Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Price of the Pint - What would make you go back to the pub ?

• 09-12-2010 10:41am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

Since my kids & austerity came along I'm now lucky to see the pub once a month.
    It's a bottle of wine & a DVD for me these days.
    What price should the pint be to entice people back to the pub on week day ?.
    I used to love the few sociables after work on a Friday.

I reckon €3 a pint would get people back in.
    Unfortunately Diageo or the Government wont drop their take so probably wont happen.
    They should also go back to giving splashes instead of making you buy a split with your short, that's a relic of the crazy days.

Anyone got a price threshold in mind that would make them return ?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Thirst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

10p a pint and penny apples, penny apples for the punters i tell ya

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

A good meal in it. Certainly not for the drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭Swampy

3.50 would work for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭rednik

Big jugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

€3 a pint would be a start but to get me back to the pub they would have to do the following:

Provide enough seating
    NOT raise the volume of music as soon as it gets a bit busier and certainly not so loud that I have to shout to talk with my friends.

I go to the pub to socialise, NOT to have a shouting competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Who says I ever left the pub in the first place???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

a baby sitter!

its not the price in the pubs its the lack of being able to take your kids with you!

I kid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

bit of a pointless thread,the price cannot be reduced to such low levels,personally with all the alcoholism in this country i thoughtthe price should be raised along with cigs,and why would they give a splash when they can make double the margin on splits,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭ronano

r3nu4l wrote: »
    €3 a pint would be a start but to get me back to the pub they would have to do the following:

Provide enough seating
    NOT raise the volume of music as soon as it gets a bit busier and certainly not so loud that I have to shout to talk with my friends.

god wtf is with this raising of the music so loud you cant talk,it's a pub not a nightclub. I've also noticed eddie rockets put their music up as soon as the recession hit,decreasing profits = increasing music ugh just turns me off going anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

r3nu4l wrote: »

Provide enough seating

Totally agree with the above. No use going to a pub to catch up with a few mates then getting blared out of it with crap music on a crap sound system.

€3.50 a pint would do nicely too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Turn off the telly. Turn down the BritPop.
    More gastro pubs. Be great to have some nice pubs with nice food.

Make a better beer selection.
    Menus! Why do pubs feel there's no need for a menu??

If you have all the ingredients for a cocktail behind the bar, why do you refuse to make one!!? Give the customer what they want damn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

Seating, no music, no kids, friendly staff, craft beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,948 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Jansport backpack full of cans. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

enda1 wrote: »
    If you have all the ingredients for a cocktail behind the bar, why do you refuse to make one!!? Give the customer what they want damn it.

Appleteenys ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

€3 would be about right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

listermint wrote: »
    Appleteenys ???

If I said cosmos would it sound less gay??

:o

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭Landa2

Pints €3.20 in Sub Lounge.. also decent atmosphere. Woolshed Great atmosphere slightly dearer drink (bought by the pitcher)..

My choice would have to be with the atmosphere..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭sellerbarry

Do as they do in New York. Buy 3 and get your 4th free. Great idea imo.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

My favourite pub now serving pints for €4. Its in Suburbia but there is also a club, selling pints €3.50 but its decent with music on Saturday nights.

However there is also a gastro pub which still serves pints for over €4.70 and another off putting thought is that it is frequented by an ex Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

When I can get a can of beer for 75p or cheaper in the shops & listen to my own music – home drinking with friends is far more appealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

My favourite pub now serving pints for €4. Its in Suburbia but there is also a club, selling pints €3.50 but its decent with music on Saturday nights.

However there is also a gastro pub which still serves pints for over €4.70 and another off putting thought is that it is frequented by an ex Taoiseach.

Now I understand your user name! Yeah, keeps me outta the place too. Skyhigh prices and dodgy crooks boozing in the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

AnneFrank wrote: »
    bit of a pointless thread,the price cannot be reduced to such low levels,personally with all the alcoholism in this country i thoughtthe price should be raised along with cigs,and why would they give a splash when they can make double the margin on splits,

Blasphemy. Get back in the attic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

grizzly wrote: »
    When I can get a can of beer for 75p or cheaper in the shops & listen to my own music – home drinking with friends is far more appealing.
    Yep, which is why I said earlier that a good meal in it would bring me back.
    In the meantime I miss pubs like a hole in the head.

I have always been fond of pub drinking, I live out the country so it is one of the only social interactions I can have around. As long as the pint is below €4 and there's a dartboard I'm happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Twin-go

In Shannon

Fridays: Old Lodge = €3.00 a pint
    Saturdays: Oakwood Arms = €3.00 a pint
    Sundays: Wolfe Tones = €3.00 a pint

You can drink €3 pints all weekend if you wish:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,986 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Beef and Guinness Pie + a Pint for 6:50.

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    Anyone got a price threshold in mind that would make them return ?.

Not being charged 2euro for blackcurrant and not being charged whatever the hell they're charging for a soft drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Twin-go wrote: »
    In Shannon

Fridays: Old Lodge = €3.00 a pint
    Saturdays: Oakwood Arms = €3.00 a pint
    Sundays: Wolfe Tones = €3.00 a pint

You can drink €3 pints all weekend if you wish:D

Jaysus that's not bad at all, €20 and a bit of shrapnel = 7 pints..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

€3:20 -€3:50 a pint would entice me back to my Sunday night drinking. That would be one good hard night and the few on Sunday.

Now It's a quiet Friday or Saturday with a blow out once a month. I suppoe it's not too bad when you think about it.

I do love drinking pints in the pub though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭AAAAAAAHHH

AnneFrank wrote: »

Why can't they? There are pubs in Dublin city centre selling pints for 3.20 to 3.70.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

max €3.50 a pint and this back on the tables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 483 ✭✭baltimore sun

3.50?

I aint givin you no 3 fiddy :D

I'm a smoker and I must disagree, hate smoke in pubs and restaurants.

bryaner wrote: »
    I'm a smoker and I must disagree, hate smoke in pubs and restaurants.

I hate the smell of food in pubs.

I hate the smell of Bud in pubs.

I hate the smell of food in pubs.

No food served in the pubs I go to, and I don't expect people to breath in my second hand smoke...

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Rdaly1

First of all - Dublin pubs are lazy (90% of them) - they don't market themselfs for people to come and most of them do not show loyalty to their customers. (they have loyalty cards for coffee - why not for beer)

The reason for this is because they never had to do it. I'd love to have a go running a pub. Lots of opportunity to bring fresh ideas to the table - other than the usual crappy band/a poker night and super sunday football.

Pubs should be comfortable places to hang out - with a variety of entertainment on. Food should be a must also - because they are competing with Food outlets for the time and attention of people.

Pubs just expect people to turn up. No questions asked and pay there ridiculous prices.

As for prices - it is a joke - If you can go into Diecy Reillys in town on a Thursday night and all drinks are €2 - the place is packed - then there is no reason why drinks are not €2 all of the time.

Guiness our national drink is cheaper to buy in more countries around the world than it is in Ireland - even though it is produced in James Gate - believe me I know as I travel alot- and my mother brews the stuff.

Personally - I beleive a fair price for all bottles should be €2.50.

For pints of larger produced in Ireland €3.00 (Guiness, miller, heineken etc)

The for import beer erdinger etc - €4.

A spirit should be €3.50 with a mixer

When you can buy a tray of beer in Dunnes Stores for less that €20 - for 24 bottles - well there is something wrong.

Sure I could go on all day harping on about it

but that is my two cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭lucylu

Sky Sport should be banned in pubs after 9 o'clock.
    Clean glasses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

enda1 wrote: »
    Turn off the telly. Turn down the BritPop.
    More gastro pubs. Be great to have some nice pubs with nice food.

Make a better beer selection.
    Menus! Why do pubs feel there's no need for a menu??

Isn't that what restaurants are for?

Most people just want cheap booze or a bit of nosebag not lung cancer

bryaner wrote: »
    No food served in the pubs I go to, and I don't expect people to breath in my second hand smoke...
    The word is "choice".
    Smoking and non smoking pubs.

The word is "choice".
    Smoking and non smoking pubs.

Non smoking pubs.

Smokers can choose to engage in their anti social habit outside the door.

Personally I don't have a problem stepping outside for a smoke.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Non smoking pubs.

Smokers can choose to engage in their anti social habit outside the door.

In most if not all pubs I frequent the most "social" part of pubs these days are the smoking rooms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

In most if not all pubs I frequent the most "social" part of pubs these days are the smoking rooms.

It's usually where the most fun happens, too :pac: In my local we always hung out in the smoking area, far more craíc. In fact, we hung out there so often that when the owner re-did the place he installed a 2nd bar out there that serves nothing but drink on ice-cold taps :D

If they brought down the price of beers then I'd probably make an appearance more in the city pubs. Though during this current economic downshift jigger-ma-goo I've adjusted to buying Bavaria which comes out to €3 in a load of places.

Still, nothing beats a thick, ice cold Guinness...............can't wait to go home to my local for Xmas :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I don't actually any have problem with the price. I just can't stand the places anymore so I literally wouldn't go back if they were giving away the stuff for free.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    It's usually where the most fun happens, too :pac: In my local we always hung out in the smoking area, far more craíc.

Last week during one of those slightly chilly evenings in one of the out of the way pubs near here, the landlord (with the consensus of all there) let anyone smoke inside next to the fireplace. By the end of the evening there was an atmosphere (not smoke related) in the place like a New York speakeasy in the prohibition days, mighty craic was had that night. :D

Stay out there then