Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brian Cowen: I'm sorry, I'm extremely sorry... Nobody is more sorry than me ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

maybe if was noonan mouthing off then?! he did look sad so dont jump down my throat for fcuk sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Yes brewing for years under this clown and that other financial genius Cowen..have you been living under a rock since FF came to power??:rolleyes:

Another consideration that we should factor into the equation is the fact that of 19,000 civil servants, there are three who hold a PHD in economics.

Enclosed is a recent newspaper article highlighting this fact.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/lee-attacks-civil-servants-over-lack-of-economics-phds-2041228.html

Bearing in mind that we are currently in negotiations with the IMF and several international bodies concerning the future of our nation and it's finances surely the mere mention of the "smart economy" or the "knowledge economy" should send shivers down the collective spines of the nation. When we considr that the very building blocks of our economy are in the hands of people who are either unsuitable or not fully qualified should be a worry.

We may highlight the fact that the current minister of finance may not be qualified to hold this position but we need to be mindful that the civil servants in his department are also unqualified and will still be there when the next minister of finance takes office.

Heres another:

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/lack-of-qualified-finance-staff-damaging-economy-1613951.html

Now these articles are over a year old but things cant have changed that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Seaneh wrote: »
    anyone have a link to aforementioned rant from sinner?

Here you go-

Not a Sinner fan by any stretch of the imagination, but it's hard to argue with some of his points. And it's great to see him belittle that useless idiot Coughlan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

orourkeda wrote: »
    We may highlight the fact that the current minister of finance may not be qualified to hold this position

He's a solicitor.

And the health minister is obese.

Clowns.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes..you do have to imagine what would it be like if all that hate was directed at "you"....!! Imagine it for a second....it must be almost suicide inducing...from opening the papers in the morning to going out in public...must be hell! I know one has to take the rough with the smooth, but no person would be able to handle that ****...
    If you can't stand the heat - get out of the kitchen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Sanjuro wrote: »

Now there's a man for, and of the people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,434 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

godscop wrote: »
    **** him, thats the attitude that has this country in this mess. Hello ! its his job..

It's not my attitude at all...I was merely wondering what it would be like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

orourkeda wrote: »
    We may highlight the fact that the current minister of finance may not be qualified to hold this position
    None of them are exactly 'qualified' for their respective ministries. Which doesn't really make a difference, because when it comes to re-shuffles, they all take on completely different jobs. It's ridiculous really.
    Say you're a building contractor, and you have different skilled workers on site, but your roofer isn't up to the job. Do you appoint your plasterer as roofer and get him to complete the roof?
    Move the roofer to bricklaying because he's better at that, and the brickie to plastering?
    I gotta say having Hairy Marnie as Minister for Health really does take the biscuit. A whole plate of 'em.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Gary4279 wrote: »
    I was thinking de Valera. Seems I gave you more credit towards your intelligence than you deserved.

Don't try & put the fact that you got the answer wrong down to me having a lack of intelligence.

It smacks of bitterness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Yeah, he's impressive. Voted for him myself though in fairness, there wasn't a wide choice.

Great protest vote, shame about a lot of their policies.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Shame on you cowen ! You have betrayed our country, you are a traitor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

K-9 wrote: »
    Yeah, he's impressive. Voted for him myself though in fairness, there wasn't a wide choice.

Great protest vote, shame about a lot of their policies.

What could be worse than the last 13 years I ask? Incompetent, useless, corrupt, good for nothing bast@rds than have destroyed this country and sold it's sovereignty. Pulled out it's heart and given it to our new ECB/IMF Overlords. After all that, some people are wary of trying an alternative approach or policy? or a new beginning? What does it take? Nothing could be worse than what has just happened to this little nation. Our only chance to make them pay for what they've done is at the ballot box, so think long and hard.

Some of their ideas are reminiscent of 80's Ireland which wasn't a particularly nice place either so, it really isn't that much of a new beginning, more a throwback to previous failed policies. I know some wouldn't be aware of tax policies eg. in the 80's.

But in the General Election I'll weigh all the manifestos up and decide.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I've just fixed an Irish Times headline.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/1208/breaking19.html

Cowen defends Budget and plans to lead FF into oblivion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Brian Lenihan has been nothing but a cancer on our fiancial department, the chap should apoligies then step down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Why didn't he apologise any time in the last 24 months. Is there any sort of game changer coming up that would lead him to do this?

Some sort of General Election by any chance?

Chancer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭Holybejaysus

I feel more sorry for someone (you) who couldn't be arsed to remember the name Pearse Doherty TD, who you accuse of "mouthing off" but you can remember a sh*tbags name & say he looked "sad"..

I'd rather see the fvckers looking sad hanging from a cherry picker tbh.

I hope SF put Pearse Doherty's speech up on youtube - I find the man inspiring.

This tells us a lot more about your state of mind than anything else. Luckily the entire political system is devised to keep extremists like you out of power. Say whatever you want about FF polices but murdering political opponents is for scumbags and little Hitlers. You have shown your true colours for all of us to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Brian Cowen you lying scumbag you can fùck right off with your apology and Brian Lenihan you are only one step above that cretinous Cowen, if you had any balls at all you would have challenged that fùckwitt Cowen and wrote off Anglo from day one.

Both of you cùnts are equally responsible for this mess and covering up for your builder cronies that you entertained over in your tent at the Galway Races. Now both of you and Fianna Fail can **** right off, traitors to the country and the people.

You should be fùcking ashamed of yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

Jesus that was a very sincere apology Brian Cowen and even if you did mean it it's several years too late. I've never heard anyone that angry when they had to apologise. That other prick Bertie Ahern should apologise but he's too busy hiding in his little worm hole to do that.

On Brian Lenihan's cancer. It's almost been a year since he announced he had it and doesn't he look well for someone who supposedly has it?

This tells us a lot more about your state of mind than anything else. Luckily the entire political system is devised to keep extremists like you out of power. Say whatever you want about FF polices but murdering political opponents is for scumbags and little Hitlers. You have shown your true colours for all of us to see.

Where the hell do you get off calling me a "little Hitler"?.. (I'm actually not little at all)

And whats up, too cowardly to come right out and call me a scumbag too, so you vail it with clap trap?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Cowan is only sorry cos he was caught.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

reminds me of this from southpark

Where the hell do you get off calling me a "little Hitler"?.. (I'm actually not little at all)

And whats up, too cowardly to come right out and call me a scumbag too, so you vail it with clap trap?.

As you know, personal insults are a grounds for a ban on boards.ie-I wouldn't want to give you that power trip.

I stand by my statement-calling for people to be hanged or murdered is for scumbags and little Hitlers. I'm sure any right thinking person will agree, regardless of how angry they justifiably feel about the goverment's handling of the banking crisis.

Sorry to break up the hate fest, but I try to be rational and not engage in Ian Paisley politics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

LOL at the ninja-like avatar change.

As you know, personal insults are a grounds for a ban on boards.ie-I wouldn't want to give you that power trip.

I stand by my statement-calling for people to be hanged or murdered is for scumbags and little Hitlers. I'm sure any right thinking person will agree, regardless of how angry they justifiably feel about the goverment's handling of the banking crisis.

Sorry to break up the hate fest, but I try to be rational and not engage in Ian Paisley politics.

lol, your an FF supporter aren't you?.. The lack of courage for your convictions gave the game away.

Sorry, but your party is going down ol' skin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Yore wrong.

mikom wrote: »

Feck off :p

lol, your an FF supporter aren't you?.. The lack of courage for your convictions gave the game away.

Sorry, but your party is going down ol' skin.

Ah the classic 'If you don't agree with my HATE, you must be FF' line. Extremists tend to come out with this when challenged on their violent beliefs. Do you seriously think you can offer a real alternative with this type of thinking?

What lack of courage for convictions are you talking about? Your logic baffles me. And I'm not FF at all, not by a long shot. I just don't engage in BNP style pond life, foaming at the mouth, pitchfork politics.

I'll be delighted to see FF out, but not to be replaced by people calling for hangings and murders. I'd rather we didn't replace chancers with scum, thank you very much.

TheZohan wrote: »

Yore wrong.

Oh right, you typed it in bold so it must be true. :rolleyes:

Feck off :p

I'll have you for impersonating an officer of the law
    Murphys law

I stand by my statement-calling for people to be hanged or murdered is for scumbags and little Hitlers.

Right, all joking aside.. I actually don't like to fall out online with people I'll later laugh with over something else.

The cheery picker line was a laugh at the lad in his cheery picker yesterday, and not a call for murder or any bodily harm to anyone.. Its all craic, ok!.

Now where were we... Cowen & Co. and their apologises - tbh, they can stick 'em. I don't believe for a moment they've too many people fooled any longer.

And for the record, I'm a former FF voter - but it'll be a freezing cold day in hell before I vote FF again.

K-9 wrote: »
    Some of their ideas are reminiscent of 80's Ireland which wasn't a particularly nice place either so, it really isn't that much of a new beginning, more a throwback to previous failed policies. I know some wouldn't be aware of tax policies eg. in the 80's.

But in the General Election I'll weigh all the manifestos up and decide.

Believe me I remember the Eighties quite well and I wouldn't concur with your assessment.

But I think the guy is a Ninja.

The cheery picker line was a laugh at the lad in his cheery picker yesterday,

Ah, I love cheery pickers.... they're so............................ cheery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

I forgive you Brian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 GetThatDownYa

I'm a former FF voter - but it'll be a freezing cold day in hell before I vote FF again.
    Had a big long chat with a long time FF supported some weeks ago. Guy was infuriated with the current government, foaming at the mouth about how we have to get them out. The when I asked who he would vote for in the next election he hesitated. "Well I don't know what I'm going to do in the next one, we've a fierce nice fellah here" - that's constituency and personality politics for you- it should be set up in a way where people decide on the basis of party policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Awful_Bliss

Dionysus wrote: »
    Seán O'Rourke's interview with Brian Cowen on today's News at One on RTÉ Radio 1 was something else. He was giving out to Cowen for allegedly refusing to apologise: "There's no word of heartfelt apology from you". Cowen got down on the radio equivalent of his knees so much (for almost 3 minutes) that by the end of it O'Rourke had the nerve of saying "let's not waste time on apologies!" :rolleyes:

Go to 12.20 here for the start.

All these 'sorries' reminded me of this scene (3.23) from Stanley Kubrick's Dr Strangelove (1964).

President: I'm sorry too, Dimitri. I'm very sorry. Alright you're sorrier than I am but I'm very sorry as well....

He sounds super p*ssed off in that interview. Now he knows how we feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Personally I'm sickened by SF's attempts to ingratiate itself into Irish people's minds. God knows what'd happen if SF got into power, but I can guarantee it'd be much, much worse than having FF, FG or Labour (the union rimjob experts) in power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Confab wrote: »
    Personally I'm sickened by SF's attempts to ingratiate itself into Irish people's minds. God knows what'd happen if SF got into power, but I can guarantee it'd be much, much worse than having FF, FG or Labour (the union rimjob experts) in power.
    And you know this because you can see into the future yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

He may be a man of the people, but don't be misled into thinking he is a man for the people.

His speech was the typical BS we have seen in this country time and time again and which has led us to where we are today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

The person I feel sorriest for in all of this is me

Ah, I love cheery pickers.... they're so............................ cheery.

And if I've to tell you to feck off once more...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Mister men wrote: »
    And you know this because you can see into the future yes?

Put it like this. Can you imagine ETA as Spain's ruling party? Yes? You need imagine no further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Confab wrote: »
    Put it like this. Can you imagine ETA as Spain's ruling party? Yes? You need imagine no further.

I couldn't imagine that...for the same reason that I can't imagine Gerry Adams as the prime minister of great britain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

Yes..you do have to imagine what would it be like if all that hate was directed at "you"....!! Imagine it for a second....it must be almost suicide inducing...from opening the papers in the morning to going out in public...must be hell! I know one has to take the rough with the smooth, but no person would be able to handle that ****...

Aye, and imagine how terrible it will be on the chap in a few years when not in power, getting up in the morning, opening the papers and reading about all the repercussions on regular joe soaps of his actions, it will be hard to face the world and the stinging criticism he will get.... oh wait, he'll be getting a monsterous pension, more than most folk would earn in a year, for helping run this country into the ground, I appreciate the chap has cancer, and do feel sorry for him on that front, but he's been an icon of the impending doom of us all while telling us that we're turning a corner lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Bambi wrote: »
    I couldn't imagine that...for the same reason that I can't imagine Gerry Adams as the prime minister of great britain.

The analogy here being Ireland. ETA is a terrorist organisation murdering the people of spain. The IRA are a terrorist organisation murdering the people of Ireland (as well as the UK). They are enemies of the state, enemies of democracy, enemies of free speech, enemies of peace etc. We legitimized Sinn Fein in an attempt to bring about peace in Northern Ireland. For the most part, it has worked. However, the down side is that they now attract a wide range of uneducated sheep into voting for them here in the republic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 Arts student

Dionysus wrote: »
    Seán O'Rourke's interview with Brian Cowen on today's News at One on RTÉ Radio 1 was something else. He was giving out to Cowen for allegedly refusing to apologise: "There's no word of heartfelt apology from you". Cowen got down on the radio equivalent of his knees so much (for almost 3 minutes) that by the end of it O'Rourke had the nerve of saying "let's not waste time on apologies!" :rolleyes:

Go to 12.20 here for the start.

All these 'sorries' reminded me of this scene (3.23) from Stanley Kubrick's Dr Strangelove (1964).

President: I'm sorry too, Dimitri. I'm very sorry. Alright you're sorrier than I am but I'm very sorry as well....

Is it just me or does Cowen ever come across as a cartoon character?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭superelliptic

Because he's playing the cancer card?

Thats low - He may not be anyone's favorite politician at the moment, but you have to give the guy kudos for sticking with the job instead of retiring when he was diagnosed, as everyone expect him to do in fairness.

Believe me I remember the Eighties quite well and I wouldn't concur with your assessment.

They are a party in transition to me, moving from far left for Ireland, inch by inch to the centre.

I hope they don't go the way of people in the Workers Party to use an 80's analogy, who moved further centre to Democratic Left and then joined Labour, which have ended about as centre as you get in European terms.

The idea of wealth taxes and a couple of other ideas remind me of the old Labour party, in the 80's. I'd be wary of them here given the type of society here.

PS. Not to be too negative, they seem have some good idea too, definite improvement on their policies in the 90's. Was weird listening to Gerry defending 12.5% Corporation Tax though.