Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlos Tevez Hands In Transfer Request

PHB wrote: »
    lol.
    Just lol.

Also, he's not good enough for Madrid, nor any club trying to compete at the highest levels (i.e. both the league and the CL). He needs to play week in week out. He can't deal with not playing every 90 minutes. Not only does his game suffer, but he's an emotional train wreck.

Not good enough for Madrid? :confused:

C'mon, you really saying Benzema and Huigain are better players?

He's far superior to both these players. His strike rate for City is phenomanal. 39 goals in 58 apps. If this is him playing when he's an emotional train wreck what would he be like if he was happy and content at a club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,278 ✭✭✭✭CSF

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Not good enough for Madrid? :confused:

C'mon, you really saying Benzema and Huigain are better players?

He's far superior to both these players. His strike rate for City is phenomanal. 39 goals in 58 apps. If this is him playing when he's an emotional train wreck what would be like if he was happy and content at a club?
    Tevez may be better than Benzema, but he is definitely not better than Higuain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

CSF wrote: »

Whether that is true or not I suppose is open to personal opinion but the fact remains that he was superb for us.......:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,832 ✭✭✭✭JPA

It's easy for me to say but why don't his family live in England?
    He's been there over 4 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Oh the bitterness is strong in this one.

Bitterness?

Lol.

Ive seen the team I support win everything there is to win in my lifetime,what possible reason would I have to be bitter?

Mentioning them in the same breath as United or Arsenal is ludicris

City = won nothing
    United + Arsenal = between them won everything

Its not rocket science lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

don't know, i'd rate Benzema a far superior player technically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,391 ✭✭✭d22ontour

karma_ wrote: »
    Definitely, just to expand on my earlier post, I'm now all for selling him he he desires it

I always said when players personal lives are being affected by something then looking at it from a footballing point of view isn't the best idea.
    If he wants to go home then i would see no point in keeping him if that is the reason which it does seem to be imo.
    He has personal problems which in fairness he should prioritize.I think if he does leave/retire then you will need to get a replacement in quickly as his loss would be a substantial blow to your ambitions.

nedtheshed wrote: »
    Bitterness?

Lol.

Ive seen the team I support win everything there is to win in my lifetime,what possible reason would I have to be bitter?

City = won nothing

This post is even more bitter than the last :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

CSF wrote: »

It's the style of play madrid play, Jose wants a target man that can hold the ball up as well as play football. Tevez don't suit that system. Imagine an on form Drogba in that madrid team and it would be even more impressive.

Long way to May boys, we'll see how the table looks then. But i suppose you can enjoy the moment for a few days at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

Tevez is a very, very good player but I think he flourishes in situations where he is the star, and he doesn't take kindly to not playing, much like most top quality players. I don't think he'd work out at Madrid, in fact he'd almost be a better fit for Atleti!

Straight swap for Kun, Aguero gets his big money move and Tevez gets to move to Madrid:pac:

rarnes1 wrote: »
    This post is even more bitter than the last :pac:

Why exactly?

Im genuinely curious.

I say something thats true.

That makes me bitter?

The sky is blue.

*bitter

Grass is green.

*bitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

Well Higuain got 63 goals in 104 games for Madrid, that is pretty impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,970 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Bitterness?

Lol.

City = won nothing

History has absolutely nothing to do with it.

It's a fact that City can just fire money at another player to replace him. What's so outlandish about that?

In fact, the bottomless pit of cash is far more relevant than whatever bit of history you decide to fire out, so yes it is bitterness towards our ability to pick up a replacement at the drop of a hat.

We can also be mentioned in the same breath as both United and Arsenal based on the current league table, which is all that matters right now.
    The sky is blue.

The sky is blue alright, bright MCFC blue :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Why exactly?

Im genuinely curious.

I say something thats true.

That makes me bitter?

The sky is blue.

*bitter

Grass is green.

*bitter

I think the "joke of a team" comment sounded bad considering city are top of the league.
    I don't support any English premiership team, but its bitter comments like that make me want to see them win the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

It's a fact that City can just fire money at another player to replace him. What's so outlandish about that?

In fact, the bottomless pit of cash is far more relevant than whatever bit of history you decide to fire out, so yes it is bitterness towards our ability to pick up a replacement at the drop of a hat.

Well yeah, History does have something to do with it when players just wont come to City no matter how much money from their bottomless pit they shell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

You can't replace Tevez at the drop of a hat given that in terms of contribution towards the team, he is streets ahead of anybody else you've been able to attract up until now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

m@cc@ wrote: »
    You can't replace Tevez at the drop of a hat given that in terms of contribution towards the team, he is streets ahead of anybody else you've been able to attract up until now.

I wouldn't say that, Silva, Toure and Balotelli were all quality signings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭CorkMan

If Tevez goes IMO city should make a move for Alexandre Pato from Milan. Milan already showed they sell there players if the money is there a la Kaká to Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

"in terms of contribution towards the team"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,305 ✭✭✭DOC09UNAM

Bit too early to say they've been quality no?

Toure hasn't even been that impressive.

Balotelli has just managed to look a spoilt child in every game.

Silva I will give you, he does look like a very sharp little player, and could potentially win games for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

CorkMan wrote: »
    If Tevez goes IMO city should make a move for Alexandre Pato from Milan. Milan already showed they sell there players if the money is there a la Kaká to Madrid.

Yeah but Berlusconi is under a lot of pressure politically and there may well be an election coming up, which will make him less likely to sell a high profile player.

Fuhrer wrote: »
    Well yeah, History does have something to do with it when players just wont come to City no matter how much money from their bottomless pit they shell out.

The sentiment is of course correct, but we've seen all too many times that money talks at the end of the day.

The last two years have been nothing but comments about wanting City to fail and saying that money doesn't buy you success. Well we'r pretty much halfway through the season and the club is joint top of the league and into the latter stages of the Europa League. There has been consistent improvement barring the odd blip.

History will only get you so far, If City are challenging for major honours AND have the cash then history really does become null and void.
    m@cc@ wrote: »

'Streets ahead' is very much an exaggeration tbh. Silva has been sensational this season, and Yaya Toure has found his feet.

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    Bit too early to say they've been quality no?

Toure hasn't even been that impressive.

Balotelli has just managed to look a spoilt child in every game.

Silva I will give you, he does look like a very sharp little player, and could potentially win games for you.

I don't think there is any doubt that they have serious pedigree in fairness. Balotelli, yes we could have problems there but Toure has been getting better recently and as for Silva, well he has been superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Got to love the karma. It wasn't long ago City fans were laughing it up about the idea of Rooney leaving (and maybe going to them). I guess Tevez is finally going to pursue that music dream back in Argentina.

I'll be doing the above dance if he heads off.

We can also be mentioned in the same breath as both United and Arsenal based on the current league table, which is all that matters right now.

The sky is blue alright, bright MCFC blue :)

Everyone knows there is a bottomless pit of money availaible.The team will potentially lose their best (for them) player,the attitude of we dont particularly care,we will just throw money at someone else if they leave smacks of

I personally find it extremely distasteful,if you think that equates to bitterness fair enough.

I was going to use a different analogy than the sky is blue because I figured that the "its Man City blue" comment would be trotted out but I used it just to see.Thanks for proving me right.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Mister men wrote: »
    United fans think Rooney is a legend once more. Sad times in the game to be honest.

I certainly don't. I want him sold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Fuhrer wrote: »

Well, they went to Chelsea, didn't they and they've managed to win a few trophies since.

Everyone knows there is a bottomless pit of money availaible.The team will potentially lose their best (for them) player,the attitude of we dont particularly care,we will just throw money at someone else if they leave smacks of

I personally find it extremely distasteful,if you think that equates to bitterness fair enough.

Was it distasteful to flog Stam and replace him with Ferdinand?
    I was going to use a different analogy than the sky is blue because I figured that the "its Man City blue" comment would be trotted out but I used it just to see.Thanks for proving me right.;)

No worries, at least we're both on the same wavelength when it comes to the word association ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

monkey9 wrote: »
    Well, they went to Chelsea, didn't they and they've managed to win a few trophies since.

Chelsea bought a lot but they didnt really buy any big names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Good luck to him. Always gave his all whenever he played and was a success at each of the clubs he was at. Fair play to him for prioritising his family life over his football.

Was it distasteful to flog Stam and replace him with Ferdinand?

Stam was sold because he fell foul of Fergie.Its pretty obvious that if you lose a player in a key position,you replace them with as near a quality player as you can get,that is not the point Im making.

What Im getting at is that with City its a case of meh,we dont particularly care if Tevez leaves,if he does we will just throw money at whoever will take it,thats what I find distasteful,the attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,037 ✭✭✭✭adox

Good luck to him. Always gave his all whenever he played and was a success at each of the clubs he was at. Fair play to him for prioritising his family life over his football.

If only he was.

Chances of him returning to Argentina are slim to none IMO.

Disgraceful behaviour during the week, with his substitution. From the outside the City dressing room is starting to look a little out of control. Mancini leaving, is probably the only realistic option unless City decide to ship out a load of the current squad.

Their league position belies what's simmering under the surface IMO and they will implode before the season is out under Mancini.

Stam was sold because he fell foul of Fergie.Its pretty obvious that if you lose a player in a key position,you replace them with as near a quality player as you can get,that is not the point Im making.

What Im getting at is that with City its a case of meh,we dont particularly care if Tevez leaves,if he does we will just throw money at whoever will take it,thats what I find distasteful,the attitude.

Attitude? The money is only the enabler, these two scenarios are identical, without money when Stam left there would be no Ferdinand, likewise if Tevez leaves we replace with similar quality. There is no difference whatsoever in these incidents.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Attitude? The money is only the enabler, these two scenarios are identical, without money when Stam left there would be no Ferdinand, likewise if Tevez leaves we replace with similar quality. There is no difference whatsoever in these incidents.

Send me on a link there where Stam put in a transfer request/ acted like a little bi-tch for a few months/ used his family as an excuse.

If a player is going to feck you around then you have two choices -

1) Mourn, cry yourself to sleep at night and deny it's really happening.

or

2) Shrug your shoulders, get on with it and remember that the club comes first.

Now which of those two is the best in these circumstances? I make no apologies for choosing the latter, and it certainly isn't distasteful.

lordgoat wrote: »
    Send me on a link there where Stam put in a transfer request/ acted like a little bi-tch for a few months/ used his family as an excuse.

I'm talking about swapping like for like in replacement terms, not the reasons behind the transfers.

I'm not trying to defend Tevez here, and I'm not sure of the point your trying to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Helix wrote: »
    i honestly dont get this mentality. the guy is good at something he doesnt really like. loads of people are. some are great accountants but think its boring, some are amazing at computer programming but hate the monotony. just coz his job is a glamorous job he's supposed to love it? you like what you like, but that doesnt mean you like what you're good at.

ill have more respect for him as a man if he throws his hands up and says "you know what, ive made my money and me and my kids are set up for life now. but because its not something i liked, im chucking it in after 8 years as a pro and now i'll do something i enjoy"

just coz youre a good footballer, and the people who worship you want to be too, doesnt mean you're somehow obliged to do it as long as you can

more power to him. he views it as a job. he made it clear its a money thing, not enough footballers do that. its a job for a lot of them, they do their thing and get paid handsomely. they make so much coz they're really good. just coz they're really good doesnt mean they owe the sport their lives. feck that! they should only do it til they're happy with their lot in life. some want trophies, some want the security of their family. each are entitled to their opinion

i sure as feck wont abuse carlos tevez for picking one over the other. who here wouldnt walk from their job after making 8 or 9 million? footballers are no different from you or me. apart from that theyre better at a higher paying job than we are
    He won't pack it in,if he wanted to he would have already,you don't get to the level he's at without some sort of passion for the game and if it was only money he was doing it for well then he would have been happy to play second fiddle to berbatov and not be so pissed off getting substituted at city,it's just toys out of the pram time again,he's shown again he's a disruptive little git and I've no doubt he will be at another European club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

what do you propose we do then???.......leave the space vacant for fear of coming across distasteful to people or throw some more money at him and hope he backs down with some pi$$ poor excuse about the future direction of the club....

Pat on the back by the way for setting up an inevitable response "man city blue" and then bringing attention to it...:rolleyes:

if he wants out, let him off and then we fill the position with someone else who does want to play in this corner of the world..simple and how the hell is it distasteful that we can afford someone decent?? It's how it is!!

And has been alluded to by another poster earlier either here or in the City thread the club has gone out of it's way to accommodate Tevez already so maybe the time has come to just quit caring and move on......

what do you propose we do then???.......leave the space vacant for fear of coming across distasteful to people or throw some more money at him and hope he backs down with some pi$$ poor excuse about the future direction of the club....

Pat on the back by the way for setting up an inevitable response "man city blue" and then bringing attention to it...:rolleyes:

if he wants out, let him off and then we fill the position with someone else who does want to play in this corner of the world..simple and how the hell is it distasteful that we can afford someone decent?? It's how it is!!

And that's why he's bitter. He knows you're a threat to his club now and that you's will win trophies now. Maybe even more than Utd over the next few years.

I don't blame him. I'd be bitter if the Arabs took over at Everton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Tevez is an overpaid mercenery, The hightest paid player in City puts him on more that toures 220k a week and he's still not happy. I hope they call his bluff because he won't be getting that money anywhere else and will be forced to back down IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

tevez missing the champo league , 'arry get the chequebook out and nab him in Jan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I think some people here are missing the point. City are throwing money at players who don't really have a passion for the club - Tevez, Robinho, Adebayor, Balotelli etc - so when one of these mercenaries then decides to leave, if your attitude is 'sure we can always just get another one in', then you are only serving to continue the cycle. The player power is so out of whack that I suspect the majority of City fans would have sided with Tevez over Mancini before this transfer request was handed in. No wonder players are storming off in a huff and treating him like sh*t. He has no authority as the lunatics are running the asylum.

So what's the answer? I suspect they will up his wages and it will be left until the summer to sort out which means it will be left up to him. I doubt there will be any sort of apology forthcoming from Tevez should this happen. Whether this would be the right call is debatable. What does it do for morale knowing your best player wants out and that the manager hasn't got the respect of several in the dressing room? When the chips are down late in the season are the players going to rise to the occasion or will they be happy enough just as long as the money is there?

BERBA wrote: »
    tevez missing the champo league , 'arry get the chequebook out and nab him in Jan

So you want Harry to spend a load of money on a class player to help improve your squad and maybe win the Champions League??

I'm sorry, Berba. But your attitute is so distasteful!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

who would have thought a disfigured argentine brought up in slums would take the mickey out of BOTH teams from Manchester.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,162 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Bitterness?

Lol.

City = won nothing

What are you talking about here? History is it?

Well if you look at history closely then you would see that City have won the top flight title in the past. In fact its been 41 years since they won the top league in England but they only became the richest club in the country two years ago.
    United didn't win the league for 27 years but they were the richest club in the league during all that time.
    Manchester City and Arsenal have won everything bar the European Cup. City won the Cup winners Cup back in 1970, Arsenal have the Uefa Cup they both have all the other honours.
    United and City have won everything between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,162 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I think some people here are missing the point. City are throwing money at players who don't really have a passion for the club - Tevez, Robinho, Adebayor, Balotelli etc - so when one of these mercenaries then decides to leave, if your attitude is 'sure we can always just get another one in', then you are only serving to continue the cycle. The player power is so out of whack that I suspect the majority of City fans would have sided with Tevez over Mancini before this transfer request was handed in. No wonder players are storming off in a huff and treating him like sh*t. He has no authority as the lunatics are running the asylum.

So what's the answer? I suspect they will up his wages and it will be left until the summer to sort out which means it will be left up to him. I doubt there will be any sort of apology forthcoming from Tevez should this happen. Whether this would be the right call is debatable. What does it do for morale knowing your best player wants out and that the manager hasn't got the respect of several in the dressing room? When the chips are down late in the season are the players going to rise to the occasion or will they be happy enough just as long as the money is there?
    How can you say for certain that all those players don't have any affection for the club?
    Also from his comments a few weeks back, he suggested he felt disrespected in the locker room by younger players. If thats the case and he wants to move on as a result of it then you can't really blame him. He is willing to give up huge wages to have some peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

eagle eye wrote: »
    How can you say for certain that all those players don't have any affection for the club?
    Also from his comments a few weeks back, he suggested he felt disrespected in the locker room by younger players. If thats the case and he wants to move on as a result of it then you can't really blame him. He is willing to give up huge wages to have some peace.

He was only asking for a wage rise. He is clearly in it for the money. madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Tevez is the ''highest earner at the club'' according to the Manchester City official statement on this. ****ing hell, Toure's on £220,000 so Tevez is probably on around £250,000 :eek:

Pocket change to the Sheikh though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elius

163031_172413129455910_100000616734155_396551_4241141_n.jpg

Thought this was funny apologies if not appropriate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,046 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

elius wrote: »
    163031_172413129455910_100000616734155_396551_4241141_n.jpg

Thought this was funny apologies if not appropriate...

You should apologise for the duplication!