Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sligo-North Leitrim Election 2011 Mod Warning #290

• Registered Users Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

What Radio show? Is it on podcast?

Today's Ray D'Arcy Show. In the first hour and a half I'd say but it was just something that was said in passing.

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭shellyriver

Today's Ray D'Arcy Show. In the first hour and a half I'd say but it was just something that was said in passing.

Cheers. Nice one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

The Big Ticket Videos

my thoughts in no particular order other than the order I watched them

Eamon Scanlon - what a stuttering tit...

Michael Clarke - Good Councillor - unfortunately as an independent rehashed Sinn Fein policies

Mark McSharry - great speech - well rehearsed - try again in a decade

Alwyn Love - yawn

Gabriel McSharry - yawn again and moved on without watching it all

Johnny Gogan - waffler

John Perry - much better than expected - statesman like actually

Tony McLoughlin - unfortunately read off notes

Michael Colreavy - not as confident as expected but appeared comfortable

Susan O Keefe - loved the hair flick WHOO HOO followed by an oration to be emulated everywhere - had no relation to Sligo nor was Sligo mentioned once - pity she lives in Dublin ...

Veronica Cawley - better than expected and straight talking - put it to Mark McSharry

Dick Cahill - thought provoking speech

Declan Bree - rehash of the past rehash of ideals no plan

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭sligono1

you have hit things well on the head sligopark,i think you have john perry and well the rest are pretty feeble.doesnt say alot for our area into the future in the dail

• Registered Users Posts: 36 czarak

It's become apparent in the past few days (TG4 Leaders Debate, thebigticket.ie, Gilmore visit to Sligo), that Labour is the only party who have both a Local Candidate AND a Party Leader who are publicly committed to a 9th Centre of Excellence in Sligo for Cancer Services and to revoke the cut announced in the PSO, to allow Sligo Airport to continue.

If people care about those two issues, I think it's pretty obvious which candidate to vote for next Friday. It's also a bonus that she's one of the few candidates in the constituency who are competent and able to reason and speak well in public. I have no party affiliation but there's no contest in my mind that Susan O'Keefe is far and away the most worthy number 1 vote in this constituency.

Taking in the larger picture, we need to make sure Labour get into government, FG are the most economically right wing party in the country now and if they get into government without Labour they will make the swingeing cuts the Tories are making in the UK on the lower and middle classes look like a cake walk.

I expect Perry to top the poll, and unfortunately it seems like McLoughlin will follow in second, but neither of them will be opinion formers at the head of their party, despite Perry's experience in Junior Ministry. Neither Perry nor McLoughlin has the ability to put across their message competently in public debate as evidenced by this week's thebigticket.ie debate, O'Keefe certainly does, and could become a powerful member of the party very quickly, Susan O'Keefe also has qualifications in Food & Agri Science which is one of the most important strategic areas for Sligo and Ireland as a whole in our attempts to get out of the Fianna Fail shaped hole we find ourselves in, I can see her talents being used in Junior Ministry immediately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭CityMan2010

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭tedshredsonfire

Was there the other night till 23.30 but didn't manage to get a question in. Cant believe only one other person wanted to know what was to be done with the economy. All other questions were in relation to cancer services , eastern bridge, abortion, airport, N4 road. All very very worthwhile issues but with the economy the way it is how will they be paid for. cant believe so much time was spent on the bridge considering its back in the development plan and approved etc etc but at least 45mins was spent on it. Some entertaning stuff as well with Michael Clarke getting the IRA to fix the N4 road.
    (slip of the toungue should have been NRA) and mark telling Susuan to stop going on about her pink bra at the dail railing.

czarak wrote: »
    It's become apparent in the past few days (TG4 Leaders Debate, thebigticket.ie, Gilmore visit to Sligo), that Labour is the only party who have both a Local Candidate

Who is that Czarak?

Bree?

Cawley?

Love?

Or the Dublin based O' Keefe?

By the way Labour can say they will give every thing to every voter since it is apparent they may not even get into government and these empty promises may gather enough stupid folk to believe these empty political promises to vote for them ....

My own thoughts: Labour are a joke - they no longer represent the ordinary citizen - they represent folk like the bloated and overpaid Des Geraughty ...

Time for folk who vote Labour to realise Labour have moved on and now Sinn Fein is their party...

sligopark wrote: »
    Who is that Czarak?
    may gather enough stupid folk to believe

Thanks for the condescension there sligopark. I find it's always a trademark of a person of substance blessed with excellent debating skills and a very strong position to argue. You are so impressive!

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭thebuzz

I would like to vote Labour but it's a pity they have such a poor candidate running for them in this constituency. Still unsure what to do.

Thanks for the condescension there sligopark. I find it's always a trademark of a person of substance blessed with excellent debating skills and a very strong position to argue. You are so impressive!

Thanks Czarak - nice of you to rearrange my post and try to make me out the prick whilst avoiding the substance of my post...

Labour do not have a local candidate. This is why the labour vote is the main is split two ways if not four ways.....

Labour are willing to spoof an election promise never to be followed through, and the folk on the ground in Sligo realise this given the fact that FG have told it as it is...

Labour are going down the route of every one pays for the banksters and elite gambler bailout... nice sell out of their labour base ...

Sinn Fein are the only party saying this is not good enough and standing up for the ordinary worker on the street ...

The problem is that trade unions today are represented by folk with too high a wage pacekt to care about those they are supposed to represent and they are more interested in protecting it and themselves than those they represent...

folk like Des Geraughty.... more paypackets than a factory of workers down the country...

Czarak time to wake up to those lying to you rather than checking whether I was being either nsulting or condescending to you, neither of which I intended.

Labour do not have a local candidate.

Oh no? There was me thinking the 71 people of this constituency who care enough about Labour to become members of their local labour party voted for her.

Or the fact that its the candidate's second time infront of the electorate she is now asking for a vote.

I also thought people in Ireland had enough of the voting for the person that they know best, were born and bred beside etc, etc, to the exclusion of critique of whether they are the best candidate i.e. I thought people had enough of one of the main pillars of the gombeen politics that got us into the situation the state is in now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,021 ✭✭✭il gatto

It's become apparent in the past few days (TG4 Leaders Debate, thebigticket.ie, Gilmore visit to Sligo), that Labour is the only party who have both a Local Candidate AND a Party Leader who are publicly committed to a 9th Centre of Excellence in Sligo for Cancer Services and to revoke the cut announced in the PSO, to allow Sligo Airport to continue.

If people care about those two issues, I think it's pretty obvious which candidate to vote for next Friday. It's also a bonus that she's one of the few candidates in the constituency who are competent and able to reason and speak well in public. I have no party affiliation but there's no contest in my mind that Susan O'Keefe is far and away the most worthy number 1 vote in this constituency.

Taking in the larger picture, we need to make sure Labour get into government, FG are the most economically right wing party in the country now and if they get into government without Labour they will make the swingeing cuts the Tories are making in the UK on the lower and middle classes look like a cake walk.

I expect Perry to top the poll, and unfortunately it seems like McLoughlin will follow in second, but neither of them will be opinion formers at the head of their party, despite Perry's experience in Junior Ministry. Neither Perry nor McLoughlin has the ability to put across their message competently in public debate as evidenced by this week's thebigticket.ie debate, O'Keefe certainly does, and could become a powerful member of the party very quickly, Susan O'Keefe also has qualifications in Food & Agri Science which is one of the most important strategic areas for Sligo and Ireland as a whole in our attempts to get out of the Fianna Fail shaped hole we find ourselves in, I can see her talents being used in Junior Ministry immediately.

Susan O'Keefe is (so far) the only canvasser to call to my house. I found her intelligent, likeable and sensible. I had made up my mind to give her a high preference.
    Unfortunately Eamon Gilmore has dissuaded me from any such thing. A pay freeze in the private sector? Really? A sap to the unionised and cosseted public service. Despite my earning 30-40% less than someone doing the same job in the public service, having no pension and no job security, if my employer should want to increase my pay even by even a euro an hour (hah!), that would be illegal? Even though it would still leave me lagging far behind the equivalent rate in the public service? The benefit being that money would stay in employers bank accounts rather than being spent in the wider economy by his employees and helping the batted retail sector and preserve jobs. Ridiculous.
    A supposed socialist who has misidentified the proletariat as well paid, unionised public servents rather than the lowly working person whose taxes fund them. And a smear campaign of adverts in natonal papers? Gilmore has dragged Labour down with this dross. The "Gilmore Gale" was a result of dissatisfaction with the last government rather than inspired leadership of his own party. He got a sniff of Taoiseach and lost the run of himself.
    Your use of the Tories as a comparable party to FG is misguided and outmoded, but not as misguided as your attempt to allign Labour with the working and lower middle class. Irish Labour forgot it's roots years ago and is now the middle middle class, made of middle class socialists with high notions of their own intellect and moral compass, and nary a true socialist bone in their body. A quasi-Marxist fashion statement. Champagne socialism at it's best.
    So it's pretty obvious, to use your words, that Gilmore has alienated the real working class of this country to cosy up with Unions and that their economic policy is fanciful at best. I too have no party affiliation, but the thoughts of Joan Burton as Minister of Finance in place of Michael Noonan I find. frankly. scary.
    As for Perry's ability, which you've preemptively dismissed, his time as a junior minister as well as on the Government Finance committee will stand to him, I'm sure. But people's ability in government is an unknown as seemingly the people of Ireland were contented with FF being the party of permanent power.

For the record, I would like to say that people should vote to elect whatever government they want. The calibre of local candidate is secondary as at the moment, national issues will affect people more than local. An impressive local candidate who will have no say in the formation of your preffered government is an under use of your vote (imo. of course).

Fair enough Czarak - exactly half of the local delegates voted for a non local candidate

you claimed she was local - she is not - her bigticket video could have applied anywhere in the 26 counties.

I too have found her likeable and intelligent but I thought the same when I met Marc Mc Sharry and a while back of Brian Lenihan.

Labour have nothing to add to FG and will distract form this country's recovery.

Whilst I depsise the Tories of old I despise alot more the UK new Labour which the Irish Labour Party has become - ie wolves in sheep's clothing and willing to sell of the sovereignty of the citizen on the street to a federal superstate and their money to banksters.

Comparing O'Keefe to Perry as to influence shows how littel you kno wof Perry and perhaps what we don't knwo of O'Keefe and why she was forced onto the Sligo Leitrim ticket?

Why is she on the Sligo Leitrim Ticket?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

Labour are going down the route of every one pays for the banksters and elite gambler bailout... nice sell out of their labour base ...

Absolutely agree there. Don't think O'Keefe is a great candidate, maybe in Dublin....
    Sinn Fein are the only party saying this is not good enough and standing up for the ordinary worker on the street ...

Bree is also standing up for 'the workers' and is in with the ULA too, which means he could form part of a socialist group in the next Dail.
    The problem is that trade unions today are represented by folk with too high a wage pacekt to care about those they are supposed to represent and they are more interested in protecting it and themselves than those they represent...

Agree also. But this is another battle. Another front in the same war though eh?

Fair enough Czarak - exactly half of the local delegates voted for a non local candidate

you claimed she was local - she is not

I thought we were past this point? Let's imagine you are right (which I most certainly don't believe you are, however your argument is so bad that I can grant you this point in order to move further along your chain of poor reasoning) - The point still remains: anyone who makes the history of locality of someone a point of differentiation among candidates in this general election is a subscriber to the disasterous gombeen politics that has got the country into the mess it is in today.

Pete M. wrote: »
    Agree also. But this is another battle. Another front in the same war though eh?

can't agree here Pete - its turned out to be a gravy train for the likes of geraughty beggs and gilmore - new irish labour - when the rest are tired, ashamed and apologetic for shagging the ordinary folk on the street, here come new labour with their bravado to force it up the ass... rape is one thing anal is another ... welcome new labour and gilmore to ireland

I thought we were past this point?

hardly when your claim was that the labour candidate is local when she clearly isn't and had nothing to say in regard to local issues at the bigissue

Let's imagine you are right (which I most certainly don't believe you are, however your argument is so bad that I can grant you this point in order to move further along your chain of poor reasoning) - The point still remains: anyone who makes the history of locality of someone a point of differentiation among candidates in this general election is a subscriber to the disasterous gombeen politics that has got the country into the mess it is in today.

sweet geesus what a load of waffle - czarak a while back I was willing to say I didn't mean to be condescending - now after this politico bullsh.t new labour waffle you can call me what ever you like - most people call it straight talk or plain speak.

Labour have nothing anymore for the ordinary folk past deceiving them into selling off their sovereingty and wages to an unknown elite

thanks Labour ....

Gilmore for Taoiseach

please God no not the likes of this shyster

never not even part of government

not even a major speak of opposition

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Ned Green

I thought we were past this point? Let's imagine you are right (which I most certainly don't believe you are, however your argument is so bad that I can grant you this point in order to move further along your chain of poor reasoning) - The point still remains: anyone who makes the history of locality of someone a point of differentiation among candidates in this general election is a subscriber to the disasterous gombeen politics that has got the country into the mess it is in today.

It's quite obvious that the Labour Party strategy for this constituency was to change the image of the party locally to suit Labour head office.It's widely know that Susan was the preferred choice of the Leadership.Granted she appear's an educated,articulate person who promotes IMO a type of politic's no different than FG.In the last week she has been making promise's left right and centre,nothing is impossible.If elected which is highly unlikely,the only way Labour will be in government is as a prop to a FG administration,hell bent on balancing the book's and imposing further austere cutback's.Both Labour and FG are both committed to the IMF/EU Bank's Bailout and this mean's at least four more HAIRSHIRT BUDGET'S.There will be no increases in spending or grandiose project's.A FG led government with Labour as a junior partner will not spend the money on the promise's that Susan,Perry and McLoughlin are making.

can't agree here Pete - its turned out to be a gravy train for the likes of geraughty beggs and gilmore - new irish labour - when the rest are tired, ashamed and apologetic for shagging the ordinary folk on the street, here come new labour with their bravado to force it up the ass...

I think you misunderstand. What I mean is that Unions also have to be taken back. No more than the government and the Dail. In order for the 'ordinary people/workers' to put their collective hand back upon the tiller, then we probably need to sort out the Unions first. This election will result in more of the same. So it's the reaction...
    But I totally agree (more than you could know) that the Unions became a gravy train and those at the top took the piss, completely.
    That has to change. It's important to have strong Unions when the sh1t hits the fan.
    The whole Labour/SIPTU thing makes me a bit, ya know, weeooo, ok...

Anyway, check this out, subtly inspirational...

http://www.nfb.ca/film/final_offer/

rape is one thing anal is another ... welcome new labour and gilmore to ireland

Diggin those analogies.......:pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

Did I see political hari-kari tonight?

Marc 'its was me!' McSharry, and

Johnny 'lets not talk about it' Gogan

dumped_lge.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

and while we are at it, that was the first time that I have ever Eamon 'Mutton Skull' Scanlon speaking.

All I can say it - wow!

What a bumbling oaf! How could anyone with even have the average IQ consider voting for that guy? :eek:

Talk about a gombeen man.

The unions are a gravy train for more than the top brass. Benchmarking, increments, allowences. These are things absent for most of the private sector and yet the unions were happy to ignore the treatment of the private sector workers for the most part (even the unionised in my experience). Then when the gift that keeps on giving (the tax payers) can no longer pay the inflated pay packets, we get fed this b@llsh1t line about "social solidarity". Expecting those that they ignored forover a decade to come out and support the public sector workers who profitted so much in the same period.
    Labour are now aligning themselves to the unions and attacking FG as a desparate attempt to garner the half a million votes (public servents and family) which benefitted FF so well for the last decade and a half.

Ned Green wrote: »
    A FG led government with Labour as a junior partner ....

l_768_768_0D7BB0C2-1BCD-4C9B-A396-186A375EE148.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭jvc

Just wondering if the cancer services question was put to Eamon Scanlon? No sign of him answering it on the video.

jvc wrote: »
    Just wondering if the cancer services question was put to Eamon Scanlon? No sign of him answering it on the video.

Anything he says other than an admission that he stabbed his electorate in the back should disregarded as a ploy. He had his chance and he used the vote, in our parliament, bestowed upon him by the people of this constituency, to support the government in taking away the services. Resigning the whip temporarily was a face saving exercise (must think we're fools) and his reassimilation back into the fold tells you all you need to know about the man's character. Sligo/North Leitrim returning a FF candidate, should it happen, speaks volumes of the problems in Irish politics, where party allegiance supercedes all other considerations.

Bookies have the 2 FG candidates odds on for Sligo/North Leitrim. Then close between the 2 FF, 1 Labour & 1 SF candidates to take the third seat.

If you accept this analysis and don't want us to be one of the few gombeen constituencies to return a FFer to the Dail, you must vote on Friday & at least use your preferences to vote Susan O'Keefe (Lab) & Michael Colreavy (SF) in whatever order you see fit above both FF candidates (even if you vote FG/Green or Independent first). For me it's Susan O'Keefe No. 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

Dead right czarak. Wo'nt say how i'll vote (I'm still not 100% certain yet) but the only 2 names on the sheet that will be left blank are both the FF men. It's my turn to do the stabbing!!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

red sean wrote: »
    Dead right czarak. Wo'nt say how i'll vote (I'm still not 100% certain yet) but the only 2 names on the sheet that will be left blank are both the FF men. It's my turn to do the stabbing!!

For the first time my self I will be using most of my preferances as well, only leaving two or three blank.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Ned Green

l_768_768_0D7BB0C2-1BCD-4C9B-A396-186A375EE148.jpeg

Absolutely brilliant:D.A vote for O'Keefe is a VOTE FOR ENDA FOR TAOISEACH:eek:.

Well I'll be giving Bree my No. 1, then giving strokes to SF and the independents, except for Gabriel McSharry. Seems like a decent sort of a chap, but a bit christian for my liking.

My reason for Bree as No. 1...

Because he could form part of a United Left Alliance group which provide a real Opposition, which would actually be fundamentally opposite to a FG/Lab or indeed a majority FG government.

ULA policies are opposed to the Bailout and require a massive overhaul of how we operate as a Country, with massive political reform an absolute priority.

Those who think FG can lead us through these very troubled times are deluded I reckon.

Before the election was called the talk was of fundamental and profound change. But now we're headed for a majority FG government. Change? Where?

Maybe we should vote like the increasingly famous Sligo anarchist and just run the place into the ground as soon as possible:eek:

Then maybe we can get some real change started...