Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Protest March 27/11/2010

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭annieee

Darts are back running as normal anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Do you think the government will grit the roads to help the protest numbers?

If they don't there will be a massive HSE bill and more people out of work. :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

we're still heading in as are my parents, as my mum said " I'm sick to death of bitching about the government and sick to death of feeling helpless about it all, at least this way I can feel like I got out and did something"

Myself I can't wait for the shower of FF-ers to knock on my door asking for my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 BeefJerkyX

Yep, I'm still going too. Could be much more fun. Nothing like braving the elements with other people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Hey, just wanted to wish you all a good, preaceful & safe protest today (all you who are going).

Wish I could be joining you, but I'm there in spirit..

United we stand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

I really do hope there is a good turn out for this. I was very tempted to take the day off to go but ive missed a few too many days from work already this year. Hopefully its just the beginning of the protests and hopefully some that arent tainted by ICTU involvement will take place.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Sky News predicting up to 50,000 people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 BeefJerkyX

I'd love to believe that. I don't think it will be close. Still, given the weather conditions and that more people will be concerned today with whether Wagner will make it through X-Factor, I'm still very much hoping for a good turnout. I have heard from a lot of people who are going who are just everyday people. Not union. Not socialists, SFers or anything. Just Irish citizens.

Looking forward to being out there with you guys today. If enough of us go, it could push things in a different direction. It could also make a difference to how other countries handle this, depending on how it's reported in international news. So, if we do all have to emigrate, we'll still have somewhere to go!

Let's stand up for our country, the next generation (not Star Trek, I mean in Ireland) and ourselves and get the message out there that, actually, we don't always roll over and accept everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,649 ✭✭✭✭CDfm

Will the unions seek direct elections to the dail this time.

Its about time that unelected lobby groups and power brokers are relegated to the scrap heap

Its what we criticise Fianna Fail for cronies in a tent in Galway - if groups want power they should campaign and go for election.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

I have no illusions that this march will change anything. But the world has been watching and we've been scratching our arses doing nothing. We should be ashamed. What must they think of us?

People have died in Greece for God's sake, and here we are...."ah, sure what's the point. We can't do anything." The Irish just can't move away from the role of playing the victim. Some sort of generational low self-esteem by osmosis. Fighting Irish, me hole.

I'm going to march if even to achieve the basic appearance that we're not all a bunch of spineless f*ckwits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭Elevator

Do you think the government will grit the roads to help the protest numbers?

not a chance!!

my local bus to take me into town skidded right past me this mornin with it's 2 front wheels locked to the right to try stop!!

I thought ok, maybe they just weren't out in Galway!!

pulling into Dublin and we're reduced to one road into our capital city!!

this is a disgrace and I can't wait to get back onto the street to really make some flippin noise!!

I have no illusions that this march will change anything. But the world has been watching and we've been scratching our arses doing nothing. We should be ashamed. What must they think of us?

People have died in Greece for God's sake, and here we are...."ah, sure what's the point. We can't do anything." The Irish just can't move away from the role of playing the victim. Some sort of generational low self-esteem by osmosis. Fighting Irish, me hole.

I'm going to march if even to achieve the basic appearance that we're not all a bunch of spineless f*ckwits.

So there is a breakdown in the unelected social partnership and the IMF & EU are in. Thats the new reality. Have the unions engaged with them. Or will the deal only with elected representatives.

We have croneyism and a political party system based largely on Civil War positions.

Why not engage in real democratically elected politics which is what democrats do.

Everyone knows we must have change but where are the leaders advocating it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

zootroid wrote: »
    I will protest in the way I feel is most appropriate - at the ballot box.

Why would I march with people whose opinions I don't agree with? I would just be adding to their legitimacy. And while I'm not a fan of this government, I'm not going to betray my own beliefs. Good luck to the protesters, but I won't be there
    This fella I know, he watches X Factor but I think it's crap. He's going to the protest so I'm not going. I'm not going to add to his legitimacy. And while I'm not happy with the state of things (which is why the protest is taking place), I'm not going to march with people like him. Good luck to the protesters, I agree with the reason why they're protesting but don't agree with them on other things like X Factor, so I won't be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭D e e

flash1080 wrote: »
    This fella I know, he watches X Factor but I think it's crap. He's going to the protest so I'm not going. I'm not going to add to his legitimacy. And while I'm not happy with the state of things (which is why the protest is taking place), I'm not going to march with people like him. Good luck to the protesters, I agree with the reason why they're protesting but don't agree with them on other things like X Factor, so I won't be there.

please tell me this is a troll post..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

He/she is old enough to vote and his/her experience is no more/less valid than anyone elses. He/she is one of the next generation and therefore his/her opinion/contribution is welcome.

You say they never did a days work? Maybe they never got the chance. It's a cheap shot to bring that into anything, even for a lame laugh.
    I agree.
    Look, I'm tired, cold and filled to bursting point with outrage and fear. I'm a 19 year old student doing a degree with no practical purpose, without any part-time employment (or, it seems, chance of employment), and have no idea what the future holds for me. I'm frustrated and angry and I don't know what to do about it. I have had absolutely nothing to do with the crisis we're now in, and now no-one seems to be giving me a choice in how to proceed in matters that will affect the rest of my life and the lives of any future sprogs of mine.
    fluorescence right there in a couple of sentences just expressed the feelings a large proportion of the Irish electorate. Not just 19yr olds too. The part in bold is what is hitting a lot of us.
    The only option I can see is to default and see where the dust settles, and I can't see anarchy being any worse than the alternatives. It's likely we'll be paying €1000s for a pint of milk in the future anyway if the Euro collapses.
    The problem with that (and with the utmost respect maybe that is age talking) is anarchy is not an option. You really don't want to live through that. Yes like any emergency we would get through it, but many wouldn't. Are we in the shíte? Yep, but we're miles away from anarchy. Or I really fooking hope we are with all my heart.
    I'm going to bed. I seriously need a good night's sleep and a clear head at this point.
    Hope you got it:)
    Flygimp wrote: »
    Any western democracy (with a set of cahoonas) who believe at their core in: the freedom of speech, transparency and accountability of government and their right to pursue and act on these ideals would have put their foot on the throat of a corrupt state like this government in 2009.
    You could say similar about damn near any state in Europe at one time or another(or anywhere else for that matter). Including your "commonwealth neighbours".
    Many of your commonwealth neighbours have sacrificed their youth in two world wars for the ideal of democracy and the freedom of choice...
    Hate to break it to you Ted, but over 50,000 Irishmen(and women) fought with the Allies in world war two. Many died fighting for the same cause. More went in world war one and the guts of 30,000 died. Both with the US forces and the British. I can count 5 among my relatives that answered that call, including my father and two uncles. So maybe you should go and read a few books and get your facts straight before you kick off on something you appear to know fúck all about.
    and the Irish youth that are entrepreneurial flee to greener pastures.
    That part I tend to agree with. Certainly in the past and its gonna happen again.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Elevator wrote: »

pulling into Dublin and we're reduced to one road into our capital city!!

this is a disgrace and I can't wait to get back onto the street to really make some flippin noise!!

Its not a disgrace, it is the weather and snow happens occasionally and essential services are kept running.

People who dont need to travel stay home.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

Hopefully the bad weather will reduce the numbers a bit. Otherwise a lot of people will be getting boxed in the head from the gardai. PS Unions are going to claim a royal victory with all the drones turning up today marching for their own causes, little do they know this march is organised by the people who are contributing to this mess.

Will keep an eye on the news today..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

Is Jack O'Connor, the binman, going to be making a speech?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

funkyflea wrote: »
    Hopefully the bad weather will reduce the numbers a bit. Otherwise a lot of people will be getting boxed in the head from the gardai. PS Unions are going to claim a royal victory with all the drones turning up today marching for their own causes, little do they know this march is organised by the people who are contributing to this mess.

Will keep an eye on the news today..

1) People know exactly who organised the march

2) The workers did not cause this mess :rolleyes:

OT, I'm pretty sick today, I don't know if standing out in that horrendous cold would do me much good at all, but I am tempted to join it for a bit now.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

what amazes me about this protest march is that hundreds of the thousends that turn up prob wont vote in the next election...

Its pure stupidity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭Flygimp

Wibbs wrote: »
    You could say similar about damn near any state in Europe at one time or another(or anywhere else for that matter). Including your "commonwealth neighbours".

I can only speak for living in the UK, Ireland, Australasia and having family in Canada these countries accountability of public servants ie. government is very transparent and real. Do you think a blubbering c*nt like Cowen would last 2 minutes in New Zealand or Australian politics, he'd have been hung by his danglies months ago.

True sovereignty... tell me boy you ever seen it?

Your comments on world wars - you and I know Irish were used a cannon fodder by the brits at the Somme... etc Pitty they had to fight under British colours and not under their own 'neutral' flag... and before you say anything smart you know if Ireland had come under German occupation in ww2 you'd be herded into the ovens like the rest of us.

Best of luck today to the marchers I'm sure there is allot of fire and anger in their bellies, just vent it in a constructive way! Good luck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Tucker Max

In town now. Wish we were marching on ff party hq

• Registered Users Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

i really find it bizarre the the gardai have decided that only one protest can happen today under threat of arrest and battoning

• Registered Users Posts: 5,777 ✭✭✭up for anything

flash1080 wrote: »
    D e e wrote: »
    please tell me this is a troll post..

Dee, please tell me that you didn't ask that seriously and that you did see what Flash was doing? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BumbleB

Is Jedward going ?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I had to laugh at the Ictu guy on the radio yesterday talking about the march. So they are marching against spending cuts? brilliant. The way to fix things is to keep spending at unsustainable levels while borrowing at large interest rates. Cant fault the logic........

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭JJayoo

1) People know exactly who organised the march

The same guys who organised the social partnership and who wont go for election.

2) The workers did not cause this mess :rolleyes:

Lets get this straight about their elected representatives. Who are you defining as workers.

They are citizens and have the vote.

Just because I am not in a union does not mean I dont work or pay taxes.
    Figures from the Central Statistics Office show a slight increase in trade union membership.
    Read the full CSO report
    The CSO said 34% of employees were union members in the second quarter of 2009 - up from 32% in the same survey a year earlier.
    The results are taken from the CSO's Quarterly National Household Survey.
    37% of full-time employees said they were members of a union, compared with 20% of part-time employees.
    Among economic sectors the highest membership rate was in public administration and defence (81%) while the lowest rate was in accommodation and food service activities (6%).

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0325/tradeunions.html

The highest participation of union membership is in the Public Services -all grades

So how come some sectors of the population get more rights and representation than the rest of us.

Banks also are highly unionised close to 100% I imagine.

By this definition it is a public service workers and banking workers protest and f*** the rest of us.

Thats what people dont like.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Flygimp wrote: »
    I can only speak for living in the UK, Ireland, Australasia and having family in Canada these countries accountability of public servants ie. government is very transparent and real. Do you think a blubbering c*nt like Cowen would last 2 minutes in New Zealand or Australian politics, he'd have been hung by his danglies months ago.
    You're really having a laugh if you can claim your list doesn't include serious political corruption and lack of transparency among its number. Take Australia as an example. Just ask someone like tony fitzgerald the ex anti corruption commissioner and I quote "Australia has an amoral political culture run by a governing class preoccupied with amassing power for itself". Hang on here's a link for you http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/nation/corruption-buster-slams-the-politics-of-deception/story-e6frg6nf-1225834052061 Sounds comfortably familiar and I don't see much danglie hanging goin on. The image of the straight talking Aussie who won't take shít is for the most part just as self delusional and imaginary as the image of Irish rebel.

Couple of quick examples from elsewhere?

Canada? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sponsorship_scandal

The UK? http://www.independent.co.uk/opinion/leading-articles/millionaires-money-and-the-corruption-of-british-politics-593089.html Cash for questions anyone?

http://www.transparency.org/policy_research/surveys_indices/cpi/2010/results Our score across the board beats the UK, France, Germany, Spain, Portugal, italy(well duh :)) the US and we're only slightly behind Australia and if you read the link above it's hardly squeaky clean.

Corruption is everywhere in all societies. Like the poor it will always be with us. We dont corner the market in it here.
    True sovereignty... tell me boy you ever seen it?
    Nope "boy" and neither have you. Sovereignty is as much in the mind as it is in practical terms. It is not an either or, black or white concept anymore. Its a sliding scale. This goes even more so in the last century where the western nations are so closely linked. Fully sovereign modern nation today that doesn't rely on input from its neighbours? Switzerland? Probably, North Korea? well except for it's complete reliance on China.
    Your comments on world wars - you and I know Irish were used a cannon fodder by the brits at the Somme...
    As were the Aussies, New zealanders, Canadians, Scots, Welsh and the English working class too.
    Pitty they had to fight under British colours and not under their own 'neutral' flag... and before you say anything smart you know if Ireland had come under German occupation in ww2 you'd be herded into the ovens like the rest of us
    So what? People still went, people still died and many went because they saw it as the right thing to do. Even if they baulked at fighting behind a British flag and carried a recent historical issue with that flag. In any case we'd likely have faired far better on that score than many if that invasion had succeeded(a big if. Have a read of operation Grun their invasion plan. really doubtful it would have worked) Certainly better than the UK.
    Best of luck today to the marchers I'm sure there is allot of fire and anger in their bellies, just vent it in a constructive way! Good luck all.
    Agreed. People defo need a vent about all this. How much actual practical good it will do I'm a lot less confident about.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

Stekelly wrote: »
    I had to laugh at the Ictu guy on the radio yesterday talking about the march. So they are marching against spending cuts? brilliant. The way to fix things is to keep spending at unsustainable levels while borrowing at large interest rates. Cant fault the logic........

Why are the unions against the spending cuts? They are completely untouched in the budget!!