Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disrespect of the gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭no nails niall

funkyjebus wrote: »
    Says it all.:rolleyes:

And what would you have done in the gardai's shoes (and 'I wouldn't be in his shoes' is a stupid answer)

Locked the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

It's been done.

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭REDZ

I reckon your are talking about the Garda right?
    I was really hoping it was some mindless knacker/ gurrier in the Sinn Fein mob, as they attempt to hijack our legitimate anger towards the pathetic government for their own selfish political ends.
    I would go to the march on Saturday, but I am sure that Sinn Fein/ Socialist Workers would attempt to claim my protest/ presence as some endorsement of their unrealistic populist rhetoric.
    Ireland really needs a real leader of substance and vision, to emerge right now to save us from this politically motivated and socially divisive attempt by the far (too unrealistic) left to hijack the public's anger for a few more votes.
    Anyway this stuff belongs in Politics, not AH
    Rant over.

bohsboy wrote: »
    Don't worry, I fully expect the Gardai to be run ragged over the next couple of weeks. They have shown how inadequate they are at dealing with disturbances, they are in for a big shock on Saturday.

Announcement. All bogball games for the weekend are cancelled lads. The garda are working overtime and can't make it back up the country to tog out.

REDZ wrote: »
    I reckon your are talking about the Garda right?
    I was really hoping it was some mindless knacker/ gurrier in the Sinn Fein mob, as they attempt to hijack our legitimate anger towards the pathetic government for their own selfish political ends.
    I would go to the march on Saturday, but I am sure that Sinn Fein/ Socialist Workers would attempt to claim my protest/ presence as some endorsement of their unrealistic populist rhetoric.
    Ireland really needs a real leader of substance and vision, to emerge right now to save us from this politically motivated and socially divisive attempt by the far (too unrealistic) left to hijack the public's anger for a few more votes.
    Anyway this stuff belongs in Politics, not AH
    Rant over.

As i said, Wouldn't piss on the shinners.

But this thug garda in crash helment was out of control and needs a hiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

you dont know him and do you think you are the one to give him a hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Please do not advocate violence.

Eye for an eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Oh great another member of the Gardai starting a thread looking for a pat on the back......go back to battering innocent students with batons and twiddling your thumbs standing at the top of O'Connell street doing nothing. Real Heroes :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Flygimp

AGS are the first line of defence there, you really don't want to raise it to the second & last line of defence.

And what do you think they will do... remember the 'love Ulster riots'...
    When the burning cars roll, shop windows break and innocents start getting crushed... the Southern Ireland police that day were ill prepared and at times were a f*cking joke... trust me on this one sport.

And when people got dragged out of cars and beaten by local scum in Dublin on the evening of the riots the police just looked on...

Go up north during the silly July season when the estate scum pull rolled cars across roads... bust a few heads to get through to your own family whilst your car gets pelted with bricks (as the PSNI looks on with side arms and do f*ck all) and get back to me...

hondasam wrote: »
    you dont know him and do you think you are the one to give him a hiding.

I know the gard's a thug, do you know something else, for example his name or number by anychance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Thugs beating thugs then. Perfect.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭geespot

whys everybody so angry

geespot wrote: »
    whys everybody so angry
    I'm not. I'm amused. ;)

Johro wrote: »
    Thugs beating thugs then. Perfect.:rolleyes:

Another Ghandi.

Im no thug believe me, but I will not put up with garda behaving like this thug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,414 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I know the gard's a thug, do you know something else, for example his name or number by anychance?

I do. His name is Bond. James Bond. And his number is 007. Now go get 'im, Champ!

same old, same old,,, what is needed is that the ringleaders with the Shinner placards are isolated and the ringleaders who as I saw from the vid, had O'Snodaigh in full voice, should have been wearing full upper and lower dentures today and on a diet of soup for a week or two.

That's what i would have ensured if i was one of those cops being abused and taken advantage of.
    1. Figures, that's your style.
    2. Oo-er Missus.. No sexual advances were made.

Another Ghandi.

Im no thug believe me, but I will not put up with garda behaving like this thug.
    Neither would I. I'm just not sure he should have his teeth knocked out for it. We have laws and complaints procedures for that kind of thing. Last time I looked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Crosáidí wrote: »
    a peaceful protest

When they pushed their way through into the grounds of government buildings it stopped being a peaceful protest. People involved in a peaceful protest to not try to push their way past Gardai.
    For protesting 'cause our country is going down the sh!tter

The Gardai weren't trying to stop them protesting, they were trying to get them out of the gates again.
    Give it a rest Ghandi.

Ah child, have you even read my posts on this thread at all? If you had you'd see that I have already stated that I believe the Garda in question was over the top.

But y'know, it's much easier for someone like you to have everything in black and white, someone is either FIGHTIN' DA POWER or else they're Ghandi!

It is hilarious though that you think calling someone Ghandi is an insult!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

johnn wrote: »
    Oh great another member of the Gardai starting a thread looking for a pat on the back......

Did you actually read the OP? :confused:
    Here I will add it for you

So you think IK09 is a member who signed up and started a thread to call his comrades scumbags
    IK09 wrote: »
    Hello,

I am disgusted by the level of disrespect shown by the gardai to Irish civilians during protests.

They were well able to catch a cold when it was theyre wages that would be cut
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0S_TT5GAvo&feature=player_embedded

I felt like ripping the head off this scumbag garda

Realy johnn, I reckon you saw the thread title, made an assumption and got it all wrong.
    Read first, post later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

johnn wrote: »
    Oh great another member of the Gardai starting a thread looking for a pat on the back......go back to battering innocent students with batons and twiddling your thumbs standing at the top of O'Connell street doing nothing. Real Heroes :rolleyes:

Are you lost? Because it doesn't seem like you're on the same thread as the rest of us.

Don't get me wrong, there's plenty of examples of Gardai losing their heads and letting loose on people, but saying you'd like to kick the sh1te out of them isn't gonna solve it. Before you say complaining doesn't work, they get suspended for a while and then re-instated, that's usually true, but that's because not enough people complain. It's easy to sit at home watching the news and saying 'Jaysis look at that, ain't it awful.'
    Same goes for demonstrations. Peaceful demonstrations. A few hundred won't worry the government, and they, and the media, can dismiss them, but ten thousand will have them worried and half a million would have them sh1tting themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Looks to me as though the copper booted the guy when he was on the ground. Though I could be very wrong. if so, I'm sorry. If I'm right it's exactly the type of behaviour I grew up watching the gardai engage in, and getting away with it.

Eye for an eye.
    Wow. Biblical justice. George W. would be proud of ya. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

Johro wrote: »
    Wow. Biblical justice. George W. would be proud of ya. :rolleyes:

no nails is just angry because he has just realised that it was THAT Garda who paid his fingers a visit with a pliers that fateful night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 fewings

Hello,

I am disgusted by the level of disrespect shown by the gardai to Irish civilians during protests.

I FELL THE THE SAME AS YOU.. DO THE GARDAI NOT SEE WOT HAPENING TO OUR COUNTRY

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭lemansky

fewings wrote: »
    I FELL THE THE SAME AS YOU.. DO THE GARDAI NOT SEE WOT HAPENING TO OUR COUNTRY

They do indeed see what is happening, and dislike it as much as anyone-hence they weren't stopping anyone from protesting and making their feelings known.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

There are two types of guards, sheep and scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Norwayviking

Hello,

Good job.Fair play to the Guards.Pity he didnt have a bigger baton.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

the garda in ireland are extremly poorly trained for rioting, they use the same heavy handedness for one man as five men but at this point in our history an inept garda force doesnt make a difference

"An improved riot and crowd control interdiction method involves forming, in a defined location, a foam barrier which effectively inhibits passage through the barrier. Other anti-personnel devices may be placed and obscured by the foam barrier. Various barriers and methods to form a contained interdiction foam barrier are disclosed."

An example of effective riot control not one garda kicking a man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

bohsboy wrote: »
    Don't worry, I fully expect the Gardai to be run ragged over the next couple of weeks. They have shown how inadequate they are at dealing with disturbances, they are in for a big shock on Saturday.

ICTU want a peaceful protest and are using 250 stewards to ensure so. Suppose it didn't put of a few clowns before though.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    There are two types of guards, sheep and scum.

That's just bollocks to be honest.

But do carry on with your handy to spout off generalisations, it makes for entertaining reading.

well there are some nice ones as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

I'm glad that bollix o'snotty got a dig in the mush, the slimy looking prick, him and the whole shin bone gang can go fcuk off back up north.

The third type have fancy hats?

Im verging more towards your line of thinking given the number of assaults the gardai were involved in versus the amount of prosecutions for said assaults. I can safely say there are still thugs in the police force.

Yup. That's about the response I expected alright.

Well done for living down to my expectations.

Better than having expectations and being beat down surely? I've first hand experience of the type of brutality the gardai like to dish out in the name of law and order so I'll stick to my original statement.

I tried this before, I agree with you one hundred per cent but you'll find a large amount of cognitive dissonance applied to the gaurds by some here. eg painting a person as a scumbag whos up for assault but lauding a gaurd or group of gaurds for beating a man.

So you know for a fact what all Gardai are like based on the actions of a few?

Absolute nonsense. But if it makes you happy to deal in such broad generalisations then carry on. Such a simplistic, black and white view of life must be quite something to hold.

Wholly inaccurate but still quite something.

I'm not for a minute arguing that all Gardai are angels or that there isn't corruption in the force - that's been proven in court. However saying all Gardai are one way or the other just smacks of a juvenile attitude to authority that most people grow out of when they get past their teens.

The world isn't such a cut and dry place where you can just say that all 15,000 members of the Gardai are either one way or the other when you've probably met only had dealings with 50 of them (at most).

So you know for a fact what all Gardai are like based on the actions of a few?

Absolute nonsense. But if it makes you happy to deal in such broad generalisations then carry on. Such a simplistic, black and white view of life must be quite something to hold.

Wholly inaccurate but still quite something.

The actions of the few are tolerated by the group as a whole however

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭markievicz

Of course he knows first hand the actions of the gardai sure wasn't he flying the flag high for SWP during the student protests a few weeks back!:rolleyes:

steddyeddy wrote: »
    They're tolerated by quite a few posters here.

Read some of the 'the scumbag had it coming' threads.

Except for the times when they're not.

Link

Link

Link

Link

And here we have a Garda identifying another Garda in court:

Link

Funny that considering they're all supposed to be either 'scum' or 'sheep'.

You were doing so well until you thanked a post calling all Guards sheeple and thugs.

There have been many prosecutions of Gardai in the last few years for different things.

Probably escaped your own precious type of cognitive dissonance though.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Link

Link

Link

Link

And here we have a Garda identifying another Garda in court:

Link

Funny that considering they're all supposed to be either 'scum' or 'sheep'.

Cheers for that. There have been dozens of cases in the last few years. Not great for the ould PR now, but it shows you that the organisation has changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,311 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

TheZohan wrote: »
    However in the case of this motorbike garda there should be an investigation.
    Agreed. He showed too much restraint.

Link

Link

Link

Link

31 convicted of serious offences and only 7 lost their jobs? so out of those 31 there is 24 still working and those are the ones we hear about

Edit most of those involved in those links are still in the force.

31 convicted of serious offences and only 7 lost their jobs? so out of those 31 there is 24 still working and those are the ones we hear about

You're moving on to a different point now which is punishment for crimes committed. Courts in Ireland generally get a hard time for handing out lenient sentences overall.

I'm merely showing that Gardai do get convicted of crimes and pulled up when they're out of line. Perhaps this doesn't happen as often as it should but it does happen.

And back to my original point - anyone who thinks all Gardai are either blind sheep doing what they're told or scum is just plain wrong.

It's a point of view that just doesn't stand up in the real world.

K-9 wrote: »
    You were doing so well until you thanked a post calling all Guards sheeple and thugs.

There have been many prosecutions of Gardai in the last few years for different things.

Probably escaped your own precious type of cognitive dissonance though.

And how many involved in those links are still working in the force? ie how many people who assault people as a first resort are defiantly stil in the garda?