Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Election Thread - Mod Note - please read post #1 before posting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

tbh wrote: »
    read his prison thread - it's a blessing really :)

Do ye reckon that's really him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

yeah, I'd say it is, just based on the way he writes on his own website.

He seems to be a bit of a tool..... I hope nobody wastes their vote on him so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

26 voters in the Boards Poll voted for him and anyone that gave him their preferences might want to resubmit their votes Going to mess up the vote if they finally work out the correct method of PR calculation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

well they can't now!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,775 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

As he's not a candidate now - would any of his posters still up since the deadline be considered litter?

tbh wrote: »
    yeah, I'd say it is, just based on the way he writes on his own website.
    I agree. Unfortunately that poster chose to ignore all requests by Mods, Admins & even Community Managers to verify his account. And then cried 'Censorship!' ???

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Look on the brightside HB can stop following him on Twitter now!:D
    To be fair - I am following all candidates. You made it sound as if I was stalking him. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭Peckham

Hill Billy wrote: »
    As he's not a candidate now - would any of his posters still up since the deadline be considered litter?

No - anyone (not just candidates) can put up political posters during an election. For example, this group has a lot of posters up around city centre

To be fair - I am following all candidates. You made it sound as if I was stalking him. :)

Ahh I thought the negative waves on his tweets were getting to you. I read some of them myself, the guy takes himself too seriously. How he could turn his own carelessness/stupidity into a grand conspiracy of corruption to stop him running displays certain "David Icke" moments that is kind of scary.

How are you getting on following the candidates online? You haven't been throw off the FG Facebook page yet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Frank Spencer

it was arbirtrarily decided by 2 moderators "beastly" and "Hill Billy" that my posts were "electioneering"

Beastly!! ha ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭dan_d

You want a third one?

What??

I wouldn't mind a windfarm personally, but then I'm a civil engineer.:D Having said that, is it a viable place for one? Is there enough wind??

Have to say I share opinions on James Reilly. I know friends of ours recently had him at their door - she is a teacher and pelted him with questions relating to education and the CPD. The only answer she could get for most was "send me an email on that" or "the health service is my biggest interest".To which she pointed out that he's the deputy leader of one the country's biggest parties, yet it's quite obvious that all he knows about/is interested in is Health.Which reflects very badly on him.

Haven't seen any more canvassers yet.I'm not sure I'd even know where to start asking them questions to be honest - I don't believe anything any of them say, and I know the answer I'll get to everything will be "well my party, if elected, will....", regardless of party. Problem is, I just don't believe them......any of them....maybe I should tell them that?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,290 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Impact of STV now up in the boards poll for Dublin North

Based on the poll, Daly, Ryan, Reilly and Sargent get through in that order

Daly is shown as getting through on the first count, which I think very unlikely, and I also think she is going to get less transfers than the others. Ryan picks up a lot of transfers which puts him ahead of Reilly

You can re-cast your vote, and this time it should ask for demographic information, which may help give some more credibility to some of the data

• Closed Accounts Posts: 762 ✭✭✭SeaSide

its interesting how leaky the transfers are between candidates of the same party. Farrell picks up one out of 6 from his running mate while O'Brien gets 5 out of 13. for farrell it made the difference of losing rather than winning the last seat

• Registered Users Posts: 4,254 ✭✭✭LeoB

I think our votes would be more of a waste on some other cndidates

As far as I know they wont be considered litter.

Must photograph the F.G posters which are a danger to walkers in Shenick they are so low, mind you they cant much lower anyway.

Back to Marcus deBrun. I am disappointed this has happened. One thing is he would not be afraid to rock the boat unlike most others who will just tow the party line. He may be a bit of a loose cannon but maybe if we had a few like him in the Dail over the last 10years we might not be in quite as bad a messas we now find ourselves in.
    Had he joined up with the U.L.A where he might have got some support and advice he could have been effective. He seemed to do everything himself around his campaign, putting up poster, delivering mailshots and spending his money promoting himself.

While he didnt comply with the mods I think he genuinely felt he was doing the right thing putting himself forward and fair play to him for that. My first preferance wont change as still I have not seen what I would call a really credible alternative. What I do think is happening is F.G and Labour appear to be turning on each other thanks to some decent contributions from Michael Martin which can only help F.F pull back some ground.

I don't think this guy knows when to quit! 3 Times in his Letter to the Minister he quite clearly states that Independents candidates were not allowed stand in Dublin North. Firstly if he had checked the list of candidates approved he will notice that Dr Mark Harold(Non-party) was allowed stand. Secondly all do he may call himself an independent he has stated online he is a member of Nua Fis- New Vision Party and would not mind representing them on the Health brief.

Health reform Website
    NO INDEPENDENT CANDIDATES HAVE BEEN PERMITTED TO STAND FOR DUBLIN NORTH (Letter sent to the Minister today 11/02/2011):

Minister Eamon O’Cuiv TD
    Department of the Environment

10/02/2011

Dear Minister

I write to inform you that myself and other independent candidates in the Dublin North constituency have been denied our rights to register as candidates in the coming General Election.

On February 1st the Dublin County returning officer issued nomination papers to all candidates. These were received by me on the afternoon of Fri 4th Feb.

The returning office began seeing registered party members on Friday 4th Feb and accepting their nominations. As you know party members are automatically eligible and need not submit nominations from members of the public. As you are aware independent candidates such as myself have the right to submit 30 nominations from members of the General public. I have been denied this right.

I contend that it was not possible for independent candidates in Dublin North to copy, distribute, and have those nominations verified as being on the electoral register, within the available time from the receipt of nomination papers from the returning office. Nor was it possible for the thirty nominees to have their respective nomination papers notarised by a Notary public, or a member of the Gardai as stipulated by the electoral amendment act.

Upon receipt of nomination papers from the Returning Officer on Friday 4th independent candidates had no more than two or possibly three business days to complete the nomination process during which time Party candidates were free to attend the returning office and confirm their candidacy. I further contend that the issue of nomination papers from the Returning Officer contained no information whatsoever as to the closing date for nominations, nor did he provide any indication as to where this information might be available to independent candidates. As a consequence of this no independent candidates have been able to stand in Dublin North.

I intend to seek legal advice in this regard and would appreciate your reply as we feel that this matter may compromise the outcome of the General Election.

Kind regards

Marcus de Brun

• Registered Users Posts: 3,843 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

If anyone has travelled from malahide to the n32 junction, along the malahide road, it is an absolute Enda-fest!! Literally every tree and lamppost has that man's facing smiling back at you.

Freaky...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭dubmick

Finally had a canvasser knock at the door, somebody canvassing for James O'Reilly. He literally handed me a flyer and legged it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

I too had my first canvasser! It was someone for Clare Daly. Fair play to them, they tried their best to answer my questions, and I was on my absolute best behaviour. Anyway, here's a quick summary of how it went, if anyone else can do the same (and if it's allowed Mods?), it would help a great deal as I don't think I'll be in to meet many canvassers.

Main issue was that the Socialist Party disagree with the IMF deal, that was their opening statement. When asked what the alternative one was, they said a renogiation, as opposed to default, which was comforting.

Their next piece was that the country needs a manufacturing base for the economy. I asked for examples, but they couldn't think of any. I asked how the effects of manufacturing would be mitigated against the negative effect on the environment (air, surface and water pollutants, etc.), and received no answer.

Still on manufacturing, I asked how Ireland is going to compete with cheaper countries to attract inward investment. The answer was that we can't compete by lowering labour costs. There was no other info given.

To be honest, I was expecting something more tangible on the last one, such as how we can invest in R&D and education (particularly on foreign languages) to provide a vibrant and knowledgable workforce to attract companies in, but it felt like this was the first time they were considering it.

Another point they made was that the State should provide more funding for manufacturing. When questioned on how this may result in more cronyism and corruption (i.e. should governments get involved at this level?), they responded with "well look what the current crowd have given us". It's one thing to be negative, but I'm looking for positive answers, not "I'm going to blame the past".

Before I got to ask any more questions, they excused themselves and left.

Anyway, hope that helps anyone out there who might miss the Socialist Party canvassers.

It was someone for Clare Daly. Fair play to them, they tried their best to answer

and received no answer.

There was no other info given.

It's one thing to be negative, but I'm looking for positive answers, not "I'm going to blame the past".

they excused themselves and left.

Anyway, hope that helps anyone out there who might miss the Socialist Party canvassers.

Thanks for that. The answers you got does'nt really suprise me.

As you point out it is vital we look forward and get away from the back biting we hear every day. We have a rocky enough road ahead without all the negativity

Jimdagym wrote: »
    If anyone has travelled from malahide to the n32 junction, along the malahide road, it is an absolute Enda-fest!! Literally every tree and lamppost has that man's facing smiling back at you.

Freaky...

Yeah Enda does look like the Dad of the Children of the Damned. Too many photoshop images and boring slogans on the posters around Dublin North.

Now this guy is a true original. His election poster from the 2007 General Election. He is running again this election in Biffo country. :D

147718.jpg

LeoB wrote: »
    Thanks for that. The answers you got does'nt really suprise me.

As you point out it is vital we look forward and get away from the back biting we hear every day. We have a rocky enough road ahead without all the negativity

The way forward is to learn from the past, negativity is only such if there is a positive to aim for so negativity has a massive roll to play in any progressive politics both social and economic.

From a political prospective in my experience this type of sentiment usually comes from bodies or personalities who have something to answer for past sins and would prefer no questions...... E.G. "concentrate on the future" The current FF and Green mantra is an ideal example

bit philosophical but there ye are. now to open a bottle of bordeau...;-)

I can easily see why F.F and Greens would use this mantra. But they (all parties) are turning people away with their current tactics, I dont like it at all.

You enjoy your Bordeau and I will enjoy my Chinese:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

The way forward is to learn from the past, negativity is only such if there is a positive to aim for so negativity has a massive roll to play in any progressive politics both social and economic.

From a political prospective in my experience this type of sentiment usually comes from bodies or personalities who have something to answer for past sins and would prefer no questions...... E.G. "concentrate on the future" The current FF and Green mantra is an ideal example

bit philosophical but there ye are. now to open a bottle of bordeau...;-)

I agree that you need to learn from the mistakes of the past, but then to have concrete plans on how to learn from those mistakes. The answer I received was "sure look at what the current crowd have done". Not "well the current crowd didn't do a great job of that themselves, but here's our policy on how to prevent corruption should we change things so that the State will fund manufacturing". Unfortunately, that wasn't given.

Why would anyone vote for someone who has no concrete plans?

Is there anybody out today, I wonder?

Michael Kennedy was at St Maurs Church this morning. Enda Kenny was in Omni in Santry so he may hit the Pavillions. Wouldn't be surprised if the Pavillions is crowded with candidates today.

Since Health Care Services seems a major concern for posters here I thought I would point out this thread on the Dutch Health Care model championed by James Reilly in the politics forum for those DCN readers that don't visit there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056165770

Hopefully the thread could give you an idea of what questions to ask James Reilly when you bump into him on the canvass trail.

Yeah Enda does look like the Dad of the Children of the Damned. Too many photoshop images and boring slogans on the posters around Dublin North.

Now this guy is a true original. His election poster from the 2007 General Election. He is running again this election in Biffo country. :D

147718.jpg

Is he in the Rubber Bandits??? If your lookin for a ride Iv a Horse outside!!

Is this for real? What would be appropriate for our local candidates?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Was up in Carlingford yesterday and a local independent, Fred Matthews, has "No more bull****" on his campaign posters. Raised a chuckle in the car!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

147718.jpg

He's looking a bit less Killnascuddy'ish these days......

johnbrackenind-197x197.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Eoineo

Received a glossy 4 page A4 flyer from Daragh O'Brien deposited with a rake of other junkmail via "The Leaflet People" this morning. It's called his "Education Newsletter". It basically goes through the top schools with accommodation issues from all parts of Dublin North & how he has managed to secure education funding or commitments to build.