Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snow Reports/ Thundersnow & Chat - 26/11/2010 onwards

• Registered Users Posts: 195 ✭✭gothwalk

2 cm of snow in Maynooth, recent light shower of graupel. Temperatures about 1.2C, wind N or NNE, varying.

The protest march in town today is going to be bloody freezing. I'm bringing a flask of coffee and a couple of spare hats for whatever eejits turn up without one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,578 ✭✭✭ciaran67

Big storm heading to N Mayo right now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭mickger844posts

RobitTV wrote: »
    Waterford Rarely gets Heavy snow lol

We do today :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭rhonin

eskimocat wrote: »
    Rhonin have you much snow there? Forgive me if i missed you status post, too many threads and posts.

A bit of a covering of snow in collooney. Better nothing and more than I was expecting!

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭John2009

Nada in Cork City this morning, hope your enjoying the snow elsewhere in the country :D

Looking west :(

P1030092.jpg

Looking east :cool:

P1030094.jpg

Hard frost on the car this morning :)

P1030095.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Some of the chunks of hail from last night were huge!

Loads of marble sized hail and one or two very big ones lying around!

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ffarrell7

Asked my daughter if she wanted to go out and throw a few snowballs..she said no!! She has seen so much snow in the past two winters and now early snow in November 2010 that she is getting too used to it or bored!!! Dublin 15 is very very white!!:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,012 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Temps will hardly rise enough for it all to melt will they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

inabina wrote: »
    lets hope temps are at their peak...yikes its getting mild.

Well its only 0.5 here so i'd say it will rise to 2 or 3 at least . . cant see much of this snow lasting the day . . .

• Registered Users Posts: 403 ✭✭counterpointaud

5211335340_c6ea1466b5.jpg
    IMAG0002 by PapillonIrl, on Flickr

Tramore, Co. Waterford this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

Some pictures from Wexford:

136731.JPG
    136730.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

We do today :D

How does another 5 hours of snow sound? :D

9-574.GIF?27-6

Looking at the radar there might be a break for a while but there is more precip heading down behind that.

• Registered Users Posts: 427 ✭✭verywell

I am due to travel from Carlow to Dublin tonight to the O2. Does anyone know if it would be worth the risk? Would it be safe to drive? Thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

ciaran67 wrote: »
    Big storm heading to N Mayo right now.

That looks to have really intensified off the Donegal coast, north and west of the county about to get a pasting I think. Wonder if the temps are still cold enough?

Not forecast to get above freezing today here in Glasgow, dropping to -7 after 6pm tonight, looks like my lovely fresh new snow won't be going away anytime soon. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭bray man

Calibos wrote: »
    Wheres my Snow Gone!!??

Snow all gone in Bray, certainly near seafront. Whats it like in the rest of Bray??

most of ours is gone now too, mind i'm very near the coast too:( 4.2/dp-0.6

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

wow Beasterly, that is a decent fall of sneachta:D;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,467 Mod ✭✭✭✭mickger844posts

9-574.GIF?27-6

Looking at the radar there might be a break for a while but there is more precip heading down behind that.

Sounds great maq, bring it on :D

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭carlmwan

The sun is out hear i hope it wont melt:( it still 0° tho we only have a inch so dont want it to melt.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭rameire

Snow in Athy this morning.
    Has stopped for now.
    south there are dirty dark clouds.
    north there is white fluffy clouds and sky.
    current temp is 0c
    last night at 1am it was -2.5c

i want more snow, but i have to pick up my motorbike from a service.

roads are not gritted in or around athy

M9, drivers are using one lane.
    road conditions are getting better for now
    but are very very slippy.

🌞 3.8kwp, 🌞 Split 2.28S, 1.52E. 🌞 Clonee, Dub.🌞

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭NIALL D

jus started snowing in south tipp bout 15 mins ago...
    an its heavy:) lodging very quick...

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭bray man

pics ?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

well that was an interesting night (8 miles north of dub airport).......the thunder kept me awake off and on..and around 4.55ish am there was a massive lightning & thunder show......wake up this morning to see a dusting of snow left and the sun out......
    pity i didn't stay up at 5 and get the camera out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Where is supercell! fookin thunder snow lightening snow fever ATM.. Rathdrum Co.Wicklow.. sure he's loving this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭BEASTERLY

Still coming down in buckets(and spades) up to 14cm now on the table and finally we have thunder and lightning:D

Will post more pics later!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Kilkenny City outskirts..

Snowing heavily now. BIG flakes.

Temperature: Current 0.7 °C High 0.7 °C Low -1.7 °C
    Dew Point: Current 0.4 °C High 0.4 °C Low -2.0 °C

• Registered Users Posts: 19,417 ✭✭✭✭road_high

kleefarr wrote: »
    Kilkenny City outskirts..

Snowing heavily now. BIG flakes.

Temperature: Current 0.7 °C High 0.7 °C Low -1.7 °C
    Dew Point: Current 0.4 °C High 0.4 °C Low -2.0 °C

Did we get any thunder and lightning did you hear?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭fjon

BEASTERLY wrote: »
    14cm now on the table
    Really? :eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

9-574.GIF?27-6

well done maq! you deserve a big snow even more than most. any chance ye could be friendly and send some down to us here in cork?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

in arklow also, can hear d thunder but its not snowing anymore:confused:

just started again

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

A good 4 inches here in Enniscorthy and it's hammering down,we have thunder and lightning too-it's heading your way Beasterly:D