Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overpaying the mortgage

Options
  • 03-12-2010 7:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭

Is it possible to get a mortage here that allows you to overpay if you have money at the end of the month??

I mean if my mortage was 700E and I had a spare 100E could I use this 100E to pay off some of the principle. Help greatly welcomed.

NoseyMike2010

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

I am not an expert but I remember Eddie Hobbs saying that its one of the best kept secrets in banking that you can pay more than they are obliged too..he says it can knock years off your repayments if you do it often enough

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭NoseyMike2010

The thing is it does knock loads off your mortage. Do banks allow overpayments I wonder.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭kenco

Is it possible to get a mortage here that allows you to overpay if you have money at the end of the month??

I mean if my mortage was 700E and I had a spare 100E could I use this 100E to pay off some of the principle. Help greatly welcomed.

NoseyMike2010