Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I went to the chippy on the way home from work..

• 23-11-2010 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭

..to get a bag of chips (they didn't do cones) and a scallop.

The girl was just opening as it had just turned 5 o'clock. She opened the padlocked shutters (dirty, rusty and, I don't doubt, full of cobwebs), then proceeded to serve my delicious and nutritious potato delight without washing her hands!

Now my grandma always said a bit of muck doesn't hurt, but in this day and age isn't that just minging?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

did you accept and pay for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

You still ate it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Just eat yer feckin chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

Yes, it was delicious. To be honest, I think the dirt, rust, cobwebs and sweat added to the overall flavour. Still minging though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,780 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Not much use telling us is it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

Yes, it was delicious. To be honest, I think the dirt, rust, cobwebs and sweat added to the overall flavour. Still minging though.

It meets all your nutritional requirements:

rust - includes iron
    cobwebs - deters flies
    sweat - contains salt
    dirt - nutritious enzymes

yum yum yum

In fairness though, if she opened the place how did she cook them so quickly?

EDIT: Its called a chipper, not a chippy. None of the englishy talk now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Cause chipper food is the picture of health.That probably made it better for you

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭jimbojazz

Something similar happened us on the way back from Dublin about 20 years ago in a Chipper in Carlow before all this health and safety really kicked in- they were cleaning the floors with no gloves on and served us straight after without washing their hands. One of the lads challenged them over it - We got barred:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

Jaysus boy sure i was reared on greasy Ned's and i turned out grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

Jaysus boy sure i was reared on greasy Ned's and i turned out grand :D

ah yeah, they didn't call it greasy neds for nothing!

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭AndyKiely

You get salt and vinegar on them? Takes away the minging!

I can't remember the last time ANYTHING I got from a chipper was delicious AND nutritious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Where the hell can you get a cone of chips? I don't think I could even bring myself to ask for such a thing lest I be laughed and jeered out of the chipper!

• Registered Users Posts: 241 ✭✭AndyKiely

AdMMM wrote: »
    Where the hell can you get a cone of chips? I don't think I could even bring myself to ask for such a thing lest I be laughed and jeered out of the chipper!

Pretty sure they have them in Brennans in Lisduggan. I remember the last time I was there they were advertised and had big stacks of cones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

AndyKiely wrote: »
    Pretty sure they have them in Brennans in Lisduggan. I remember the last time I was there they were advertised and had big stacks of cones.

Brennans do indeed have chip cones. I don't see the point honestly unless they put a load of lovely mayonaisse on top like they do in Belgium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

When I was a young lad growing up our local chipper was the stuff of legends, I mean this was the early 90's so there was no HACCP or health and safety.

Things like:

she NEVER changed the oil and rarely cleaned.

Used to precook the burgers and just microwave them.

In the end Rats chewed all the eletrical wires and it never reopened.

Needless to say I don't remember her washing her hands :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

img-set?.out=jpg&id=qEjgWoyz3RGLGqpc0sQJKA&size=l

nom nom nom..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

img-set?.out=jpg&id=qEjgWoyz3RGLGqpc0sQJKA&size=l

nom nom nom..

you finally got your cone of chips, I hope your happy now!

Its a pity they were brennans chips though, which are mank, instead of good stuff like Walkers :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭wellboy76

ziedth wrote: »
    When I was a young lad growing up our local chipper was the stuff of legends, I mean this was the early 90's so there was no HACCP or health and safety.

Things like:

she NEVER changed the oil and rarely cleaned.

Used to precook the burgers and just microwave them.

In the end Rats chewed all the eletrical wires and it never reopened.

Needless to say I don't remember her washing her hands :).

Johnnie Walkers and Burger King still do that

^

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Damn this thread! I'm off to the chipper now. Had a craving since seeing the picture of lovely chips in that cone.

So that's why Burger King tasted a bit off this morning....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Deisekickboxing

why do chipper staff wear them vinyl gloves??

they seem to use them for handling money,using cleaning stuff, making the burgers ,handling the extra cheese and whatever else comes with it.............:pac:

wellboy76 wrote: »
    Johnnie Walkers and Burger King still do that

Johnny Walkers don't do it anymore, they have a grill now and you can see them cooking it in front of you.

Do they cook the onions? That's the secret behind a nice Dooley's burger.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Dan133269

dayshah wrote: »

cooking the onions? I thought most places do that.

dayshah wrote: »

Yeah afaik they do,I dont eat burgeres in Johnny Walkers,tbh ive been going there for 20 years and all i get is fish n chips and sausages,i have other chippers to get my burgers :)

Dan133269 wrote: »
    cooking the onions? I thought most places do that.

Unfortunately no :(
    I hate biting into an uncooked onion.

I don't usually get burgers from Walkers either. I'm more of a sausage man.

At the risk of dragging this off topic but I think there is a special extra hot circle of hell for people who have cooked onions on their burgers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

i shall be in that layer of hell when i go so :)