Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

South Tipp General election thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ecarthy

touts wrote: »
    Hi Mattie,
    Welcome to boards. Great to see another politician joining the internet revolution. If I'm ever looking for someone to go the extra mile for my right to keep 16 breeding bitches in my old shed out the back I'll give you a shout. If I'm ever looking for a politician with the courage to fight for financial accountability, decent roads, lower taxes, the local hospital, school building projects, I'm just **** out of luck in South Tipp.

In fairness, McGrath is actually one of the only ones I've seen fighting for the local hospital the whole way along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ecarthy

Tremelo wrote: »
    I wonder if Starry Eyed Surprise is

a) a member of Mattie's family
    b) a member of Mattie's extended family
    c) a neighbour
    d) one of Mattie's cronies
    e) Mattie himself

or

f) simply misguided.

Mattie thinks a few alcoholic drinks help nervous drivers to drive better, and is on record as saying that. He's a pothole-filling, underqualified glorified county councilor and I will be delighted when he's given the boot by a more judicious electorate this time round.

Who makes up this more judicious electorate? Flimsy Phil, Hardly Healy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭MinnyMinor

ecarthy wrote: »
    Who makes up this more judicious electorate? Flimsy Phil, Hardly Healy.
    not prendergast anyway, used healy to get into politics then abandoned him.not to be trusted

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭UpTheSlashers

Whats with all the new users registering and shilling mattie? Do they realise we can see their join date and postcount?

who are you referring to?

MinnyMinor wrote: »
    who are you referring to?

Those who registered a week before the election and whose only posts so far have been to promote a candidate who is widely disliked on this forum and in South Tipperary itself. I wasnt referring to you, or having a pop at new users (Im fairly new and not the most active) but some accounts are fairly suspicious.

stil do not see how youy can be aprt of a group and independent

The ULA was not registered in time to be a recognised party before the election, and because of this the candidates involved are running as independents/socialist party etc....

Those who registered a week before the election and whose only posts so far have been to promote a candidate who is widely disliked on this forum and in South Tipperary itself. I wasnt referring to you, or having a pop at new users (Im fairly new and not the most active) but some accounts are fairly suspicious.
    i agree. are you involved with any party? I am not

The ULA was not registered in time to be a recognised party before the election, and because of this the candidates involved are running as independents/socialist party etc....
    so if they are elected they will be a party? ULA? I do not understand this independent but withb a group. Lowry has the same sort of set up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

Just had Healys people at the door,and I asked them how he could be independant and yet in a "group". They said he wasn't part of the ULA. They said that the advantage of being in a party is you get more talk time in the dail. I don't remember, but they reckon he joined with others the last time he was in the Dail to get more of this talk time.

They seemed like nice peolpe, if that's any reflection on Healy himself, I don't know.

Still no sign of Mansergh. Where are you Martin? Jabba just wanna talk :D

Just had Healys people at the door,and I asked them how he could be independant and yet in a "group". They said he wasn't part of the ULA. They said that the advantage of being in a party is you get more talk time in the dail. I don't remember, but they reckon he joined with others the last time he was in the Dail to get more of this talk time.

They seemed like nice peolpe, if that's any reflection on Healy himself, I don't know.

Still no sign of Mansergh. Where are you Martin? Jabba just wanna talk :D
    that is what i do not understand how can you join with others and not be a party. they seem to want it both ways
    they reckon
    they don't know?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭JabbaTheHut

they don't know?

No. They said he did alright. I just used the word reckon is all.

That's why I asked them was he part of this alliance. THIS time he's not, they told me. But they way they were putting it was that if he didn't join some group, he won't have much of a voice. If he's part of a group, then he's not Independant. I don't understand it either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭DT100

From the latest polls it seems that FG will be the party to lead us after this election [ which seems to be going on forever ]I really cant see much difference between any of them as they debate the issues.It looks like we are up that brown creek without a paddle.It wasnt so long ago that FG had no faith in Enda as their leader,and I reckon some heads lost the bottle to oust him, when push came to shove.But now he is fit to be the next Taoiseach.He always talks in fives..last election he was on about a five point contract with the voters,this time its a five point plan..It will be like Grand National day..stick a pin in the election paper.Whoever gets in will be hated in about two months anyway,when people see the same old faces,giving the same old dreary outlook.Imust say the lady who chaired the debate on tg4 did an excellent job in my opinion.When Enda bans the below cost selling of alcohol,will I be able to afford to drown my sorrows ..........

They said he wasn't part of the ULA.

Are they sure? http://www.breakingnews.ie/election/news/poll-confirms-growing-support-for-united-left-alliance-493433.html (Third Paragraph).

That's why I asked them was he part of this alliance. THIS time he's not, they told me. But they way they were putting it was that if he didn't join some group, he won't have much of a voice. If he's part of a group, then he's not Independant. I don't understand it either

Probably a case of like minded people instead of a party as such..I know..its six of one and a half dozen of the other....

ok;)

DT100 wrote: »
    Probably a case of like minded people instead of a party as such..I know..its six of one and a half dozen of the other....
    sems to be wanting it both ways.FF FG and L and G's could say they were a case of like minded people too:D
    sem to want power of the group but still free to be independent. Lowery too with his 'team'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

I added Mattie McGrath as a friend on Facebook so that I could ask him a question.

He accepted my friendship request and I posed the following question to him:
    Hi Mattie. I'd like to know if you still stand by your comment that a few alcoholic drinks can help some people to concentrate whilst driving. Also, I'd like to know what you feel you have to offer the country if elected as an independent.

Thanks.

Well whaddaya know, I've been defriended by Mattie. I suspected all the comments on his page were a tad sycophantic and Killinascully-esque. It seems he's deleting all posts from people who ask searching questions. Absolutely pathetic. What an a-hole.

In contrast, Tom Hayes and Michael McGrath are both dealing with criticisms and difficult questions in a courteous and professional manner.

I added Mattie McGrath as a friend on Facebook so that I could ask him a question.

He accepted my friendship request and I posed the following question to him:

Well whaddaya know, I've been defriended by Mattie. I suspected all the comments on his page were a tad sycophantic and Killinascully-esque. It seems he's deleting all posts from people who ask searching questions. Absolutely pathetic. What an a-hole.

In contrast, Tom Hayes and Michael McGrath are both dealing with criticisms and difficult questions in a courteous and professional manner.
    hayes did not attend the question time in horse and jockey, not that iam defending gomb mattie didn't think even mattie would say alcohol may relax nervous drivers

Hayes may have had good reasons for that. There was no reason for Mattie to delete me for asking two perfectly legitimate questions in a courteous way.

Tom Hayes is engaging with many people who disagree with various FG policies on his Facebook page like a professional.

Mattie just wants people to tell him how great he is. If this man is returned to the Dáil it will be a very bad day for South Tipperary and the country. Great day if you have a few brood bitches though.

Hayes may have had good reasons for that. There was no reason for Mattie to delete me for asking two perfectly legitimate questions in a courteous way.

Tom Hayes is engaging with many people who disagree with various FG policies on his Facebook page like a professional.

Mattie just wants people to tell him how great he is. If this man is returned to the Dáil it will be a very bad day for South Tipperary and the country. Great day if you have a few brood bitches though.
    agree re mattie are you FG?

I will be voting FG, though I strongly disagree with several of their policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Andolino

I will be voting FG, though I strongly disagree with several of their policies.

If you feel that FG can help you and your family get through the next few years and they can give you a reasonable living then by all means vote for them
    You have to vote for the person that can help you, well thats the way I see it and it may be I am only looking at the local environment but it is all that matters to me I see some guys looking for votes and they are so false and will say what they think we want to here. excuse the rant,,, use your right to vote

Andolino wrote: »
    If you feel that FG can help you and your family get through the next few years and they can give you a reasonable living then by all means vote for them
    You have to vote for the person that can help you, well thats the way I see it and it may be I am only looking at the local environment but it is all that matters to me I see some guys looking for votes and they are so false and will say what they think we want to here. excuse the rant,,, use your right to vote

I agree and I think FG are the best party to help people this time 'round because of their plans for graduate internships, employer PRSI, reductions in VAT for small business, no upward movement of commercial rents, and reversal of the minimum wage cut. These are all good policies that will help everyone. That's why I think we should send them to the Dáil with a majority rather than a local independent who will not be able to have any effect on economic policy.

Whoever gets elected may very well come along and say " we are in worse sh**e than we thought,so all our election promoses have been put on the back burner "..I really hope that is not the case..but what will happen if what some of the leading commentators are right in telling us " Its not a case of if we default on the bailout,but when "?...AH but lickey lips can stay out all night now and party,but can stay in bed till dinnertime..no morning Ireland waiting for him..I hope we have an Ireland waiting for us when all this is over...I wonder why Tipp FM didnt have a live debate in the south of the county as well..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 The Nightwatchman

There is a very good reason for not declaring your party affiliation. It allows you to conceal donations and spend more than legally allowed on an election. By not having WUAG as a party, Healy can spend and accept donations in support of his campaign and so can WUAG who don't have to make donation and spending statements to anyone. Ever wondered how come he has so many posters around the place?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭archtech

There is a very good reason for not declaring your party affiliation. It allows you to conceal donations and spend more than legally allowed on an election. By not having WUAG as a party, Healy can spend and accept donations in support of his campaign and so can WUAG who don't have to make donation and spending statements to anyone. Ever wondered how come he has so many posters around the place?

Because he and his team collect up the posters after each election and store them until the next, as they have done for many years. I was speaking with one person close to the Healy camp, who has said that nothing has been spend on posters for the current election campaign.

archtech wrote: »
    Because he and his team collect up the posters after each election and store them until the next, as they have done for many years. I was speaking with one person close to the Healy camp, who has said that nothing has been spend on posters for the current election campaign.
    then how come he looks so like himself as he is now rather than as he was in 2007?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

I haven't seen a blip on the radar of McNally for the Greens around. Neither has Browne for Sinn Fein featured. I can see those two getting obliterated. Lately I've been leaning towards Fine Gael. Hayes and Murphy to a lesser extent are more inspiring compared to McGrath, McNally and Browne. I find Facebook a fantastic resource for this election campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Vizzy

I haven't seen a blip on the radar of McNally for the Greens around. Neither has Browne for Sinn Fein featured. I can see those two getting obliterated. Lately I've been leaning towards Fine Gael. Hayes and Murphy to a lesser extent are more inspiring compared to McGrath, McNally and Browne. I find Facebook a fantastic resource for this election campaign.

Agreed,the only candidate that I met at the door was Mattie and he won't get my vote but fair play to him for calling.
    The closest after that was a canvasser for "The Gimp" who arrived when it was pouring rain.When I asked a few questions/quizzed her she replied "maybe you would prefer to talk to Martin,he's out in the car"
    Nuff said !!!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: