Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Freeze Discussion / Heavy snow & Blizzards continue - 01/12/2010

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭lucy2010

By the look of the radar Bray will get it just
    before the curl to the east hits city center.
    I just got out of their, total nightmare!
    Good luck if your still their, stay safe PPL!

I am :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 36 a1m1m1o1

Any snow coming cork's way?

Nah you won the gaa final Dublins keeping all its snow sorry:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

df1985 wrote: »

Frightening stuff and not very nice for those involved. So perhaps those who put up the so called funny Japanese photos of people being pushed onto trains can now display a little cop on and cease. Yeah? Things like this are probably why the "other" thread taking a pop at weather enthusiasts got created. Act responsibly please.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Pangea wrote: »
    Ok according to the charts north donegal is getting snow all day, is this correct?

Yep. Letterkenny offices closed at 4.30 to allow staff home in daylight.

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭lucy2010

Gerrys on Six one next

ssssshhhhhhhhhhhhhssssssss - Gerry's up next

Lucan update, Big A**ed clouds heading this way. Bring it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,288 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

a1m1m1o1 wrote: »
    Nah you won the gaa final Dublins keeping all its snow sorry:D

BOOOOOO....DOWN WITH THIS SORT OF THING:p

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Folks keeping Warm waiting on Dart & Trains

http://twitpic.com/3bylhm/full

• Registered Users Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

I see on the radar the red bits seem a LITTLe closer to limerick. Any hope tonight?

• Registered Users Posts: 616 ✭✭✭linguist

Evening! That snow should be hitting us in Donabate any minute. And very welcome it'll be too - we've been kept almost completely in the shadow for the past couple of days.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,431 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

A few flakes in the breeze now in D4..and so it begins..

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭del88

Cloud seems to be going straight over the isle of man......in your face ye 3 legged freak...
    5808238_9313_625x625.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭inabina

FECK! THUNDERSNOW!!!!:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭bassy

Pegging down snow here in north kk :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭ragg

The news are talking baout -17 on sunday night

MINUS 17 - is that for real???

• Registered Users Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Oulfella got home after walking for 2 and a half hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Enough of the grit monkeys bring on the Gerry

• Registered Users Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭dacogawa

The%20Day%20after%20tomorrow.JPG

Will we look like this ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Okay, in Artane now, the whole area is glowing that deep orange.

BRING IT ON!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Gerry M is on now.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

WOOO! go gerry! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

Jaesus, glad he's all right though. My friend had to walk 6 miles home from town on the m50 :S

• Registered Users Posts: 631 ✭✭✭inabina

LIGHTENING

• Registered Users Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭hawkwing

sml.jpg
    Phoenix Park at 1500

• Registered Users Posts: 5,339 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

That's a **** sandwich. So basically, this employee has no power whatsoever??

Of course an employee can have power and rights. But as mentioned it isn't a union job. I didn't see the original post and i'm only assuming by reading other posts the person wanted to go home early or not go in for a shift but was told they would lose their job if they did not so up. Or just left.

If you refuse to work a rostered shift an employer can terminate your contract unless there is something in the contract stating he/she can't. Yes there is snow and yes there are disruptions to public transport and yes the roads are slippy. But there is no Government or weather warning stating that it is dangerous to go outside. And due to that the law will side with the employer. I've a law background and although labor law isn't my area i'd be 99% sure that any legal action would be fruitless.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Small flakes just started falling in Santry

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭_whiskers

Okay, in Artane now, the whole area is glowing that deep orange.

BRING IT ON!

Same in marino! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭milly4ever

please let some snow come to belfast! the radar shows it hitting co.down- it's mad to think how much snow dublin has got and there has been none here!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Anyone else a bit lonely at this stage?

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Grand