Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr Slow: The Return

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

slowsteady wrote: »
    I thought it was just culchie broadband, good to know the Pale gets the same service :D

Maybe it's because I'm from Limerick ;)
    chinguetti wrote: »
    Oh to live in a world free of Garmins and their problems:D

Go out and run lads and don't worry about the tech stuff

If you introduce me to the lad who supplies you with that juice that makes you lightening fast with feck all training, I'll fire the Garmin into the river! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

If you introduce me to the lad who supplies you with that juice that makes you lightening fast with feck all training, I'll fire the Garmin into the river!
    +1 :)

Altho down where you live Chinquetti there are all kinds of gents selling all manner of powders and pills to solve problems [and maybe make you go faster!] :pac:

Met Meno and Claralara this morning for a pleasant run in the park.

15.35 miles in 2:27 average pace 9:35 min miles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Good stuff... And claralara was sober on this occasion :p

Met Meno in the park for a planned 15 x 9 min miles, however when I suggested this pace it was met with a childlike disappointment:P so we went a touch quicker.

15.04 miles in 2:04 average pace 8:26 min miles.

Legs felt pretty heavy towards the end of this and they really shouldn't have, I'll take it easy between now and Sunday's race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Met Meno in the park for a planned 15 x 9 min miles, however when I suggested this pace it was met with a childlike disappointment:P so we went a touch quicker.

15.04 miles in 2:04 average pace 8:26 min miles.

Legs felt pretty heavy towards the end of this and they really shouldn't have, I'll take it easy between now and Sunday's race.

What race are you doing on Sunday? You doing the Frank Duffy 10miler the weekend after?

I'm doing the Celbridge 5k, then I'm off on hols to Tenerife on Tuesday, I shall substitute Ryan's for the beach;)

Edit: What time are you hoping for in the 10 mile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

I managed 68:45 last year. If I can get just under 70 I will be v.happy but realistically this year it's looking like 72 - 75 minutes.

Enjoy the Holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

I'm doing the Celbridge 5k, then I'm off on hols to Tenerife on Tuesday, I shall substitute Ryan's for the beach;)

Edit: What time are you hoping for in the 10 mile?

What are you hoping for in the 5k? Knowing you, probably sub 15 :rolleyes::)

jcsmum wrote: »
    What are you hoping for in the 5k? Knowing you, probably sub 15 :rolleyes::)

I can dream...:D

Sub 20 missus, heading out at 6:20 pace and hanging on for dear life! I'll do well to get it but if you don't aim for outside what you think your reach is, you'll never make a leap.;)

I can dream...:D

Sub 20 missus, heading out at 6:20 pace and hanging on for dear life! I'll do well to get it but if you don't aim for outside what you think your reach is, you'll never make a leap.;)

Wise words indeed!

I'll definately have to frame that!!! :D

And I'll frame this :D
    (and show it to digger!)

And I'll frame this :D
    (and show it to digger!)

:o

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,551 ✭✭✭chinguetti

:o

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone!

You called??

Dublin Training begins with a 5k race on Sunday and a 10 day holiday in Tenerife :D.

Running in 38c should be great training though......:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,855 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Cellbridge 5k is a nice race, ideal for a pb.

Its actually an easier course than Enfield 5k, you will break 20 mins on this course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

Dublin Training begins with a 5k race on Sunday and a 10 day holiday in Tenerife :D.

Running in 38c should be great training though......:eek:

Best of luck with the 12 week taper - TRUST NOTHING!

My log title reflects in no way, shape or form what the goal of my current training is...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

claralara wrote: »
    My log title reflects in no way, shape or form what the goal of my current training is...:D
    Hehehe :p

Mine works, given that my basic goal at the moment is "Don't get sick or injured again any time soon" :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Too much change. Don't like change.

If there were no change, there'd be no butterflies!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

You have used a generic title like mine and RQ's, one that works for everything you are training for.

Now you're gonna have to change it after October again.

menoscemo wrote: »
    You have used a generic title like mine and RQ's, one that works for everything you are training for.

To - Mr Slow....Ironman!:D

Now lets be honest, they'll never match up to us and our great ideas.

You're two of a kind! ;)

No need to insult me! :p

Seriously though, are ye related?

Met up with a mate for a handy 9.22 miles in 1:24 average pace 9:08 min miles

As expected this felt nice and handy and I feel like I could go back out and do it again this minute. I think I'm finally realising the benefits to running slower, to copy a phrase from Meno's log, I've put in a lot of 'junk miles' in training in the past so going forward that's going to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Met up with a mate for a handy 9.22 miles in 1:24 average pace 9:08 min miles

As expected this felt nice and handy and I feel like I could go back out and do it again this minute. I think I'm finally realising the benefits to running slower, to copy a phrase from Meno's log, I've put in a lot of 'junk miles' in training in the past so going forward that's going to stop.

:eek: I'm shocked.

You have 'other' friends? :p

:eek: I'm shocked.

You have 'other' friends? :p

Aren't you a fcukin charmer?

10am Friday?