Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wrote a historical Irish Novel. But nobody wants it... but it's not bad...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

talla10 wrote: »
    JK Rowling was turned down loads of times!

Not enough times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

change it to zombies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Donal Og O Baelach

Johro wrote: »
    You're not kidding.. 190,000 words, you need to do some serious editing alright. What sort of suggestions did ya get from the publisher?

English Publisher said - "Make it more Irish", I buckled down - called Michae l- Meechaaaael, and stuck in extra Oirish phrases "ta me go maith a chairde".
    And, I tipped me hat, and di me best.
    Also, i cut this and that.

The only thing I can really complain about is that the publisher sent me 4 pages of notes to cerrect - i corected them, and then, another lady - the fecking editor!! - said, "Eh, why did he change this" after the other lady telling me to.

I think - the only thing for me to say as I bow out, is,

Ah B'lloxcxxxxxx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

No...re-arrange all the words into a random order and you'll have a post-modern classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If at first you don't succeed, give up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Say that Jesus had kids.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭Axe Rake

Lack of dinosaurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

English Publisher said - "Make it more Irish", I buckled down - called Michae l- Meechaaaael, and stuck in extra Oirish phrases "ta me go maith a chairde".

The only thing I can really complain about is that the publisher sent me 4 pages of notes to cerrect - i corected them, and then, another lady - the fecking editor!! - said, "Eh, why did he change this" after the other lady telling me to.

Ah B'lloxcxxxxxx.
    Have you seen the film Sideways, OP? Great scene in that where Paul Giamatti's novel gets rejected and he downs a jug of wine.

Seriously though, in this "digital age", is it not possible to self-publish - or is that the maddest suggestion in the world?

Daddio wrote: »
    Have you seen the film Sideways, OP? Great scene in that where Paul Giamatti's novel gets rejected and he downs a jug of wine.

Seriously though, in this "digital age", is it not possible to self-publish - or is that the maddest suggestion in the world?

I'm not sure Daddio - I can load the book onto Amazon, but then distribution? I don't know. I may go there.
    If I keep writing crazy threads on After Hours, maybe i can self publish and make a profit???

But seriously, it's a good book about out history.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Self-publishing is only a route to go down if you sincerely believe you cannot sell to a publisher. There are also a lot of self-publishing scams out there so it's an avenue that needs to be thoroughly researched before you do. It is very, very rare that a self-pub sells in the quantities that a traditionally published book.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I wrote a historical Irish novel (4 yrs work), set in 1879, with long flashbacks to the famine. In fairness it is a very large novel (190,000wds).
    Took over a year to get an agent. Long story here, no Irish agents could be interested, (there are only about 8) but some of the responses were classic. UK agents - very professional, and eventually settled with a nice chap in London.
    He sent it to 3 publishers - one liked it a lot - gave 3 pages of notes and asked for a re-write. I did a re-write (3 months). Re-submitted, and waited...and waited...and waited...
    Today, 3 mnths later - got a rejection from the publisher. They said they hadn't time to read it all, but...no - oh I could moan all f~~cking DAY - but... I'll only moan for a half hour here anyway.

What I really want to say about this is - F**k, F**k, F**k, F**k F**k, F**k, F**kF**k F**k, F**k F**k, F**k F**k, F**k F**k, F**k
    F**k, F**k F**k, F**k... etc.

Sorry for the rant - Bollox,bollox, bollox. x 1000.
    I was just on itunes liking for appropriate music - thought"Best of Nick Cave" might do the trick but.. appears not.
    Any suggestions?

Taaaaaankns. ( slides hand into pocket and takes fraudulent insuracne claim)
    Have you though about going the Amazon Kindle route for self publishing?

See: https://dtp.amazon.com/mn/signin

Costs you nothing more.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Ah B'lloxcxxxxxx.
    'Make it more Irish'? FFS.
    Yeah after reading that I'd get p1ssed too.
    Personally, I think Michael in Irish just sounds like 'me hole'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

Just change the dates to 2010-2014 and you'll have written what's in store for us all after the budget..........

Biggins wrote: »

GAH -- NO!!! Seriously, no disrespect, Biggins but if his book is good enough for an agent to take on, it's almost certainly good enough to be published. DO NOT SELF-PUBLISH until you check out that website I gave you Donal. Books can take a year of serious querying to sell and sometimes even more. Get specialised advice from people who know the subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

But seriously, it's a good book about out history.

Seriously, post an excerpt, a short one.

Trent crushed the rotten, diseased potato in his manly hand, started up at the sky and roared "I WILL AVENGE THEE". He hoisted his shotgun over his shoulder, jaw set in firm resolve. Then he made for The Big House...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Millicent wrote: »
    Self-publishing is only a route to go down if you sincerely believe you cannot sell to a publisher. There are also a lot of self-publishing scams out there so it's an avenue that needs to be thoroughly researched before you do. It is very, very rare that a self-pub sells in the quantities that a traditionally published book.
    Is it really a much more treacherous route for writers than it is for musicians and film makers?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Have you had a really cut-throat editor involved in your novel?

Sounds like you've put a lot of work into the historical aspect of things, but it all boils down to story and character in the end. You confident these aspects are on a par with the historical/factual details of the novel?

Is it really a much more treacherous route for writers than it is for musicians and film makers?

There are some books that will never be commercially viable, same as there are some songs/documentaries/films that will never sell. The difference with independent films is that they often get a bit of a cult following and word-of-mouth sales can propel it. I've never heard of that with self-publishing. Those books tend to get lost in the mire and authors often struggle to break even on the costs of vanity publishing. It requires a massive amount of work, self promotion etc. and a lot of self-published work can be ridiculously expensive at the point of retail to cover the costs involved.

I'm just saying if he believes in his book, selling it short after a bit of a knock back is shortsighted.

GAH -- NO!!! Seriously, no disrespect, Biggins but if his book is good enough for an agent to take on, it's almost certainly good enough to be published. DO NOT SELF-PUBLISH until you check out that website I gave you Donal. Books can take a year of serious querying to sell and sometimes even more. Get specialised advice from people who know the subject.
    True to some extent but then if even one book is self published and it sold to some extent, he would be able to show to an agent that there is a certain percentage of buyers for it (or more - he would still hold the paperback printing rights) and additionally, it would start the ball rolling of getting his name out there in reputation.

Don't be too quick to knock the Kindle route in particular.
    There are many, many books out there that are exceptionally good and have made some serious money for authors - besides increasing their profile.
    Its now a massive growing market. I have bought a good number of books myself and you also get to download samplers of each book to see if its up your avenue.

Don't throw the baby out with the bathwater too quick. Because of E-reading, self publishing has gone a different route than what had pre-existed before!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

I got a friend who had the same problem, a publisher raved about the initial draft, then sent editing notes etc., then when they received the edited version they were much less enthusiastic and finally rejected it. Soul destroying. She did get it out through another publisher though in the end.
    Yeah I'd check out the website before I'd do anything. After I sobered up.;)

True to some extent but then if even one book is self published and it sold to some extent, he would be able to show to an agent that there is a certain percentage of buyers for it (or more - he would still hold the paperback printing rights) and additionally, it would start the ball rolling of getting his name out there in reputation.

Don't be too quick to knock the Kindle route in particular.
    There are many, many books out there that are exceptionally good and have made some serious money for authors - besides increasing their profile.
    Its now a massive growing market. I have bought a good number of books myself and you also get to download samplers of each book to see if its up your avenue.

Don't throw the baby out with the bathwater too quick. Because of E-reading, self publishing has gone a different route than what had pre-existed before!

Seriously, an agent will not touch an already published work. He will have voided first rights to it and 99% of the publishing industry will not touch it with a bargepole. I understand your point about e-publishing (I was an editor for an e-pub house for a while) but self-publishing is not something to be taken lightly. Resales to other publishers are exceptionally uncommon after an initial print run, no matter who printed it first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭Ali Babba

I think it's bad timing tbh OP, there's so much doom and gloom around at the moment that people don't really need anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

OP, if you ever do get this published and it's a succuss and it's a long way off then look into getting an audiobook done.

I and several I know gets audiobooks. A professional actor/narrator can do your book justice. Liam Neeson has worked on a book for Irish history even.

There are subscription sites like audible.com where people subscribe and get books every month. We pay a monthly fee. Or you can buy them off itunes. They cost more then the book, not exactly cheap!

So get it published and in addition, look into getting an audiobook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Nulty wrote: »
    A book of 190,000 words that is - to quote the author - "not bad".

If you don't believe in it then no one else will. "Not bad" leaves room for improvement though
    ejmaztec wrote: »
    I suppose the trick is to get them in the most sellable order.

You mean like move the decimal point further left like this:

19,000.0?

or

1,900.00?

It might not even be that bad....maybe its 60% Appendices

Seriously, an agent will not touch an already published work. He will have voided first rights to it and 99% of the publishing industry will not touch it with a bargepole. I understand your point about e-publishing (I was an editor for an e-pub house for a while) but self-publishing is not something to be taken lightly. Resales to other publishers are exceptionally uncommon after an initial print run, no matter who printed it first.
    Again, I take your point.
    At the end of the day, it might not be the best route for himself, but at least its food for thought additionally.
    And again I have to mention that in the last year alone, publishing for the Kindle - especially after K3 was released, has rocketed dramatically and that avenue of self publishing is vastly different from what was known as "self-publishing" before, which indeed was a waste in reality.

...At least his options now might be further improving. At least he's informed.

Ali Babba wrote: »
    Just change the dates to 2010-2014 and you'll have written what's in store for us all after the budget..........

In 2007 Irish Economics editor released an book The Best is yet to Come :D

To be fair, it's a title doesn't do it justice, some of his chapters are on the ball.
    Terrible title though

Again, I take your point.
    At the end of the day, it might not be the best route for himself, but at least its food for thought additionally.
    And again I have to mention that in the last year alone, publishing for the Kindle - especially after K3 was released, has rocketed dramatically and that avenue of self publishing is vastly different from what was known as "self-publishing" before, which indeed was a waste in reality.

...At least his options now might be further improving. At least he's informed.

Oh the Kindle is a fantastic avenue for an awful lot of books so I'm sorry if it sounded like I was dismissing that route. Just very wary of vanity press scams associated with self-publishing and worry for anyone that might get scammed by such horrible outfits.

Kindle is a good option but just telling him not to give up hope too soon if he can go the traditional route. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

190,000 is just too long.
    Publishers and agents look for about 120,000 max from a first time author.
    You have to bear in mind, it's their money on the line, typesetting, printing, publishing, distributing and marketing it. And there is no shortage of people trying to get published.
    I'd suggest you speak with your agent where to go with it next, and discuss with them editing it down by about a third. In the meantime, start on the next one.
    You wouldn't be the first person to get a book deal with their second or third novel, only to find that the publisher then publishes the rejected first novel later.

It's changing very quickly. Self publishing is like a post on boards.ie - it might be briliiaint - but some see and some don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

See: https://dtp.amazon.com/mn/signin

Costs you nothing more.

Well Biggins, I've had a quick read of the book and I can tell you its
    ' The DOgs O'Baellox' ........

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    Have you had a really cut-throat editor involved in your novel?

Sounds like you've put a lot of work into the historical aspect of things, but it all boils down to story and character in the end. You confident these aspects are on a par with the historical/factual details of the novel?

I think so.

Sorry if it was asked before, but do you want to post up a chapter here? Or a few paragraphs?

Well not here but in the creative writing forum? Sounds a good topic for a book

One of my favourite books as a child was Under the Hawthorn Tree by Marita Conlon McKenna.
    I'm sure you know of it from your research.

Very sad actually for a child to read, three children traveling across Ireland during the Great Famine :(

190,000 is just too long.
    Publishers and agents look for about 120,000 max from a first time author.
    You have to bear in mind, it's their money on the line, typesetting, printing, publishing, distributing and marketing it. And there is no shortage of people trying to get published.
    I'd suggest you speak with your agent where to go with it next, and discuss with them editing it down by about a third. In the meantime, start on the next one.
    You wouldn't be the first person to get a book deal with their second or third novel, only to find that the publisher then publishes the rejected first novel later.

I expected them to say CUT, but hey didn't; I even had a split to 2 novels ready. It's a weasely tricky thing this novel writing business..

Oh the Kindle is a fantastic avenue for an awful lot of books so I'm sorry if it sounded like I was dismissing that route. Just very wary of vanity press scams associated with self-publishing and worry for anyone that might get scammed by such horrible outfits.

Kindle is a good option but just telling him not to give up hope too soon if he can go the traditional route. :)

Yea, I would never recommend the old vanity self publishing route.
    Stay away from it like its a plague of the worst kind.

If, just if someone decided to go down the Amazon/other websites (there are many now) E-reader route, there are ways to self promote via the net and other methods.
    (see here for example)

One book for example that has sold well, is this one:
    http://www.secretofthesands.com/index.html

It has proved to be a very successful book and many including I, am awaiting the sequel.
    That said, like every other type of book out there similar maybe, it is the exception to the rule in that where one is successful, there are many more that don't rise to such success.

I hope the writer has better luck the traditional route.
    It disheartening to see your hardwork, time and knowledge going to waste and/or dismissed so easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It has proved to be a very successful book and many including I, am awaiting the squeal..

Saucy.

Sorry if it was asked before, but do you want to post up a chapter here? Or a few paragraphs?

Well not here but in the creative writing forum? Sounds a good topic for a book

One of my favourite books as a child was Under the Hawthorn Tree by Marita Conlon McKenna.
    I'm sure you know of it from your research.

Very sad actually for a child to read, three children traveling across Ireland during the Great Famine :(

Ok. Chapter One is in the creative writer forum now. 1879, the year of a near return to the famine and the apparition at Knock.

Saucy.

DOH!!! :o

My spelling corrected. :D

I expected them to say CUT, but hey didn't; I even had a split to 2 novels ready. It's a weasely tricky thing this novel writing business..

Get your agent to ask for feedback from the publisher. It might be that it's too long, or it might be that they don't see a market currently. It might be the writing style. Get your agent to seek full feedback from the editor as to why they're passing at this time. That will better inform you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Dónal,

I'm only half-way through this thread but it's clear there's a huge number of bitter people responding to you here. You're being unnecessarily gracious by 'thanking' them, considering they are largely ignorant, obnoxious yokes more interested in putting you down in front of an audience than encouraging you with constructive criticism. Ná bí buartha mar gheall orthu.

I've a huge meas for what you're doing. 1879 seems like a very good year to locate it in. It should have huge potential what with the Famine in Mayo in 1878, the rise of the Land League and secret societies and the post-An Gorta Mór conflicts and controversy over land-robbing.

I strongly suspect that your material is of a very high standard (surmising you've a deep understanding of Ireland at this time). Perhaps you could do with your work being reviewed by many more people, strictly for its writing style? Writing history is a quite different endeavour to writing historical fiction. As with most novels, huge attention to detail, and an ability to facilitate insight from those details, along with a fluid, page-turning style, could be your saving grace.

Your 190,000 words could be serialised into a four-part novel that is, for example, thematically based: post-Famine conflicts over land; the rise of the land league and secret societies; emigration/the 'American Wake'/'Letter from America'; the reorganisation of post An Gorta Mór society (to name four such themes)

Go n-éirí an t-ádh leat.

Dionysus wrote: »
    Your 190,000 words could be serialised into a four-part novel that is, for example, thematically based: post-Famine conflicts over land; the rise of the land league and secret societies; emigration/the 'American Wake'/'Letter from America'; the reorganisation of post An Gorta Mór society (to name four such themes)

A note on this -- if you decide to go that way, make sure each part stands alone. It's not the best idea to try to sell a serial novel to a publisher. Make sure, for the first one at least, that it can stand on its own with maybe enough of a cliffhanger at the end that a publisher wouldn't baulk at a sequel.

One other thing, 1879 was the start of a revolutionary period in Irish society that became internationally significant, culminating in the campaign which introduced the word 'boycott' to many world languages, but also in the less romantic 'party whip' and party organisation which exists in many European political parties today (which was, unknown to many, initiated by the Home Rule Party under Parnell), as well as a mass rurally-based political movement (historically most political movements have originated in urban settlements). There was a widespread international reaction to what was happening in rural Ireland at this time, particularly after Parnell's famous Irishtown speech (which initiated the campaign against Charles Boycott).

There's definitely a movie in a good historical novel about this period.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Dónal,

I'm only half-way through this thread but it's clear there's a huge number of bitter people responding to you here. You're being unnecessarily gracious by 'thanking' them, considering they are largely ignorant, obnoxious yokes more interested in putting you down in front of an audience than encouraging you with constructive criticism. Ná bí buartha mar gheall orthu.

I've a huge meas for what you're doing. 1879 seems like a very good year to locate it in. It should have huge potential what with the Famine in Mayo in 1878, the rise of the Land League and secret societies and the post-An Gorta Mór conflicts and controversy over land-robbing.

I strongly suspect that your material is of a very high standard (surmising you've a deep understanding of Ireland at this time). Perhaps you could do with your work being reviewed by many more people, strictly for its writing style? Writing history is a quite different endeavour to writing historical fiction. As with most novels, huge attention to detail, and an ability to facilitate insight from those details, along with a fluid, page-turning style, could be your saving grace.

Go n-éirí an t-ádh leat.

What are you basing all this praise for the OP on????

Perhaps you should write that, Dionysus?
    It seems that the OP had their own vision and after four years hard work has completed their work.
    Your vision is something else. It's unrelated to why a publisher turned down the OP's novel. Only the publisher knows those reasons and they could be as banal and unrelated to the writing as cashflow.
    Recommending the OP restructure their fiction to your vision is not a runner. If the idea prepossesses you, why not give it a go yourself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭FarmerGreen

He's obviously had a good read of Donal's website !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

We need sex, drug abuse, domestic violence and a 50 year old singer from Ballyfermot and we got ourselves a bestseller

Perhaps you should write that, Dionysus?
    It seems that the OP had their own vision and after four years hard work has completed their work.
    Your vision is something else. It's unrelated to why a publisher turned down the OP's novel. Only the publisher knows those reasons and they could be as banal and unrelated to the writing as cashflow.
    Recommending the OP restructure their fiction to your vision is not a runner. If the idea prepossesses you, why not give it a go yourself?
    He's obviously had a good read of Donal's website !!

How about an instinctive aversion to wannabe-cool eejits deriding - not constructively criticising - any attempt by somebody to write?

It's not as if any of you boys have been proofreading the damned thing, is it.

How about an instinctive aversion to wannabe-cool eejits deriding - not constructively criticising - any attempt by somebody to write?

It's not as if any of you boys have been proofreading the damned thing, is it.

Have you proofread it? What did I deride in any case, I simply asked a question. Are you the op, you're taking this more seriously than he appears to be.

And why - at the very mention of the word 'eejit'- do you think this is about you?

Because you quoted me and directed a statement at me. Are you drunk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

fedor.2. wrote: »
    If it reads anything like this, i can understand why nobody wants it. Have you tried drawing?...........the dole that is

Classic AH. I laughed. Out loud.