Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlos Tevez Hands In Transfer Request

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    What limerick lad?

:o

I am intrigued!

Shame on you, you're from Limerick aren't ya?!

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/no-regrets-says-limerick-man-despite-ban-for-wayne-rooney-goal-celebration-2010-11/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

mars bar wrote: »

I've been out drinking with that dude, didn't realise it was him at all.

Haha! I'd say he's nuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Voltwad wrote: »
    Tevez has been by far their most important player this season and to having him leave would be a huge blow.

He's a great footballer, but I get the impression he's as thick as pig**** and his advisors happily take the piss and milk every penny they can out of him.

The Balotelli one is interesting as well, I was listening to the commentary on 5 live on the way home and they said he couldn't give a ****, also he was one of the few players Moriniho openly criticised.

There's definately unrest, but the Sheik won't mind if they staty at the top of the league.

quite

a lot of skill down on the feet but upstairs id say he is found wanting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Haha! I'd say he's nuts!
    Only met him the once on a work night out, that was it!

2 years, wow, that's a hefty ban tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

Courtesy of the Limerick lad who got fined and banned for celebrating with Rooney! :pac:

Stolen for FB use

Only met him the once on a work night out, that was it!

2 years, wow, that's a hefty ban tbh.

Well, he was doing everything bar raping him on the pitch!

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    Stolen for FB use

I did that too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭JayMul

Voltwad wrote: »
    He's a great footballer, but I get the impression he's as thick as pig**** and his advisors happily take the piss and milk every penny they can out of him.

So true, I wouldn't consider him a great footballer though. Great athlete but I always thought I was looking at a bit of a headless chicken when he played for United. Give me Berbatov any day, much more refined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Why on earth would a top player like him, on top of his game and on massive wages, even consider such a thing?

coz its a job he doesnt really like, coz hes made enough money to have him and his family comfortable for the next hundred years in his home country, and because he'd rather be with his wife and children than running around a field all day?

here's a shocker for you, some people view what they do for a living as a job and don't really like it. he's just on enough money that he can quit earlier than joe bloggs can

why the beef? he made it clear a LONG time ago that he doesnt like his job. yes he's good at it, but if he wants to quit that's his shout. would you be whinging about it if he was a deadly dentist?

Tbh, knowing very little about his personal situation, I'd kind of blame his family for his instability, they don't seem to have done a great job of supporting him through all his ups and downs. But then that could be reading it wrong...

i honestly dont get this mentality. the guy is good at something he doesnt really like. loads of people are. some are great accountants but think its boring, some are amazing at computer programming but hate the monotony. just coz his job is a glamorous job he's supposed to love it? you like what you like, but that doesnt mean you like what you're good at.

ill have more respect for him as a man if he throws his hands up and says "you know what, ive made my money and me and my kids are set up for life now. but because its not something i liked, im chucking it in after 8 years as a pro and now i'll do something i enjoy"

just coz youre a good footballer, and the people who worship you want to be too, doesnt mean you're somehow obliged to do it as long as you can

more power to him. he views it as a job. he made it clear its a money thing, not enough footballers do that. its a job for a lot of them, they do their thing and get paid handsomely. they make so much coz they're really good. just coz they're really good doesnt mean they owe the sport their lives. feck that! they should only do it til they're happy with their lot in life. some want trophies, some want the security of their family. each are entitled to their opinion

i sure as feck wont abuse carlos tevez for picking one over the other. who here wouldnt walk from their job after making 8 or 9 million? footballers are no different from you or me. apart from that theyre better at a higher paying job than we are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

First thing's first - the captaincy needs to be taken off him and given to Kompany.

If he wants out then let him go. No one player is bigger than the club. Yes we would not be at the top of the table without his goals but if he's made up his mind then there's no point in harbouring an unhappy player who could cause more disruption.

He has a long contract with us so we can demand big bucks from possible suitors, though that might be a bit off putting for most. If he goes back to Boca or whoever then fair enough but if he signs for another European club then that will be unforgiveable.

Whatever happens, it's a massive downer on a day we should be celebrating going joint top of the table.

And lol at the smugness from certain posters. He's scored 39 goals in 60 games so even if he does leave now I'd rather have had those 39 goals than not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

I think Tevez has a bigger opinion of himself than he should.

why is that? how much has he made from his job in how many years? im pretty sure the opinion he has of himself is fairly grounded in fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Xavi6 wrote: »
    If he goes back to Boca or whoever then fair enough but if he signs for another European club then that will be unforgiveable.

What? Why?
    Boca cant afford him surely?
    Only top european teams can IMO?

He owes Man City absolutely nothing.

Unforgiveable :pac:

What are you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

He owes them either a nice fat transfer fee, or the remaining few years of his contract.

Tom_Brady wrote: »
    He owes them either a nice fat transfer fee, or the remaining few years of his contract.

if anyone wants to pay it, or if he wants to play for anyone else

otherwise man city got what they paid for... plenty of goals

if he decides that hes done with the game and walks away never to play for another team, city might miss out on a trasfer fee, but they got what they bought for the duration of the time they paid for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

Helix wrote: »
    i honestly dont get this mentality...
    Its damn hard work to get to the level Tevez is at. I just don't see how he could have gotten there without a love of football. As a football fan I find it strange that someone could just fall out of love with the game. Thats why I'd assume theres something else in his life thats not right.

Of course hes probably just pulling a Rooney and looking for more money.

This saves me the bother....
    if anyone wants to pay it, or if he wants to play for anyone else

otherwise man city got what they paid for... plenty of goals

if he decides that hes done with the game and walks away never to play for another team, city might miss out on a trasfer fee, but they got what they bought for the duration of the time they paid for it

What? Why?
    Boca cant afford him surely?
    Only top european teams can IMO?

Unforgiveable :pac:

He owes City for the next three and a half years.

If he says that his reasons for leaving are to go home and spend time with his family and signes for Boca then that's fine. If he signs for Madrid or whoever then it's a completely different story, as I said in the bit you quoted.

I'd have thought all that would be quite obvious and hardly debateable.

AgileMyth wrote: »
    Its damn hard work to get to the level Tevez is at.

unless youre naturally just really, really talented?

He owes City for the next three and a half years.

If he says that his reasons for leaving are to go home and spend time with his family and signes for Boca then that's fine. If he signs for Madrid or whoever then it's a completely different story, as I said in the bit you quoted.

I'd have thought all that would be quite obvious and hardly debateable.

He doesn't need to justify anything to anybody.

He moved from United to City, why wouldn't he move to Madrid?
    Why would you get upset if he did move to Madrid or another European club?
    We dont know why he handed in a request. He hasn't been quoted that he's handing in a request to go home AFAIK has he?

He played fantastically while at City and always gave 100% IMO. He doesnt want to play with City anymore. It happens all the time with footballers. They have control.

Contracts can be easily broken these days. A 3 year contract means very little if the player is unhappy. He signed a long contract. That contract is paid by the week not up front. He doesnt owe them the next 3 and a half years. That would be absurd! Man City dont own him ffs...

He doesn't need to justify anything to anybody.

He moved from United to City, why wouldn't he move to Madrid?
    Why would you get upset if he did move to Madrid or another European club?

Because he has stated that he wants to be close to his family in Argentina. If he moves home he will have kept his word. If he moves to another European club he will have lied to the fans about his reasons for wanting a move.

I really don't know what part of that you're not grasping as I've said it three times now.

Moves to Argentina ----> true to his word
    Moves to Madrid ----> lied

Can't put it in simpler terms than that.
    He played fantastically while at City and always gave 100% IMO. He doesnt want to play with City anymore. It happens all the time with footballers. They have control.

They have control to a certain extent. The club has the final say in what happens once a player is under contract.
    Contracts can be easily broken these days. A 3 year contract means very little if the player is unhappy. He signed a long contract. That contract is paid by the week not up front. He doesnt owe them the next 3 and a half years. That would be absurd! Man City dont own him ffs...

He is relying on City playing ball with him. He's the one that wants to break his contract and can only do so if the club agree.

City could force him to sit out his contract and not sell him to another club. They could make him rot in the reserves and his only option would be to retire.

He put pen to paper on the deal and now wants to break it. The club are under no obligation to agree to that, though they will as it will be in their best interests to do so.

Because he has stated that he wants to be close to his family in Argentina. If he moves home he will have kept his word. If he moves to another European club he will have lied to the fans about his reasons for wanting a move.

I really don't know what part of that you're not grasping as I've said it three times now.

Moves to Argentina ----> true to his word
    Moves to Madrid ----> lied

Can't put it in simpler terms than that.

He handed in a transfer request.

As i said, we dont know if he handed it in to go home.
    He hasn't said he handed in a transfer request to go home. He stated he will eventually go home in previous interviews but AFAIK he has not said he handed in a transfer request to Man City to go home. If you have such a quote i'll stand corrected, theres no need to be so condesending TBH

As i said before, players have the power. ManCity are in a better position than anyone to keep hold of him and let him rot in the reserves. Why they would do that when he gives 100% on the field is beyond me. If a player wants out, let him....it happens all the time

He handed in a transfer request.

As i said, we dont know if he handed it in to go home.
    He hasn't said he handed in a transfer request to go home. He stated he will eventually go home in previous interviews but AFAIK he has not said he handed in a transfer request to Man City to go home. If you have such a quote i'll stand corrected, theres no need to be so condesending TBH

I'm not intending to be condescending so apologies, but it's not just as simple as him handing in a transfer request. The reasons behind it are very important.

He has said that he wants to go home at some stage so putting two and two together the logical reason for the request is that. It may turn out to be something else but until then I'm not going to get consider anything else as the club have yet to make a statement.
    As i said before, players have the power. ManCity are in a better position than anyone to keep hold of him and let him rot in the reserves. Why they would do that when he gives 100% on the field is beyond me. If a player wants out, let him....it happens all the time

They wouldn't do that. My point is that they could though, thus removing any power from the player.

He has said that he wants to go home at some stage so putting two and two together the logical reason for the request is that. It may turn out to be something else but until then I'm not going to get consider anything else as the club have yet to make a statement.

They wouldn't do that. My point is that they could though, thus removing any power from the player.

It would be logical to think he handed in a transfer request to go home, but can any team in Argentina realistically pay 25m+ for him. Very doubtful. It would make more sense to see out his current contract and then go home. I think a breakdown between Mancini and himself is most likely and he will play with one more European team before he goes home.

Man City could hold onto him, having every right too, but he'll be moved on IMO. Man city have the money to replace him but its a big blow for Man City IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

The lads a cnut, lets not beat around the bush.

The little compadre is rich now, he has some serious money, he has no interest in football, he has no interest in city, no interest in medals, trophies, accolades etc

He's a cnut

only1stevo wrote: »
    The lads a cnut, lets not beat around the bush.

The little compadre is rich now, he has some serious money, he has no interest in football, he has no interest in city, no interest in medals, trophies, accolades etc

He's a cnut

what in the above makes him a cnut?

would you not leave your job if you were rich at 25?

what in the above makes him a cnut?

The fact that he's a horrible liar?

I knew he was a liar......but a horrible liar.....ya he's a cnut alright :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,445 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I hope he changes his mind. He is the best player in the Premier League imo. I really enjoy watching him play anytime I get the opportunity.

where did he lie? hes been pretty open for a while that he didnt like football and would only do it til he had enough money

i honestly dont get what the issue is here? is it that everyone is bitter that hes good at something they want to be good at, yet he doesnt want to do it?

would yis rather he was like joey barton?

where did he lie? hes been pretty open for a while that he didnt like football and would only do it til he had enough money

i honestly dont get what the issue is here? is it that everyone is bitter that hes good at something they want to be good at, yet he doesnt want to do it?

would yis rather he was like joey barton?

Well first off, he said he would not join one of Man Utd's rivals, that is until City came along. And then there's the whole "til death do us part" promise, but that's another story.

Would I rather he was like Barton? Hell yes. The most entertaining player in the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

glad united got rid, he's a liabilty good player but a bad pro and overall trouble maker.

been living in england a long time now and never even bothered to learn the language while he was at united.

him and his buddy mascherano are a pair of *****rs:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I am starting to see why Ferguson shipped him out of United.

Yep, you's couldn't afford the transfer fee.

Request rejected -

http://mcfc.co.uk/News/Team-news/2010/December/Carlos-Tevez-A-statement
    It is with disappointment that we confirm to our supporters that Carlos Tevez has submitted a written transfer request. The Club can also confirm that the request has been rejected.

The Club remains disappointed by this situation and particularly with the actions of Carlos' representative.

Roberto Mancini and all at the Club have shown, and will continue to show, sensitivity to Carlos' personal circumstances including the issue of his family being based overseas. Indeed following his suspension as a result of the game against Bolton, Carlos requested, and was given, special dispensation by the Manager to take leave overseas.

The written transfer request is in stark contrast to Carlos' stated position in both public and club contexts. Significantly, over recent months, the Club has also received numerous requests from Carlos’ representative to renegotiate and improve his playing contract as well as more recently a request to extend that contract by another year.

However, in line with the Club's policy of not negotiating playing contracts mid-season this has not been granted. Carlos' current five-year contract has three-and-a-half years to run and he is the highest paid player at the Manchester City Football Club.

This is both an unfortunate and unwelcome distraction and the Club will remain focused on the games ahead in what is turning out to be a very promising season. The door remains open for Carlos to be selected to play.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

sounds like he wont be captain anymore imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Maybe he's just doing a Rooney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Let me state here now that I will no more refer to him as a great City player if he does a Rooney on it............End of, no matter how many fcuking goals he gets!!!!!:mad:

If he wants to go home then go fcuking home or else have the balls to come straight out and say he thinks the manager is a pr1ck and doesn't want to kick a football ever again for him..........

Request rejected -

Would there be anything good to come of it if he were let go???
    Tbh, I'm not 100% on how these transfer dealings work......I mean, there is hardly any point in keeping him when he has asked to leave, is there???

Would there be anything good to come of it if he were let go???
    Tbh, I'm not 100% on how these transfer dealings work......I mean, there is hardly any point in keeping him when he has asked to leave, is there???

If it's about money then he could be just calling the club's bluff. His agent must know that with three and a half years left on his contract that potential suitors would be limited in terms of transfer fee. City obviously know this as well.

City are under no obligation to bow to his demands immediately, however if he submits a second or third request then the club will probably cave rather than deal with the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Man City have too much money to be messed around like this. They should just say to him 'fair enough, you can head off. This is your transfer fee and once it's met, you can go. If nobody meets it, it's not our fault that nobody wants you enough. Until then, you're playing for this club and these fans'

Meanwhile, prepare a bid for Torres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Lukker- wrote: »
    Maybe he's just doing a Rooney.

Looks that way. It's the way football is headed unfortunately. City fans will be shouting his name from the stands in a few weeks time just like United fans think Rooney is a legend once more. Sad times in the game to be honest.

Mister men wrote: »
    Looks that way. It's the way football is headed unfortunately. City fans will be shouting his name from the stands in a few weeks time just like United fans think Rooney is a legend once more. Sad times in the game to be honest.

Tevez, Rooney, Gerrard....

They're all the same, aren't they MM?

monkey9 wrote: »
    Man City have too much money to be messed around like this. They should just say to him 'fair enough, you can head off. This is your transfer fee and once it's met, you can go. If nobody meets it, it's not our fault that nobody wants you enough. Until then, you're playing for this club and these fans'

Meanwhile, prepare a bid for Torres.

My hubby would never speak to me again if we robbed Tevez from them:eek::D

Loved Tevez, just loved him and being honest.......the fact that we robbed him from under Uniteds nose made the love even stronger:D
    but that's it for me with regards to him...

I have to agree with Xavi, if it wants to return home then fair enough but if he moves to another club I'd be genuinely disappointed and annoyed that Utd fans may have been bleating the truth all along......and I hate when they are proved right ever:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

glad united got rid, he's a liabilty good player but a bad pro and overall trouble maker.

been living in england a long time now and never even bothered to learn the language while he was at united.

him and his buddy mascherano are a pair of *****rs:D

Adebayor or Ferguson never bothered learning the language either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Mister men wrote: »
    just like United fans think Rooney is a legend once more

That's a big generalisation there. I'll support the player if he's playing in the shirt but Rooney's reputation is forever tarnished, in my eyes. I'm sure he can live with that though. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

it's sickening stuff reading about this.
    pure and utter greed, and how fickle are fans that they'll support him next week

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Not the best news to receive after waking up from a night on the town, very disappointed in fairness. However I think we should let him go, there is no point keeping a player that does not want to play for the team and it can be be good for dressing room morale. He should also be stripped of the captaincy immediately.