Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The BIG "How are the roads I need to make a trip later THREAD"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

Anyone know what the M50/M1 to belfast is like, was due to go up tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

Best route down lads from Derry-Celbridge.
    Thinking of using N2 to Ardee ,then M1-M50-M4.

Any problems along that route?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

The warrior Integra strikes again! :D

My estate is a disaster at the moment, everybody is stuck and cars abandoned everywhere, I made it out. Tallght is in rag order, well Kiltipper, Old Bawn, Firhouse anyway but once I got to Ballyboden the roads are just wet and I can actually use my brakes rather than engine braking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭hunter164

Came home on the M1 southbound around half 2/3 and it's fine, it was just wet so could get moving a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭cjmcork

Quaver wrote: »
    I'm probably mad for asking this...but anyone have any idea what the road from Cork to Dublin is like?

Des Bishop tweeted this about 40 mins ago (driving to a gig in Thurles):

In Thurles. M7 and M8 were fine all the way down. Just watch out for slush creeping in off the shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Driving out Sth Circular Road, Terenure and Templeogue onto the N81 up to Cookstown Rd in about an hour, anyone been along there recently?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭patrickc

ok I want to be at Dublin Airport for 7am.

Have to travel from Carlow so would be M9/M50

what to people think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭GTE

M1 was fine except for a few spots around Dundalk I think where the overtaking lane was a bit tight.

This was at 3pm to 4ish.

Road to Slane (N51 I think) is ok.
    Slane to Navan is ok. This brought it up to 5pm
    Navan to Trim is fine (better than ok).
    Trim to Kilcock is fine.
    Kilcock and on to the M4 westbound is very good. About 10 mins ago.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

How are roads generally? I'm looking at the traffic cam feeds and everything looks pretty good tbh.

I'm still snowed in up near Kiltipper but was hoping to get out over the weekend to look at a couple of cars for purchase. :)

How are roads generally? I'm looking at the traffic cam feeds and everything looks pretty good tbh.

I'm still snowed in up near Kiltipper but was hoping to get out over the weekend to look at a couple of cars for purchase. :)

Roads aren't bad at all I've just driven home. Where in Kiltipper are you? I'm near you if you need a hand

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Onkle wrote: »
    Roads aren't bad at all I've just driven home. Where in Kiltipper are you? I'm near you if you need a hand
    Hey man cheers for the offer. Shouldn't be a huge problem, I was stuck in about 2 feet of snow but a neighbour helped me out. Now I'm just stuck in my own parking space if ya can believe that! :D

I should be able to get out at some stage I think, I'd be more worried about getting back up! Hopefully the higher temps tomorrow will get rid of some of the snow.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

patrickc wrote: »

what to people think?

AA Roadwatch are reporting a lot of black ice on the M9 and some freezing fog on the M7, they've snow ploughs on the M7 from Naas to Kildare at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,990 ✭✭✭patrickc

Stheno wrote: »
    AA Roadwatch are reporting a lot of black ice on the M9 and some freezing fog on the M7, they've snow ploughs on the M7 from Naas to Kildare at the minute.

thanks for that. yeh looking like were going to get the bus now seems to be running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

I'd say its fine. All around D.15 is clear on the main roads. Only a problem when you go into estates. But theres no problem at all otherwise. Doesn't even seem to be freezing to night, seems to be thawing.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Swords this evening is far better than yesterday roads are fine

I'm half tempted to drive out for a Chinese... When they deliver it's always freezin, roads around Tallaght are much better today than they've been for days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭Quaver

Left Cork at 2:45 this afternoon and arrived at the Red Cow at 6pm. Roads were fine the whole way up, didn't come across one patch of ice. It was extremely foggy around Kildare and there were a good few patches where the right-hand lane was covered, so other than the odd few muppets on the roads it was fine.

Having spent the week in Cork in cold with absolutely no snow, it was a treat to see the white fields and gardens. I know it's a pain in the ass for most people, but it looks great!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Mozoltov!

patrickc wrote: »

what to people think?

I've a friend who's from Drogheda and lives in Carlow while in college. He had to turn back when he got to the M9 'cause it was just too dangerous he said. Now he's stuck in Carlow 'til further notice. So if it freezes again tonight, ye're fecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭Tefral

Im just in from Driving from Dublin to Limerick.. The road is pretty bad after the Toll outside Portlaoise on the M7 in the direction of Limerick. Hardly see 2 ft in front of ya.

The motorway was mostly one lane useable most of the way down. After you come off for Roscrea its all good on the way home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭mondeo

Hiya,

Anyone have any info about the roads from Dublin to Carlow? M7 to M9 to N80 in particular?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,225 ✭✭✭✭unkel

mondeo wrote: »
    Anyone have any info about the roads from Dublin to Carlow? M7 to M9 to N80 in particular?

Not sure about your particular route, but the roads here around Lucan are lethal. Light thaw all day and a sudden (though minor) frost have created lots of black ice on roads that look clear. The roads are by far the worst since the start of this cold spell. Be careful!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

Just letting people know the M2/ N2 is lethal tonight from glasnevin cemetery right up to the end of the motorway.

Seen some fella crash into the wall across from woodies cos of the black ice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,687 ✭✭✭mondeo

unkel wrote: »
    Not sure about your particular route, but the roads here around Lucan are lethal. Light thaw all day and a sudden (though minor) frost have created lots of black ice on roads that look clear. The roads are by far the worst since the start of this cold spell. Be careful!!!

Oh well i'm staying put until mid week so... I feel claustrophobic not been able to drive anywhere, been a week and the whole of my area is a skating ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Just home a few minutes. I travelled from Chaplelizord along Kylemore Rd and onto the N7 turned off at Newlands Cross. The roads are covered in black ice down no more than 25kph all the way home. They are gritted but need gritting again, was using full beams in places to see where the grit was. My advice is not to travel unless you absolutely have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Anyone out this morning got anything to report?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭Avns1s

All routes in central and east Mayo covered in Black ice this morning, even main routes. Numerous accidents reported. Best advice is not to travel until later at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭brophs

Anyone been on the Carlow-Dublin road today?

Anyone plodding about the M4, M50 and M1/A1/M1 today?

Ill need to head back tomorrow sometime but not if there is black ice or evil things lurking on the tarmac.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Cole

brophs wrote: »
    Anyone been on the Carlow-Dublin road today?

I was talking to someone who drove the M7/N7 from Newbridge to Dublin around midday, no problems. I don't know about today but the M9 was ok on Friday (one lane). I think fog might be an issue today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Cole wrote: »
    I was talking to someone who drove the M7/N7 from Newbridge to Dublin around midday, no problems. I don't know about today but the M9 was ok on Friday (one lane). I think fog might be an issue today.

Its still one lane (around Kilcullen anyway) with pretty bad fog

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Black ice on most of the main thoroughfares of Dundalk town, especially at junctions for some odd reason....secondary roads outside the town are the usual skating rink. Didn't venture on to the mway today, but local radio mentioned several pacthes of black ice on M1 at Monasterboice and Drogheda in botht he overtaking and driving lanes.
    Was out the M1 towarsd the border yesterday afternoon and where it's in shadow at ravensdale forest was fairly dicey: I wasn't doing much above 100km/h and even that was pushing it. I can't imagine it's any better today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Any idea if the M50 / M1 are in decent consition? Might have to do a run from Ballymun to the Airport shortly, would really appreciate any info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

Why would you use M50/M1 to get from ballymun to airport? ballymun is on the perimeter of the airport :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

kazul wrote: »
    Why would you use M50/M1 to get from ballymun to airport? ballymun is on the perimeter of the airport :confused:

Because the M50/M1 are more likely to be treated. Made the trip there, roads are grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Anyone know what the roads from Tipperary Town to Cashel and then Urlingford to Kilkenny are like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Forge Hill and Pouladuff are bad.

Douglas and the South Ring road are fine though.

From another thread, up to the Airport is lethal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Dodgy around Tallaght, obviously in estates and side roads etc but the Cookstown Road from CRH Quarry down to Tallaght Hospital is pretty icy as are the roads around the Hospital so be careful there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

M1 was a bloody disaster this morning, traffic was queuing from around Julianstown (I heard this, as I joined in Balbriggan, which wasn't the end of the queue) to the airport/M50. It wasn't the condition of the road that was causing it, either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

blastman wrote: »
    M1 was a bloody disaster this morning, traffic was queuing from around Julianstown (I heard this, as I joined in Balbriggan, which wasn't the end of the queue) to the airport/M50. It wasn't the condition of the road that was causing it, either.

Just slow dicks in the overtaking lane as usual and an empty driving lane?
    When the RSA/GTC/AA tells people to double their braking distance (and rightly so), the length of the flow of traffic doubles too.
    That sounds utterly horrible...it's bad enough when it begins at the Rush off-ramp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

blastman wrote: »

I was on it last night around 7pm and it was in excellent condition, no black ice or anything. All I had to deal with was idiots with their rear fog lights on burning the red into my poor retina's!

There was a patch of fog at Drogheda for about 2 - 3 miles max after that it was clear but I still came across car after car with the rear fog light on all the way to the M50.

And idiots in the overtaking lane doing 80 km/h not overtaking anything!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

They've closed the side roads in the Phoenix Park. Why they can't grit them I don't understand. They seem to want to cause as much disruption as possible by closing park gates at any excuse. I know they hate the traffic in the park, but its just dumb to ignore that its major traffic artery.

M4 at 11.40 was perfect.
    M50 at 12ish to half 12ish was perfect.
    M1/N1/A1/M1 to Belfast was perfect.

Only problem was fog on the Republic M1.

EDIT:
    It has just started snowing in Belfast now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Forest Road in swords is lethal - I slid past the entrance to my estate at a very slow speed earlier on my way in! ABS went nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭deaglan169

n2 in monaghan lethal from emyvale to monaghan and also castleblaney dundalk raod very bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

have to drive back from Dublin to Limerick tomorrow. I'm worried about the m7. Any idea what the conditions are like regarding black ice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Don't suppose anyone knows what Julianstown is like, and whether it's snowing in Drogheda yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭hunter164

M1 southbound was sh1te on the way home around 6ish, down to 1 lane for most.

Snow all evening in Swords so be careful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,146 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

hunter164 wrote: »
    M1 southbound was sh1te on the way home around 6ish, down to 1 lane for most.

Ditto M3 northbound from around the Dunshaughlin exit. Also watch for very slippy roundabouts at Kells.

Will be "fun" in the morning :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

The hill in Julianstown was a bit slippy at 07.00 this morning, but easy to tackle. Fairly bad approaching the M1 slip road though.

M1 south from Julianstown is fine, M50 is fine to Tallaght. N81 to the square is clear too.

Drizzle most of the way in so the car is totally clear.

Just hope it's as easy to get home tonight!