Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

a grand to spend!!!

• 11-12-2010 3:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭

lads i was thinkin of up grading my road bike and availing of bike to work scheme,wat would ye recommend id buy for the thousand mark,hopin to get somethin wot a bit of carbon..thanks all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

This. The fork is carbon.. Or if you really want a carbon framed bike you could try buying this from me although it wouldn't be through the BTW scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭Paul Kiernan

If you can stretch another couple of hundred there's this.

Incidentally, can't you buy a second-hand bike under the BTW scheme?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I am pretty sure that you cannot get a second hand bike under the scheme. But if you could, I will shortly be having a clearout of my older bikes and have a 54cm Trek Madone 5.9 - 2004 model year - few scuffs on the frame, but otherwise perfect - Full Dura Ace 7800 groupset, nice finish kit and Mavic Ksyrium SL wheels for 1100. Will do it with Cosmic Carbone SL's for 1350.

If you are buying on the scheme, there are plenty of good options out therre, although not quite as good now that the boardman bike in halfords has gone up to 1500 from 1250 - prior to that I dont think there was a better bricks and mortar deal in the country. Keep an eye out for that one in the new year if they drop it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Thats exatly what I would have done had I known about this deal before I got my bike.
    It seems like a great deal.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,703 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

New (and complete) bikes only under the BTW scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

Beasty wrote: »
    New (and complete) bikes only under the BTW scheme

Unless you local bike shop happens to deal the occasional second hand bike of course, great deals can be had if you find a second hand bike in the likes of cyclesuperstore and get the BTW scheme discount on top of it.
    The lads are right in saying Adverts.ie and the like are still a no no though if you're looking to buy under the scheme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,143 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Unless you local bike shop happens to deal the occasional second hand bike of course, great deals can be had if you find a second hand bike in the likes of cyclesuperstore and get the BTW scheme discount on top of it.

No, the scheme is for new bikes only. There is no "unless", unless the unless is "unless you break the rules".

Lumen wrote: »
    No, the scheme is for new bikes only. There is no "unless", unless the unless is "unless you break the rules".

Are you sure about that? Because I bought a second hand bike under the scheme and there wasn't any problem. And there's nothing in the faqs on the cycle to work scheme website about second hand bikes and I don't remember ever hearing anything about it before. Once you have an invoice from your bike shop and all that I can't see how or why there would be a problem since the stated aim of the scheme (to encourage cycling etc) is not being contravened and the revenue is not being de-frauded about the amounts of money changing hands.

Is there something in the small print I'm missing?

Are you sure about that?

Yes. It has been discussed before. :)

Well where have you read it if you're so sure? The information pack from the revenue explicitly states that there is no limit on where the bicycle may be purchased and makes no mention of second-hand equipment. So, do you have a source for your information?

It has been discussed before. :)

In the god-knows how many cycle to work threads I've read on here the issue of buying a bike from adverts.ie or ebay has been discussed because you don't get a receipt to show the revenue.
    Any equipment in a shop that falls under the category of bicycle and bicycle safety equipment (as outlined under the scheme) is fair game whether it has been previously owned or not.
    I'm not a lawyer or anything like it, and my research has not been exhaustive but I've not been able to find anything written down (other than in this thread) that says what I've suggested is against the rules. As such, I'd say if you ask your local bike shop, the revenue commission or anyone who's bought a second-hand bike and used the scheme to pay for it they'll tell you there's no problem.

Sorry for dragging this thread a bit off topic but I can't very well rest when I think someone on the internet might be wrong, my reputation as a pedant depends on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,508 ✭✭✭Lemag

Fight! Fight! Fight!

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 77,703 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

S118 5(G) TCA 1997:
    (a) Subject to paragraph (c) of this subsection,
    subsection (1) shall not apply to expense of up
    to €1,000 incurred by the body corporate in, or
    in connection with, the provision for a director
    or employee of a bicycle or bicycle safety
    equipment, where—
    (i) the bicycle and bicycle safety equipment provided is unused and not second-hand....

(my emphasis)

and yes, this has been quoted before in threads, as has the Revenue guidance document which also states this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭teufelswerk

In the god-knows how many cycle to work threads I've read on here the issue of buying a bike from adverts.ie or ebay has been discussed because you don't get a receipt to show the revenue.
    under the scheme) is fair game whether it has been previously owned or not.

I have to agree with you here, I tried making this point some time ago but it seemed to fall on deaf ears. I cannot get a link to the page from my phone but i have the URL below. This thread actually gets laughable towards the end. For people who claim to work in tax they're remarkably by the book, not sure how that business model works for tax advisors. I got some offensive responses to this so I'm glad someone else shares my view. Will update to link once I get to my laptop tomorrow.

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055400577&page=6

For people who claim to work in tax they're remarkably by the book, not sure how that business model works for tax advisors. I got some offensive responses to this so I'm glad someone else shares my view.

I've explained the rules, provided the legislative back-up, and also confirmed I am a specialist in this area (with over 25 years experience). You don't like what I am saying, and there's not a lot I can do about that.

I would add that any tax advisor should, of course, go by the book - that's their job!!

Now (with my Mod hat on), I will re-iterate that encouraging anyone here to break the law will not be tolerated

For people who claim to work in tax they're remarkably by the book, not sure how that business model works for tax advisors

FWIW, I have never worked with an accountant who could be persuaded to break the law. Finding loopholes is one thing (and legal), wilfully misreading the legislation is just inviting a professional indemnity claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭teufelswerk

FWIW, I have never worked with an accountant who could be persuaded to break the law. Finding loopholes is one thing (and legal), wilfully misreading the legislation is just inviting a professional indemnity claim.

I agree, none of us accountants would admit to that.

My point is that it's the administration of the scheme that is flimsy. You can log onto a well known Irish bike stores website right now and add absolutely anything you want from that shop to your btw quote. This quote is brought to the HR department in your company who will look at the bottom line figure and issue the necessary credit to buy these goods. Unless they examine the itemized list that will be cleared.
    You are obviously aware of these admin holes, my favorite being the one-for-all vouchers some companies issue. I mean if you're going to use the quote as proof of purchase at least make sure the credit given by your company will be for the shop it was intended.

I agree, none of us accountants would admit to that.

My point is that it's the administration of the scheme that is flimsy. You can log onto a well known Irish bike stores website right now and add absolutely anything you want from that shop to your btw quote. This quote is brought to the HR department in your company who will look at the bottom line figure and issue the necessary credit to buy these goods. Unless they examine the itemized list that will be cleared.
    You are obviously aware of these admin holes, my favorite being the one-for-all vouchers some companies issue. I mean if you're going to use the quote as proof of purchase at least make sure the credit given by your company will be for the shop it was intended.
    It's not an "admin hole" - it's breaking the law.

Now back on topic

Beasty

The canyon Lemag mentioned is nice. A carbon fork is always worthwhile I reckon but there's not always a huge difference between a nice alluminium frame (and the canyon frames are supposed to be very nice) and a cheapish carbon frame so yeah, gets my vote.
    Another contender would be focus (http://www.wiggle.co.uk/focus-cayo-105-2010-ltd-edition/).