Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

*** Spoiler Thread*** UFC 124 St-Pierre vs. Koscheck!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,280 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

scudzilla wrote: »
    He can't, he no longer knows how to finish fights

lol at your ridiculous posts tonight and anyone who thanked them.

GSP just dominates anyone he fights and i was hugely railing for Koscheck tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

mdwexford wrote: »

GSP just dominates anyone he fights and i was hugely railing for Koscheck tonight.

In fairness he made a good point. None of us were doubting GSP's dominance, we were doubting his ability to finish opponents, which he has seemed reluctant to do in his last few fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

mdwexford wrote: »

So when did Georgie last finish a fight??

Without checking I think it was the Serra rematch.

Like I said, he doesn't go in to finish fights anymore, bores the crap outta me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭dunkamania

I believe BJ Penn is the last fighter he beat.

Overall a better night of fights in practice, than on paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 437 ✭✭MonkeyBalls

Outstanding performance by GSP again.

People who think he's boring are usually not proper MMA fans, they're fans of pure violence. Naturally, MMA is going to attract a lot of these retards, so you have to deal with them.

GSP is fantastic to watch- his athleticism, skill, clinical demolishion of dangerous opponents. I was in awe the entire 5 rounds. And he's a classy guy. Bravo!

• Registered Users Posts: 380 ✭✭conor678

Agree with the above post. I was very impressed with GSP's performance. He gave serious damage to Kos without receiving any himself which I think is very impressive. By nature I think GSP is a cautious fighter because I think he knows he can't take a serious shot and because of this he plays safe. Certainly the Dan hardy fight could be perceived as boring but I thought it was an interesting grappling match. UFC 124 performance was a very good striking performance imo and am looking forward to seeing the fight metric statistics if anyone has a link.

Also Kos' eye, holy moly, fair play to him for fighting on with it. I'd say he couldn't see a thing out of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭Mrs Lynch

GSP is without a doubt greatest pound for pound fighter in the world. Asolutely genius, so tactical, he knows what is required from him in every fight and never looses his game plan (btw what a perfect jab loved it):) Why go in guns blazing lose your head and lose the fight come on thats just silly to put on a "show" and lose a fight:confused: The man is an absolute legend in MMA and I would rank him above all other fighters we have seen in the past as I truely believe at 29 he is gonna be around for a very long time!

Going up weight naturally would be the only way I want to see him do it, listen to his body and grow with it, he will make it but hey wots the "rush" (pardon the pun lol). He doesnt need to prove anything to fans, he has answered his critics.

Urs
    x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭sonic.trip

Mellor wrote: »
    I'll give you 9/2

I should of took that bet and your money mellor, luckily I got 4/1 and doubled it up with amir khan to win on points :D
    Koscheck 16/5 on Boylesports, gonna throw 20 quid down to feck. Anyone have a link other than sopcast btw? They keep showing the same promo over and over.

I hope I saved you 20quid stiffler :) or made you money?

great performance by GSP, total outclassed Koschek, obviously been working on the jab with freddy roach. If there was a bet for GSP to win all 5rounds I would of cleaned house!

Alves looked like a machine last night! couldn't believe danzig ko'd joe daddy :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Who? Koscheck has beaten no one other than Paul Daley, and that was a mess.
    How was the Paul Daley fight a mess? He did exactly what GSP does to win that fight.. So in turn, you're saying that most of GSP's fights have been messy? :confused:
    He got to fight for the title because he went on a reality tv show.
    He was asked to go on the reality show because he was getting a title shot anyway. And I'd imagine he got the title shot because he won a no.1 contender fight with Paul Daley.
    People who think he's boring are usually not proper MMA fans, they're fans of pure violence. Naturally, MMA is going to attract a lot of these retards, so you have to deal with them.
    Actually, I am a proper MMA fan as much as you'd like to doubt it. Personally, I could call you a retard for thinking that fight was exciting, but I'm not going to because that would make my whole post seem rather childish. Many people called his fight against Dan Hardy boring, tbh, this fight was much less exciting. At least in the Hardy fight he actually came close to finishing the fight. In this fight he didn't even try, all we witnessed last night was an amateur type boxing match with a few kicks thrown in. Jab, score a point, back away, jab, score a point, back away..
    conor678 wrote: »
    Agree with the above post. I was very impressed with GSP's performance.
    I was impressed at how much his boxing has come on, but on a side note, Josh Koscheek, I waz not impreessed with your parformance.. :rolleyes:

And here you go :D
    http://blog.fightmetric.com/2010/12/gsp-vs-koscheck-ii-fightmetric-report.html
    Mrs Lynch wrote: »
    He doesnt need to prove anything to fans, he has answered his critics.
    Not really, everyone knows how good he is, if they don't, then I'd say they need to watch his fights over and over again until they do. But his critics were saying that he can't finish fights, not that he can't put in a dominating performance. He didn't get the finish he said he was going to, I was just disheartened by the fact he didn't try to go for the finish he promised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fairly decent PPV imo. Koscheck was truly awful though. GSP is just a flawless fighter. Looked more like a boxer last night than a wrestler. Really did himself proud.

Also what a KO from Mac Danzig. In real time I had no idea what the hell just happened but what technique from Danzig and clearly did his homework on Stevenson to land a huge blow.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I have to wonder about the people who say all he did was punch and kick kos without getting hit. What did they think they were tuning in to see... A bake off? A knitting competition?

The core question is... Is GSP a fighter or an entertainer. In fact is any competitor a fighter or an entertainer?? Because they can't be both. They are similar in some respects but they diverge critically and become contradictory, ultimately.

Gap did exactly what was needed to win as a fighter. He was clearly winning all 5 rounds, it would have been absolute madness and sheer stupidity to risk a wild swing from kos and get knocked out. It would have been really really stupid, as a fighter.

As an entertainer, it would have been the right thing to do.

So, you can't have it both ways. Either you are entertained by his fighting or you are tuning in to see a show.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭seadnamac

The level of ignorance and stupidity in some peoples posts is astounding. You've just seen one of the most technically superb stand up performances from an MMA fighter and all some people can do is complain. And these are probably the same people who moaned that all he would do in his previous fights was take it to the ground.

The guy's a winner. Some people just don't like winners.

seadnamac wrote: »
    The level of ignorance and stupidity in some peoples posts is astounding. You've just seen one of the most technically superb stand up performances from an MMA fighter and all some people can do is complain. And these are probably the same people who moaned that all he would do in his previous fights was take it to the ground.

The guy's a winner. Some people just don't like winners.

GSP has gotten where he is for being a cautious fighter and his timing is just immense.

Ok, he could have gone all out and exchanged with Koscheck but that's not what he's about.

The guy is untouchable in this division. He's calm, collective and can land a series of well timed punches and kicks.

Easily one of the best in MMA.

Really enjoyed that card. Topped it off with a great show in the main event.

dunkamania wrote: »
    I believe BJ Penn is the last fighter he beat.

Overall a better night of fights in practice, than on paper.

Technically he didn't finish BJ, he failed to answer the bell.

The last time Georgie finished a fight was 2 1/2 years ago against Serra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

A master-class by GSP - domination pure and simple. Played with KOS for 25 minutes, never out of breath - a class act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Hahaha! I really do hate the part-time fans who have crept onto this forum in the past while. GSP wrestles and dominates... he's boring. GSP brings in Freddie Roach, boxes and dominates.... he's boring! If this is the case, then MMA is not the sport for you. Go watch something else, because anyone who doesn't see that GSP's performance last night was one which should go down in legend is blind!

Anyway, enough ranting, absolutely incredible card! Not a single boring or below average fight on the card! Great KOs, great submissions, close decisions and in my opinion Rafael Natal and Jesse Bongfeldt were robbed of $100k each, what a fight that was!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

I fastforwarded through a big chunk of GSP/Kos. It wasn't much of a fight, it was just one guy beating the **** out of another guy for 25 minutes.

And it surprises me that in this situation, when these guys are tearing each other up and rising to Number 1 contender status, Fitch, Alves, Hardy, Koscheck, BJ Penn............ they come to fight GSP and GSP completely dominates every single one of them.......... and people still criticise the man! He should be recognised as the best P4P fighter in the world, not criticised because he's so dominant that he makes it look easy!

But, then again, haters gonna hate!

Why are you equating GSP's dominance and quality as a fighter with the entertainment of his fights. Nobody's questioning that, I'm just saying that a couple of his fights have been boring because they've been lobsided. Less nut-huggery please.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    And it surprises me that in this situation, when these guys are tearing each other up and rising to Number 1 contender status, Fitch, Alves, Hardy, Koscheck, BJ Penn............ they come to fight GSP and GSP completely dominates every single one of them.......... and people still criticise the man! He should be recognised as the best P4P fighter in the world, not criticised because he's so dominant that he makes it look easy!

But, then again, haters gonna hate!

Agreed. Also some people here actually have the hump about the Canadian fans having the cheek to cheer for him! Masturbating nuthuggers apparently. The mind boggles......

Haha, just after I post another fella comes out with the nut hugger stuff. Like you said, haters gonna hate.

I like a good all out brawl as much as the next person but if people can't see how amazing GSP's performance last night was, then I'd highly recommend people just go and watch drunks fighting outside a night club if all you want is two people knocking the sh*t out of each other.

Was very impressed with 'The Skyscraper' too actually. Has a huge (no pun intended) career ahead of him if he can keep those type of performances up.

His ground game is slightly suspect and will need to tighten that up but I think he can go extremely far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Rycn

My god where do I start.

Hahaha! I really do hate the part-time fans who have crept onto this forum in the past while. GSP wrestles and dominates... he's boring. GSP brings in Freddie Roach, boxes and dominates.... he's boring! If this is the case, then MMA is not the sport for you. Go watch something else, because anyone who doesn't see that GSP's performance last night was one which should go down in legend is blind!

Anyway, enough ranting, absolutely incredible card! Not a single boring or below average fight on the card! Great KOs, great submissions, close decisions and in my opinion Rafael Natal and Jesse Bongfeldt were robbed of $100k each, what a fight that was!!

So am i classed as a part time fan because i don't like GSP? He bores the crap outta me, i don't like him, i don't like his obsessive, canadian nuthugging fans.

Will my opinion of him change? Maybe, but he's gonna have to come out and finish fights for that.

That_Guy wrote: »
    I like a good all out brawl as much as the next person but if people can't see how amazing GSP's performance last night was, then I'd highly recommend people just go and watch drunks fighting outside a night club if all you want is two people knocking the sh*t out of each other.

Was very impressed with 'The Skyscraper' too actually. Has a huge (no pun intended) career ahead of him if he can keep those type of performances up.

His ground game is slightly suspect and will need to tighten that up but I think he can go extremely far.

I hear if you go onto the youtube you can see some proper fight videos. There's this one animal of a fella, Bimbo Slice or something I think his name is...now that's fightin'.

seadnamac wrote: »
    I hear if you go onto the youtube you can see some proper fight videos. There's this one animal of a fella, Bimbo Slice or something I think his name is...now that's fightin'.

Sounds like a transexual porn star tbh.

Why are you equating GSP's dominance and quality as a fighter with the entertainment of his fights. Nobody's questioning that, I'm just saying that a couple of his fights have been boring because they've been lobsided. Less nut-huggery please.

Go and read devores post again.

The majority of fights can be slow, if you don't enjoy watching fights in their entirety and you just want to see violent endings then go and buy ultimate knockouts.

So am i classed as a part time fan because i don't like GSP? He bores the crap outta me, i don't like him, i don't like his obsessive, canadian nuthugging fans.

Will my opinion of him change? Maybe, but he's gonna have to come out and finish fights for that.

Brilliant. You take umbrage at being classed as somthing you think you're not and then in the next breath class all of his Canadian fans as 'obsessive nut huggers' for having the cheek to cheer for one of their own. How dare they...

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRmm6E9j9gK-h_ESMOXxR3ua5cBoVp9I4rWahIWdOdDp846qJjh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭shampon

GSP really shows what type of people follow MMA. Some MMA fans are tools with the way they go on, Urgh He didn't knock him out...He didn't take him down, GSP cant win, some people just cant handle his ape technique, and despite not KO'ing Kos, he still put one hell of a beating on him...deal with it, not all MMA fighters a ****ing Tank Abbott, if you want that sort of **** watch Kimbo.

Rycn wrote: »
    Go and read devores post again.

The majority of fights can be slow, if you don't enjoy watching fights in their entirety and you just want to see violent endings then go and buy ultimate knockouts.

didn't read it the first time, not reading it now. nothing to do with the pace of the fight. nothing to do with violence or endings. it was not a evenly contested bout. GSP won all 5 rounds. we saw almost nothing in the 2nd,3rd,4th or 5th round we didn't see in the first.

I enjoyed okami and marquadt, i didn't enjoy kos and gsp. stop telling me what i should or shouldn't enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Moke

Well I'd say that the fact that the 3 fights before it finished early just emphasised the lack of a finish. The problem I think people have is that GSP appears to be a fighter that is able but unwilling to finish a fight. I personally thought it was a great fight in the way he picked apart Koscheck but I can understand that when GSP showcases such amazing skill it can be frustrating that he doesn't get a knockout or even a TKO.

didn't read it the first time, not reading it now. nothing to do with the pace of the fight. nothing to do with violence or endings. it was not a evenly contested bout. GSP won all 5 rounds. we saw almost nothing in the 2nd,3rd,4th or 5th round we didn't see in the first.

I enjoyed okami and marquadt, i didn't enjoy kos and gsp. stop telling me what i should or shouldn't enjoy.

You're going back on what you've previously posted!

From what you've posted in this thread it's clear to everyone that you are not interested in the technical aspect of a mixed martial arts fight.

Just saying again, if you found the fight boring and you find that you need to fast-forward through fights to try and find "exciting" parts then I recommend Ultimate Knockouts Volume 7.

I don't understand how people go on about "boring" fights, a huge majority of UFC fights are long drawn out decisions, that's how most fights go, if you don't enjoy the one's that aren't "1 minute KOs" as much as the ones that are then find something else to watch in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

sonic.trip wrote: »

I hope I saved you 20quid stiffler :) or made you money?

Alas no,I bet on Koscheck. If you have any tips for the next event I'd be more inclined to listen tho.
    GSP was great in fairness, can't fault him, he took every round with minimal effort. I was dissapointed with KOS though. I expected him to try to take GSP down constantly. I was surprised he just stood on front of him for 5 rounds. Fair play to him for fighting on with the eye though.

you're obviously 12

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Don't think Kos ever had a prayer tbh, but I was surprised just how completely inneffective he was. He got what? one takedown and he landed absolutely nothing.

As for AS versus GSP? I think GSP would absolutely destroy him. He's just too intelligent a fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I fast forwarded through all of it. It was dire and wasn't watching another GSP win in real time.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Don't think Kos ever had a prayer tbh, but I was surprised just how completely inneffective he was. He got what? one takedown and he landed absolutely nothing.

As for AS versus GSP? I think GSP would absolutely destroy him. He's just too intelligent a fighter.

Oh God! The Nut-Hugger remark, the last resort of someone who hasn't got much else to back up their argument! And it's always the same posters who pull it out too.

Seriously man, either back up what you say or don't. Saying "Nut-Hugger" doesn't add anything to the debate and should be banned to be honest!

No Scud mate not at all, I wasn't saying that all people who don't like GSP are part-timers, I know you've been around a long time and like reading your posts so would respect your opinion.

What i'm saying is, there's a lot more part-timers on the boards now who would probably have left during a fight like Natal and Bongfeldt because they weren't standing up and biting each other. it seems to be the consensus among these types of fans that GSP dominating is boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

It's just trendy to say that GSP is boring. I don't think he is, I think there are certainly more exciting fighters around than him. He makes a game plan and sticks to it, like last night it was the jab, against Penn it was the clinch, against Alves it was wrestling. It isn't as exciting as someone like Leonard Garcia or someone like that, but making a gameplan to counter your opponent and sticking to it is obviously a good strategy for becoming a champion and staying one.

If he done the same thing every fight like Bisping or Frankie Edgar it would be boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jayo_M

I thought GSP was phenomenal last night. I really enjoyed his stand up, it was superb. Great head for MMA, not throwing himself into the dangerzone for no reason. We seen what happened with Fedor when he dove in when he shouldn't while trying to finish a fight. We've seen it time and time again when guys dominate a fight, get reckless and then throw it away - look at Mahoef/Lawler as a prime example. I know finishing is great, and I really enjoyed the KO fest at the last Strikeforce, but I got much more enjoyment watching GSP/Kos. Maybe its just me. I do like to see dominations like that from time to time, thats the kind of performance I expect from a 'great' - bell to bell dominations, and if a finish comes then thats just an extra.

What would you guys be saying if GSP dominated the first three rounds and then in the fourth or fifth went balls to the wall to finish Koscheck and ended up getting caught and KO'd?

Ariel Helwani estimated a loss would have cost GSP over one million dollars. Not worth the risk, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,615 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Dana White said to GSP at the conferance that he owes Pierson $100,000

GSP has now won 30 straight rounds now :eek:
    GSP broke Koscheck's orbital bone

josh_koscheck_swollen_eye_2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 723 ✭✭✭ScareGilly

Moke wrote: »
    The problem I think people have is that GSP appears to be a fighter that is able but unwilling to finish a fight.

That's exactly my problem, GSP is an incredible fighter, top 3/4 in the p4p list anyways. But sometimes he doesn't even attempt to finish fights, the few times he rocked Koscheck he backed up instead of following up on it.

Personally, I thought his fight against Dan Hardy was at least 10 times better than this fight.

Well these might be valid points, but the guy's style is obviously working! He's the World Champ. Perhaps his haste in diving in trying to finish fights is a huge part of his success? He's a very smart fighter, no point putting yourself in unnecesary danger when he's smashing Koscheck in every aspect of the fight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Mellor wrote: »
    Dana White said to GSP at the conferance that he owes Pierson $100,000

GSP has now won 30 straight rounds now :eek:
    GSP broke Koscheck's orbital bone

josh_koscheck_swollen_eye_2.jpg

Joe Rogan should be ashamed of himself for saying on commentary that the doctor 'dude' should get out of the ring. I guess fighters safety means fck all to Joe.

Oh God! The Nut-Hugger remark, the last resort of someone who hasn't got much else to back up their argument!

What argument? There is no argument. Basically this is a perfect example of someone who is relatively new to the sport telling someone who is less new to the sport that their opinion is uninformed because they disagree with them.

If you want to have a thread saying "omg GSP is so dominant best fighter ever" go and have one, but this isn't it. My opinion is the GSP fight wasn't particularly entertaining because it was one sided. My "argument" hasn't diverged since my first post on the subject. If you think effectiveness is entertaining, good for you. In this case, it isn't for me.

This is how the typical sherdogger evolves.

1. He thinks any fight that doesn't have a highlight reel stoppage is a bad fight. Probably only wants to watch highlight clips.
    2. He comes to an understanding/appreciation of the subtleties of MMA and needs to reaffirm this by jumping down the throat of people he thinks are at level 1. He wants to watch every minute of each UFC event, including undercard
    3. He comes back to the opinion that 3/5 round contests are entertaining but high light stuff IS more entertaining. May begin to stop watching the undercard unless there is a particularly 'good' fight on it.
    4. Comes to the realisation that as much as the UFC hype fights, and regardless of how well they sell the PPV, some fights are invariably boring and repetitive and lack innovation. Only watches big contests or well reviewed fights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

mailburner wrote: »
    not awfully excited about the card but my few euros are gone
    on this double
    gsp/kosh + steph/danzig fights to go the distance at 5/4+8/11

also did a single on jim miller to win on points at 11/5 with boyles
    as i think the price is just too big (13/8pp) and regardless of how
    good oliveira might turn out to me, miller has only been beaten
    by edgar and maynard.

thought daddy and danzig was a cert to go the distance :(
    shouldve take the 11/8 on miller rather than the greedy option

great card, exceeded all my expectations
    a masterclass by gsp
    i thought he'd have problems taking kosh down but wasn't expecting that.
    delighted to see struve get the win also.

i have to admit i stopped doing fotn bets and after reading that gsp/kosh
    got it ahead of pierson/riddle or alves/howards makes me glad i did
    Thats bizarre if you ask me
    I cant comment on the other fight mentioned as i didnt see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,931 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

sonic.trip wrote: »
    Boyles are giving 4/1 on GSP to win by points. lump on :D

any idea how long that 4/1 about gsp points was available?
    that price was a gift, i dont bet with boyles so i was never
    going to see it and am sorry i wasn't looking here
    id imagine there was a limit to what stake you could put on though?
    you couldve made a fortune laying it off at less than half that price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,615 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

mailburner wrote: »

i have to admit i stopped doing fotn bets and after reading that gsp/kosh
    got it ahead of pierson/riddle or alves/howards makes me glad i did
    Thats bizarre if you ask me

Meh, the viewers vote, the viewers are morons who go the popular route, in general.