Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Car service, just got a call for those "extra" bits

• 07-12-2010 1:08pm
    Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭

I took my 05 passat into the dealer today for a service. It's got around 50k on it, this is the third service. I was quoted €305 for the "full" service. I just got a call that the spark plugs need replacing, €85, and the brake fluid needs changing, €75, and the throttle body needs cleaning, €50, whatever that is.

Am I being taken for a ride?

Thanks.

Who knows, maybe, or maybe not. But I know how you feel....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Spark plug changing for 85 euro!:eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

lol.........special vw one's.

This is the "UP SELL" call you got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Back in my day, a "full service" meant spark plugs were included. But that was way back in the boom times of 2008. Things have changed since, but I would have thought for the better!
    Ring another VW dealer anywhere else and ask for a quote for full service, ask if it includes spark plugs, and ask about the other items as well. Then get back to this dealer and mend his ways!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Who knows, maybe, or maybe not. But I know how you feel....

Great answer. :rolleyes:

Spark plugs seems a big cheeky, I would've thought that'd be part of a full service. Were they just trying to upsell more expensive ones perhaps?

Did you ask what a full service entailed before bringing the car in? Will you the next time? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

maclek wrote: »
    I took my 05 passat into the dealer today for a service. It's got around 50k on it, this is the third service. I was quoted €305 for the "full" service. I just got a call that the spark plugs need replacing, €85, and the brake fluid needs changing, €75, and the throttle body needs cleaning, €50, whatever that is.

Thanks.

As someone would say....."fackin 'ell, are you 'avin a laff!":eek:

The only thing I can say is is it long life spark plug in the car? Still they should be cheaper in a motor factors and it isn't rocket science to change them yourself.

A litre of brake fluid is less than a tenner and yourself and a friend should change it in less than an hour/45 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

I took my 05 passat into the dealer today for a service. It's got around 50k on it, this is the third service. I was quoted €305 for the "full" service. I just got a call that the spark plugs need replacing, €85, and the brake fluid needs changing
    Have a look in your service book, it should tell you what needs doing and when. I'd also find out whether they tested the brake fluid, or whether they're just replacing it basewd on age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Ah for crying out loud:rolleyes:.I know spark pugs can be a bit awkward in some cars, but have a go yourself.The throttle body is where the accelerator is connected either by cable or electrically with a wire on the engine.You might be able to clean it yourself with carb cleaner.Brake fluid can be changed too on a diy basis.You would need about 2 litres of it.Maybe get a car nut friend to help you or else go to an independent garage.Try to avoid the stealer dealer.I know I am biased as I do alot of my own servicing, but still.

I would not use them again, looney price for a 50K full service that doesn't include plugs or brake fluid change.

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭maclek

Anan1 wrote: »
    Have a look in your service book, it should tell you what needs doing and when. I'd also find out whether they tested the brake fluid, or whether they're just replacing it basewd on age.

I just called msl as a benchmark and they quoted €240 for the service and €70 for the spark plugs (if they're the expense kind was what they said) and €50 for the brake fluid change. So I've managed to find someone more expensive than msl. Well done me.

I've told the other dealer to forget it even though with the extra time involved I'm it's probably costing me. I'm just not giving them the satisfaction.

I'll ask my local garage to do it, they're sound chaps, they just don't have a computer which is why they wouldn't do the service.

Thanks for everyone's input.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭homer90

I took my 05 passat into the dealer today for a service. It's got around 50k on it, this is the third service. I was quoted €305 for the "full" service.

Thanks.

....'kin hell,
    So essentially, you got an oil and filter change for €305
    Oh, and the window washer topped up.:rolleyes:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTTv9S_czRdzE3GmsangUn9fVit7QhCnCNjyl2PtZs7-Lp8Lx8gKw

I'll ask my local garage to do it, they're sound chaps, they just don't have a computer which is why they wouldn't do the service.

Thanks for everyone's input.

Any garage that use that as an excuse not to service an 05 Passat don't inspire confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

You would probably find that independent specialists tend to be a little more ‘honest’ and sensible about what they quote for and what constitutes a “full service”.

Assuming this is the car’s first set of expensive long life plugs (which I also have in my Mazda), I wouldn’t assume you were being ridden but I would suggest telling them to clean the throttle body ‘while they’re in there’ (ie, FOC).

There is a lot to be said for doing your homework in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

You are being completely ridden. Blackwater motors in cork (main vw dealer) do a full service for €199 including spark plugs, oil, filter, air filter, pollen filter and a check over. Brake fluid needs doing every 2 years and it's €40.

Complete rip-off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭brennarr

What is a full service if you have to pay extra for all this?

According to their website a brake fluid change is only €50

What a rip off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

RoverJames wrote: »
    Any garage that use that as an excuse not to service an 05 Passat don't inspire confidence.

Do they not need the computer to set the service indicator/counter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

BostonB wrote: »

Nope, you can do it yourself with a combination of switching the key and using the odometer switch

cantdecide wrote: »
    There is a lot to be said for doing your homework in advance.

This :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

I would only replace the plugs when the block starts misfiring and the offending one at that. I cannot understand why people throw out perfectly good plugs. :)

A good rub with a brass wire brush would clean the majority of bad plugs. Often the problem is down to the engine running too rich.

I would only replace the plugs when the block starts misfiring and the offending one at that. I cannot understand why people throw out perfectly good plugs. :)

A good rub with a brass wire brush would clean the majority of bad plugs. Often the problem is down to the engine running too rich.

I change mine at every service. 5 thousand miles in my laguna and 5 thousand kms in my micra! I replace everything everytime. Keeps the engine in tip top condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

5k miles on a set of plugs?!!! BWAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

Thats a Rip Off!

4 Litres of Oil €40
    Oil Filter € 10
    4 Spark Plugs € 25
    Air Filter € 10
    Windscreen Wash € 5
    Brake Pads € 70
    Brake Fluid € 15

2 Hours and great satisfaction later.

Take it to Walsh Motors in Belfast every year or two for a check up. They know their Vag's.

I didnt have a clue about servicing a car when I started first.

I started one day, by doing a list of what I need. Went into Auto Factors and asked for what was on the list above, then I asked them for the tools I would need.

everytime I have a job to do thats new, I buy the tool there and then instead of buying loads of tools.

Also use You Tube. I ever used it for clearing Virus' off my laptop. Its very useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

cjt156 wrote: »

Platnum plugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

kluivert wrote: »
    Thats a Rip Off!

Look, we all know it's more expensive to get a garage to do it than to DIY, OK? It always is, at every garage.

The specific question here is whether this particular garage is taking the píss compared to other main dealers prices.

I have three bikes, One a Suzuki Gixr 750 Plugs cost e40 a set. I would be lucky to get a year out of them. Second is a Honda Bross, havent changed the plugs since I bought the bike three years ago. Third bike is a BSA M20 side valve, lucky to get 6 months out of the plug before it either melts or gets sooted up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Iguana Bob

Thanks.

think you are just being raped on this one,
    why the hell would they need to change the brake fluid?? my guess is free money
    buy a spark plug sucket and change your own plug its pretty simple.
    is cleaning the throttle body, does that not just involve taking the air intake off and spraking carb cleaner in it???

Iguana Bob wrote: »

My guess is they are following the manufacturer's recommendations. Brake fluid absorbs moisture over the years, and starts to degrade. You get gas bubbles forming, and the fluid becomes compressable: it no longer transmits brake force to the calipers properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

BostonB wrote: »

No. But if they did You would get a vag com for 100 euro that would be more than sufficent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,466 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

This is not good advice in my opinion. It is thought that any variation in spark plug performance can fry coil packs. If this true, why risk skimping on plugs.
    Still 300 for a 'full service' that doesnt include plugs, brake fluid etc is madness.
    Do you even need plugs at 50k miles? My interval is longer than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭sealgaire

sure if you brought yoru car for a service why would plugs be extra? What exactly does the price he quoted include?

Iguana Bob wrote: »
    think you are just being raped on this one,
    buy a spark plug sucket and change your own plug its pretty simple.
    is cleaning the throttle body, does that not just involve taking the air intake off and spraking carb cleaner in it???

Its good practice to flush as manufacturer recommends, can make a significant difference in brake feel and also the abs units don't like moisture in fluid.

Fluid also makes breaks easier to boil

mickdw wrote: »
    This is not good advice in my opinion. It is thought that any variation in spark plug performance can fry coil packs. If this true, why risk skimping on plugs......

My cars are 1997 and 1998. In our family we have between us 15 cars. We get trade discount at the motor factors.

A service (including oil, oil filter, air filter and sparkplugs) costs around €35 so it makes sense to change everything.

I'm someone who keeps my cars so its in my interest to look after the cars as best I can...I've the laguna 7 years and the micra 11 years and the laguna (with approx 200k miles on it) passed the NCT no problem earlier this year and the tester said he'd get four year old cars in in worse condition.

If you can justify it to yourself on cost grounds fair play to you but there's no way cars like Lagunas and Micras require plugs at those intervals. I maintain two cars with 100k and almost 150k miles on them. I don't believe in scrimping on servicing but that's complete overkill.

I have three bikes, One a Suzuki Gixr 750 Plugs cost e40 a set. I would be lucky to get a year out of them. Second is a Honda Bross, havent changed the plugs since I bought the bike three years ago. Third bike is a BSA M20 side valve, lucky to get 6 months out of the plug before it either melts or gets sooted up.

So none of them has anything at all to do with late nineties blandmobiles, then?;) I stand by my initial comment. Bwa...the fun's gone out of it now...

This is not good advice in my opinion. It is thought that any variation in spark plug performance can fry coil packs. If this true, why risk skimping on plugs.
    Still 300 for a 'full service' that doesnt include plugs, brake fluid etc is madness.
    Do you even need plugs at 50k miles? My interval is longer than that.

In all my driving / riding bikes I have never fried a coil or CDI unit. I always carry spare plugs in the tool kit.

If you can justify it to yourself on cost grounds fair play to you but there's no way cars like Lagunas and Micras require plugs at those intervals. I maintain two cars with 100k and almost 150k miles on them. I don't believe in scrimping on servicing but that's complete overkill.

I know they don't need changing really but like you say I justify it on costs and since they cost me less than a tenner per car and I'm working on the engine it only takes minutes to change them.

Believe me I've had this argument with my uncle who had a primera and a megane and never touched the sparkplugs the length of time he had the cars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

i just got a price of a dealer in the north for the stuff needed to service my 1.9 vag tdi
    60 euro delivered for air, oil, pollen and diesel filters. plus 4.5 liters of pd spec oil and a sump bung!! think what ill save in labour doing it myself!! my car is a 05 too and i wouldn't take it near a dealer for a service.. i get my local indy give it a look over once a year or if i hear any weird or strange noises!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

My guess is they are following the manufacturer's recommendations. Brake fluid absorbs moisture over the years, and starts to degrade. You get gas bubbles forming, and the fluid becomes compressable: it no longer transmits brake force to the calipers properly.
    FWIW, My local Subaru dealer test the fluid at service and replace as necessary rather than just replacing every two years.

Anan1 wrote: »
    FWIW, My local Subaru dealer test the fluid at service and replace as necessary rather than just replacing every two years.

This Passat is 5-6 years old, and on only it's third service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It's a very clear VW recommendation to change the brake fluid every 2 years on it's passanger cars. If you choose to ignore it fair enough but for the sake of €40 I would do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭nophd08

sean1141 wrote: »
    i just got a price of a dealer in the north for the stuff needed to service my 1.9 vag tdi
    60 euro delivered for air, oil, pollen and diesel filters. plus 4.5 liters of pd spec oil and a sump bung!! think what ill save in labour doing it myself!! my car is a 05 too and i wouldn't take it near a dealer for a service.. i get my local indy give it a look over once a year or if i hear any weird or strange noises!!

Can you PM me name of dealer in north please. I get fleeced buying parts for VW tdi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Platnum plugs.

Who would put platinum plugs in a Micra...? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,466 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

In all my driving / riding bikes I have never fried a coil or CDI unit. I always carry spare plugs in the tool kit.

Im talking about modern stuff which is what the OP is driving. I couldnt see it being any harm to cdi unit as they are usually robust but the plug top coil packs are a weakness in modern ignition systems

sean1141 wrote: »

€60 - surely 4.5L can of the proper oil must be about €40 at least. THat leaves €20 for all the filters & delivery - Seems like a bargain to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

OP FWIW if I was paying €300 for a service and the mechanic tried to charge me extra for the spark plugs Id laugh in his face. €300 is not cheap to start with, and if it doesnt include everything a proper service should include then its a downright rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

€60 - surely 4.5L can of the proper oil must be about €40 at least. That leaves €20 for all the filters & delivery - Seems like a bargain to me.
    4.5 L of oil around hers is anywhere between 30-60 depending on brand and motor factor.. think it was 55 in halfords the last time i priced it there.. got it in AD motor factors for 35 i think.. (i know the guy working there well) its 18 sterling delivered form the fellow up north for genuine oil:eek: i must ring up the local vw garage for a price for the craic :D

oil filter £3.60
    bung 83p
    fuel filter £13.25
    pollen filter £5.65
    air filter £8.25
    505.01 pd spec oil £18
    all inc delivery:D:D:eek:

nophd08 pmd.... its a seat dealer so all vw parts may not be available

djimi wrote: »
    Who would put platinum plugs in a Micra...? :confused:

What micra? 05 passat!

Spark plugs cannot improve performance only degrade it. Expensive plugs have extended plug life not max power physics.

In relation to the OPs question yes it seems expensive. Would i go ahead yes after i negotiated the price down.

Here's the list of optional extras that I declined.

Do I feel ripped off? Yes, as a poster said I paid €300 for an oil change and someone to hoover the car. A full service should include just that, a full service. Do I have a legitimate complaint here? No, they listed what was included in the full service up front. When they found there were extra items that needed doing they called me and I was able to decline.

So I'm going to get the work done elsewhere and won't be going back there ever again. Lesson learnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Here's the list of optional extras that I declined.

Do I feel ripped off? Yes, as a poster said I paid €300 for an oil change and someone to hoover the car. A full service should include just that, a full service. Do I have a legitimate complaint here? No, they listed what was included in the full service up front. When they found there were extra items that needed doing they called me and I was able to decline.

So I'm going to get the work done elsewhere and won't be going back there ever again. Lesson learnt.
    It would have cost over €580 if you let them continue to rip you off? Feck sake. That's unreal. €182.33 for a bridgestone tyre? Also rip off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    It would have cost over €580 if you let them continue to rip you off? Feck sake. That's unreal. €182.33 for a bridgestone tyre? Also rip off.

Depends on the tyre in my experience