Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Retro Shops/Bargains/Auction Links

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

• Registered Users Posts: 18 carlab_ie

Monkeykube wrote: »

Oh I really like this seller. Very professional. I got from him some games and two bundles. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

They offer great combination shipping and they let you keep stuff for two weeks without having to contact them. You can pick up some nice reasonably priced games in two weeks off that seller, just avoid items with a lot of bids. I have seen a lot of people pay over the odds for games in auction format. If you buy something heavy you normally only get charged a couple of dollars extra postage for five of six games when bundled together. They're very understanding on declarations too;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

check this out

http://www.ebay.ie/itm/370871446441?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

i got my copy about three years ago for around 40 quid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Kenjataimu

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Sega-Mega-Drive-2-Black-Console-PAL-JAP-USA-50-60-UNIVERSAL-REGION-FREE-/321187505744

Not a bad price for a modded MD (console only)

£26.50 plus €3.50 parcel motel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

Not so much a bargain but more bloody extortion, 10 100 yen coins for 15 sterling posted over on j+.

Yen usually go very fast on the forums so to see it still there several hours later says a lot.

http://www.jammaplus.co.uk/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=53302&title=mega-bits-and-bobs-sale100-yen-coins-added

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,265 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Here's something I never new existed. Looks like NEC did the whole pervy vibration thing long before the Rez Trance Vibrator :D

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEC-PC-ENGINE-VIRTUAL-CUSHION-MINT-CONDITION-/151100581368?pt=UK_VideoGames_VideoGameAccessories_VideoGameAccessories_JN&hash=item232e4be5f8

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

o1s1n wrote: »
    Here's something I never new existed. Looks like NEC did the whole pervy vibration thing long before the Rez Trance Vibrator :D

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/NEC-PC-ENGINE-VIRTUAL-CUSHION-MINT-CONDITION-/151100581368?pt=UK_VideoGames_VideoGameAccessories_VideoGameAccessories_JN&hash=item232e4be5f8

I would say some sort of decontamination is a pre-requisite prior to use!
    You wouldn't know what body parts or fluids were in contact with that one!

Naomi Driver on adverts,
    I'd say hes about 350 too expensive tho?
    you could change it to crazy taxi handy tho!

http://www.adverts.ie/arcade-retro/sega-eighteen-wheeler/3613269

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Select Xtra Vision stores knocking a ton off the price of hardware. Brand new Vita's for €149.99 etc. It's a really good price, & with the PS4/mandatory remote play on the horizon, coupled with the free games from PS+ ....there's kinda a reason starting to form to buy one :o

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

EnterNow wrote: »
    Select Xtra Vision stores knocking a ton off the price of hardware. Brand new Vita's for €149.99 etc. It's a really good price, & with the PS4/mandatory remote play on the horizon, coupled with the free games from PS+ ....there's kinda a reason starting to form to buy one :o

What's the mandatory lark about? Isn't that only if you want to play your PS4 games while sitting on the crapper - you need the Vita?

Does the Vita (always reminds me of a health cracker) come with a PS+ sub do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

There is a new Vita on the way out soon so they're off loading the old stock before the new model hits the streets.

Also, rumors of a PS4/Vita bundle being released as well which is supposed to have about $100 off the combined price - not sure if bundle pricing will make it to EU though, Sony UK were very vague when asked about it.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    What's the mandatory lark about? Isn't that only if you want to play your PS4 games while sitting on the crapper - you need the Vita?

I think it's that all PS4 games are required to support it, whether you want to use it or not :)
    Does the Vita (always reminds me of a health cracker) come with a PS+ sub do you know?

Negative, but your PS+ account will count on your PS3, PS4, & Vita so for €50 a year it's actually incredible value.
    Also, rumors of a PS4/Vita bundle being released as well which is supposed to have about $100 off the combined price - not sure if bundle pricing will make it to EU though, Sony UK were very vague when asked about it.

Heard that about the combined bundle too, but at €100 off the price, the Xtra Vision deal still trumps it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Any idea which stores are doing the deals?

Steve SI wrote: »
    Any idea which stores are doing the deals?

Selected stores is all I can gather. My local arn't involved {because that'd be too easy}, so the manager gave me the number for head office. Rang there, & was told Clondalkin was part of the stores involved, drive there, "No, we're not involved"...the chap there in Clondalkin {sound lad actually} rang head office to clarify & confirmed they wern't part of it. Closest then was Blanch {no stock of Vita's}, & Finglas...which had three or so left at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,886 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Selected stores is all I can gather. My local arn't involved {because that'd be too easy}, so the manager gave me the number for head office. Rang there, & was told Clondalkin was part of the stores involved, drive there, "No, we're not involved"...the chap there in Clondalkin {sound lad actually} rang head office to clarify & confirmed they wern't part of it. Closest then was Blanch {no stock of Vita's}, & Finglas...which had three or so left at the time

5 left in finglas (well, 4 now as I grabbed/reserved one for friend).
    €169.99 for 3G version and €149.99 for wifi only.

Steve SI wrote: »
    5 left in finglas (well, 4 now as I grabbed/reserved one for friend).
    €169.99 for 3G version and €149.99 for wifi only.

A certain Category Mod may have picked one up aswell, for a certain 10 year old, for a certain holiday season, to accompany a certain next gen console. Certain kids can certainly be lucky these days, certainly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Ridiculously tempted to get one, but I'll abstain.
    Perhaps when I've more living/storage space, and have a PS4 to accompany it? Perhaps.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

A certain Category Mod may have picked one up aswell, for a certain 10 year old, for a certain holiday season, to accompany a certain next gen console. Certain kids can certainly be lucky these days, certainly.

I just hope, for that certain child's sake, that Santa reads the letter right and doesn't bugger it up and bring an Xbox One, or worse still a WiiU!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,498 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Nice one. Don't suppose they come with a memory card? They were mad expensive I think, although didn't retr0 get a dodgy Chinese one from the bay iirc.
    Ridiculously tempted to get one, but I'll abstain.
    Perhaps when I've more living/storage space, and have a PS4 to accompany it? Perhaps.

More storage space? Sure you just need a pocket don't you? :P

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    I just hope, for that certain child's sake, that Santa reads the letter right and doesn't bugger it up and bring an Xbox One, or worse still a WiiU!

Wii U is sitting proud & dusty already in the Games room :o No chance of an Xbox One at this stage, not a hope for €500. I will get one eventually, but for me Sony make the more appealing package at the mo for next gen.
    Nice one. Don't suppose they come with a memory card? They were mad expensive I think, although didn't retr0 get a dodgy Chinese one from the bay iirc.

Unfortunately not, it's the one thing that bumps the price. There's no dodgy ones on the market to my knowledge, as its a format that hasn't been cracked, but Retr0 did get a good deal on one now that you mention it :)

True that :D But would I get a Vita without a PS+ account? Prob not, it really does make it that much more desireable when Sony are throwing free games at you every month. And then, remote play PS4 via that gorgeous OLED screen? When you add those things up, the Vita is starting to warrant owning, only starting mind you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Bugger, I have to pay my car insurance instead!

I might hold out and see what package Sony are offering though on it

PC, PSP, DS, 3DS XL (x2), GBA Micro, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii, Wii U all co-habiting with us in this small one bed apartment... Can't really afford to be tripping over another console/handheld!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Tripping over handhelds? Stop leaving them on the bloody floor so...

PDBHP is a handheld collector of some renown, and is also well known for his Micra based ram raiding skills.
    His storage solution is to use a large fish tackle box, kept all his handhelds in it in perfect safety!

I wasn't using "tripping over" literally...

I wasn't giving out to you literally either. ;-)

Apologies
    I didn't sleep well
    And I trip over my stuff all the time!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Unfortunately not, it's the one thing that bumps the price. There's no dodgy ones on the market to my knowledge, as its a format that hasn't been cracked, but Retr0 did get a good deal on one now that you mention it :)

Didn't Sony announce they are reducing the price of memory cards as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    Didn't Sony announce they are reducing the price of memory cards as well?

Yep announced as Gamescom yesterday, a "significant" reduction on Vita cards which is really nice!

Seems like they are releasing 8gb gamepacks, with download codes or similar included.
    Also, the rest of the memory card range is being cut, as already mentioned.
    I, for one, can't wait for the chance to own a memory card bigger than the crappy 4gb one I currently use, so I can properly take advantage the free games PSN+ keep throwing at me!

Achilles wrote: »
    I wasn't giving out to you literally either. ;-)

Then why do I feel like I've been bold? :(

I don't trip over my stuff often, sitting on them or knocking them over is the usual mishap...

Then why do I feel like I've been bold? :(

I don't trip over my stuff often, sitting on them or knocking them over is the usual mishap...

That's a question for your therapist mate. ;-)

Oops, I appear to have logged into boards.co.uk

Excuse me, allow me to reiterate; "That's a question for your therapist ya feckin eejit...".

There... better?

That's prob something you should ask your therapist

PDBHP is a handheld collector of some renown, and is also well known for his Micra based ram raiding skills.
    His storage solution is to use a large fish tackle box, kept all his handhelds in it in perfect safety!

Actually where the hell is pdbhp, he seems to have totally dropped off the grid these days?

I was talking to him recently, stuff going on, plus being oil boy to the lads on Tallafornia takes its toll on a fella.

Or maybe he's doing time for ram raiding an Xtravision, who knows....

My therapist ran away.

No he's with this guy

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1m1tless

Might be a good deal for someone into N64
    http://www.adverts.ie/3631741

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭HeartOfTheCity

Well, I've been sent here to infitrate!

No he's with this guy

[YOUTOOB]UrIpPqcln6Y[/YOUTOOB]
    Well, he did have a copy of "The man inside me" on his coffee table...

Master of the Universe

Wow, AVP on the snes ending for the most I've ever seen it go for. Box is in fantastic condition.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/181196727759?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Damien King

Hi folks,

Selling these off to help fund a mame cabinet/console build, located on mayo but can arrange courier/post. All sensible offers or relevant swaps considered..

Boxed megadrive 2 with lots of original bits
    http://www.adverts.ie/arcade-retro/sega-megadrive-2-boxed-and-working-with-multigame-cart-and-lots-of-original-bits/3595773

Xbox 360/PC arcade stick (profighting stick 360)
    http://www.adverts.ie/arcade-retro/xbox360-pc-arcade-stick/3644756

Small arcade joystick, handy for traveling/work
    http://www.adverts.ie/arcade-retro/small-arcade-style-joystick-for-pc/3644773

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 51,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Sera wrote: »

Anyone not picking this up is an idiot. I spent 60 euros on it a few years ago and that was extremely cheap. Also ignore the reviews for this game, it's superb despite the crummy combat. It gives Silent Hill 2 a run for it's money in the ****ed up storyline stakes.

Master of the Universe

I'm confused! It says it's a preorder and the game has 'Rebuild' at the end of it.

Is this some odd rerelease?

o1s1n wrote: »
    I'm confused! It says it's a preorder and the game has 'Rebuild' at the end of it.

Is this some odd rerelease?

There's a company in the US that specialises in reprinting rare games. It's that crowd doing this one. They did it a few years ago with ninja 5-O and Persona 2, they didn't last very long and I missed out on them so pick it up asap!