Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disrespect of the gardai

• 23-11-2010 6:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭

Hello,

I am disgusted by the level of disrespect shown by the gardai to Irish civilians during protests.

They were well able to catch a cold when it was theyre wages that would be cut
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0S_TT5GAvo&feature=player_embedded

I felt like ripping the head off this scumbag garda

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

eh the shinners broke in to the grounds of government buildings, what did you want him to do exactly? fair play to him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I'd promote him to Sergeant.

I'd make him an Inspector only he didn't kick the gimp hard enough.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

WTF is wrong with people in this country?!

The protesters are clearly violent here,trying to rush the gates!

The Guard puts himself in harms way to stop this and its called excessive?!

Excessive is 50 odd people trying to attack 1 guard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

"well able to catch a cold," sorry you've just blown my old sayings meter clean to pieces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

yere jokin to get a rise out of me right?

IK09 wrote: »
    yere jokin to get a rise out of me right?

Yup,we are all in on it :rolleyes:

You try to storm government buildings,be prepared to get a few slaps,simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

1 Garda =/= all Gardai

However in the case of this motorbike garda there should be an investigation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

fedor.2. wrote: »
    eh the shinners broke in to the grounds of government buildings, what did you want him to do exactly? fair play to him
    Was the gate not unlocked?

Alter-Ego wrote: »

No such thing as a locked gate with sinn fein around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Unlocked for saftey reasons ie Fire access.

Well done Garda...SF are trying to make hay while the sun is not shining!

They will prey on the disenfranchised

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Alter-Ego wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Which would make you worse than the guy you're giving out about......

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

What is the problem with a Garda using his baton to protect himself and property??

That is why he has it!!

It's no different to him using it on a violent mob trying to storm your house after you called the gardai for help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Pookah

TheZohan wrote: »
    1 Garda =/= all Gardai

However in the case of this motorbike garda there should be an investigation.

Agreed. How did FaceKicker manage to get hold of a Garda uniform??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Hello,

I am disgusted by the level of disrespect shown by the gardai to Irish civilians during protests.

They were well able to catch a cold when it was theyre wages that would be cut
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0S_TT5GAvo&feature=player_embedded

Put yourself in his position what would you do ?

I am disgusted by the level of disrespect the public show to gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Budget day is going to be tasty -

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭dr gonzo

Ridiculous thread.

Its all been said but if that guy didnt want to be manhandled by a guard he shouldnt have kept attacking him which is what he was doing whther you agree or not. That guard's civic and professional responsibility is to protect those buildings and everyone in it from potentially violent members of the public, as far as i can see he was doing his job admirably and considering the sh1te these guys have to put up with lately its commendable he didnt lose the rag completely (not that i would condone that)

wow

the gates opened firstly, and a peaceful protest(as were the reports from every commentator on the issue) should never be met with force. The gardai are well able to strike when they feel like it.

It is funny the way people think the Gardai are under some legal obligation to just stand there and not try and stop people who are trying to get in somewhere where they're not allowed.

Oranage2 wrote: »

Whats on the menu?

the gates opened firstly, and a peaceful protest(as were the reports from every commentator on the issue) should never be met with force.

They were trying to storm government buildings. That's not a peaceful protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Hopefully the IMF cut the Garda wages and pensions to the EU average!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Chief--- wrote: »
    What is the problem with a Garda using his baton to protect himself and property??

That is why he has it!!

It's no different to him using it on a violent mob trying to storm your house after you called the gardai for help.

I've seen the clip and from what I saw his continued aggressive behaviour towards protestors after the initial interaction was uncalled for, his colleagues in this case did a great job at calming down the situation IMO.

DonJose wrote: »

Go you:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 kenneth5

WTF is wrong with people in this country?!

The protesters are clearly violent here,trying to rush the gates!

The Guard puts himself in harms way to stop this and its called excessive?!

Excessive is 50 odd people trying to attack 1 guard!

Oh ffs!! They didn't try to attack him. If fifty people attacked the one cop he wouldn't be able to walk away from it.

What did happen was a very minuscule incident. A few walked through a gate and handbags ensued. not worth getting outraged at the coppers or the shinners.

kenneth5 wrote: »
    Oh ffs!! They didn't try to attack him. If fifty people attacked the one cop he wouldn't be able to walk away from it.

What did happen was a very minuscule incident. A few walked through a gate and handbags ensued. not worth getting outraged at the coppers or the shinners.

I think outrage is essential at this exact moment in time

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    They were trying to storm government buildings. That's not a peaceful protest.

Storming government buildings would have meant entering the building. Jes... i thought the gardai's purpose was to protect all citizens. Not just politicians. That garda should be brought to court. Hes clearly abusing his power! Are you blind? Every other garda is doing what I would expect of them, standing theyre ground and not just going straight to the baton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 kenneth5

I think outrage is essential at this exact moment in time

Well yes outrage at the government and the bankers etc.

This thread is a much a do about nothing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

You better hope that face-kicker never joined the Guards.

Kenneth thats outrageous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Love the way the mention of the word scum to discribe a group of protesters. Tell ya want you come up around this neck of the woods and ye will see real scum.

People calm down and stop having a hairy mary for gob sake.

The gate was open, they walked in , shouted, the stig went nuts. Other Garda calmed the stig down and the group about 5 meters inside the gates. Sat down then left, and there labeled scum. Hahaha, if there scum. You really have no clue.

People get out raged about taxs , saying lets storm the dail kick up a fuss

People storm dail kick up a fuss,

People who just said lets go kick up a fuss are now calling people scum

Process repeats

Just to edit this, fair play to the other Garda there that actully kept the peace and done a good job without any violence use of force.

So it is just me that cares about the actual people of Ireland

Yes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Originally Posted by Oranage2
    Whats on the menu?
    A lot of chops!

You agree the people were trying to rush the building yes? Therefore he fulfilled his duties.
    Storming government buildings would have meant entering the building. Jes... i thought the gardai's purpose was to protect all citizens. Not just politicians. That garda should be brought to court. Hes clearly abusing his power! Are you blind? Every other garda is doing what I would expect of them, standing theyre ground and not just going straight to the baton

No it wouldnt. The area directly outside the front door of the building is government property.

The AGS job is the protection of the citizens of this country and the property of this country.

Similar to the other thread on the riots,the action of this Guard was pre-emptive,he actions proved to be a detterent to the others in that protest,they soon backed off,and the need for further baton us was nullified.

Biggins wrote: »
    A lot of chops!

Of the karate variety i hope

I guess you are one of those who will never need the gardai but I bet you would phone them if your house was robbed.

The action of the garda was "pre-emptive" ffs what bloody land are you living in. "pre-emptive attacks" are the calling card of George W Bush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

FYP.

BTW, always wondered until now why they were called Shinners.

hondasam wrote: »
    I guess you are one of those who will never need the gardai but I bet you would phone them if your house was robbed.

ya rang them when my car got broken into, they drank my tea and left....i felt so safe

No I care about our gardai who are actual people of Ireland !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I'd promote him to Sergeant.

I'd make him an Inspector only he didn't kick the gimp hard enough.:cool:

....which is the kind of reasoning we can expect from a man whose main contribution to this board is musings on his bowel motions....

ya rang them when my car got broken into, they drank my tea and left....i felt so safe

I knew you would ring them ! point proven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

hondasam wrote: »

Of course I'll phone them, that doesn't take from the fact they are overpaid.

Storming government buildings would have meant entering the building.

I said they tried. I didn't say they succeeded.
    Every other garda is doing what I would expect of them, standing theyre ground and not just going straight to the baton

In the thread title you used the plural 'Gardai' now you're changing your focus to one Garda. Which is it?

Also are you still saying it was a peaceful protest?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Wouldnt it have been terrible if the traffic cop had rammed his helmet into O Snodaighs face and broken it!

Those helmets are fierce expensive and we just cant afford to replace them in this climate.

I wouldnt mind but all this hassle just because O Snodaigh left the keys to his office at home!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Chief--- wrote: »

Its more than a bit odd the Gardai to his left and right didn't feel the need to lay in similarily though, isn't it?

I didn't see any property being attacked.

Nodin wrote: »
    ....which is the kind of reasoning we can expect from a man whose main contribution to this board is musings on his bowel motions....

Bowel motions are an essential part of this discussion

Of course I'll phone them, that doesn't take from the fact they are overpaid.

overpaid in your opinion !