Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Practical tips for dealing with cold weather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I ordered a pair of ice grips a few days ago, but since they've gone out of stock I'm going to put screws in my runners like this:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

Living in Norway I've picked up a few good tips:

1. Clear your driveway frequently, use grit and salt.

2. Layer your clothes, woolen layers are best.

3. The best tip of them all. :):)

Dont you hate when this happens:
    ice-car.jpg

If you hate scraping ice of your car windows in the morning. Cover your front windshield with a blanket, yes any old blanket. Open the passenger and driver doors and tuck the blanket in and slam the doors closed on it.

Come morning time pull the blanket off and you have a ice free window :)

You can also of course cover the whole top of the car with a larger blanket so you cover all windows. In this case tuck a few inches of the blanket in at each door and close it.

4. Get some of these, the difference is amazing !

driving-in-finland-studded-winter-tires-stronglysuggested.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

Overflow wrote: »

4. Get some of these, the difference is amazing !

driving-in-finland-studded-winter-tires-stronglysuggested.jpg

These tyres are not allowed for use in Ireland, since we don't have a complete long lasting snow covering they would damage the road surface and so are not allowed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

I've worn YaxTrax- not the pro ones. They're great, you get the feeling that it can't be slippy at all until you see other people trying to walk on it. I wore them into shops no problem, you just have to plod a bit slowly. They ARE crap on cleared pavements though- one fell off.

i've ordered them too wouldn't get them till next week sometime:(

are they really crap on a cleared surface?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭cafecreme

fryup wrote: »

Yes, I got some yesterday and you'd break your neck slipping on an smooth surface indoors but I think cleared outdoor surfaces wear down the coils very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭TinaOT

hi guys after numerous trips to carrickmines to try to get grips i finally found a place in bray who are stocking kids, ladies and mens sizes - €17.50 for kids & €25 for adults. I had bought a pair from safety direct for my mum but these ones seem to be a lot better. The place is called Go Tactical and its just opposite the Bray Dart Station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

TinaOT wrote: »
    hi guys after numerous trips to carrickmines to try to get grips i finally found a place in bray who are stocking kids, ladies and mens sizes - €17.50 for kids & €25 for adults. I had bought a pair from safety direct for my mum but these ones seem to be a lot better. The place is called Go Tactical and its just opposite the Bray Dart Station.

Jaysus. Theres me thinking I might try DIY because no where has them and there is someone selling them about 40 seconds walk from my house FFS :D

Nice one!! Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

As a knitter and a person who suffers from reduced circulation my tip is wool and lots of it! If you can get a merino base layer like an Icebreaker top do. They're expensive but worth it as they are lightweight, breathable and give you a warm layer under your clothes. Also long johns under trousers keep you nice and warm. I got a pair of wool and angora ones in Lidl for €13. Layers of clothes keep you warm and then you can always take them off when you go inside or start to heat up.

A hat is essential as are gloves. Mine are hand knit but any wool ones will work. I say wool as synthetic fibers just don't have the same insulating powers and they aren't as warm when wet. Silk, alpaca etc are also good if you are allergic to wool. On my feet I wear woolly socks and my leather hiking boots with a pair of these mini crampons and I didn't slip at all this year. They are the best €15 I ever spent.

This one is more for the ladies but I started using a rucksack instead of a handbag as if you start to slide it's easier to stop your fall if you aren't trying to save your handbag at the same time and you have both hands free.

Making me itch as a severe wool allergy here. Cannot even wear mix over other layers...

Not actually true re insulation; all natural fibes have that "wicking" effect and it is the layers that insulate and the air trapped between.

Silk or cotton next to the skin will do this and after that any layers. Synthetic fleece is excellent as the top layer.

Thermal over silk long johns is excellent and more windproof than wool; the silk wicks the moisture away .

Many thin layers achieve far more than a couple of thick ones.

Same with the head; a cotton cap then fleece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Hot water bottles! Not just for bed! If like me you live in a cold draughty house, a hot water bottle on your lap or under your feet while watching TV is great!

Always keep a bottle of de-icer and a scraper in the car. Last week it was so cold, when I poured lukewarm water on my windscreen, it froze on contact!

I heard this one on the radio and don't know if it's that good but AFAIK it's tried and tested - Rub fire ashes directly onto car tyres for grip.

I also saw a lot of cars with newspapers on their windscreens - I assume it's for insulation?

Empty bleach bottle make excellent hot water bottles and last longer..

An old blanket on the car is better than newspapers; keeps windows clear and helos start on a cold morning. Funny to find it on return still car shaped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 saintNsinnerr

serendip wrote: »
    Also, my plea to the people of Ireland: Please clear the snow from the pavement outside your home.

In Germany , if someone slips in front of your house coz U were too lazy to clean the ice in the front , You have to compensate them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

fryup wrote: »

Yep- try to walk on uncleared grass verges rather than the path. It feels really strange and can't be good for them- also it did make one fall off for me. For pure cleared surfaces- take them off. Practice putting them on and off, doesn't take long. OR bring another pair of shoes with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

Dont know if this is the right place for this question.

Its -14 outside according to my thermometer. It was -10 not too long ago and that seems like a rapid change.

I anticipate further drops but I have never been in this country when it has been this cold and not sure what to do about the heating. Should I leave it on low or medium all night or have it come on a few times a night. I have a small child in the house too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭cabot

We have been leaving ours on at night at these temperatures, to prevent burst water pipes and because the house takes so long to warm up if the heating goes off. Would be interested to hear what others think and do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Keeping the heating on at a lower temperature will be more economical. If you turn it off then it will need to use more fuel to get the temperature back up.

Keeping a room at say 18c is easier that trying to warm up from 5c. The heating will only come on every now & then to maintain the temperature.

We dont have a room thermostat, just radiator thermostats. We turned the heating off when we went to bed at 11.30 and timed it to come back on at 4am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭John mac

I have the heating on for 2 hours in the morning and an hour at 5 oclock.. thats it..

Have a stove (without back boiler) in the living room that keeps most of the house nice for the rest of the day,

Theres no way I could do that lol, it would be freezing in here. We only have gas central heating, no gas fire, no real fire or woodburner although we have an open fireplace that has never been used since we've lived here. Priority next year is to have the chimney swept and some sort of hearth put down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

Calibos
    Did you get those grips in Bray?If so what are they like?They don't open till 11,so thinking of heading down to get some.Kids sick,and hubby,so really need to be mobile if you get my drift(no pun intended):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

bbam wrote: »
    These tyres are not allowed for use in Ireland, since we don't have a complete long lasting snow covering they would damage the road surface and so are not allowed..

Either are snow chains or bullbars, but people still use them on their cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

Graces7 wrote: »

Silk or cotton next to the skin will do this and after that any layers.

Don't wear cotton if you can avoid it.

Cotton collects perspiration and keeps it next to the skin, which makes you feel cold. Years of diving in dry-suits where there is a lot of sweat (on surface) and lots of cold (under water), and experience hiking and doing work outside.

Thermal / synthetic or wool next to skin. Silk is OK.

And layers, lots of thin layers if possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

During the current cold weather the government are advising us before embarking upon any journey to make sure we have a snow shovel, a bag of rock salt, extra clothing, warm drinks, food and a sleeping bag.

I looked a right twat on the bus this morning...

Sorry couldn't resist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭John mac

A good time to defrost the freezer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭TinaOT

snowbabe wrote: »
    Calibos
    Did you get those grips in Bray?If so what are they like?They don't open till 11,so thinking of heading down to get some.Kids sick,and hubby,so really need to be mobile if you get my drift(no pun intended):)

bradys in greystones are stocking them if u havent got them yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭morgana

You know it's cold in your kitchen when you open the fridge and think its nice and warm in there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,744 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Practical tip for dealing with the cold weather:

Flight 182 to Miami

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

Flight 182 to Miami

That wouldn't work from Dublin Airport at the moment MT. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Flight 182 to Miami

At least nobody will be going to Cali this time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Joe Public wrote: »
    I heard that Yak Trax or ice cleats are fine for walking on snow/ice but not good on ordinary ground or for going into shops as they have no grip on hard ground. I guess they are probably like wearing golf or running shoes with metal spikes. If this is the case it might be a bit awkward to keep taking them off and putting back on too often. Has anyone here any experience of wearing them?
    Been using the XTR yaktrax for the last few days:

140415.jpg

They're magnificent on snow and ice, it feels like you're walking on slightly tacky sand at worst. Indoors or on pavement, however, it sounds like a tap dancer having a grand mal seizure, and while it's not unstable, it is a bit awkward and you probably aren't doing the surface much good :(

Mind you, beats a cracked skull...

Ordered them from ebay btw, from a site in Utah, and they got here after the ones I ordered from Austin, TX but weeks ahead of the ones I ordered from the UK, which were apparently posted tonight, so no use for this current cold snap, but might be useful for the cold snap predicted for the first week in January.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Buy shares in snow shovel companies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭forkassed

Get The beers in!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

In Germany , if someone slips in front of your house coz U were too lazy to clean the ice in the front , You have to compensate them..

What if you are not able to clean the ice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Aldi have a good range of Winter/Ski wear 27 December-some very handy stuff for the weather we're having. http://www.aldi.ie/ie/html/offers/offers_week52Monday10.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,765 ✭✭✭Diddler1977

BostonB wrote: »
    What if you are not able to clean the ice?

I'd imagine you would have to pay someone to do it for you then.

Or ask a friendly neighbour to do it?

Those options are not open to everyone.

I've cleared mine twice and its as if I never touched it. New snow fills it right back up. It can wait till theres a serious thaw now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭PattheMetaller

External water supply. In some cases, the builders didn't put the external water feed deep enough in the ground. The most vulnerable point is probably the external stop cock where the supply comes off the local main. If you can find the cover, open it and have a look inside, If the stop cock is relatively close to the surface, see if you can find a piece of polystyrene that will fit in the hole and provide a restriction on air circulation, to try and stop cold air sinking down to the valve. The polystyrene needs to be cut to be a very good fit in the hole, and it might need to be 2 pieces so that they will fit through the cover and then still be large enough to block the hole. It might be the difference between the supply freezing or not freezing.

Steve

I put a few old towels down the hole yesterday around the stop-cock. I presume this will do the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Yorky

Has anyone used shoe chains before such as the ones featured in last weeks Irish Times - http://www.autow.co.uk/AspxPages/ima...Chains:+Size+1 or http://www.autow.co.uk/AspxPages/ima...hains:+Uni-Fit ?

If so, are they any good and where did you get them from?

Thanks in advance.
    Edit/Delete Message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭serenacat

Collect snow in a container e.g. saucepan
    and heat for water to use when water switches off after 7pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭Poochie05

serenacat wrote: »
    Collect snow in a container e.g. saucepan
    and heat for water to use when water switches off after 7pm

It's such a big disappointment when you do that. You collect a bucketful and it comes out as a pint!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

I'm having trouble keeping my hands warm with fingerless gloves...
    Any tips?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Any tips?

Chop off your fingers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭serenacat

I know its amazing how little water is left!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭bionic.laura

Graces7 wrote: »
    Making me itch as a severe wool allergy here. Cannot even wear mix over other layers...

Not actually true re insulation; all natural fibes have that "wicking" effect and it is the layers that insulate and the air trapped between.

Silk or cotton next to the skin will do this and after that any layers. Synthetic fleece is excellent as the top layer.

Thermal over silk long johns is excellent and more windproof than wool; the silk wicks the moisture away .

Many thin layers achieve far more than a couple of thick ones.

Have you tried any clothing with bamboo? It's supposed to be good at moisture wicking and hopefully no allergy worries either. Yep layers are great. Silk is a good base layer, I have a silk balaclava for caving where you spend most of your time cold and wet and it's great. I wouldn't use cotton as a base layer as it absorbs moisture and doesn't dry or wick quickly. If not wool I usually use something made from coolmax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭onway

During the last cold spell I bought several pairs of supposedly 'thermal' socks as I tend to have very cold feet!!! None of them were really any good and most days I wore 3 pairs of socks - which did not fit very well inside my boots........Can anyone recommend a good brand of thermal socks for ladies.....

Wear a plastic bag between two socks. You'll probably be too hot then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭flutegirl

As mad as this sounds, it works. Someone I work with did thisfor some of the days, kept her feet dry and warm. I laughed when she told me that someone had suggested it to her and she would try it out. Her feet were nice and toasty ;)

Its as old as the hills. Cyclists do it a lot. Keeps feet dry and warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Maxamber

Any tips?

Fingerless gloves are great for working outside, but I stick gel handwarmers in each pocket to rewarm my hands if it's viciously cold. Got mine in Lidl mid-Nov, but Tesco in Arklow still have them for about 3 euros a pair. I'd think the Great Outdoors, sports or camping shops would have them too. Get several sets as they have to be simmered in hot water over heat for 10 minutes to reliquefy them for the next use. Just sitting them in hot water doesn't work.

OR you could get a pair of Sealskinz gloves: they're light, thin and fit really well and are really warm even when wet. Mine were a gift but I think they're fairly expensive, about 40 euros a pair. Wash by hand and dry on a radiator, don't tumbledry them as it does something weird to the insulation and makes them tricky to put on (guess how I know this?!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Raffeal

Yorky wrote: »
    Has anyone used shoe chains before such as the ones featured in last weeks Irish Times - http://www.autow.co.uk/AspxPages/ima...Chains:+Size+1 or http://www.autow.co.uk/AspxPages/ima...hains:+Uni-Fit ?

If so, are they any good and where did you get them from?

Thanks in advance.
    Edit/Delete Message

Yorky I have winter tires on my car in Ireland but have used chains in the Alps and Canada. Chains are a lot better than socks which are prone to ripping but it depends on what you're using them for.

It can take a while to get used to fitting chains, once you've found the knack it's no problem and only takes a few minutes. Socks are easier to put on and are suitable for short journeys in wet or slushy snow, i.e. they'lll get you home. They're not much use on ice though and don't tend to last long. If you want to be able to drive safely on ice and snow and need to be on the road regularly I'd go for the chains.

Think halfords are selling them, you'll probably get them cheep now as the snow's gone till feb. I bought mine in a garage in France years ago, and they've worked on many a car at this stage, they last a few more years yet, doubt I'd say that if I'd bought snow socks.

Just make sure you get the right size for your car and wheels.