Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Worst job ever?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Seems to be an awfull lot of breaches in labour law here. People should really know their rights. That includes managers many of whom act like despots.

For example, they have let you go to the jacks. We're yous getting paid overtime for these 12 hour ****s? no breaks in between?

If you get abused in your work place and then get the sack. sue the arse off them I say. I did and won

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Groinshot

Bendihorse wrote: »
    If you didn't answer their every whim, again, father would be screaming at you. .
    are you sure he wasn't SCREAMING at you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I spent a few months working in a shower making factory in Dunleer a few years ago. Now, I'm not the kind to work in factories, as I'm more into serving costumers and having a chat... ya know, I'm the lazy type.

What really pissed me off though wasn't the job itself, it was trying to get there from Drogheda in the mornings. I stasrted at 8am each morning, but in order to get a bus out there that would land me there on time, I'd have to score one at about 5 or 6am. There would be no other bus until about 8ish which would leave me late, so I had to get the early one. Then I'd have to wait around outside for a few each morning hours in the middle of winter for the place to open. I never went back after christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Seems to be an awfull lot of breaches in labour law here. People should really know their rights. That includes managers many of whom act like despots.

For example, they have let you go to the jacks. We're yous getting paid overtime for these 12 hour ****s? no breaks in between?

I seem to remember that Telecom Eireann international operators went on strike over the 5 minutes they were allowed for toilet breaks back in 1978 or so. They won. (er, that was in the recessionary 70s, for those who think that labour law should be suspended in times of economic difficulty :rolleyes:)

what gobshíte thinks that? IQ tests for the right to vote now!

The organisation of working time act 1997 is very clear on peoples entitlements which everyone should know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

are you being sarcastic? Isnt that normal. Ive never been paid for lunch when i was working at an hourly rate and always had to buy my own lunch. Never heard of anywhere any different

I worked in a large Irish fastfood franchise and didnt get paid for my half hour break either however all staff (except managers) got charged 50c per hour for food whether we ate it or not. You were allowed any regular meal from the menu but you still got charged 50c per hour for food even on your holidays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

11850....quite possible the most soul destroying job in the world.

Did you ever have any of these?

Slig wrote: »
    I worked in a large Irish fastfood franchise and didnt get paid for my half hour break either however all staff (except managers) got charged 50c per hour for food whether we ate it or not. You were allowed any regular meal from the menu but you still got charged 50c per hour for food even on your holidays

I dont understand. you got a half hour break and they actually deducted 50c from you for 'food' regardless if you ate it?

Im fairly sure thats not legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Fluffer for Ron Jeremy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Claasman

Worst job ever?

would have to be selling doors, door to door.

Thank you bb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Worked in a golf club as a cleaner/dogsbody in my mid teens. Members included Sean Fitzpatrick and the likes - cleaning up after his bowel movements was a grim affair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

lounge boy. got £2 an hour and we often worked til after 2 am at the weekend even though we werent paid after half 11, bar staff just used and verbally abused all of the lounge staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭Darraghnormal

Claasman wrote: »
    Worst job ever?

would have to be selling doors, door to door.

Thank you bb

haha! Bing bong "hi im selling...oh sh*t you have one"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 mightysurveyor

Alter boy in a small little parish working with a really friendly priest.

It was our little secret

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

A fudge-packer..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭spoonface

I worked in a kibbutz for a Summer during which I had various jobs including:

-Going round opening up manholes for my co-worker to fumigate the cockroaches within. We opened up one and it was the motherload - literally 100's of cockroaches scurrying every which way when the light came upon them

-Digging a grave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

Worked in the manufacturing line in 3Com in blanch when they were there. 12 hour shifts using a scanner to scan motherboards and network cards to ensure they'd been through the correct quality departments.

Scan - replace - scan - replace - scan - replace...think i lasted week and a half...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Giggernaut

Working in music shop.

I remember being really excited at the prospect of working in the store because it resembled the music store from "High Fidelity".

Alas I lasted a three days I couldn't take dusting and organizing cds. The only conversation I had with customers was to show them where the top 20 single/albums were located.

The manager would only allow the latest popular releases to be played in store i.e Ronan Keating/ Faith Hill or some other shi*te for 8hrs .....on repeat :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Nothing too bad, some people could handle it fairly well. Selling Discover business cards, the amount of people tearing stripes off me was ridiculous. Apparently Discover treats their customers like sheet. :p

There is a meter as well, like other call centers mentioned, you can't spend very long on a call. If the percentages are in red on the screen, you know that you better hurry your arse up and start selling very fast. You had to do about 20-25 sales to earn any kind of good money. I used to sell around 3 or so every day in an 8-5 shift and every day was worse than the one before. I stuck it out for 4 months and packed it in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭cooltown

For me it was working in Tesco for work experience.
    It was the worst experience ever. I still remembe it I tought that I was going to be in an office or something instead I was in the store room waiting for lorries to deliver goods then I had to un load them in the freezing cold and it was in December during the x-mas rush. I remember they should have being 3 guys working with me but they just sat down and did nothing and let me do all the work. I did this for two weeks and all I got paid was a tin of roses!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

working in retail sucks the balls no matter what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

cooltown wrote: »
    It was the worst experience ever. I still remembe it I tought that I was going to be in an office or something instead I was in the store room waiting for lorries to deliver goods then I had to un load them in the freezing cold and it was in December during the x-mas rush. I remember they should have being 3 guys working with me but they just sat down and did nothing and let me do all the work. I did this for two weeks and all I got paid was a tin of roses!:mad:

This wins funniest story of the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Procter & Gamble in Tipp.

For a factory floor job, I had to pass two technical aptitude exams, two interviews, a medical and a drug test.

I was terrfied, thought this must be a complex job with hi tech machinery and they recruited the best people around, hundreds and hundreds applied for these jobs.
    I spent the first few months packing boxes and sweeping the floor :rolleyes:

Waterproof mascara will destroy your clothes, the stuff is like superglue. As for lipstick, it stinks and it's messy. Days I left work scrubbing my lipstick off my face.
    You'd spot the P&G workers around town, they were the ones with shoes like the colours of the rainbow, splattered with lipstick

We sterilized machinery with Isopropyl alcohol. 70% solution
    Went into work sick and hungover and one whiff on the alcohol and I vomited on the floor :o

Even now when I'm in Boots if I see Max Factor lipstick I can decode what the label, stock, country of origin and batch in seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭CoalBucket

Worst job I've had was working in a sock factory, not even making socks just ironing them.

Not with an iron and board either but with foot shape irons that you put the socks on.

There was 12 foot shaped irons on the bench and had to put the socks on each one and by the time I got to the end had to take each one off and put them into pairs.

8 hours a day for 3 months in the hottest summer I can remember. Being paid with a small wage packet and third degree burns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

are you being sarcastic? Isnt that normal. Ive never been paid for lunch when i was working at an hourly rate and always had to buy my own lunch. Never heard of anywhere any different

Wasn't bein sarcastic at all:(. My first restaurant job at 16, I wasn't docked pay for lunchtime, and could take whatever I wanted to eat for free on breaks. So you can imagine the indignant head on me when this wasn't the case, in the next place. This is going back a long time now, and I've not done waitressing since then, so obviously things have changed. Or I just really lucked out in the first job....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

d.pop wrote: »
    worked in a printing factory in Israel putting elastic bands around bundles of gas bills. There was a little number in the corner of each bill, you started at one and when you got to 500 you put an elastic band around the bunch and into a box, then 501-1001, 1002-1502 etc etc, went on for 8hrs at a time on a shift from 04:00 to 12:00, the boss would randomly pick out bunches to check that you were following the numbers correctly, if you weren't you'd have to pause the machine sort it out and start again, down time was added on to your shift. Guy who had the job before me hung himself out the back of the plant, to this day i swear it was because of the job, he did it for 6 months, i lasted about a week and nearly went mental.

Worked something similar to that before too during the summer except it was on a folding machine and I didn't have to count the leaflets but never again would I do it, between the machine jamming and trying to fan/air out the pages after they were cut on the guillotine it was a nightmare.
    At one stage I was doing twelve hour shifts (standing) in order to get these RSA leaflets sent of to Mayo or somewhere like that, made a good few bob from it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Blackjack

73Cat wrote: »
    Or I just really lucked out in the first job....
    For Jobs, yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Picking tomatoes for two summers.
    That's hard work in a glasshouse in the summer sun with nasty chemical sprays and the complete gimps I had to work with. I never had a fist fight with them but I never took any **** either.

Any job after that is gravy.

mle1324 wrote: »
    Worked something similar to that before too during the summer except it was on a folding machine and I didn't have to count the leaflets but never again would I do it, between the machine jamming and trying to fan/air out the pages after they were cut on the guillotine it was a nightmare.
    At one stage I was doing twelve hour shifts (standing) in order to get these RSA leaflets sent of to Mayo or somewhere like that, made a good few bob from it though.

worked in a packaging plant in ballymount for a while. job was basically put a plug into a bag and pass it to the next bloke.

the work was boring but the job was great because of the craic youd have.

once on a lads birthday we shrink wrapped him to a pallet and put him up on the forklift for hours, aparantely thats a common one. having a treasure hunt for the radio and refusing to do any work untill we found it (by that time the place was closing down and we were all losing our job so feck em)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

In my Australia backpacking days I got a days work in a warehouse. When I arrived the job was sweeping dead cockroaches out of the place as the exterminators had been in the day before.

Also had a day in a printing factory stocking the production line stations with junk mail leaflets. Worked with a lot of lads from SE Asia who kept screaming at me, and anyone who passed by, that I was in the IRA and trying to bomb the factory.

Had 3 days work in another warehouse. Day 1 was loading up 2 40ft trailers with stuff. We were called in for a 2nd day as the boss realised he had got things mixed up so we had to unload the trailers and then Day 3 was loading the correct stuff on the correct trailers.

Shizzle work but it paid for porter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Right through university in England I worked weekends in a chicken slaughter and processing factory. We were sent in on weekends to clean up after the week. This involved using a powerhose to clean off the guts and blood from the walls, machinery and floors.
    The blood vats were full and the blood was jelly like, we had to climb the slaughter machine and powerhose off the blood, guts and grease.

They would get busy around Christmas and were were put on the slaughter line, hanging the poor chickens by the legs before they would get their throaths cut. As the chickens were killed and went around on the conveyor a little Indian lad was standing up on a box, pulling the eggs from the dead chickens. And placing them carefully on a tray.

I thought little of this until were were told that there was a free breakfast for us in the canteen. Bacon and eggs.....

The smell would get into your pores and you would stink for days. When the heating would come in the university classroom, the place would stink of a slaughter house :(

The only good point was that ANY job I have ever done since has been a walk in the park compared to that death factory, i still have nightmares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭Leadership

I was a military engineer in the British Army and these were my worst jobs during my service.
    • Upgrade of a Kenyan sewage system where I spent the afternoon up to my waist in a small towns waste repairing a pipe. I contracted Hepatitis A as a result.
    • In Bosnia we took over a factory that was used as a field hospital by Serbian forces the day before. There were rotting limbs and old blood soaked bandages everywhere that we had to clear up.
    • Had to paint grass green and trees brown for a week prior to a visit by the queen to our barracks.
    • In Gulf war 1 I was in the first vehicle through the Iraqi anti tank defenses in a combat engineer tractor. Just one hour before the breach the Colonel visited us and told us that at least 10 Iraqi tanks would open up on us so be quick to break through. Also gave us a "last request" of a hip flask of whiskey (alcohol was band in Saudi) and as good as said we would die trying.
    • Last 8 years of my career was a bomb disposal tech and served over 3 years in Bosnia, in my last tour of Bosnia I was hit by fragmentation mine which ended my career as I sustained serious injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

cooltown wrote: »

What did you expect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

MajorMax wrote: »
    What did you expect?

Probably the same as I expected :P....Turn up on the first day and get to do the job that you are there for ( As i expected in the garage that I did mine in) but instead you spend most of the week holding a sweeping brush!

73Cat wrote: »
    When I was 19 worked in a restaurant in town. You weren't paid for your hour's lunchbreak AND you had to buy your own lunch. How very dare they:mad:. Needless to say, I only lasted the week.....

are you serious???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Leadership wrote: »
    I was a military engineer in the British Army and these were my worst jobs during my service.
    • Upgrade of a Kenyan sewage system where I spent the afternoon up to my waist in a small towns waste repairing a pipe. I contracted Hepatitis A as a result.
    • In Bosnia we took over a factory that was used as a field hospital by Serbian forces the day before. There were rotting limbs and old blood soaked bandages everywhere that we had to clear up.
    • Had to paint grass green and trees brown for a week prior to a visit by the queen to our barracks.
    • In Gulf war 1 I was in the first vehicle through the Iraqi anti tank defenses in a combat engineer tractor. Just one hour before the breach the Colonel visited us and told us that at least 10 Iraqi tanks would open up on us so be quick to break through. Also gave us a "last request" of a hip flask of whiskey (alcohol was band in Saudi) and as good as said we would die trying.
    • Last 8 years of my career was a bomb disposal tech and served over 3 years in Bosnia, in my last tour of Bosnia I was hit by fragmentation mine which ended my career as I sustained serious injuries.

Got any other cool stories?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

I still think site work is the worst. I used to be a quasi-labourer but with the added awkwardness of being one for a carpet fitting company so I was constantly out of the loop about what was what (and half the battle in working on a site is just knowing who to ask). Anyway this job involved me convincing nutters stoned 19 year old Celtic Tiger sparks to hurry up so I could glue a floor around them (for the tiles) :D When working indoors I sometimes had to walk boxes of tiles up 4-5 flights of stairs and often while people were working in offices doing their normal job. Perhaps the worst bit of working on sites when you are close to people in their office jobs is you feel slightly dirty and not in a good way :P

On the complete opposite end all this labouring earned me an education during which I enjoyed a wonderful few years leafing through tax forms and numbering them for reasons I will never quite understand. I've also filed masses of forms in the same job - a process that ought to be used at Gitmo.

These days all this work has put me in a position where I can look back and smile at it, but I also wonder how I didn't go spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭d.anthony

Brilliant! That's hilarious. It's often said that the Queen thinks the world smells of paint, as there's always someone painting something within 50ft of her!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Slig

I thought I had some fairly crap jobs in my time but they dont seem so bad when they never resulted in me getting blown up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 BigAliens

CMpunked wrote: »
    Did you ever have any of these?

I got asked for the "Gippo" before.didnt know about fonejacker at the time so was caught out by it.
    caller:"can i get the nuymber for the gippo in dublin 1?"
    me:"sorry mate, i cant see a listing for the gippo, what type of company is it?"
    Prick: Its a courier service,I think its on O'Connell St."
    *after some intensive searching"
    me:"Still nothing for the gippo,just wana double check how your spelling it"
    prick:Yeah its G........P........O, the gippo"

I hadnt a clue what had just happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

working with a landscape gardiner cutting grass for 9 hours a day with a push lawnmower i kid you not:mad:!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

working in supermacs for one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

manager for dunnes in annoyin town in wexford i wont say the name though:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Back when I was a young lad I was over in Amsterdam. My self and a mate went to visit a peep show, it was one of those where there was a rotating bed and cabins around it in a circle. There was only one cabin free so I popped in a guilder and went in while my mate waited outside. Once inside you can see the girl on the bed and all the other windows are frosted. But I could still make out the silhouette of a guy straight across from me having a ****, totally ruined the experience! Once the time was up I left, but before my mate could root out a guilder someone else jumped into the cabin. So while I waited, he walked around looking for a free cabin. A few minutes later he comes back and says there was one free but the window had jizz running down it so he keeps on looking. In the mean time this guy comes a long with a bucket, mop and cleaning products and proceeds to clean the jizzed up cabin. One of the worst jobs I've seen someone doing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

When I was fourteen I worked in the kitchen of a chipper run by an Italian family. I'd finish school on Friday evening at 4pm and start work at 8pm and finish at 4am, work Sat evening from 6pm to 4am and Sunday from 12pm to 8pm for the fantastic sum of £1.25/hour. £32.50 for the weekend and gave £30 of that at home. It was the biggest ****hole of all time, when the clubs were over the place would fill with people in the horrors and fights would break out and the owner would shout to me 'Goa downa therea and tella thema if theya don'ta stopa ****in fighting they geta ****in outa, Em i'm a fourteen yr old girl, 5 ft nothing and 7 stone they wonta ****in listena. In the end I sent my sister in to tell them I got food poisoning from their food so I couldn't come in and never went back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭pawrick

that story re amsternam sounds pretty bad!

my personal worse was working in a shopping centre as a general dogs body while a student.

my weirdest one was 7 months of colouring in maps with permanent markers - worst part was I could only use Green, Red and Black colours - artist in me wanted to get out!

used to make me dizzy after a few hours - on the bright side it would mean a cheap night out after work as one pint and along with the fumes all day I'd be flying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭hadepsx

bouncy castle man, dealing with rude kids and ruder drunk parents, in the muck and dog crappy:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭fakearms123

Question? How were you able to fit your giant balls into that vehicle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

Dunnes Stores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭pawrick

hadepsx wrote: »
    bouncy castle man, dealing with rude kids and ruder drunk parents, in the muck and dog crappy:mad:

never ever get drunk and play in a bouncing castle - got one during the summer and of course had to have a go. 5 mins of that and it was game over for me, was in bits the rest of the night. I'd say a lot of parents get sick in them (I didn't but just felt sick)