Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Disrespect of the gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭IK09

And what exactly do you think there intentions were when they got inside?

To sit down and have a "peaceful" chat with some politicians?

I call bullshít

I dont know what the intentions were, but sitting down and talking to the politicians doesnt seem to work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

hondasam wrote: »
    helps who exactly ?

Jesus.

Go back and read again.

The fcuking hippies who got battered by Robocop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

First off the gates are NEVER left open at Government Buildings. At Leinster House the gate is left half open.

And I too believe its way OTT to start shooting people.

But people should not be fooled into thinking Government Buildings and Leinster House are soft targets either.

There was 3 from the army there, 1 senior and 2 soldiers in army dress suits with pistols holstered, they only came after gardaí had got a line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

IK09 wrote: »
    I felt like ripping the head off this scumbag garda
    I dont know what the intentions were, but sitting down and talking to the politicians doesnt seem to work

Maybe you'd rather go in ripping the heads off people.. Thank God there are strong, tough & brave members of AGS there to face you down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Crosáidí wrote: »
    the general public

The garda in question is doing a job he is paid to do.

This was a protest not a teddy bears picnic.

The general public have to take some of the blame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I have not approved nor condoned what he did.

Merely stating that using his bat has shown more results than people shouting.
    Then maybe he should use his bat on the government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

There was 3 from the army there, 1 senior and 2 soldiers in army dress suits with pistols holstered, they only came after gardaí had got a line

Seriously, only three?.

Sorry I have to shoot off (no pun), training in 30 minutes & I'm late.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Maybe you'd rather go in ripping the heads off people.. Thank God there are strong, tough & brave members of AGS there to face you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Don't you mean the protesters? The general public were at home.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

MyKeyG wrote: »
    Then maybe he should use his bat on the government.

Shouldn't take things out of context, never holds for a strong argument.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

That rag (the Indo) got it a bit arseways then:

"Some of them headed for a military police post where an armed corporal was on duty.

The corporal felt under threat and produced his baton to protect himself before he was supported by a garda motorcyclist, who also drew his retractable baton."

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/batons-drawn-as-sf-storms-seat-of-power-2431084.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

Beat people :confused:
    a peaceful protest
    For protesting 'cause our country is going down the sh!tter

Pal wrote: »
    Jesus.

Go back and read again.

The fcuking hippies who got battered by Robocop

alright calm down no need to get agitated.

I presume you mean the want to report him

as far as I can see, in the last few weeks of protests, the gardai dont have a clue how to do theyre jobs. Theyre acting like a bunch of bullies, as regards to the characteristics you have put on the gardai, thats a matter of opinion, but I when I march to government buildings to protest I will not have myself or others that are trying to have there voice heard treated like punching bags by the gardai or anyone else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

as far as I can see, in the last few weeks of protests, the gardai dont have a clue how to do theyre jobs. Theyre acting like a bunch of bullies, as regards to the characteristics you have put on the gardai, thats a matter of opinion, but I when I march to government buildings to protest I will not have myself or others that are trying to have there voice heard treated like punching bags by the gardai or anyone else

Well then stay in your squat, and only go out of a Quesday to collect the dole.

That's the best and safest way out of it.

Don't you mean the protesters? The general public were at home.

yes I do mean the protesters !

Well then stay in your squat, and only go out of a Quesday to collect the dole.

That's the best and safest way out of it.

One of the most stupid comments so far. I work, hard for that matter. Your comment just goes to show that you couldnt give a **** about your fellow countryman, considering you would belittle someone's opinion merely on the premise that theyre on the dole. You should be ashamed of yourself.

when you march make sure the protest is peacful.

Im sure it will get out of hand like the other protests and then ye can blame the gardai again.

One of the most stupid comments so far. I work, hard for that matter. Your comment just goes to show that you couldnt give a **** about your fellow countryman, considering you would belittle someone's opinion merely on the premise that theyre on the dole. You should be ashamed of yourself.

the gardai are your fellow countrymen and women also ! try not forget !

true, but they, more than any, should understand the general publics outrage and right to protest. They are "the protectors of society", but what is happening now transends this. The reason people are protesting, IS TO PROTECT SOCIETY, the protests are peaceful.

yes but the have a job to do, surely you can understand that. What would the general reaction be if the stood back and done nothing. The have to police the protests.

Thats pretty much what im getting at ya, they should have "kept order". Of courses there are people who are gonna get in there faces, the gardai are the face of the politicans in this case, at that protest they didnt act on behalf of the public, they just acted headless. No-one went to protest that they had a problem with the gardai!! But the gardai imposed themselves on this situation recklessly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Thats pretty much what im getting at ya, they should have "kept order". Of courses there are people who are gonna get in there faces, the gardai are the face of the politicans in this case, at that protest they didnt act on behalf of the public, they just acted headless. No-one went to protest that they had a problem with the gardai!! But the gardai imposed themselves on this situation recklessly.

The gardai are the face of politicans!! what are your on man! The only politicans face I saw at that protest was one ugly mug called O Snodaigh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

The varying interpretations of the term ’violent’ protest are quite amazing. If any of ye remember the H-Block protests back during the Hunger Strikes, now that was a time for true 'violent' protests. Flag posts wrapped with barbed wire, baseball bats with nails hammered through them, serious sh1t. A bit of jostling with colourful language thrown is certainly not 'violent' protest ffs!

Bosco boy wrote: »
    The gardai are the face of politicans!! what are your on man! The only politicans face I saw at that protest was one ugly mug called O Snodaigh!

what i meant was coming out and acting like that is exactly like being the "protectors of the government" not of society. It was the type of action that you would expect from the likes of Burma, squash any ressistance

The gardai are there to police and protect everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

He was a bit OTT alright. They have been a bit too heavy handed during recent protests. But in fairness to them, they are dealing with large crowds of (mostly) dickheads. His colleagues should have been backing him up a bit instead of just lookiing at him, then maybe he wouldn't have needed to go as far.

The guards dealing with the guy who stood in front of the ministers car were way too heavy handed. The thud when he hit the ground! They should have been able to control that one a lot better, it was only a minor incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭no nails niall

What I wouldn't do to get a crack at this idiot in the crash helmet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ps0V6giIezg&feature=player_embedded

What have I got to do to make you love me
    What have I got to do to make you care
    What do I do when lightning strikes me
    And I wake to find that you're not there
    What do I do to make you want me
    What have I got to do to be heard
    What do I say when it's all over
    And sorry seems to be the hardest word
    It's sad, so sad
    It's a sad, sad situation
    And it's getting more and more absurd
    It's sad, so sad
    Why can't we talk it over
    Oh it seems to me
    That sorry seems to be the hardest word
    What do I do to make you love me
    What have I got to do to be heard
    What do I do when lightning strikes me
    What have I got to do
    When sorry seems to be the hardest word

Is there loving in your eyes all the way.
    If I listened to your lies would you say
    I'm a man (a man) without conviction,
    I'm a man (a man) who doesn't know
    how to sell (to sell) a contradiction.
    You come and go, you come and go.

Karma karma karma karma karma chameleon,
    you come and go, you come and go.
    Loving would be easy if your colors were like my dreams,
    red gold and green, red gold and green.

Didn't hear your wicked words every day
    and you used to be so sweet, I heard you say
    that my love (my love) was an addiction.
    When we cling (we cling) our love is strong.
    When you go (you go) you're gone forever.
    You string along, you string along.

Every day is like survival (sur-vi-val),
    you're my lover (you're my lover), not my rival.
    Every day is like survival (sur-vi-val),
    you're my lover (you're my lover), not my rival.

I'm a man (a man) without conviction,
    I'm a man (a man) who doesn't know
    how to sell (to sell) a contradiction.
    You come and go, you come and go.

Karma karma karma karma karma chameleon
    You come and go....

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Which would make you worse than the guy you're giving out about......

Give it a rest Ghandi.

Take your crash helment of Garda and we'll go toe to toe, man a man, i'll even let you start with your skinny dildo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭scientific1982

Thick, ignorant, ****in down the country Gardai. Thugs in uniform.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Yeah ur right :rolleyes:

Sure he should have just let everyone in!

He was doing his job, and im sure your the type of person to give out if he wasnt doing his job.

Maybe if he asked nicely they would have gone away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

Oh yeah, I'd tap that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Of course the shinners are all saints.......:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I'm guessing there's loads of things you wouldn't do to him. Cos you see, this is the internet. Some people tend to exaggerate about their hardness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Take your crash helment of Garda and we'll go toe to toe, man a man, i'll even let you start with your skinny dildo.

That's the worst chatup line ever

SomeFool wrote: »

F uCk the shinners, wouldn't piss on that lot either.

But this thug in the helment was out of order.

Apart from that the whole thing was a set up anyway, the gate left open and the first group through a load of press reporters.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭winston82

Collie D wrote: »
    I'm guessing there's loads of things you wouldn't do to him. Cos you see, this is the internet. Some people tend to exaggerate about their hardness.

This, i'd imagine you'd bottle it OP.

Collie D wrote: »

Anytime,anyplace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

The varying interpretations of the term ’violent’ protest are quite amazing.

The irish version of violent protest. Just make sure you have a camera. Start violence. Then hope you get hurt. Then start crying. Come on the internet and blubber about how you got hurt - with youtube links of course.

It was funny looking at pictures of the student protest. Hundreds of people with camera phones raised in the air. Hoping someone would hurt them.

It probably has something to do with post colonialism or victim mentality or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,401 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Anytime,anyplace.

Yeah, see you there :rolleyes:

Anytime,anyplace.

Can he bring his helmet and baton?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

SomeFool wrote: »

I'm not a Sinn Fein supporter but in this clip they do not appear to be doing an awful wrong.

In my view the Garda involved acted in a very heavy handed manner.

Can he bring his helmet and baton?

Toe to toe, man a man. No helmet allowed. He can keep on his boiler lagging and start with baton if he so wishes.

what would you do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,547 ✭✭✭funkyjebus

Anytime,anyplace.

Says it all.:rolleyes:

And what would you have done in the gardai's shoes (and 'I wouldn't be in his shoes' is a stupid answer)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Don't worry, I fully expect the Gardai to be run ragged over the next couple of weeks. They have shown how inadequate they are at dealing with disturbances, they are in for a big shock on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,061 ✭✭✭kirving

I wonder what would happen if I got myself a few Nazi flags and tried to get pas the security at the Reichstag. I can see a lot more than a few batons being drawn, and used.

The Garda was totally in the right.

what would you do ?

He wouldn't be playing bogball at the weekend and his bike might need stabilisers.