Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Chelsea v Everton - (Setanta Ireland KO 3pm)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Get in!

(Chelsea will surely get a few more chances)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

delighted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Typical!!!!

Can't say they don't deserve it! Shocking defending again chelsea! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Yes.excellent run and cross by Baines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Hopefully Everton can hang on for the 20 minutes of extra time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

Great work from Baines.

Everton to win this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Fergie time. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

7!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,951 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Fergie time is right.

C'mon Everton!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

mars bar wrote: »
    Fergie time is right.

C'mon Everton!
    Cech injured time really

Nailz wrote: »
    7!?

Cech was down for quite some time with his injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Essien

Being robbed of a blatant stonewall pen doesn't help but at the end of the day the strikers have to do their job, and they certainly aren't

7!?

Understandable with Cechs/Pienaars injuries...

Wait what am I saying...:mad:...Ref...rabble rabble

7!?

Yes thats sounds about right... with the injuries and subs that sounds about right , do you not think so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭TechnoPool

dear oh dear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Essien wrote: »
    Being robbed of a blatant stonewall pen doesn't help but at the end of the day the strikers have to do their job, and they certainly aren't

fouling the opposing keeper and getting a penalty for it kinda makes up for it though im sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,883 ✭✭✭smokedeels

'Be great if Ireland had young players like Coleman to pick from..... oh wait.

smokedeels wrote: »
    'Be great if Ireland had young players like Coleman to pick from..... oh wait.

Ah now he is decent but, is prone to a mistake or ten! then again he's no worse than the current crop!

Beckford must give Everton fans so much grief more often than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,328 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Beckford saw his name up in lights there, should have seen the oncoming Everton player in a better position with an easy pass.

Ah now he is decent but, is prone to a mistake or ten! then again he's no worse than the current crop!

He's 22. Irelands most in form player kept out of the team by Kevin Kilbane.

fouling the opposing keeper and getting a penalty for it kinda makes up for it though im sure

Fouling the opposing keeper? Will you stop talking ****e. If it happened outside the box we'd have got a free (rightfully so) and nobody would have questioned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,513 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

IvySlayer wrote: »
    He's 22. Irelands most in form player kept out of the team by Kevin Kilbane.

Kilbane plays in a different position.

Nearly had heart attack there!

FULL TIME!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

This Chelsea side doesn't look good enough to win the league, disappointed we're not beating them tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Fouling the opposing keeper? Will you stop talking ****e. If it happened outside the box we'd have got a free (rightfully so) and nobody would have questioned it.

What could Howard have done to avoid the challenge? Very little.
    What could Anelka have done to avoid the challenge? Not launch himself into Howard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Thank you, Everton! Could've left with all 3 point too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭Quandary

Really enjoyable game! Everton deserved at least a point from the game.

Great result for Utd too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Chelsea lucky to get a point!

baz2009 wrote: »
    What could Howard have done to avoid the challenge? Very little.
    What could Anelka have done to avoid the challenge? Not launch himself into Howard.

Anelka put the ball past him and like it or not Howard obstructed him, I'm not saying he could have got out of the way in time but that doesn't make it any less of a foul. It was a penalty, end of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

fecking shambles, Carlo in danger of gonig now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Nemanja91 wrote: »
    Chelsea lucky to get a point!

Fair to say based on the chances and movement in the last 25 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Everton could have won it in the end but a draw was probably fair enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Happy days.

Fair play to Baines. His crossing was quality. From any position at any angle he made it look easy.

Anelka, Drogba and Kalou let their side down today I think.

Anelka put the ball past him and like it or not Howard obstructed him, I'm not saying he could have got out of the way in time but that doesn't make it any less of a foul. It was a penalty, end of story.

Of the two players, which player had the most momentum towards the opposing player?

so if a keeper stops and then stands still, and another player runs at him 3 or 4 yards away, knocks the ball one way with the side of his foot and then runs straight at the keeper?

Thats how I saw it

So I think it wasnt a penalty.

But Coleman fouled late on so horses for courses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,480 ✭✭✭✭cson

Ray Wilkins effect a lot greater than you'd have thought evidently.

Of the two players, which player had the most momentum towards the opposing player?

Anelka, why?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

First thing I thought was that it was obstruction rather than a pen. Can obstruction and indirect free be given in the box ?

Anelka, why?

Was this momentum forceful?

Was this momentum preventable?

Was this momentum deliberate?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭Quandary

cson wrote: »
    Ray Wilkins effect a lot greater than you'd have thought evidently.

I know a match thread isn't really the place for a question like this but why did Ray get the road? Didn't Carlo A say it was nothing to do with him?

Anyone seen the_monkey today, i'd be concerned for his wellbeing after todays result :pac:

ranting about Roman I think.

Midfield for Chelsea was woefull today.

the_monkeys glass is always half empty. His crystal ball was probably telling him they probably weren't going to take 3 points today.

Was this momentum forceful?

Was this momentum preventable?

Was this momentum deliberate?

What do you think? Should he have been running the other direction?

The bottom line is if this was outside the box it would be a free kick to Chelsea and probably not a talking point.

I can see this argument heading the way of the Rooney's pen V Arsenal at OT a while ago, the shoe is obviously on the other foot this time though.

Lets not drag this one out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

What about how good Everton were guys? Deserve a lot of credit.

Voltwad wrote: »
    What about how good Everton were guys? Deserve a lot of credit.

I think it says something when as a Utd fan I would usually have been p!ssed off at the 7 minutes injury time but I actually thought it was a good chance for Everton to nick it.

Well done Everton. Played some nice football as well. kept it the floor a lot of the time.

mars bar wrote: »
    the_monkeys glass is always half empty. His crystal ball was probably telling him they probably weren't going to take 3 points today.

I'd say he went apeshit when Chelsea conceeded.

Midfield for Chelsea was woefull today.

Mikel has been awful all season