in which is likley then Perry would be in a good spot for a ministerial post which would be gret for sligo as I am sure he would get things for sligo. .

This is precicely the sort of attitude that has the country in the state it's in. The job of a TD should be to legislate on behalf of the country as a whole, not spend half their waking hours getting potholes filled and atending funerals

If you need something local done, that is what local councilors are there for. Go annoy them ,and leave legislating to legislators.

greetings wrote: »
    Lads,I haven't been around Sligo much lately,what's the story,did a seat become free?

Ummm... the impending General Election perhaps?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

I got in touch with a local FF TD last November to see if there was anything he could do to help Jono get his surgery.
    I got a reply from him in March :eek:
    So apart from this latest fiasco there's no way they would get my vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

I'm in two minds right now, do I put a sign up saying "no politicians" on my gate and postbox. Or should I let them come down the drive and my German Sheperds will 'greet' them for me.

Why "no politicians"? Do you feel the last FG/Lab government did a bad job? In what areas specifically? Personally I think they did a very good job in their short term of office.
    Or are you of the "sure they're all the same" opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

All that being said I would applaud you to the roof tops for running and taking a stand for your beliefs but proabably still wont vote for you purely on ideology. I wouldn't do it for love or money so good luck to you Pete.

Thanks. But I am completely aware that there are those who would rather maintain the status quo.

Turkeys wouldn't vote for Xmas :D

But as far as I know now, Declan Bree will run as an independent socialist, so I don't want to be accused of splitting the vote and don't think I'll be running now.

I reckon between him and Michael Colreavy, we have two candidates who would certainly be an alternative to the current crop of gombeens.

Let loose the dogs :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭mistermouse

I wouldn't rate Perry as a TD at all but he'll probably get elected. I do not see what credentials he has that would make him a good minister for the country, if Fine Gael reward him just for keeping a seat in Sligo then they will be another shower like we have

Hard to see where the funds will be for him to provide lots locally, and the country and Sligo needs to start thinking national issues for a change.

No point in changing one team for a similiar team of Gombeen Politics

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭shellyriver

Are you serious about being a candidate, I note you're reservation with Bree entering the field. If you believe you are a credible candidate, I would be interested in meeting you and discussing same.

Bree will not get elected, he will simply wish to scupper Labour's O'Keefe. Therefore, all the Left, which includes O'Keefe, Bree and maybe MacManus will be looking for same tranche of voters.

If you have something different to offer ie independent, logical and strong left-centred social solidarity candidate then please PM me. Whilst Bree will have his supporters, I don't think any association with Jim Higgins, who is an articulate and passionate politician, will see extra votes in Sligo/North Leitrim real politics here.

Don't bother with particulars ie name and address in PM if you're unsure -- but if you are considering running a campaign, I'd love to hear from you.

Unless this Government is changed are economic sovereignty will be further eroded.

In any event, Ireland must seek debt forgiveness and/or debt repudiation to be repaid at a later time (maybe decades from now)!

But what is required for the North-West is a strong, logical and independent voice, democratically elected.

Best Wishes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Ummm... the impending General Election perhaps?

I am not with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael Fine GaelFine Gael Fine Gael Fine Gael

I think I got my point across :p

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

magnumlady wrote: »
    I got in touch with a local FF TD last November to see if there was anything he could do to help Jono get his surgery.
    I got a reply from him in March :eek:
    So apart from this latest fiasco there's no way they would get my vote.

While I have sympathy with your situation, that is not the job of a TD and the sooner people in this country realise that the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭magnumlady

While I have sympathy with your situation, that is not the job of a TD and the sooner people in this country realise that the better.

It might not be a job for a TD but surely it would have been polite to answer sooner....and when I hear about matters that TD's do get involved in it just makes me angry.
    It was the citizens information centre that sent me to the TD otherwise I wouldn't have gone anywhere near him.

I wouldn't rate Perry as a TD at all but he'll probably get elected. I do not see what credentials he has that would make him a good minister for the country, if Fine Gael reward him just for keeping a seat in Sligo then they will be another shower like we have

Hard to see where the funds will be for him to provide lots locally, and the country and Sligo needs to start thinking national issues for a change.

No point in changing one team for a similiar team of Gombeen Politics

Apparently he did good work on the government accounts commitee and is highly thought of within the party.
    For the second time on this thread I ask someone, is it your contention that the major parties are all the same?

If that's what you believe, then he should be perfectly qualified to be a TD. After all, our currrent minister of finance has vast amounts of experience - as a barrister.
    Bree will not get elected, he will simply wish to scupper Labour's O'Keefe. Therefore, all the Left, which includes O'Keefe, Bree and maybe MacManus will be looking for same tranche of voters.
    Bree will have lost a substantial number of votes over his pressing to get O'Connell Street re-opened, and the decision to remove the eastern link bridge from the regeneration plan. Two reasons why he lost my vote anyway, and i am only one person
    il gatto wrote: »
    Apparently he did good work on the government accounts commitee and is highly thought of within the party.
    For the second time on this thread I ask someone, is it your contention that the major parties are all the same?

Me personally? No I don't think so. I don't think FG are perfect, but they definitely have the right idea about what needs doing in this country. They are the best out of what we have, by a large mile.
    Labour seem to be fairly ok, but are too interested in serving the unions, an organisation bullyboys that I think will be the downfall of this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

If that's what you believe, then he should be perfectly qualified to be a TD. After all, our currrent minister of finance has vast amounts of experience - as a barrister.

Bree will have lost a substantial number of votes over his pressing to get O'Connell Street re-opened, and the decision to remove the eastern link bridge from the regeneration plan. Two reasons why he lost my vote anyway, and i am only one person

Me personally? No I don't think so. I don't think FG are perfect, but they definitely have the right idea about what needs doing in this country. They are the best out of what we have, by a large mile.
    Labour seem to be fairly ok, but are too interested in serving the unions, an organisation bullyboys that I think will be the downfall of this country.

They are the best out of what we have
    Is that why they are running Tony McLoughlin who is FF Lite as a candidate here? McLoughlin, O'Grady, Clarke - you could not put a paper between them.

I was trying to get to the bottom of this widespread belief that FG will be no different from FF. I've heard it for years now. My view is much the same as your own.
    FG resemble FF in as much as they are a center/right (ish) party. Where they differ is that they have had 1-2 "scandals" over the years, Michael Lowry being the main one and he now props up FF in government. FF on the other hand have a litany of scandals, proven and quietly ignored/deflected.
    FF have traded on being the working man's party whilst simultaneously shafting them in favour of their bosses and their bosses' bosses.
    The media have absolutely failed the people of Ireland in not bringing to light the constant and immoral policies of the past government. It now sees which way the wind is blowing and is exposing the government lies and deceptions the way it should've for years.
    Remember that FF have been the party of almost permanent government in this country. When anybody says there isn't a viable alternative, I ask why? How can we know? In the last 23 years, Labour have spent 4 years in power, FG only 2. FF have been in power for 21 of the last 23 years. Many voters barely know of a time when FF weren't in power.
    Yes they were elected, but that is more a reflection of their campaign team and media pull than anything else. Remember we were told at the last election that "we" wanted a safe pair of hands with the economy? Really? A solicitor as minister for finance (one who stoked an overheating economy) who gets anointed the Taoiseach and puts a barrister in his old job. No wonder we're f@cked.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭fionntan g

itl be the same sh1t as usual

"lets vote for him because he went to loads of funerals,shook lots of hands and bought loads of pints ect"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭westtip

Does anyone think either of the two FF boys will jump ship and not stand - yesterday Aherne stood down in Louth - Are we going to see an avalanche of FF TDs just throwing in the towell and sayind sod it I am off to enjoy the over inflated pension.

It wouldn't surprise me if Jimmy Devines stood down - Both of them will have the added pressure of not having fought hard enough to save the Cancer services in Sligo on top of the national issues.

I don't think its beyond the realms of possibility to see 2 FG returned - and Labour and FF fighting out for the 3rd seat - transfers will play a massive part in this election for the final seats and I reckon ours will be very tight for the third seat. The FF vote is really going to implode in the county IMO.

I would urge people to not include FF on any part of their ballot paper - throwing in the odd transfer to FF may give them a seat they don't deserve. Personally on this occassion I would like to see FG get a clean sweep with 3 seats - highly unlikely but very desirable IMO!!!

westtip wrote: »
    Does anyone think either of the two FF boys will jump ship and not stand - yesterday Aherne stood down in Louth - Are we going to see an avalanche of FF TDs just throwing in the towell and sayind sod it I am off to enjoy the over inflated pension.

It wouldn't surprise me if Jimmy Devines stood down - Both of them will have the added pressure of not having fought hard enough to save the Cancer services in Sligo on top of the national issues.

I don't think its beyond the realms of possibility to see 2 FG returned - and Labour and FF fighting out for the 3rd seat - transfers will play a massive part in this election for the final seats and I reckon ours will be very tight for the third seat. The FF vote is really going to implode in the county IMO.

I would urge people to not include FF on any part of their ballot paper - throwing in the odd transfer to FF may give them a seat they don't deserve. Personally on this occassion I would like to see FG get a clean sweep with 3 seats - highly unlikely but very desirable IMO!!!

Firstly Devins and Scalan didn't "not fight hard enough". They actually voted in support of the proposal and against the wishes of their electorate. They voted to take something from the people they are well paid to represent. Then the snivelling, yellow bellied gombeens made a play of giving up the whip, promising not to vote again to damage services at Sligo General but actually doing exactly that in a recent vote.
    And secondly, never underestimate the hardline FF'er and their ability to put party before people, county, country and all else. It's all about getting "their man" in at the expense or the lad down the road. For the last 13 years it's all been about Bertie and his "charisma" and how they are the only "viable" government. They can be divided into 3 groupings. The ones who get the planning, zoning and contract decisions, the ones who get their road tarred and the children into council jobs and then the poor misfortunate saps who canvass and brag but get nothing in return but they don't realise that in the warm glow of being on the winning side. They get shafted by policy but all they care about is "their" man getting elected over some "blueshirt".
    I for one hope the unscrupulous, devious, self serving, arrogant, washed up, inept shower of b@stards get an electoral kicking they never recover from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

westtip wrote: »

Devins will not stand down. One of his supporters told me he loves politics - God knows why but he does! And he is in the media again, banging on about social welfare fraud, which backs up the idea that he will run again.

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭tedshredsonfire

I for one hope the unscrupulous, devious, self serving, arrogant, washed up, inept shower of b@stards get an electoral kicking they never recover from.
    Stop pussyfooting around gatto and tell us what you really think of FF

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Theres a petition here from Fintan O'Toole. Hs 10,000 signatories already. May not be everyones cup of tea but worth a look at the points to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Why "no politicians"? Do you feel the last FG/Lab government did a bad job? In what areas specifically? Personally I think they did a very good job in their short term of office.
    Or are you of the "sure they're all the same" opinion?

Actually I'll revise that - No Fianna Fail, No Green party and No Fine Gael. The rest I'll give a fair hearing to. Why no Fine Gael? Because they'll tow the Fianna Fail line once they're in power. I can't help feel they're delighted the IMF/ECB deal is sorted out. All we'll probably hear is "Well the deal was brokered when we were opposition, however we can't go back........blah, blah, blah."