Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Does it get much better than this?

Andrew42 wrote: »
    My opinion of Rovers as sh!theaps is purely personal, we all have our likes and dislikes when it come to wheels, if you take it as sh!tstirring, that's your problem. Good luck!

Ah come on, tell us what yoke out of the VAG family you drive for the craic, it must be some heap of sh1t if you aren't saying :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

RoverJames wrote: »
    No doubt but describing a 2.5KV6 powered MG ZT as a smokey ole Rover just makes you look like a total numpty.

BTW, you drive a ........ ????

It does? :confused: The 75 is a "pipe and slippers" car imho. It was actually lauded as a retro design from the get go. The ZT is perhaps the best of them (I read the detuned BMW diesels were the best) behind the ultra rare V8.

Handling wise they were ok, but nothing special. The ZT is no doubt better than the cooking models, but that's like saying a quick donkey is actually a racehorse. It's not.

The Mondeo was the best handling model in it's class at that time. Arguably still is. The 3.0 ST is a fine engine. Not overstressed at 220bhp but still well able to hustle. The cabin is a nice place to be and a safe one too.

I drive a couple of cars regularly. An 09 Fiesta Zetec S (low tax, and
    running costs, & plenty of power for the driving I normally do these times. It also rides and handles well, and has a good spec.), and a MkII Ford Escort RS2000 when the weather is good.

I've owned and driven many modern Fords, including a 2006 Focus ST which was a lot of fun.

I've also driven plenty of other prestige and high performance cars, including an Audi R8 V10, and have a decent level of trackday experience, and an advanced drivers licence.

Does any of that matter though? :confused: Everyone is entitled to their opinion after all, and you don't need to have a big/fast/expensive car to have a valid opinion on any car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Jaysus James I thought you knew who and who not to fight with! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Ah come on, tell us what yoke out of the VAG family you drive for the craic, it must be some heap of sh1t if you aren't saying :pac:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69437860&postcount=18

Might give you a clue.

Ah bleeding diesel! Bah!

It does? :confused:

I interpreted smokey ole Rover as it was fecked, my Rover doesn't smoke. Btw I spent 12 months in a new 2005 Mondeo, the ZT has far far superior handling. Describing a ZT as a smokey ole Rover I reckon is derogatory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

What the....?

Stop, just stop all of you before you drive me demented altogether

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Look out, that ad is in danger of being thrown into the Dreamer of the year thread!

8300 for an 8 year old ford with high running costs & big tax bills.....nah, no way. Ok you might get lucky with a ford enthusiast looking for an st but even then he's going to want at least 2k of that price. At least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

. Btw I spent 12 months in a new 2005 Mondeo, the ZT has far far superior handling. Describing a ZT as a smokey ole Rover I reckon is derogatory.

Are you completely off your rocker?

Let me get this straight. You are trying to convince us that the majority of the motoring journalists who have said the Mondeo was the best handling car of its class are wrong?

I'm sorry buddie, but an ST Mondeo would indeed leave an MG ZT behind, on the twisty stuff, and probably on the straights too.

I also know which one I would prefer to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Let me get this straight. You are trying to convince us that the majority of the motoring journalists who have said the Mondeo was the best handling car of its class are wrong?

I'm sorry buddie, but an ST Mondeo would indeed leave an MG ZT behind, on the twisty stuff, and probably on the straights too.

I'm not in that habit of asking twice. I'm giving you a 2 day ban

Yawn, this is getting retarded. I said I had a 2005 Mondeo for for 12 months, I never said I had an ST220 Mondeo. If you reckon a standard rep mobile Mondeo can outhandle a ZT you are the one off your rocker ;) The standard Mondeo was a great handler for what it was, it isn't a patch on a Prelude, Integra, FTO. I'm on about a ZT, not a Rover 75.

I have no doubt a 220bhp 3.0 would leave a 2.5 180bhp in the straight, hence why I referred to twisties, the fact you say probably for the straights implies you don't really have a clue what you're on about.

Edit: I'm happy enough to take my ban too to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Yawn, this is getting retarded. I said I had a 2005 Mondeo for for 12 months, I never said I had an ST220 Mondeo. If you reckon a standard rep mobile Mondeo can outhandle a ZT you are the one off your rocker ;) The standard Mondeo was a great handler for what it was, it isn't a patch on a Prelude, Integra, FTO. I'm on about a ZT, not a Rover 75.

I have no doubt a 220bhp 3.0 would leave a 2.5 180bhp in the straight, hence why I referred to twisties, the fact you say probably for the straights implies you don't really have a clue what you're on about.

Edit: I'm happy enough to take my ban too to be honest.
    Is the MG ZT RWD or was that just the V8 that was RWD?

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    Is the MG ZT RWD or was that just the V8 that was RWD?

Only the V8 was rwd :)

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭benj

Surely it's grossly overpriced, no way would I value that at €6000 more than my ZT, which the Mondeo wouldn't be losing in the twisties either me thinks.

asking price is overpriced,but the owner probably knows he will have to take a 20% hit at least from a haggler.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Andrew42

Ah bleeding diesel! Bah!

:confused::confused::confused: DSG refers to a type of gearbox unique to VAG and has no bearing on the type of fuel used. It is found in everything from VAG 1.4 petrols to the Bugatti Veyron, Audi R8 and even the VW Golf R32.

Yeah I know that, just yours has 210k on it and you'd hardly do 210k in an R8 now would ya ;)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Lads, i've never seen such bitchy handbag comments in my life. It makes christmas dinner with the inlaws seem like a picnic.

But, its a great laugh reading it all, and i know you all really love each other. Carry on :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 137 ✭✭Andrew42

Yeah I know that, just yours has 210k on it and you'd hardly do 210k in an R8 now would ya ;)

That's kilometres BTW, and I am sure an R8 or Veyron could just as easily do 200k km.

*sigh*

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭Damie

Onkle wrote: »
    I'm not in that habit of asking twice. I'm giving you a 2 day ban
    A bit harsh, esp as "someone" else is still ranting on about it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Damie wrote: »
    A bit harsh, esp as "someone" else is still ranting on about it....
    Discussing mod decisions on thread is against the forum charter.

RoverJames was banned today for 2 days by Onkle when the post was noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Can I just say this without getting banned.

Everyone shut the fcuk up! Lock this thread its going nowhere:D