Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool vs Aston Villa MNF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

how many times are we going to pass between the back 4 for 2 minutes then resort to a long ball and lose. It's so fustrating.

Plus Clark being caught out a few times. He doesn't look fully fit

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,879 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

JPA wrote: »
    Brutal horrible sh1te from Villa.
    We won't be as bad 2nd half but I don't know if it will be enough to get anything from the game.
    Everyone has been rubbish, not just the easy target of Ireland.

yup in attack we seem aimless, with nobody making runs and everyone just waiting for someone else to create something which invariably doesent happen, while in defense we have been anything but solid, Collins seems to be getting slower every match.

I expect to see Pires on for Albrighton who will need a rest in the second half cos fair play to the lad he is still giving 100% but hes not match fit. Carew for Ireland aswell to mix things up and go 442 if Ireland isnt part of a 2nd half rivival too id imagine, although tbh id prob prefer to see delfouneso but instead expect to see him given a few minutes to rest Gabby at the end if it doesent look like we can are going to get anything from the game.

Really hope Hodgson goes defensive now but I cant see him saying anything other than more of the same and pointing out that Villa are there for the taking

matrim wrote: »

Plus Clark being caught out a few times. He doesn't look fully fit

who does?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

This Niallo bloke doesn't look so insane now, eh?

I'm suprised at our mental strength. I thought losing Torres an hour before kick-off would've damaged the confidence of the team to a vary large degree.

Great first half. Let's not let them back into the game. Keep up the pressing please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,070 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

No he doesn't, he has strength and pace, that's it. If he had ability, he wouldn't constantly make the wrong decisions, he would have a better touch, he would be able to pick out better passes/crosses.

Unfortunately though, people who watch English football seem to have this blinkered view that pace/strength is more important than skill/technique.

Saying all he has is strength and pace is pretty blinkered. He has an extremely powerful shot which takes very little backlift (is that the right word?). He also has plenty of tricks in his locker and can be a very good dribbler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

JPA wrote: »
    Brutal horrible sh1te from Villa.
    We won't be as bad 2nd half but I don't know if it will be enough to get anything from the game.
    Everyone has been rubbish, not just the easy target of Ireland.

True, but I expect more from a player looking to stake a claim for a starting place.

Villa are getting murdered in midfield but he's not helping out much.

I suppose I'm focussed on his game more because he's been linked with a loan move to Celtic. :o I wouldnt want him going on what I've seen so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

No he doesn't, he has strength and pace, that's it. If he had ability, he wouldn't constantly make the wrong decisions, he would have a better touch, he would be able to pick out better passes/crosses.

Unfortunately though, people who watch English football seem to have this blinkered view that pace/strength is more important than skill/technique.

Babel has plenty ability. Its his lack of a brain that has held him back all these years. He seems a more intelligent player when he plays up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

who does?

Clark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,046 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

This Niallo bloke doesn't look so insane now, eh?

I'm suprised at our mental strength. I thought losing Torres an hour before kick-off would've damaged the confidence of the team to a vary large degree.

Great first half. Let's not let them back into the game. Keep up the pressing please!

I just think when gerrard and carragher are on the field, the players are afraid to make mistakes, Lucas and meriles looks a great partnership

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Fonz on, Clark off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

What a beauty of a ball from Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Class from Pepe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Doodee

What a beauty of a ball from Ireland.

that's what he does.

even if he was just pointed out to me as one of our only players who look fit im happy to see clark go off simply as something had to change and bringing on the fonz is atleast positive and looks like it might have a good effect so far atleast performance wise if not result wise. So close for Gabby there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,146 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Phew, thanks Pepe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,140 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

GET IN MAXI!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

What a goal!

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Awesome counter!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Maxi-mum

Wow. What a goal

Rocket from Maxi, nice pass from Ngog.

3-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,395 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I'd give him some respect for a nice goal but he's wearing a fookin scarf..

FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Great goal, great finish from Maxi. Everything was excellent about that.

Ireland is getting slated, but Downing has been much, much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well, 1 man team nonsense then.

Maxi, Babel and N'Gog, who'd have thunk it!

One for Mereiles or Lucas now please.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Lost my stream....:(

ugh starting to become hard viewing now reminding me of that 5-0 from 2 seasons back now

Maxi - Currently our best and most important player alongside Pepe?

Wow.

Maxi continuing his good form

A different player these last 2 months :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

CANCEL THE TAXI
    ITS MAXIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII !!!!!!!!!!

ugh starting to become hard viewing now reminding me of that 5-0 from 2 seasons back now

:mad::mad::mad: Horrible horrible stuff.

We are muck without Gerrard.:cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,831 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Bring back David O'Leary.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Lucas is your best player of the season.

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    No Lucas is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Bring back David O'Leary.

Yeah we could do with a decent defender tbh.

Alonso. Ummm i wonder.

We don't need you Xabi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Nice to see Alonso in the crowd.

Opr

My God, Downing is woeful. Every pass and cross has been put out of play or just given away, Pires needs to come on now.

Ireland coming much more into the game this half.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

When liverpool are losing its the managers fault, but when they're winning its all about the players:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Alonso didnt know what he had until it was gone, and now he comes back for reminders

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭CrackisWhack

How has our "formerly" solid defence disintergrated so badly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Lucas is brilliant. Himself and Meireles are forming a suberb partnership in that centre midfield.

Zimmerframe of for Albrighton.

I doubt Alonso is missing the weather somehow.

monkey9 wrote: »
    Lucas is brilliant. Himself and Meireles are forming a suberb partnership in that centre midfielder.

Couldn't agree more.

It took an injury to Gerrard to get Meireles into his best position. Hopefully he stays there for the season.

Jaysus, should have been 4-0.