Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Inner-city kids.

• 01-12-2010 6:14pm
    Registered Users Posts: 31

Hey guys.

I have been living in Dublin now for 3 years and its safe to say that whilst I like the city I've failed to fall in love with it due to certain members of society. I'm originally from Cape Town in South Africa but my father is Irish and I have loads of family and spent a lot of holidays here as a kid so it kind of feels like a home from home for me.

The Irish have a reputation for being friendly people and on the whole you are generally welcoming and friendly, but there are obvious exceptions. I lived in quiet Dundrum for 3 years but wanted to move closer to the hussle and bussle of the city. For the last 3 weeks I've been living in Dublin 2, just before George's Street. One thing I have instantly noticed since living in the city is the amount of mouthy kids that walk the streets. I've confronted a fair few who, whilst petrified when confronted, will always become mouthier and braver in larger groups. I have noticed that a lot of people are willing to let these kids run amock without confronting them, which in my opinion only empowers them more. The police don't seem to give a damn and no matter how many repeated calls you make to them they never seem to do anything about these kids who harass working people, students and even tourists. To me they represent a personified version of stray dogs or ferile cats.

I've been told by mouthy little kids that they are "hard" and that they will "kick my head in" which is yet to happen, obviously. They talk the talk but always fail to walk the walk. I'd love to see these kids spend a day in the inner city of Johannesburg or the shanty towns of Cape Town and see how far their mouths get them. Whatever they've seen I've seen worse so please spare me the threats.

What can we do about these little brats!? If the police don't take them pelting cars with snow balls seriously, or throwing stones at peoples windows who do we turn to!? The parents obviously don't give a damn or are completely ignorant to what their kids get up to and it kind of leaves me wondering what can be done!? Do we just go on and accept anti-social behaviour or do we make a concerted effort to supress it!?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

MrChavcore wrote: »
    Hey guys.

I have been living in Dublin now for 3 years and its safe to say that whilst I like the city I've failed to fall in love with it due to certain members of society. I'm originally from Cape Town in South Africa but my father is Irish and I have loads of family and spent a lot of holidays here as a kid so it kind of feels like a home from home for me.

The Irish have a reputation for being friendly people and on the whole you are generally welcoming and friendly, but there are obvious exceptions. I lived in quiet Dundrum for 3 years but wanted to move closer to the hussle and bussle of the city. For the last 3 weeks I've been living in Dublin 2, just before George's Street. One thing I have instantly noticed since living in the city is the amount of mouthy kids that walk the streets. I've confronted a fair few who, whilst petrified when confronted, will always become mouthier and braver in larger groups. I have noticed that a lot of people are willing to let these kids run amock without confronting them, which in my opinion only empowers them more. The police don't seem to give a damn and no matter how many repeated calls you make to them they never seem to do anything about these kids who harass working people, students and even tourists. To me they represent a personified version of stray dogs or ferile cats.

I've been told by mouthy little kids that they are "hard" and that they will "kick my head in" which is yet to happen, obviously. They talk the talk but always fail to walk the walk. I'd love to see these kids spend a day in the inner city of Johannesburg or the shanty towns of Cape Town and see how far their mouths get them. Whatever they've seen I've seen worse so please spare me the threats.

What can we do about these little brats!? If the police don't take them pelting cars with snow balls seriously, or throwing stones at peoples windows who do we turn to!? The parents obviously don't give a damn or are completely ignorant to what their kids get up to and it kind of leaves me wondering what can be done!? Do we just go on and accept anti-social behaviour or do we make a concerted effort to supress it!?
    It sounds to me like you have confronted or put it up to them. Now don't get me wrong, I'm sure you're a nice bloke, but do you honestly think this was a good move? Kids all over the world are a bit mouthy so no news there. If they throw snowballs at you, do you really think the police should be involved? Just ignore them and chill out. I grew up in Dublin 8 and have never had any hassle worth posting about so maybe if you adjust your attitude there will be no need to "supress" anyone. Confronting them will only make it worse for you. Chill.

I'd love to see these kids spend a day in the inner city of Johannesburg or the shanty towns of Cape Town and see how far their mouths get them.

You'd wandered around a shanty town in Cape Town yourself I take it ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

problemchimp; RoverJames... defensive much?
    OP has a definite point: I'm sick of tensing up every time I walk past a group of teenagers. Mostly, they're grand and all they're interested in is impressing whatever girls are hanging out with them. But on Monday evening, I got pelted with a snowball when I passed a small group of boys in their early teens. I'm afraid I let loose at them: why not? They were behaving like dickhead scumbags, why not label it? I'm not going to slope off as if I'm in the wrong.
    Why shouldn't a woman in her 30s be able to walk the streets in her own capital city? Because I wear glasses? Because I'm not wearing the right gear? Because I give off an "attitude".
    Honestly, fupp that.
    Chimp & Rover's attitude is in part why our youngsters are like feral animals. It's up to us as a society to socialise these idiots, or at least knock a few of the more obnoxious corners off them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 deBurcaLiam

I know what you mean, and I know the area that your talking about, and they are little **** heads. Just ignore them,

• Registered Users Posts: 31 MrChavcore

RoverJames wrote: »
    You'd wandered around a shanty town in Cape Town yourself I take it ?

I actually have, yes. I used to have to go into the shanty towns to help build houses as part of my schooling.. I've also been held up at gunpoint which was one of the main reasons I decided to leave SA.

It sounds to me like you have confronted or put it up to them. Now don't get me wrong, I'm sure you're a nice bloke, but do you honestly think this was a good move? Kids all over the world are a bit mouthy so no news there. If they throw snowballs at you, do you really think the police should be involved? Just ignore them and chill out. I grew up in Dublin 8 and have never had any hassle worth posting about so maybe if you adjust your attitude there will be no need to "supress" anyone. Confronting them will only make it worse for you. Chill.

It's not the snowballs. Its the fact that they pelt my windows with stones and all I seem to hear outside all day is them telling people to **** off and get lost. Surely this can't be right!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

Chimp & Rover's attitude is in part why our youngsters are like feral animals. It's up to us as a society to socialise these idiots, or at least knock a few of the more obnoxious corners off them.

Start with the little things and many of the bigger ones don't evolve. It's called the Broken windows theory. Worked really well in New York.

That or succumb to fatalism.

lol, so you as an active member of society knock a few obnoxious corners off youngsters do you, chuckle chuckle. I questioned has the chap strolled around shanty towns himself. How that "attitude" as you put it has contributed to "our youngsters are like feral animals" is beyond me. You could do with a fairly thorough snowballing me thinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Dr_Phil

No matter what, don't stress the poor children, they are only kids! Anything that they may find uncomfortable in any way is not allowed!

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭slarkin123

I believe its all down to the parents. I grew up in the inner city and if i disrespected anyone like that I'd get a slap from my mother. And if i caught any of mine doing the same they'd be grounded, I don't slap mine. I could guarantee the parents know what they are up to. But if parents dont teach the kids to have respect for others, then theres no hope for them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

problemchimp; RoverJames... defensive much?
    OP has a definite point: I'm sick of tensing up every time I walk past a group of teenagers. Mostly, they're grand and all they're interested in is impressing whatever girls are hanging out with them. But on Monday evening, I got pelted with a snowball when I passed a small group of boys in their early teens. I'm afraid I let loose at them: why not? They were behaving like dickhead scumbags, why not label it? I'm not going to slope off as if I'm in the wrong.
    Why shouldn't a woman in her 30s be able to walk the streets in her own capital city? Because I wear glasses? Because I'm not wearing the right gear? Because I give off an "attitude".
    Honestly, fupp that.
    Ah c'mon, a snowball for fukcs sake. Hardly feral animals. So let's "knock some corners off them". yeah that will work. Just curious about O.P.s name. Chav?

• Registered Users Posts: 614 ✭✭✭Saaron

I was in town today and there were some kids/teenagers similar to what you've mentioned throwing snowballs at a man walking by. They were pelting them at him, so he turned around and asked them to stop.

The moment he did that they attacked him and he fell to the ground.
    Luckily one of their mothers came out and shouted abuse at the teens and apologised to the man.

His bag was broken and he seemed pretty shaken.
    Luckily he was able to walk home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

Inner city kids would sooner stab you that look at ya, they would steal the eye out of your head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

If everybody had the same attitude as the OP, the problem wouldn't exist - the kids would be taught manners by the rest of society seeing as their parents haven't been arsed to do it.

Saaron wrote: »
    I was in town today and there were some kids/teenagers similar to what you've mentioned throwing snowballs at a man walking by. They were pelting them at him, so he turned around and asked them to stop.

The moment he did that they attacked him and he fell to the ground.
    Luckily one of their mothers came out and shouted abuse at the teens and apologised to the man.

His bag was broken and he seemed pretty shaken.
    Luckily he was able to walk home.

Thats what Im talking about. Its not the kids who are out causing a little bit of mischief... its the nasty little brats who are confrontational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

These kids have already starred in a thread here. They're always up to crap up on Camden St.

As for whether the OP has actually walked through a shanty town, do try to argue the post and not the poster.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Stink on the inside

Were kids that mouthy thirty years ago I wonder?

Im sure they would have been shipped down to Clonmel or somewhere similar to Industrial school.

That would have quietened them methinks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

As was mentioned in another thread OP, it might be worth your while to pay bigger boys with alcohol to beat the living snot out of the little skangers.

Although judging from Dublin, that is going to cost you a lot of booze.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

As was mentioned in another thread OP, it might be worth your while to pay bigger boys with alcohol to beat the living snot out of the little skangers.

Although judging from Dublin, that is going to cost you a lot of booze.
    Cunning. Use their skangerness against them.

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭trevorku

I live in D10 and absolutely loath the walk back to my house from the bustop on the way home from work ever since the snow started because the gits in the area hang out in groups of 10 to 20 and pelt the cars with snowballs or should I say basketball sized snowballs, and pull onto the back to car to get a jant to the top of the road.

I am quite literally nervous walking home in fear of being pelted on the way home and at 27 that is ridiculous. If those snowballs are scrunched up hard enough its the same as throwing a rock at someone. Its not an issue to take lightly at all.

The Police? Are you serious? They would do nothing and even when they did, again they got there the kids would have cleared off making you look like a twat and they would probably tell you to stop wasting police time.

I mean the gits are even pressing the emergency door opening buttons on the outside of the bus and fecking huge snowballs at the driver and sometimes passeners. Dont get me started on the Beechwood luas stop, coz the same thing happens.

These kids have no discipline and no the parents do not give a crap, once they are out of the house and the kids are not annoying them they dont care.

When I was their age, not so long ago my mother would have beaten me with the plastic spoon from the kitchen until it actually broke if I'd been up to what these kids get up to. The worse part of it all is nothing can be done about it :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

One thing I have instantly noticed since living in the city is the amount of mouthy kids that walk the streets. I've confronted a fair few who, whilst petrified when confronted, will always become mouthier and braver in larger groups. I have noticed that a lot of people are willing to let these kids run amock without confronting them, which in my opinion only empowers them more. The police don't seem to give a damn and no matter how many repeated calls you make to them they never seem to do anything about these kids who harass working people, students and even tourists. To me they represent a personified version of stray dogs or ferile cats.

What can we do about these little brats!? If the police don't take them pelting cars with snow balls seriously, or throwing stones at peoples windows who do we turn to!? The parents obviously don't give a damn or are completely ignorant to what their kids get up to and it kind of leaves me wondering what can be done!? Do we just go on and accept anti-social behaviour or do we make a concerted effort to supress it!?[/QUOTE]

these youngsters know their rights and the law is very much on their side, so it is little wonder that most people with sense, including the police give them a wide berth.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

It's not the snowballs. Its the fact that they pelt my windows with stones and all I seem to hear outside all day is them telling people to **** off and get lost. Surely this can't be right!?

given the society we live in its best to ignore it.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well I found that a few squirts from a water gun are quite effective. And they can't complain as it's only water...just like their snowballs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

Cunning. Use their skangerness against them.

Exactly-I've been reading my Art of War recently. Divide and conquer.

"We shall fight them on the beaches etc"....

• Registered Users Posts: 9,688 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

It's a shyt thing alright, happens in pockets all over the country, cities, towns and estates mainly. Tuam town is supposed to be the worst. The kids are braver when they have girls around. I lived in the inner city for a long time, but knew the kids and never got hassle, but it did happen, no doubt. If you feel you can't beat them I guess the best thing is to keep the head up and walk straight through them and hope they pick on some mad cvnt who will teach them a lesson.

• Registered Users Posts: 526 ✭✭✭S23

And I grew up in Dublin 8, lived there for over 20 years (until last Oct) and can testify that the place was, and still is, absolutely overrun with little scumbags (and big scumbags too) such as the OP described.

I don't think he has issue with a few snowballs. Although, the snowballs can be dangerous since the rather large stone in the snowball trick has been going around for as long as I remember. There are little scumbags who try and intimidate the general public and throw shapes and verbally abuse people all over the area the OP is talking about.

Your advice to no confront a little scumbag who throws a few shapes and calls a passerby a w*nker, p*ick or whatever, and threatens them with a hiding, only reinforces their belief that they can get away with that kind of sh*te and that it's a worthwhile process to intimidate people.

These are the same little scumbags who grow up into the big scumbags. And those big scumbags, generally speaking, end up being causing much bigger problems to the population than throwing a few snowballs and stones.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

I hate this attitude of "oh they're only kids, chill." These are most likely the kids who will grow up into complete scum. They grow up with society letting them run rampant and that becomes the norm to them.

There's not much you can do about a load of knackers when they're grown-up, the best chance you have is when they are young; not that there's much that can be done by anyone besides their parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭dazey

Hey guys.

You have to understand that both the kids and their parents are a product of their environment. They didn't fly out of the womb with that attitude. Throwing a snowball is not an offence as far as I know. Teenagers are ALWAYS viewed as little brats, I'm sure your elders had something to say about your generation and the 'youth of today'. So don't confront them. That is what they want. Just ignore them, the Gardai have more important things to be worrying about than these kids. And that is all they are, KIDS. Have you never done anything you were not proud of due to peer pressure? I know I have. The pressure that comes with being in a gang is huge, so understand that it may just be an act on the part of these boys

• Registered Users Posts: 228 ✭✭dazey

I hate this attitude of "oh they're only kids, chill." These are most likely the kids who will grow up into complete scum. They grow up with society letting them run rampant and that becomes the norm to them.

There's not much you can do about a load of knackers when they're grown-up, the best chance you have is when they are young; not that there's much that can be done by anyone besides their parents.

But they are only kids. Obviously their parents don't care enough because of their own situations. So how do we actually stop this behaviour? The goverment could have youth clubs in every residential area of Dublin, meaning less kids on the streets. What is there to keep kids out of trouble? Playgrounds are the only space in public but they are usually designated for smaller children. Cinemas are expensive. So where else is there?? McDonalds and the street to taunt members of the public. Sorted!