Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South Tipp General election thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

I was late getting to the door after hearing the letterbox....it was a letter from Tom Hayes asking for the number one vote.I rushed out the door to have a chat with Tom,only to find it was someone delivering the letters,and all I saw was his/her back..[ the auld glimmers aren't what they used to be ]
    Tom if you are reading ,you will have to come in person to ask for the number 1.If it was Daniel O' Donnell looking for a number one single,he wouldn't send Foster and Allen:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

I still have not seen sight nor sound of any canvassers or, more importantly, candidates. I don't even know where to find them if I wanted to go to them.

John Drennan in today's Sindo reckons FG will win two seats in South Tipp, with Healy taking the third:
    TIPPERARY SOUTH

Before the election it had been believed that in the aftermath of his three-year tour de force as the boy who cried wolf that Mattie McGrath would comfortably top the poll.

In contrast poor Martin Mansergh was a designated also-ran. FG with Tom Hayes was sure of a seat while it was believed that the battle for the last seat would be between Phil Prendergast of Labour and the ULA candidate Seamus Healy.

Well at least one of the pre-election predictions was right: Mansergh is a designated also-ran.

The first real shock here is that so is Mattie McGrath who is learning the hard way that loyalty is a political virtue.

The greatest shock of all, however, is that FG, via its previously unknown Clonmel candidate Michael Murphy, is poised to win a second seat.

Outside of being from Clonmel, Michael apparently is also well got with the Tipperary hurling team and around there that sort of stuff counts.

Once again Labour comes up short as instead the final seat will be taken by Seamus Healy of the ULA Alliance.

The fact that Healy will, however, have to wait until the last count to secure it indicates the strength of the current drift to the right.
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/john-drennan/john-drennan-fine-gael-matron-to-carry-on-up-the-polls-2537980.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭julyjane

TBH Hayes, Murphy & Healy would be my top 3 as well I would be glad if that is the result. I didn't buy the Sindo this week but I bought last weeks and many articles in it had a blatant FG bias IMO so what was written in today's might not be accurate.

I just wonder is there any point in voting for Seamus Healy? He's a lovely, genuine man and he's great at Co. Council level IMO but in Leinster House would he be a bit of a small fish in a big pond?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

julyjane wrote: »
    I just wonder is there any point in voting for Seamus Healy? He's a lovely, genuine man and he's great at Co. Council level IMO but in Leinster House would he be a bit of a small fish in a big pond?

He wont be completely independent, he'll be part of the United Left Alliance who include the Socialist Party and the People Before Profit Alliance. They are fielding 15 or so candidates nationwide (including Joe Higgins) so their voices will definitely be heard even if in opposition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭MinnyMinor

He wont be completely independent, he'll be part of the United Left Alliance who include the Socialist Party and the People Before Profit Alliance. They are fielding 15 or so candidates nationwide (including Joe Higgins) so their voices will definitely be heard even if in opposition.
    then why s he called independent? He is better choice than Prendergast.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Seems like he's using the United Left Alliance as a 'vehicle' to the Dail. Healy is independent-minded so I was surprised to see him jumping on this party.

stil do not see how youy can be aprt of a group and independent

MinnyMinor wrote: »
    stil do not see how youy can be aprt of a group and independent

Neither do I. I must question him when I see him. I've supported Healy in the past but I wouldn't be leaning towards Socialism.

isn't he a socialist even alone?

He is, and if he's ULA then he has nothing realistic to offer in terms of getting Ireland out of the hole. We need a strong, stable government with a mandate and a viable strategy to see us through this. That's why my vote is going to Fine Gael and no one else. Murphy 1, Hayes 2. I want Noonan, Reilly, Bruton, Brian Hayes and Leo Varadkar in ministerial seats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Starry Eyed Suprise

I have been reading a lot of your comments with interest. I am new to Boards but wanted to make a comment about Mattie.

I hate everyone commenting that Mattie is all for himself. This has been his first term in the Dail and he has stood up and has been counted. He has voted against the party on a number of issues and worked hard within the party to get others changed.

From what I can see of Mattie, he has huge courage as I am sure it was not easy voting against the party he grew up with, but he had the courage to stand up against them and say what they are doing was wrong! I don't believe what he done was populist as he knew that he would lose a lot of friends over it. I don't believe he done so either just to secure votes.

If we have any faith in our elected representatives, we have to believe that they make their decisions based on what their constituents want. Mattie has done so and he has been labelled a gombeen man yet if he were to stick with the party he would be criticised for being as out of touch as the rest of them. We give out about it both ways, politicians who represent their constituents are gombeens while politicians who don't are only self serving and interested in what they can get out of politics. Make up your minds!

From what I can see Mattie is very involved on the ground and is hugely aware of the problems facing families and business etc. He has left Fianna Fail because he did not agree with the direction they had taken, he had tried for as long as he could to represent the grass roots and get the party to listen but he seemed to be banging his head off a brick wall. I am sure that was a difficult decision for him. I was also pleased to hear on a recent radio interview that if he is re-elected he does not intend to return to Fianna Fail but hopes to form a grouping with other similarly minded independents who have a focus on reducing red tape and bureaucracy and supporting small and medium sized businesses and not the socialists who if they were given any power would remove any Jobs left in South Tipperary by increasing the Corporation Tax.

I for one am proud that our representative in South Tipp could put his constituents before his party and focused on what was in their best interest and not the best interest of the party. And for those of you that think Mattie has not offered anything other than soundbites, have a look at some of his speechs etc on his website, particularly his speech on the Finance Bill, you might think differently. Just because some Dublin jounalists don't like him for representing rural Ireland, that doesn't mean what they say about him is true. Maybe if some of our other representatives had the courage to stand up years ago, we would not be in this mess but Mattie has stood up in the 3 years that he has been there!

I have been reading a lot of your comments with interest. I am new to Boards but wanted to make a comment about Mattie.

I hate everyone commenting that Mattie is all for himself. This has been his first term in the Dail and he has stood up and has been counted. He has voted against the party on a number of issues and worked hard within the party to get others changed.

From what I can see of Mattie, he has huge courage as I am sure it was not easy voting against the party he grew up with, but he had the courage to stand up against them and say what they are doing was wrong! I don't believe what he done was populist as he knew that he would lose a lot of friends over it. I don't believe he done so either just to secure votes.

If we have any faith in our elected representatives, we have to believe that they make their decisions based on what their constituents want. Mattie has done so and he has been labelled a gombeen man yet if he were to stick with the party he would be criticised for being as out of touch as the rest of them. We give out about it both ways, politicians who represent their constituents are gombeens while politicians who don't are only self serving and interested in what they can get out of politics. Make up your minds!

From what I can see Mattie is very involved on the ground and is hugely aware of the problems facing families and business etc. He has left Fianna Fail because he did not agree with the direction they had taken, he had tried for as long as he could to represent the grass roots and get the party to listen but he seemed to be banging his head off a brick wall. I am sure that was a difficult decision for him. I was also pleased to hear on a recent radio interview that if he is re-elected he does not intend to return to Fianna Fail but hopes to form a grouping with other similarly minded independents who have a focus on reducing red tape and bureaucracy and supporting small and medium sized businesses and not the socialists who if they were given any power would remove any Jobs left in South Tipperary by increasing the Corporation Tax.

I for one am proud that our representative in South Tipp could put his constituents before his party and focused on what was in their best interest and not the best interest of the party. And for those of you that think Mattie has not offered anything other than soundbites, have a look at some of his speechs etc on his website, particularly his speech on the Finance Bill, you might think differently. Just because some Dublin jounalists don't like him for representing rural Ireland, that doesn't mean what they say about him is true. Maybe if some of our other representatives had the courage to stand up years ago, we would not be in this mess but Mattie has stood up in the 3 years that he has been there!
    dublin journalists are not the only one who see through mattie
    I was also pleased to hear on a recent radio interview that if he is re-elected he does not intend to return to Fianna Fail
    i don't think he ruled it out completely or said he never would? stand to be corrected

• Registered Users Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭touts

Hi Mattie,
    Welcome to boards. Great to see another politician joining the internet revolution. If I'm ever looking for someone to go the extra mile for my right to keep 16 breeding bitches in my old shed out the back I'll give you a shout. If I'm ever looking for a politician with the courage to fight for financial accountability, decent roads, lower taxes, the local hospital, school building projects, I'm just **** out of luck in South Tipp.

touts wrote: »
    Hi Mattie,
    Welcome to boards. Great to see another politician joining the internet revolution. If I'm ever looking for someone to go the extra mile for my right to keep 16 breeding bitches in my old shed out the back I'll give you a shout. If I'm ever looking for a politician with the courage to fight for financial accountability, decent roads, lower taxes, the local hospital, school building projects, I'm just **** out of luck in South Tipp.
    ha ha very good that is mattie alright

I wonder if Starry Eyed Surprise is

a) a member of Mattie's family
    b) a member of Mattie's extended family
    c) a neighbour
    d) one of Mattie's cronies
    e) Mattie himself

or

f) simply misguided.

Mattie thinks a few alcoholic drinks help nervous drivers to drive better, and is on record as saying that. He's a pothole-filling, underqualified glorified county councilor and I will be delighted when he's given the boot by a more judicious electorate this time round.

FYI- I am none of the above but I do like the work that Mattie has done and will be voting for him in the election!

maybe you are just....... starry eyed re mattie

MinnyMinor wrote: »
    maybe you are just....... starry eyed re mattie

Maybe :D

Maybe :D
    :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,432 ✭✭✭cml387

Hi Mattie!

I guessed it must be you when the phrase "grass roots" popped up in your speech.

However I hear that you got your comeuppance at a carer's meeting last week in Clonmel.

cml387 wrote: »

However I hear that you got your comeuppance at a carer's meeting last week in Clonmel.

Do tell...?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

I missed Mattie when he called to my house,there was a picture of him on the hall floor with the usual 'sorry I missed you' written on it.I brought it in to the sitting room fireplace and took out a Lighter and tried to burn it but I swear to God the feckin thing just would not burn no matter how many times I lit it,he must have had them made from Asbestos.:(

cml387 wrote: »

what is that about. don't forget molloy the carer guy is backing mattie sure he went indo too, they will do well together pair of gombeens they are

Molloy is actually campaign manager for Mattie iirc. I'm surprised there was tension considering Molloy has considerable pull among the Carers, then again Mattie is a prominently disliked figure 'round these parts.

pair of muppets
    I'm surprised there was tension considering Molloy has considerable pull among the Carers
    has a cushy job out of them

And when Molloy comes to your door ask him how he came back from india and walked in to the carers job. more FF jobs for the boys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

Ah you must be starry eyed from the drink, and have your voting beer goggles on................................

latest poll seems to suggest mattie and prendergast will be in competition for the last seat

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

In that article, Mattie is referred to as Mr. McGrath. Just doesn't sound right. :D