Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Strange things you've seen strange people do

• 26-11-2010 3:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭

We all know our share of people who are.. a little off.

A couple I know, about 60 years of age, used to walk down the town with their shopping, around 11 PM at night, and go picking up and smoking fag butts then they found in random places all over the town.. Whilst carrying the groceries they bought 5 hours earlier.. You'd be coming home from the pub at 2 AM and there they are.. WTF?!

They knocked into the house on Christmas day and asked us for a Bicycle pump.. My oul fella went out the back and got them one, he then said "Where's the bike?" The weirdo said "Oh we don't have one, could you lend us one?" Ehhhh what?! They never got the bike :pac:

There was this one guy in school, he used to always order onions in his sandwich. He hated onions and got used to pick them out furiously until there were none left.. I asked him why he ordered onions if he didn't like them to which he responded "Mind your own f**king business" :confused:

Anyone else got any interesting ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭fillmore jive

I was on the bus home a few weeks ago and there was a woman two seats up from me reading a book, and an old man in the seat between us. Anyway the woman finished reading her page and as she was turning over to the next one, the man taps her on the shoulder and says "do you mind not turning over yet I haven't finished reading the other page" :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Mental patient from the psyhciatric hospital my father used to work in would always stop at our pillar in front of our house and have a full blown conversation with it. One day she started showing it items from the newspaper before she got pissed, told the pillar to "fùck off ya rotten prick", and walked off in disgust.

She and pillar never spoke again. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭clived2

Sykk wrote: »

There was this one guy in school, he used to always order onions in his sandwich. He hated onions and got used to pick them out furiously until there were none left.. I asked him why he ordered onions if he didn't like them to which he responded "Mind your own f**king business" :confused:

His mother used to make his sandwiches, and she would put onions in them despite his constant objections and subsquently he would pick them out every lunchtime, his mom died over the summer, and this is his way of keeping her alive, within his mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭policarp

Some strange people are still voting for FF in Donegal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

We all know our share of people who are.. a little off.

A couple I know, about 60 years of age, used to walk down the town with their shopping, around 11 PM at night, and go picking up and smoking fag butts then they found in random places all over the town.. Whilst carrying the groceries they bought 5 hours earlier.. You'd be coming home from the pub at 2 AM and there they are.. WTF?!

They knocked into the house on Christmas day and asked us for a Bicycle pump.. My oul fella went out the back and got them one, he then said "Where's the bike?" The weirdo said "Oh we don't have one, could you lend us one?" Ehhhh what?! They never got the bike :pac:

Anyone else got any interesting ones?

What kind of window-licker school did you go to?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

A neighbor of ours walks her dog down the road past our house. She picks up twigs and reads a book as she goes. I have a room downstairs and have often got out of the shower then walked into my room to get changed only to see her in the yard about 10 feet from the window staring me out of it.

Best though is when you drive up to her and she tries to step into the ditch and blend in. Luminous jackets are not suitable for attempts at being a ninja.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

I saw a guy one evening in the local park walking with his dog. Nothing strange about that you might think......apart from the fact he was on his hands and knees following it around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

A neighbor of ours walks her dog down the road past our house. She picks up twigs and reads a book as she goes. I have a room downstairs and have often got out of the shower then walked into my room to get changed only to see her in the yard about 10 feet from the window staring me out of it.

Best though is when you drive up to her and she tries to step into the ditch and blend in. Luminous jackets are not suitable for attempts at being a ninja.

Stalker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

When I was in first year in Trinity there was a properly mental guy in my politics class. He used to spit on the floor during lectures and always always made sure to sit right next to me even if there were 100 empty seats in the theatre.

Once we had a Supreme Court judge as a guest lecturer and at the end he opened up the floor to questions. Mr. Nutjob put up his hand and asked a lengthy, nonsensical question, and just as the judge started to attempt an answer Mr. Nutjob just got up and walked out of the lecture. :confused:

He didn't make it to second year as he got arrested in the canteen for hurling oranges at other students after dipping his face in a plate of curry. I still see him around the odd time and go out of my way not to make eye contact.

Insurgent wrote: »
    Stalker?

Now that I think of it maybe but I'd say she has a few favorites. Although I have caught her trying to convince my dog to go with her.

Susie_Q wrote: »
    When I was in first year in Trinity there was a properly mental guy in my politics class. He used to spit on the floor during lectures and always always made sure to sit right next to me even if there were 100 empty seats in the theatre.

Once we had a Supreme Court judge as a guest lecturer and at the end he opened up the floor to questions. Mr. Nutjob put up his hand and asked a lengthy, nonsensical question, and just as the judge started to attempt an answer Mr. Nutjob just got up and walked out of the lecture. :confused:

He didn't make it to second year as he got arrested in the canteen for hurling oranges at other students after dipping his face in a plate of curry. I still see him around the odd time and go out of my way not to make eye contact.

Maybe he just didn't like you if he was spitting on the ground beside you. Daddy can't buy you cop on in Trinity College you know.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

An elderly neighbour of mine used to sneek his rubbish into other peoples bins in the early morning before the bin truck came.
    Strange thing is he could have got his bins for free from the council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I was on the last bus home yesterday and this lad went around the bus checking the seats and picking up tickets for the receipts. He found a few and a cigarette box with one left, and also found an umbrella and a hat and said he'd use them as xmas presents....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I have seen a former prime minister (an taoiseach) sitting in a cupboard , very strange indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭squeakyduck

In my first year of college in UCD I lived in Merville student residences, was in the centre of everything and we had windows facing onto a little court yard. There was a guy that my friends and I came to know as "Stephen Hat" (scruffy guy with a hat, long hair, sometimes dressed as a jester) well one night we were going out and were having a few drinks in the apartment when he walks up the court yard with this MASSIVE Axe dragging some rope behind him making strange animal noises. We couldn't help but laugh.

Later in the year when walking to a friends house he was on a soccer pitch with loads of rope spinning it around, later again he was at the international street performing championships doing fire spinning....making his strange noises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 Jools_452

I lived in Japan for a few years, and it was certainly full of many weird and wonderful folk..probably the weirdest/most disgusting, was when I was sitting on bus and looked out the window to see a guy 'driving' his car 100% naked...and well...doing u know what! craziness!!!!!!! craziest part about it is that everyone else on bus looking out would have seen him as his car was right beside the bus n there was a traffic jam but no one said a thing, they maybe glanced at him but said nothin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Theres a few right oddballs in Limerick, theres the guy who stands guard outside the inner city Dunnes, wearing a GAA helmet and carrying a hurley, marching around shouting military orders to nobody in particular.

Theres the woman who walks around to every phonebox in the city checking the change drawer for money.

Theres the guy who used to come into the shop I worked in carrying a big bag of porn videos and dvds and asking if we got anything new in (we sold the most tame, electric blue type stuff, youd see more in an episode of True Blood) he always smelled like onions and he'd be talking to himself all the time, genuinely creepy, odd guy.

Theres the guy who, and I'm not making this up, looks like the child catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, he used to always compliment the "lovely girls" working in the shop and stand around the shelves pretending to look at cds but was blatantly perving at any women nearby, always with a hand in his pocket, eugh.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I used to wokr win a tech company in 1998, when they were hiring ANYONE. I was about 25, and there was a guy who was employed who was about 45-50. He was alright, perfectly quiet etc, except that he would leave chocolate on my desk.

Each desk was around 4 feet wide, and he would sit to the left side of hsi desk, with the computer in front of him. I had my PC on the desk, to the right of my tdesk. So it was like this _X|X_, where X is a PC, _ is free deskspace \nd | is a low partition.

He would put coffee in a polysterene cup on my desk, in front of the CD rom drive. I would right click on the CD rom drive, and select eject, and his coffee would spill to the floor. He'd clean it up, get another coffee, and leave it there again. The cycle would repeat. I'd tell him I didn't think that it was a good place to leave a offee cup as it was on my desk.

Then he'd peel some chocolate, and leave it on my desk. He wouldn't offer me chocolate, he'd just unwrap it, leave it on my desk, in front of my PC, and then eat it when he was ready.

He didnt' come in one day, and I then found out he had been seen lurking outside the office three months later, trying to get his job back. His sister had gone in to talk to the managers to see if he could be reemployed.

I've worked with 2 heroin addicts as well. They'd hire anyone for tech jobs back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,276 ✭✭✭readyletsgo

Does anyone rememeber that really camp guy who used to dance to, what I can only think of as 'rave' music on his walkman down Henry st in Dublin? Last time I saw him was about two months ago, but he used to start at the GPO and gradually dance faster all the way down to the Jervis shopping centre like he was pillin off his nut and on his way to an absolutely AMAZING rave at 1 in the afternoon nearly every day.

Lol what ever happened to him. Maybe its just too cold out at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭MingulayJohnny

Strange can be a relative term , I've been called eccentric myself in the past.

A friend of mine used to live on a street off of Cork street and he had this elderly neighbour who insisted on tying dozens of plastic bags to the telephone pole outside his house. It was like some sort of strange ritual. Each to their own.

I also witnessed one of the funniest\strangest things in my life when I was doing a photography course. There was a fella on the course who showed up sporadically , nice fella but he just looked permanently wired. He was a small fella and he looked kind of like Beavis except with brown hair. Anyway , we were having a class in a prefab one day and I saw him out of the corner of my eye approaching from outside.

The door on the prefab was too big for the frame and used to jam. Sure enough he tried to open the door and it wouldn't budge. He then seemed to disappear. I was near the door so I said I'd give him a hand I was just about to get up when in he comes flying through the air , f**kin Chuck Norris style. He landed in the room with this mad head on him panting and spitting to the shock of everyone in the room. In the process he'd nearly taken the poor lecturer out of it and the door off the hinges. The lecturer was clinging to her desk. He composed himself and then we kind of settled down to a weird awkward silence and just got on with the class. There were a couple of times though that I thought I was going to crack up. The fact that he was just chatting normally to us without any mention of his antics afterwards was funny too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

My neighbour who was in the army for many years had a son who enjoyed playing with barbies out in the front garden. Now the army father used to make the excuse that his son was just a little strange and would shake off this little barbie habit when he grows up a bit.... 15 years later his son's new name is Peaches and he/she performs cabaret in the George every other week :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

this memory will never leave me
    in Cleary's in town good few years ago
    this freaky oul lad sqeezes a kids see through mack on ,tight as f***,and sticks the gear stick into 1st and hops off himself for a few minutes,before the security guards arrived a bloke walked towards him at speed and shoulders him to the floor before he spilled his bachelors

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

I recently saw a guy pull a hanky out of a bin, examine it closely and then blow his nose with it, nearly spewed on the spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭d.anthony

In Glasgow, when I was 15 me and my mates got on a train one Friday evening, train was pretty much deserted and we went right to the end to avoid the 'clicky' (ticket inspector), just as we were coming down the carriage we notice a woman at the end shuffling about, she was about 45 maybe, we couldn't really see what she was at as our view was obstructed by the seats in front of her but as we got to the end and took our seats to the left of hers we could just see that she had pulled up her trousers:confused: ...

General confusion ensues for about a minute until we notice, under her legs, a big steaming pile of watery poo. We were all looking at each other in disbelief and trying really, REALLY hard to stifle our laughter. What made it weirder was that she occasionally glanced over to us with a weird smile. By this stage the smell was getting unbearable and just as we were coming to the next stop (3 before the one we were meant to get off this) my mate gets up and shouts '**** THIS, THAT WOMAN HAS JUST SHAT ON THE TRAIN' at the top of his voice, and gets off... We all follow in fits of laughter and as we're standing outside and the train begins to move she turns to the window and gives us a wave!

By far the craziest thing I've ever witnessed...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭Kells...

Does anyone rememeber that really camp guy who used to dance to, what I can only think of as 'rave' music on his walkman down Henry st in Dublin? Last time I saw him was about two months ago, but he used to start at the GPO and gradually dance faster all the way down to the Jervis shopping centre like he was pillin off his nut and on his way to an absolutely AMAZING rave at 1 in the afternoon nearly every day.

Lol what ever happened to him. Maybe its just too cold out at the moment.

Was that the guy who wore pink eye stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭statto25

About ten years ago my mate and myself were walking to school when we met a Romanian woman who was well know for begging around the town. As she walked towards us she stopped dead and started to hunker down and proceesed to take a piss while staring right at us. She finished her job and went about her way. Dirty B!tch!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Now that's a classic!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Years ago I was on my way into the post office when an old man came out and said "are you going my way?". Obviously I wasn't because he was coming out of the post office and I was going in but I said yes anyway because he seemed to need some help. He then asked me to carry a bag to the car.

I walked down the road with him for about five minutes and was wondering would we ever get to his car. He then approached someone in a parked car and asked them for a lift. It turned out he didn't even have a car. He then asked everyone he saw in a parked car for a lift.

A while later he stopped a couple of young lads and asked if they would carry some more stuff he had. He gave one of them another bag and gave the other lad a walking stick.

The man then lead us all around the town looking for someone to give him a lift. After about twenty minutes of this I turned around to one of the lads and asked if he'd take the bag I was carrying. I then legged it back to the post office before the man saw me.