Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest March 27/11/2010

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭marglin

anyone got on details on time and starting point? also what route is it taking?
    i might pop down to vent a bit but if i could just merge at some place that would be grand, iv things to do cant be marching all day:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

To those who dont want to support a Union, why not Go to the start point in Wood Quay and see if ye can organise a bunch of Like minded individuals to March on the Dail instead??

fair play to Jim Corr, the Video he made spells it out fairly clearly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

I agree with the idea of a public march to show dissatisfaction. That is one thing, but this is another thing of an entirely different nature.

This demonstration was called for & will be spearheaded by The Irish Congress of Trade Unions. There is no getting away from that fact. And the ICTU have only one thing on their agenda... whatever is best for themselves & their own members.

They have no interest in the greater good of the country.

And for that reason, I will be not attending under an ICTU banner.

People should really be aware also of who David Begg is... he is the head of the ICTU and on Saturday, he will without doubt be calling for heads to roll, spouting on about corrupt politicians, bank bailouts, cronyism and "power to the people".

Yet he is an integral part of the cronyism that this country needs to be done with.

Here are a few things he won't be mentioning on Saturday;

1. David Begg is a board director of the Central Bank & has been since 1995. This board - which also shares several board members with the Financial Regulator - were part of the banking system whose complacency & negligence are a huge part of the banking & financial crisis we are now in.

2. The ICTU's previous president (up to last year), was none other than Peter McLoone -friend of Fianna Fail and disgraced former head of FAS - who resigned in 2009 after the recent scandal involving the wasteful expenditure, including massive overspending on promotion at the agency.

3. By refusing to accept very modest wage reductions, by negotiating the ruinous Croke Park Agreement, and by opposing any and every effort to reduce public spending from the dizzying heights it had reached by 2008, Begg and friends helped send the message to the markets that the trade unionists were too powerful, and the Irish government too spineless, for genuine deficit reduction measures to take place.

So to all of you who think it's fine to march under the ICTU banner, then that's fine by me.... just as long as you know who it is whose banner you will be under, what they represent, who they are led by & the part they have played in the huge mess that you are going out to protest against.

If you really want to protest, I suggest that you start your march from the opposite end of the ICTU march, meet them in the middle & ask David Begg and his union cronies when are they going to accept their part of the responsibilty for the shit that this country is now in.

And then take the march up to the Dail... as the ICTU march isn't even going there.

To be honest, it's very hard to argue with any of this. But at the end of the day, it is human nature to want to protect that which you have negotiated for yourself, either individually and/or collectively. We all aspire to be better paid and a bit more comfortable. You can't blame the fact that only the PS is highly unionised within the state. The fact that the partnership process has been so generally under representative of our society is a wider issue that I don't think you can blame the PS or the ICTU on.

Some of the submissions made by IBEC and AmCham, (American Chamber of Commerce in Ireland), have DEMANDED that no legislation is passed that provides for automatic union representation (within a workplace), to Irish workers, or as we are hearing lately in relation to the raising of Corporation Tax, "we'll walk"...

And now we are seeing that the selfish whims of what are largely US multinational operations in Ireland, having been catered for, have caused a serious problem for us now because our partnership model has been hugely under representative of our society. All those jobs in Dell, Microsoft, Google, IBM, Intel, not a single one of their workers had an input into social partnership. You may argue that those workers could have joined a union at any time and had a voice, but why would you join a union if you could not use the membership to the maximum extent possible and specifically in relation to your working terms & conditions with your employer???

If we had a flavour of trade unionism in Ireland that was more generally representative of the country as a whole, I don't think that we would have a problem here.

Trade unionism in Ireland could benefit hugely from exposure to the type of flexibility that is an inherent part of the private sector in Ireland.

Let's be honest, the real issue with unions isn't the pay of their members in my view, it is the lack of change with the times, the witholding of cooperation in relation to change for the purposes of improving terms & conditions, it's the deliberate but subtle obstruction of improvements that one would expect to happen over time in any other workplace...

So to finalise, I'm marching tomorrow, are the ICTU perfect? Far from it... Did they contribute to the problem? They probably did to no small degree, but that's as much down to our decision to tolerate a flavour of social partnership that didn't represent our society as a whole.

Just like we tolerated that situation and allowed it to evolve without protest, are we going to sit back again and let further wrongs be put upon us??? Well I'm not, and I think it's fair to say that many banners can fall under the one protest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 BeefJerkyX

This is so much bigger than unions. It's just shooting yourself (and everyone else) in the foot not to turn up because you don't support the unions. I don't support the unions. I certainly don't support Sinn Fein, who I suspect are going to do very well out of everything that's going on.

But I'll be there.

As will a lot of people who have no political leanings beyond simply wanting to survive. The people in this country have a history of apathy and this is exactly why the government, and previous governments (because I'm not all that convinced that we've had much better in the past, or will have better in the future) get away with what they do. We write a letter to the Irish Times and that's the end of it.

But this situation is going to cripple the country. Economists around the world are all saying this is a huge mistake. That's it's not going to work. That we should not be getting into bed with the IMF. They all say there are other options.

To let the government that's going to get the boot approve a budget is pure insanity. Enda Kenny says he can renegotiate. He is wrong. Gormley was very clear in the Examiner that conditions are being dictated by Europe for a bailout we shouldn't have. There is no going back. And if FG think they're going to renegotiate the budget, why wouldn't they stop it going through? And they could.

Yes, there are going to be cuts anyway. That's to be expected because of the economic situation.

But every man, woman and child in this country is being shafted for something that should NEVER have happened - an all-encompassing bailout of private banks. As Krugman says in the NY Times, "punishing the populace for the bankers’ sins is worse than a crime; it’s a mistake."

This doesn't have to happen. It's not too late to change. It's not too late to do this right. People in this country just have to realise they can make a difference after spending their lives thinking everything is inevitable. It is not inevitable. We can change it. You can change it.

And so, yes, I'll be there. Not for unions. For me and everyone else who is going to be shafted when this country is up to its neck in debt that it shouldn't ever have taken on.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

maxxie wrote: »
    Dont stay up and argue with the yellow bellys! Save your energy for saturday morning :)

To the non supporters of the Irish peoples peacefull protest, I hope the cheese gives you nightmares :p

Oiche mhaith
    I had a longer post about peoples attitudes on this thread, but instead of boring people I'd like to say that, even though I'm not going to be able to make the march, good luck to all those involved.

To those who refuse to march, at least respect those who do. Yes, there are those with other agenda who will march. There are those who want to further their own political careers. There are those heading unions who want to secure their positions. There's even a guy who thinks supervillains are trying to take over the world. But there's also many men and women who are terrified about what the future holds and don't know how they'll cope.

Yes, the march will most likely achieve nothing politically. It won't stop the bail-out. It won't get Fianna Fail out of power. But it's an act of solidarity of the Irish people, which is something we've all lost over the last 100 years or so. People are learning what it is to be Irish, again. And that can only be a good thing.

So wish them luck and don't worry about the individuals involved, think about the over all reason for it.

And for those who want to be condescending to the people who refuse to march, can you blame them for not feeling a need to join it? Can you really blame people for losing hope and feeling that there's no reason for it as it can't achieve anything? Instead of being utterly dismissive and insulting to them, try and give them a reason to join, or respect their decision not to. There's no need for the likes Maxxie's post above. It just divides people for no reason than personal ego.

Hmmm, that was still long and boring. Sorry. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 33,580 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I do wish the people protesting all the best, and wish I could be there with you. But it's the people going up to intentionally cause trouble that I have a problem with. I think the protest would send a much stronger message if it was a peaceful protest. And yes, there will be people going up to intentionally cause trouble. I'm sorry, but I do not want to have anything to do with that. I hope I'm wrong, I really do. But I do hope that everyone who goes up with good intentions are able to protest safely.

You're right, Humanji. For me, no, I guess I can't blame people for losing hope. And, yeah, there are a lot of agendas being served. There always are. So, yes, we should all respect the other choice, marchers or no marchers.

I guess, for me, it's the feeling that we can't achieve anything that results in exactly that. It's a self-fulfilling prophesy. This is our country. It's not like this by some divine plan. People made it this way. And people can change it. That's just what I believe and I guess for those of us who do believe that, we know we need others with us. Sure, we might not achieve anything. But there is a chance. The more involved, those chances go up.

It's a chance.

But doing nothing, on the other hand, is a guaranteed failure. By doing nothing, we can all prove ourselves right. I'd rather at least try to do something.

But, yes, I guess we all have to do what we think is right.

Edit: Paddy, yes, unfortunately I think it can be taken as a given that there will be a few who will cause trouble. What's more unfortunate is that those people are the ones who will likely end up on the news. But those few do not nullify the views of those who go in peace, who will vastly outnumber those who might cause trouble. If anything, that's a reason why we need the peaceful people - the more the better. If it's just yobs, socialists and students (ahem, no offense) nobody will listen because they'll protest anything. We really need normal people. Everyday working, and non-working, people of this country.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

Might be a scum element in the pub you'll be planting your arse in all day Saturday. Won't stop you going there though will it?

no it wont and yes there will be mostly a scum element. the difference being the scum i'll be hanging out with will be in the pub for a laugh and a drink - not going for a good old fashioned go at the police.
    Morlar wrote: »
    He is an EU Poodle. Sorry. Every major policy decision he has made in the last few years of dealing with this crisis has later been proven to have increased our problems exponentially. He does too little too late and then when he does something it turns out to be the totally wrong thing. For 2-3 yrs now every single time he has produced a set of figures they multiply like some kind of Irish economic problem moore's law. No bank left behind ? Guarantee all banks ? Take a EU 'bailout' at 6% interest leading us to €275 BN debt by 2014 (assuming nothing else goes wrong anywhere ever in the meantime). Sorry I did have respect for him at one point, I think he had integrity but now I don't trust his word or his abilities or his capacity to look beyond what the eu wants to seeing what Ireland needs.

i agree with you more or less totally - i just dont think any politician, especially from labour or FG will do anything different.
    humanji wrote: »
    Well you could pay attention to the point I was making or you could go off on a tangent...

you said the B's are taking our money. that's straightforward enough. it's also straightforward to say that it's not actually them taking our money - it's the **** state of the economy and banks that helped get us here. they're just the messengers - albeit inept in many ways, any politician will have to 'take our money' and that's the point...i dont think it was much of a tangent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

To be honest, it's very hard to argue with any of this. But at the end of the day, it is human nature to want to protect that which you have negotiated for yourself, either individually and/or collectively. We all aspire to be better paid and a bit more comfortable. You can't blame the fact that only the PS is highly unionised within the state. The fact that the partnership process has been so generally under representative of our society is a wider issue that I don't think you can blame the PS or the ICTU on.

Some of the submissions made by IBEC and AmCham, (American Chamber of Commerce in Ireland), have DEMANDED that no legislation is passed that provides for automatic union representation (within a workplace), to Irish workers, or as we are hearing lately in relation to the raising of Corporation Tax, "we'll walk"...

And now we are seeing that the selfish whims of what are largely US multinational operations in Ireland, having been catered for, have caused a serious problem for us now because our partnership model has been hugely under representative of our society. All those jobs in Dell, Microsoft, Google, IBM, Intel, not a single one of their workers had an input into social partnership. You may argue that those workers could have joined a union at any time and had a voice, but why would you join a union if you could not use the membership to the maximum extent possible and specifically in relation to your working terms & conditions with your employer???

If we had a flavour of trade unionism in Ireland that was more generally representative of the country as a whole, I don't think that we would have a problem here.

Trade unionism in Ireland could benefit hugely from exposure to the type of flexibility that is an inherent part of the private sector in Ireland.

Let's be honest, the real issue with unions isn't the pay of their members in my view, it is the lack of change with the times, the witholding of cooperation in relation to change for the purposes of improving terms & conditions, it's the deliberate but subtle obstruction of improvements that one would expect to happen over time in any other workplace...

So to finalise, I'm marching tomorrow, are the ICTU perfect? Far from it... Did they contribute to the problem? They probably did to no small degree, but that's as much down to our decision to tolerate a flavour of social partnership that didn't represent our society as a whole.

Just like we tolerated that situation and allowed it to evolve without protest, are we going to sit back again and let further wrongs be put upon us??? Well I'm not, and I think it's fair to say that many banners can fall under the one protest...

I can't argue with any of that either.

And I'm not arguing with anyone who decides to march tomorrow... the main crux of my argument is that most people posting here who said they will be marching (and I'm not including you here), seem to think that those of us who are choosing not to, for our own reasons, are somehow lazy or just ignorant of the situation that the country is is & the reasons for it.

There are arguments to be made for both marching with an ICTU organised protest & for not doing so... however, there seems to be a fundamental lack of respect for those who are not marching on principle, from those who are marching - and this, to me, is a show of unnaceptable intolerance.

Again, this is not directed at you, Hellfire.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

steddyeddy wrote: »
    #considering the garda commisioner recommened that the ministers have two gardai drivers I find that hard to beleive

The problem is that the actions of some protestors and vandals lately mean that ministers now have an excuse to have protection, blame violent protestors and not the gardai. How can the commissioner say there's no threat to them! I guess you will always get a certain amount of scumbags in a large crowd of protestors who'll ruin it for everyone and make sure it makes headlines for the wrong reasons and I reckon that's why many decent people will decide to stay at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

I've got college on Saturday mornin. That whole makin my own luck jazz y'know...

I do wish the people protesting all the best, and wish I could be there with you. But it's the people going up to intentionally cause trouble that I have a problem with. I think the protest would send a much stronger message if it was a peaceful protest. And yes, there will be people going up to intentionally cause trouble. I'm sorry, but I do not want to have anything to do with that. I hope I'm wrong, I really do. But I do hope that everyone who goes up with good intentions are able to protest safely.

I'm not too sure where you are getting the idea from that this will be anything but a peaceful protest??? By all indications, it is going to be a well managed and a well stewarded peaceful protest. However, having said that, I do believe we need to get a lot more animated when we do protest, we need to start asserting ourselves and stop being so afraid of what other people will think of us if we decide to stand up for ourselves for once.

There isn't a single decision that I can point to, that has been made by this government in the last 2-3 years in particular, that can be considered to have been the right one. Look what what is unfolding now, the EU and the IMF trying to work out a way to force our government to tell idiotic bondholders who took a stupid punt on Anglo, where to go and take a sh*te for themselves in respect of their losses...

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/1126/breaking6.html

Jesus Christ even the head of the state that is owed the money is pleading with us to tell these people that the game is up and that they are taking the hit for their own crazy investments and our government is still telling everyone that we are paying the full whack to these parasites.

This isn't like buying someone a few rounds at a bar and taking a hit for the night, the money at issue here, OUR MONEY, that ought to be getting spent on our kids schools, colleges, our hospitals, our infrastructure and public services, those funds are going to be misdirected for the next 25-50 years, to pay for the insane debts run up by millionaire GAMBLERS, within the last 10 years.

There is no end that this government will stop at, when it comes to these banks and picking up the tab for them. If it was just a matter of a small tax rise to correct something that went a bit wrong somewhere along the line, I'd be inclined to let to go, but the strategy here has left us completely bankrupt as a nation. There won't be a cent left for improving this country, because all our money is being spent on paying for the last election back in 2007.

And don't think when the next stage of this crisis unfolds, when this government falls out with the IMF and the next scheduled trache of that bailout fund is withheld because cuts/savings are not being applied as per target, that this government would think twice about turning off the ATM machines and telling you to go f*ck yourself for your money/savings.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,987 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

I want to go along and take some photos- what time does it start and where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Bi6N wrote: »
    Me and quite a large number of friends will be going, shame on anyone who sits on their arse while the country gets f**ked

"Get up, stand up... stand up for your rights"

Only united will we solve anything :)

Well ****ing said:cool:

I'm not too sure where you are getting the idea from that this will be anything but a peaceful protest??? By all indications, it is going to be a well managed and a well stewarded peaceful protest. However, having said that, I do believe we need to get a lot more animated when we do protest, we need to start asserting ourselves and stop being so afraid of what other people will think of us if we decide to stand up for ourselves for once.

There isn't a single decision that I can point to, that has been made by this government in the last 2-3 years in particular, that can be considered to have been the right one. Look what what is unfolding now, the EU and the IMF trying to work out a way to force our government to tell idiotic bondholders who took a stupid punt on Anglo, where to go and take a sh*te for themselves in respect of their losses...

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/1126/breaking6.html

Jesus Christ even the head of the state that is owed the money is pleading with us to tell these people that the game is up and that they are taking the hit for their own crazy investments and our government is still telling everyone that we are paying the full whack to these parasites.

This isn't like buying someone a few rounds at a bar and taking a hit for the night, the money at issue here, OUR MONEY, that ought to be getting spent on our kids schools, colleges, our hospitals, our infrastructure and public services, those funds are going to be misdirected for the next 25-50 years, to pay for the insane debts run up by millionaire GAMBLERS, within the last 10 years.

There is no end that this government will stop at, when it comes to these banks and picking up the tab for them. If it was just a matter of a small tax rise to correct something that went a bit wrong somewhere along the line, I'd be inclined to let to go, but the strategy here has left us completely bankrupt as a nation. There won't be a cent left for improving this country, because all our money is being spent on paying for the last election back in 2007.

And don't think when the next stage of this crisis unfolds, when this government falls out with the IMF and the next scheduled trache of that bailout fund is withheld because cuts/savings are not being applied as per target, that this government would think twice about turning off the ATM machines and telling you to go f*ck yourself for your money/savings.

why cant someone organise a march then with one simple message: 'we, the people of ireland, will not pay for the gambling losses of bondholders'...that is a march i would attend.

this march is a mish-mash of groups with their own agendas and has been organised by the ICTU who i will not support. i do not want my presense to be seen as supporting anything they stand for and that's the major problem for me - and many in the private sector.

Then make a banner that reads: 'I'm not with these guys but we, the people of ireland, will not pay for the gambling losses of bondholders' and bring as many people as you can who feel the same. Make it your own.

It's not like the unions will suddenly get their way even if the entire country turn up for this. But the message is that what is happening right now isn't acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 zxr500man

i heard there was a march outside the gpo tomorow in dublin,?
    Iam going to make up some plackards to bring with me,
    does anyone know what time its at?
    also has anyone got an idea for a good short slogan to write on the plackards???:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

BeefJerkyX wrote: »
    Then make a banner that reads: 'I'm not with these guys but we, the people of ireland, will not pay for the gambling losses of bondholders' and bring as many people as you can who feel the same. Make it your own.

It's not like the unions will suddenly get their way even if the entire country turn up for this. But the message is that what is happening right now isn't acceptable.
    thebigbiffo is a FF shill, ignore him.

why cant someone organise a march then with one simple message: 'we, the people of ireland, will not pay for the gambling losses of bondholders'...that is a march i would attend.

this march is a mish-mash of groups with their own agendas and has been organised by the ICTU who i will not support. i do not want my presense to be seen as supporting anything they stand for and that's the major problem for me - and many in the private sector.

It's very obvious I think why this hasn't happened. People on the dole, people working in the private sector who are not in unions, they are not organised.

For any group of people to do achieve anything, there has to be some kind of organisational structure and managerial capability holding the thing together, providing planning, managing resources, gathering consensus as to what the objectives of the group are and then putting in place a plan to accomplish the objective, whether it is building pyramids 3,000 years ago or protesting in Dublin city in 2010.

It suits the government to have only one group of organised protestors in this state who have the capability to stand up to them, namely PS workers. This government is taking a big punt on their current analysis that the unemployed and those who are not in a union, will not march tomorrow and put it up to them.

If that analysis can be overturned, by people turning out in HUGE numbers and not doing what they are told by this government, both tomorrow and after this Charles Trevelyan inspired budget in two weeks time, then this government are up sh*t creak without a pair of arms never mind the paddle...

CiaranC wrote: »
    thebigbiffo is a FF shill, ignore him.

come on man FFS, just because i dont go in for this whole 'hang 'em and burn 'em' rabble rousing nonsense i'm a FF shill? i've stated numerous times on these boards that i believe all politicians are cut from the same cloth and i dont and wont support FF until such a time as they've sorted themselves out policy and politically wise. this is the best s'hite you can come up with?

childish comment and contribution.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I agree with the idea of a public march to show dissatisfaction. That is one thing, but this is another thing of an entirely different nature.
    I agree.
    This demonstration was called for & will be spearheaded by The Irish Congress of Trade Unions. There is no getting away from that fact. And the ICTU have only one thing on their agenda... whatever is best for themselves & their own members.
    Ditto on this point too.

People should really be aware also of who David Begg is... he is the head of the ICTU and on Saturday, he will without doubt be calling for heads to roll, spouting on about corrupt politicians, bank bailouts, cronyism and "power to the people".

Yet he is an integral part of the cronyism that this country needs to be done with.

Here are a few things he won't be mentioning on Saturday;

1. David Begg is a board director of the Central Bank & has been since 1995. This board - which also shares several board members with the Financial Regulator - were part of the banking system whose complacency & negligence are a huge part of the banking & financial crisis we are now in.

2. The ICTU's previous president (up to last year), was none other than Peter McLoone -friend of Fianna Fail and disgraced former head of FAS - who resigned in 2009 after the recent scandal involving the wasteful expenditure, including massive overspending on promotion at the agency.

3. By refusing to accept very modest wage reductions, by negotiating the ruinous Croke Park Agreement, and by opposing any and every effort to reduce public spending from the dizzying heights it had reached by 2008, Begg and friends helped send the message to the markets that the trade unionists were too powerful, and the Irish government too spineless, for genuine deficit reduction measures to take place.

So to all of you who think it's fine to march under the ICTU banner, then that's fine by me.... just as long as you know who it is whose banner you will be under, what they represent, who they are led by & the part they have played in the huge mess that you are going out to protest against.
    Quoted for clarity and truth. If you think they're any different from the criminal morons in government(who are their golf buddies BTW) then we are truly fooked as a nation. If I'm following behind someone I want to know who they are and what they stand for. And what these jokers stand for is not worth following for me. They are just as bad as those you seek to depose. If not worse as their collective amnesia is even more blatant, if that was possible. Make no mistake you, the decent people marching for your children and your childrens children will be lumped in with these clowns. And that's before we even get near the other nutty rabble factions that will be in attendance. Most of the vangaurd of this are like squirrel crap. Made up of shíte liberally cut through with nuts.

Look if someone wants to burn stuff down, I'll bring the effin matches and petrol, but show me who you are first and what hand you had in building what I'm burning down and then show me the plans to build something better in it's place or frankly bugger off.
    If you really want to protest, I suggest that you start your march from the opposite end of the ICTU march, meet them in the middle & ask David Begg and his union cronies when are they going to accept their part of the responsibilty for the shit that this country is now in.
    I'd go along with that one, but your problem is that it's not just the morally bankrupt mentioned above that have amnesia, but many of the people do too. Watch more FF types than you'll imagine get elected in the new year and come back to me on that.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

Why would I want to march with people I have no association with, whom I dislike immensely & above all else, don't agree with?

That makes no feckin' sense at all.
    You make no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

BeefJerkyX wrote: »

Is anyone else dressing up for this protest? I'm wearing my ape costume as I don't want my face plastered on all the news reports going around the globe. I'm also thinking of wearing a t-shirt over the ape suit that says "I do not support public sector unions"

what time does it start and is it from the gpo??
    any ideas for what to rite on plackards??

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Craven99

While I am disgusted as any sane person would be in relation to the complete crap we are in right now I will not go to this march organised by ICTU for the reasons mentioned in this post. I fundamentally disagree with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭bloopy

Why not try organise one. Surely there would be enough people on boards spread over a large area in Ireland that could help publicise such an event.
    I know I would be willing to print up any poster created to stick on abandoned shop windows.
    I am going up to Dublin tomorrow for my own reasons but I would much prefer to go to a protest not organised by the usual suspects.
    Judging by posts here, on politics.ie and many other forums there would be an appetite for such a march.

bloopy wrote: »
    Why not try organise one. Surely there would be enough people on boards spread over a large area in Ireland that could help publicise such an event.
    I know I would be willing to print up any poster created to stick on abandoned shop windows.
    I am going up to Dublin tomorrow for my own reasons but I would much prefer to go to a protest not organised by the usual suspects.
    Judging by posts here, on politics.ie and many other forums there would be an appetite for such a march.

I posted a thread a couple of hours ago trying to organise a non union affiliated protest today at 6pm outside the dail. The reason it needs to be today is that the agreement is now extremely close to being signed and tomorrow may be too late for protests. However the mods merged my thread into the thread about budget cuts (for some reason that I can't understand), so no one will see my message as it will be lost in a 51 page thread. But my point remains- we should be protesting today at 6pm!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

flash1080 wrote: »
    You make no sense.

Excellent debating skills. Well played, sir.

zxr500man wrote: »
    any ideas for what to rite on plackards??

"We, the people of ireland, will not pay for the gambling losses of bondholders"

or

"Make bondholders pay for their losses"

i was thinking,
    JAIL THE BASTARDS:mad: