Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

EB Licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

I think I will. I'd rarely tow a trailer but when I do they're usually big so its just to make sure I'm legal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

Just wondering what people describe as a left hand bend and right hand bend, most seem to say they'd prefer to go around a right hand in reverse with a trailer? must just be me not preferring that.

Can drive and reverse with a trailer, just dont have a hitch on current car.Dont have a tow bar on my car (its pre 04) but was thinking of putting a one on. Was looking up the requirements from the RSA site if its the car or the total length of the vehicle and trailer that is mentioned? 4.25 metres for the car?

Anyone know of somewhere that does lessons that has a trailer/car set up for a lesson and to rent for the test? ie EB category.

Is the requirement for the EDT for other categories also, I was thinking of putting D categories on a learner permit just to have it on in advance of any changes in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Atilathehun

On a related matter. Went yesterday to renew my licence which is about to expire. Was told at the counter that there is a waiting time of a month to six weeks to have the licence issued!!! Unbelievable! Thought croke park agreement was to sort all that sheet out.
    Gave me a cover letter for the guards in case I'm stopped.
    The troika would want to come back some fine day all guns blazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭O.A.P

My son is nearly 3 weeks waiting for his first learner permit, I was starting to think it has got lost in the post. I had expected it to arrive after a week but now its probably down to this backlog.
    He is going to the tax office Monday with his receipt to follow it up anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

On a related matter. Went yesterday to renew my licence which is about to expire. Was told at the counter that there is a waiting time of a month to six weeks to have the licence issued!!! Unbelievable! Thought croke park agreement was to sort all that sheet out.

Most likely they have lost 20-30% of their staff and an overtime ban!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Stoolbend wrote: »
    I think I will. I'd rarely tow a trailer but when I do they're usually big so its just to make sure I'm legal.

Stoolbend
    Something like this.

http://youtu.be/_FQoC-jbVto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 flyingfarmer

How's this for licensed towing?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOegMivKXUA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭btb

Renewed mine 3 weeks ago, was told 4-5 working days but had it in 2 days, mate renewed his week before, said he needed his straight away, as he was going out the next day, was told to come back at 1 o'c and it was ready for him. This is in tipp, so seems to be no holdup here, same is true in south dublin, sister got her's in 2 days lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ancuncha

Stoolbend, heres the link you requested
    http://www.advancedrive.com/car-trailer-lessons-eb-licence/ you can see the email that the RSA sent out to us instructors.

How did you get on with your theory test?

that website is misleading, as it says you have to have an eb licence to tow a trailer over 750kg, not so

http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Your-Vehicle/About-your-Vehicle/Example-of-non-Dup/Trailers-/Technical-Trailer-Requirements-/

from the rsa website it says that a b licence holder can tow a O1 (up to 750kg) and a O2 up to the weight of the vehicle towing, so if your car weighs 1.5 ton that's what you can tow

the eb licence allows you to tow up to 3.5 ton, as long as the makers of the car says the car can tow that much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

ancuncha wrote: »
    that website is misleading, as it says you have to have an eb licence to tow a trailer over 750kg, not so

http://www.rsa.ie/en/RSA/Your-Vehicle/About-your-Vehicle/Example-of-non-Dup/Trailers-/Technical-Trailer-Requirements-/

from the rsa website it says that a b licence holder can tow a O1 (up to 750kg) and a O2 up to the weight of the vehicle towing, so if your car weighs 1.5 ton that's what you can tow

the eb licence allows you to tow up to 3.5 ton, as long as the makers of the car says the car can tow that much

Including the weight of the towing vehicle. My jeep weighs 2 tonne so I could only tow 1500kg, of which 1000kg would be (at a guess) taken by the cattle box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ancuncha

True, so you can tow a trailer, just an empty one?

The point being you can tow a trailer over 750kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Ltrvale

Are you 100% sure about this? I remember hearing it being reported around the time of the unaccompanied learner driver controversy that you were insured regardless of the status of your licence. i.e. You are insured even if you are breaking the law at the time of an accident. They quoted the example of someone speeding, having a crash, but still being insured. This may only extend to 3rd party cover, I'm not too sure. This may also be a complete pile of nonsense, but I think it would be important to find out the actual position from someone in the insurance industry before frightening yourself with information which maybe no more than someone's strongly-held opinion.
    BTW, I'm not trying to discourage anyone from taking the EB test.
    ya ur dead right i heard it on 2fm a man was on from the national insurance federation of ireland you are covered third party like you said, this is written in euro law it is to protect the person you run into a not to leave them out of pocket as it not there fault you dont have the correct licence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

ancuncha wrote: »
    True, so you can tow a trailer, just an empty one?

The point being you can tow a trailer over 750kg

Trailers are classified as Category O vehicles, and are broken down into subcategories by their Design Gross Vehicle Weight (DGVW). The DGVW of a trailer is the gross weight of the trailer laden with the heaviest load which it can carry having regard to the general construction of the trailer. This figure is specified by the manufacturer.
    • O1 Trailers have a DGVW not exceeding 0.75 tonnes.
    • O2 Trailers have a DGVW exceeding 0.75 tonnes and not exceeding 3.5 tonnes.
    If you have an ordinary Category B licence, you may:
    • Tow an O2 trailer, provided that the DGVW of the trailer does not exceed the un-laden weight of the towing vehicle, and the total design gross vehicle weight of the combination does not exceed a total of 3.5 tonnes..
    So you can tow an 02 trailer if its DGVW isn't more than the unladen wt of the towing vehicle, so it doesnt matter if the trailer is full or empty, it's what the trailer weighs at full load is the determining weight, for example a b license wouldn't be enough to drive a pajero with 8 by 5 livestock trailer probably

Bradfield wrote: »
    ya ur dead right i heard it on 2fm a man was on from the national insurance federation of ireland you are covered third party like you said, this is written in euro law it is to protect the person you run into a not to leave them out of pocket as it not there fault you dont have the correct licence
    But if you're a property owner you will probably be sued to pay, national insurance federation will only pay if there is no other mark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dodgera

Just wondering does any body know of a driving school in Mallow or surrounding areas, that give trailer lessons but also have a jeep and trailer for hire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭deegs

dodgera wrote: »
    Just wondering does any body know of a driving school in Mallow or surrounding areas, that give trailer lessons but also have a jeep and trailer for hire.

I'd be interested in this also.

I'm from Midleton, but am wondering a) where is best to sit EB test (cork, ballincollig or mallow) and b) should I use my own car (1980 land rover 4x4 or 2003 rav4 4x2) and borrow a trailer or can I rent a trailer and 4x4 in Cork?

Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

I'm thinking of trying the EB test without getting any lessons. Does anybody have any pointers on what the examiner looks for, on top of the B test? I'm really thinking about the left hand reverse turn and what combination of mirrors he expects me to use, and how far from the curb I have to be?

So, any ideas of a place that rents a vehicle and trailer (ie a place that does lessons) suitable for the EB test in Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

sorry to bring up an old tread but wondering does anyone hire jeep and trailer for lessons and test in the donegal area ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭mantua

I know Gills do it in sligo if thats any good to ya but lessons cost €120 using their jeep and trailer and €100 using your own jeep and trailer. But when I did the artic with them the instructer said the gaurds are seriously clamping down on lads driving with a trailer and no eb license. Even lads driving tractors with dump trailers and lowloaders on roads are going to have to have the rigid license or maybe even the artic, not 100% on which one it is but I've heard of lads driving tractors pulling low loaders and stopped by the cops and were giving a warning to get the license's or stay off the road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

Jesus €100 :eek: How long does that lesson last for? Surely a couple of hours at least?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭jobseek

They told me it was a two hour lesson when i enquired, couldnt afford them at that price,so just took a chance with the test

mantua wrote: »
    I know Gills do it in sligo if thats any good to ya but lessons cost €120 using their jeep and trailer and €100 using your own jeep and trailer. But when I did the artic with them the instructer said the gaurds are seriously clamping down on lads driving with a trailer and no eb license. Even lads driving tractors with dump trailers and lowloaders on roads are going to have to have the rigid license or maybe even the artic, not 100% on which one it is but I've heard of lads driving tractors pulling low loaders and stopped by the cops and were giving a warning to get the license's or stay off the road..

Guards can say what they like. If the vehicles aren't defective they have no grounds to put anybody off the road until the licensing laws are changed. No offence to you Mantua and I am not saying you are lying but this is bull****. It would never stand up in any court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Can anyone who has done a lesson with the trailer tell us what you learn in the lesson? Is it a whole lot different to an ordinary car lesson?

Guards can say what they like. If the vehicles aren't defective they have no grounds to put anybody off the road until the licensing laws are changed. No offence to you Mantua and I am not saying you are lying but this is bull****. It would never stand up in any court.

I think Mantua is talking about the proposal that was mooted about tractors and trailers that are used for commercial purposes (Dump trailers, low loaders, certain deliveries etc.) The proposal was to regulate this and make these guys use white diesel and to have licensing laws the same as commercial vehicles as opposed to agricultural vehicles. I think they concluded that it would be near impossible to distinguish between agricultural and commercial ventures and the proposal was put on the back burner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

reilig wrote: »
    Can anyone who has done a lesson with the trailer tell us what you learn in the lesson? Is it a whole lot different to an ordinary car lesson?

I took one lesson before doing the test, and one thing I remember is saying that was worth while. He brought me on the route, pointed out any faults (not that I had any:D) and explained the test in detail plus what to expect. Found it very useful, only difference was he told me the route would be mainly rural - he brought me through a town at lunch time on a Friday:rolleyes:

Cran wrote: »
    I took one lesson before doing the test, and one thing I remember is saying that was worth while. He brought me on the route, pointed out any faults (not that I had any:D) and explained the test in detail plus what to expect. Found it very useful, only difference was he told me the route would be mainly rural - he brought me through a town at lunch time on a Friday:rolleyes:

where did you do this? I was looking for a place in Dublin that does this, so if anyone knows who does, as I'd like to add the EB to my licence.
    I've had experience driving small tow vehicles, not so much with cars but I wouldn't be concerned, certainly no problems going forwards, I think its easier with a larger (longer) trailer in reverse than a small one. Preferably that you can see out the back window (i.e. not too low).

Merch wrote: »
    where did you do this? I was looking for a place in Dublin that does this, so if anyone knows who does, as I'd like to add the EB to my licence.
    I've had experience driving small tow vehicles, not so much with cars but I wouldn't be concerned, certainly no problems going forwards, I think its easier with a larger (longer) trailer in reverse than a small one. Preferably that you can see out the back window (i.e. not too low).

Local fella, I called an instructor I knew and he directed me to a fella that gave lessons for trailers. I brought my own jeep and trailer though. One thing trailer has to be box type so can't see out the back window, but you can off course lean out the window when reversing around the corner. As the tester said its a test in your driving skills not your mirror use skills.

I believe the trailer (and the car) have to be a certain size, initially when I saw this, I thought bugger, my car is smaller than that, so have to go the route of hiring.
    I also thought a larger trailer might be a problem, but actually smaller trailers can be more difficult as they can turn easier (to me anyway), so a larger trailer isn't a problem.

I dont think the trailer actually has to be box body though?? just a certain lenght and width (cant find the link in RSA)

Are you far from Dublin, maybe PM the place if not and how to contact the guy?
    Or if anyone knows a place in or near dublin that does this, reply or pm me if you dont want to put it up publicly, thanks.

So was there anything in the lesson really that was specific to the trailer?

Would an ordinary driving instructor not be able to do just as good in your own jeep and trailer? I'm sure that a lot of it was about holding the steering wheel correctly, checking mirrors, watching for clearance, turning and driving in the correct gears?

Besides reversing around the corner no, guess it was such a long time since my last test that it was useful to do...

I think Mantua is talking about the proposal that was mooted about tractors and trailers that are used for commercial purposes (Dump trailers, low loaders, certain deliveries etc.) The proposal was to regulate this and make these guys use white diesel and to have licensing laws the same as commercial vehicles as opposed to agricultural vehicles. I think they concluded that it would be near impossible to distinguish between agricultural and commercial ventures and the proposal was put on the back burner.

ya that's fair enough reilig but these half truths and rumours really get my goat, the same as the one that you need a jeep to pull a double axle trailer.

Lads I got my info off one of Gills main instructers and probably did the lorry test with most men and women in the mayo/roscommon/sligo area and even lads coming from cavan to do the test with him so my point is if he told me its being introduced then Im not going to question him. Hows it fair for lads going out paying thousands for lorry licenses and then seeing some 16 year old driving a 150hp tractor with a 12 tonne machine on the back of it and all he had to do was do a theory test which only cost him €45. Crazy stuff

mantua wrote: »
    Lads I got my info off one of Gills main instructers and probably did the lorry test with most men and women in the mayo/roscommon/sligo area and even lads coming from cavan to do the test with him so my point is if he told me its being introduced then Im not going to question him. Hows it fair for lads going out paying thousands for lorry licenses and then seeing some 16 year old driving a 150hp tractor with a 12 tonne machine on the back of it and all he had to do was do a theory test which only cost him €45. Crazy stuff

Ah tbh Mantua I was not trying to have a go at you as I said earlier. Its just the whole half information and myths around licensing that grind my gears.

By the way I agree with you about the tractor licence as against the lorry license and the difference in white and marked diesel. It does make no sense. Tractors should be allowed to haul diggers etc. but should be on road diesel while doing it.

I also think the idea of the work vehicle license at 16 was o.k when 165's and 4000's were all that was in the country. However as far as I am concerned no 16 yo should be In a 200hp fendt with a 50k box drawing 20ish tonnes about the place. There should be a learner permit limiting their towing weights until they pass a test. This would allow them to drive alone and get experience but at reduced speeds and weights.

Anyhow, rant over but honestly Mantua I defo didn't mean it as a go at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭4odh4n

when i done the test over a year ago it was pretty similar to the car test, just no hill start!
    I got on ok thankfully!... the only minor faults I got marked for were pulling out at junctions... wait for a large break in the traffic... shows you are aware that you are pulling a trailer!
    reversing is handy enough, and you don't have to get around the corner in one move, you can go back and forward if required!
    has to be a box or high sided trailer if towing vehicle is 2004 (i think) or newer, older vehicles can use flatbeds etc, I done the test with my 95 jeep and car transport trailer, oh!, and the trailer has to be capable of carrying over 750kg, otherwise the license is not needed!!
    One tip I was given, and dont know if its checked or not, was to check the hitch when you come out of the test centrer... the vehicle has been left unattended so it should be checked to make sure nothing has been tampered with!

will ya stop your grand!!. But your right about years ago when it was 4000's and 165's and they weren't pulling big machines and roads weren't as busy as they are nowadays were ya have 16 year olds driving massive john deere's with 2500 gallon tankers and trailers full of silage going flat out for 12-14 hours a day during the silage season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭loveta

Guards around here are checking big time for the EB licence if you are pulling a trailer after a vehicle and the combined weight is over 750KG. In reality you'd need to be driving a mini and pulling a wheelbarrow not to be over this weight limit. I got stopped a number of months back with the jeep and 12x6 cattle trailer without the EB licence. They let me away with it but warned me that I should have a minimum of a provisional EB licence and that I should do the test asap.

Biggest problem isn't being caught without it because you can bluff your way out of it by telling them that you thought the load had to be over 750kg as some people have done, but its if you have an accident and your insurance won't cover you because you don't have a licence. If someone got hurt or god forbid killed, it would be a definite jail sentence for you. On your insurance cert, it states that cover is provided under the assumption that you have the correct licence. If you don't, then you're not covered.

As far as i am aware and i was talking to the insurance company in relation to myself and a large group of people "FBD" do/will keep you insured in the event of a accident without the EB licence.But you are driving illegally in the eyes of the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭leex

Have my EB license test in a few weeks. I understand they check trailer lights. Do they need to include reverse lights? I have never seen reverse lights on any trailer around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

leex wrote: »
    Have my EB license test in a few weeks. I understand they check trailer lights. Do they need to include reverse lights? I have never seen reverse lights on any trailer around here.

No. Reverse lights are not necessary on the trailer ;)

Michael Moroney did a big writeup in the country living section of the IFJ yesterday about the EB licence and the rules as and from 19 Jan 2013.

I was nearly as confused as he was after reading it though :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭leex

Re; Trailer weight for EB.

Out trailer is not a known brand, was made by a local trailer maker a few years ago so has no GVW stamps on it etc. Will this be ok for test? It is supposed to be around 750kg.Do I need to prove it is 750kg? Is concrete blocks the only allowable weight that can be used? Could one use for example multiple 25kg bags of feed etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭JCB1

I was under the impression that all trailers needed to be plated now but I dont have a source for that. I wouldn't take the chance on doing the test with an unplated trailer. That said, I did the test last week and the tester did not look at the plate, just checked the lights and couplings.

Regarding lights, if your test is not early morning or late evening (lighting up hours) then he will only check for brake lights and indicators. A good tip is to have spare bulbs and a screwdriver with you on the day, I had a blown number plate bulb when I arrived at the test centre, everything was fine when I left home 30 mins earlier.

JCB1 wrote: »
    A good tip is to have spare bulbs and a screwdriver with you on the day, I had a blown number plate bulb when I arrived at the test centre, everything was fine when I left home 30 mins earlier.

;) Good tip ... where ever you hear it! :p Glad it came in useful ;)

Muckit wrote: »
    No. Reverse lights are not necessary on the trailer ;)

Michael Moroney did a big writeup in the country living section of the IFJ yesterday about the EB licence and the rules as and from 19 Jan 2013.

I was nearly as confused as he was after reading it though :o

Saw that article, decent jeep is only legal with less than 3 tonne........that would leave a twelve ft full cattle trailer illegal never mind a 14 or 16 ft cattle trailer

Muckit wrote: »
    ;) Good tip ... where ever you hear it! :p Glad it came in useful ;)

Great tip, sorry forgot the 'Credit to Muckit' notice. :)
    I couldn't believe that it had blown and I didn't have the bulb, had all the others but not the number plate one. Anyway a quick trip to the local filling station sorted me out with a bulb.

Also some great tips on troubleshooting trailer wiring issues on the same thread.

Yes an ordinary instructor will do, the only thing trailer specific is reversing but you need to allow for plenty room for the trailer when turning at junctions, overtaking cyclists etc. There are some specific rules of the road that apply just for trailers so you would need to be familair with thiose. Mirrors checking is key and you need to physically move your head to show that you are looking even if you never do that in real life.

I would definitely recommend a couple of lessons, I thought I didn't need them but its surprising all the little bad habits that we all pick up over time. Plus it doesn't hurt to have the Instructors inside knowledge on the route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Sorry to resurrect an old one but I had seen it before and said I'd come on to say I passed this today. The tester told me that he is absolutely flat out doing them at the moment. He is going to be 3 days in our local town alone. I am delighted to have the box ticked now.
    I have Insurance, tax, doe, a suitable towing vehicle and the relevant licence for the first time in my life. I am going looking for a checkpoint now to see what it feels like to be in one and have everything right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 db1690

Did you use an instructors jeep and trailer or your own?
    im hoping to do mine soon .Going to use my pre 00 hilux and a 8x5 tipper trailer .I think i just need some weight in it .Is that it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

db1690 wrote: »
    Did you use an instructors jeep and trailer or your own?
    im hoping to do mine soon .Going to use my pre 00 hilux and a 8x5 tipper trailer .I think i just need some weight in it .Is that it?

I had to use a closed box body at least as high and as wide as the jeep. I had heard pre 04 could use a flat trailer alright but I also heatd from an unsubstantiated source that this loophole is now closed. Contact the RSA to be sure. I used my own 12 x 6 ifor cattle box and my own jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Has to have 200kg(verified) weight in it. Lots of lads get bricks with the docket to verify the weight