Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mr Slow: The Return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Probably wise, your recovery will be faster for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Did somebody hit you on the head? You've been making a lot of sensible decisions lately? :p

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

jcsmum wrote: »
    Did somebody hit you on the head? You've been making a lot of sensible decisions lately? :p

I know, scary, isn't it? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Mr Slow wrote: »
    I've pulled out of pacing DCM, was really looking forward to it but I'm going to build myself back up slowly without the pressure of having to do it in a short time frame.:o
    Aw thats a pity!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

I've pulled out of pacing DCM, was really looking forward to it but I'm going to build myself back up slowly without the pressure of having to do it in a short time frame.:o
    Sorry to hear but I'd say in the long run (pun intended :)) you'll be back to yourself much quicker as a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

We should report mr slow's account as having been hacked, someone with sense has taken over :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,855 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

We should report mr slow's account as having been hacked, someone with sense has taken over :D

agree with u there. fair play to him as it's the right call. at the end of the day it's just a race. plenty more to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

It's just 4 hrs of pain, you're missing nothing trust me.

I was wondering when you were gonna pull out of that, lunacy imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Especially when you drink 7 pints the night before and wake up with a scar on your face :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

menoscemo wrote: »

Especially when you drink 7 pints the night before and wake up with a scar on your face :p

Damn it, I knew I should have taken the 4/6 Brian had on offer for this ;)

Sorry to hear that Dude but it would appear to be the smart call.

5 miles in the park with Jcsmum and Chinguetti, had to bail on the run as the hr was sky high for almost recovery pace.:o

Like I said on my own log, you're getting sense! :)

So take it your giving the half a miss too?

Yep, gonna take a break from running for a month or so, at least anyting above 3/4 miles and let the strength rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Wow, a major break :eek:
    Going to try running these shorter distances more often?

RayCun wrote: »

Ha bleedin Ha, I'm talking about running less than 10 miles a week. :cool:

I'm getting better but every 10 mile run I do makes me feel sick for a few days because my body can't cleanse all the poison out and deal with training at the same time. Since I was forced to cut my mileage right back I've put on a stone :eek:, need some calorie burning (outside of the bedroom - Had to get that in before that mucky minded Jcsmum brings the tone down)

RayCun wrote: »

Ha bleedin Ha, I'm talking about running less than 10 miles a week. :cool:

I'm getting better but every 10 mile run I do makes me feel sick for a few days because my body can't cleanse all the poison out and deal with training at the same time. Since I was forced to cut my mileage right back I've put on a stone :eek:, need some calorie burning (outside of the bedroom - Had to get that in before that mucky minded
    Jcsmum brings the tone down)

look at swimming even.

It has to be low effort unfortunately. :)

look at swimming even.

how about a seat at the race on sat with beers?

That'll do, you coming for pints after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Same for me at the moment. I was 170 HR at 10 min miling the other day :eek: Nearly 6 months in and still as bad as ever.

Probably should have said this to you before, apologies if its too late;

if you wanna run, keep the HR <150 (or what ever is normal recovery HR), anything higher will just set back your recovery completely and knock you back down again. Even if you have to walk to maintain this HR, you do it. Low HR exercise will do you good. Heard that info from a specialist.

Same for me at the moment. I was 170 HR at 10 min miling the other day :eek: Nearly 6 months in and still as bad as ever.

if you wanna run, keep the HR <150 (or what ever is normal recovery HR), anything higher will just set back your recovery completely and knock you back down again. Even if you have to walk to maintain this HR, you do it. Low HR exercise will do you good. Heard that info from a specialist.

Thanks, low effort exercise helps the lymphatic system to drain toxins.

Have you got a diagnosis yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Good luck with the recovery C. Wise to take a step back and get it sorted 100% :(

pistol_75 wrote: »
    Good luck with the recovery C. Wise to take a step back and get it sorted 100% :(

Thanks P, Roll on 2013 :)

That'll do, you coming for pints after?

No cant make it, as daughters birthday the next day so have to go and get the party food and also my brothers wife 40, so have to go to mullingar.

Will make the drinks for the marathon this time though, determine to get there!

No cant make it, as daughters birthday the next day so have to go and get the party food and also my brothers wife 40, so have to go to mullingar.

Will make the drinks for the marathon this time though, determine to get there!

Happy Birthday to Princess and I'll hold you a seat for DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Thanks, low effort exercise helps the lymphatic system to drain toxins.

Have you got a diagnosis yet?

Frightening stuff lads. I hope ye get back to health asap.

need some calorie burning (outside of the bedroom - Had to get that in before that mucky minded Jcsmum brings the tone down)

Must. Resist. the. need. to. comment.......

jcsmum wrote: »
    Must. Resist. the. need. to. comment.......

Feck off you! :P

By the way, It's September, change your log title. :cool:

Feck off you! :P

By the way, It's September, change your log title. :cool:

If I change my log title how will the 'squatters' know where to find it! ;)