Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pipe Bomb found under car beside The Wright Venue last night

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭NSNO

Just saw this on Twitter from the Defence Forces and Cllr. Alan Farrell.

Absolutely nuts altogether. Defence Forces calling it a "viable IED". Was anyone there last night? See anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Very slow evacuation from Wrights last night. Seemed to be in no rush! When I was upstairs I saw a Garda car outside, with the lights flashing but not unusual in Swords, so I thought nothing of it. Eventually we were told to move out. I never heard any staff member talking about why we had to leave. I heard about the bomb from someone I was on the phone to. They had the whole front entrance and car park blocked off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Alicat wrote: »
    Very slow evacuation from Wrights last night. Seemed to be in no rush! When I was upstairs I saw a Garda car outside, with the lights flashing but not unusual in Swords, so I thought nothing of it. Eventually we were told to move out. I never heard any staff member talking about why we had to leave. I heard about the bomb from someone I was on the phone to. They had the whole front entrance and car park blocked off.

Which terrorist organisation claimed responsibility?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Sure how would I know? I was pissed :p

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭imokyrok

The speculation is <snip>

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,290 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

No speculation as to who is behind this

Beasty

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭kravmaga

http://news.ie.msn.com/article.aspx?cp-documentid=155512304

Very sad state of affairs, Garda at Swords are investigating.

This club has been in the media for all the wrong reasons in the past 24hrs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 LittleFoot1

I was there last night too, I also hadn't a ****ing clue what was going on, had to ****ing walk home too :wave:

Wasn't someone stabbed there as well?

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Jeez, not looking good at all that place. Glad I've never gone there. Seems nothing but trouble!

Nah tbf it is nice enough inside and stuff, just cause it is in swords it gets bad rep by a few knackers

Sure the planners took account of the potential for trouble when granting permission and ensured Swords had enough Garda to police the venue, So one murder, a car bomb and a riot and stabbing of a bouncer are only blips in the last couple of months.

Anyone know how much they increased Swords garda staff by when they opened a supernightclub in the area?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Anyone know how much they increased Swords garda staff by when they opened a supernightclub in the area?

I'd hazard a guess in the order of not at all. Not a slur on the Gardaí, but there's trouble maybe 2 or three nights a week for a few hours. Doesn't justify extra staffing - they just call on other stations if a situation gets out of hand.

I personally hate the place. It too exclusive, too celeb-based and is trying too hard. Yeah it's a "supernightclub", but it's a reputation bought by huge money as opposed to other nightclubs and pubs and bars that are great because they're well established with plenty of regulars. Give me tamangoes ANY night.

I think its more a case of people are getting buses from all over Dublin to go there so if they don't get in they get pissed off having to go all the way over there, then not to get in. They are left stranded there. So they hang around and end up getting into fights etc.

Then again, Woodies ain't open that late to sell knives, so they're coming prepared! :cool:

Yeh, Barcode is closed. So all the hassle and trouble that went on there has moved to a new home.

Larianne wrote: »
    I think its more a case of people are getting buses from all over Dublin to go there so if they don't get in they get pissed off having to go all the way over there, then not to get in. They are left stranded there. So they hang around and end up getting into fights etc.

Then again, Woodies ain't open that late to sell knives, so they're coming prepared! :cool:

And pipe bombs!! :D They must be still subsidising coach fares from around town. A few more blips and you wont have to worry about trouble outside it, Perhaps they can offer the Garda Association a decent deal next weekend for their Xmas party! :D

I'm going Tomanagos on satuday :wanky:

I don't really like the DJ in the venue but it is better than velvet so I go

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Danniboo

What annoys me is the fact we weren't evacuated until an hour after they found the bloody thing, and a polish fella was murdered first and last time i'll be going near the place.

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭derra_121

Danniboo wrote: »
    What annoys me is the fact we weren't evacuated until an hour after they found the bloody thing, and a polish fella was murdered first and last time i'll be going near the place.

The polish guy was stabbed in town not in the wright venue! Suppose your not going to go out in town no either no?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Danniboo

derra_121 wrote: »
    The polish guy was stabbed in town not in the wright venue! Suppose your not going to go out in town no either no?

The papers say he was stabbed leaving the club. why do you care whether I go out in town or not, hardly a relevant comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 320 ✭✭derra_121

Danniboo wrote: »
    The papers say he was stabbed leaving the club. why do you care whether I go out in town or not, hardly a relevant comment.

Cause im stalking you ;-) ha ha ha

Im pretty sure he got stabbed in town tho on Parnell St. and walked/helped into the Routinda where he died. They had it closed for a few hours after

See you in Wright Venue next week ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Homer

The polish man that was stabbed wasn't attacked in the club? He just happened to be socialising there? He was stabbed well after he left. Think the venue are getting negative PR over that incident to be fair.

I'll still be going to the venue :)
    See ya all there :toppa:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭celticbest

Every week when you look at the Fingal it mentions that someone was arrested in Airside after 2am, common sense says that more than likely these people where in the Venue.

How come there are so few arrests in other places around Swords like the Harp, Velvet the Slaughter Lamb :confused:

As far as I can tell from what I've read in the Fingal very few people arrested in 'Airside' are from Swords. This club is a major attraction for people from all over Dublin & beyond. I've heard of people coming from Dún Laoghaire, Bray, Ashbourne, Drogheda, Dundalk to name just a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

The club seems to be attracting the wrong crowd. :confused:

Location Location Location

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

So Swords is rough now? My god I wonder how all you would cope where I live!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Have you got pipe bombs where you live?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Have you got pipe bombs where you live?

Occasionally yes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Cool :pac:

Lux23 wrote: »
    So Swords is rough now? My god I wonder how all you would cope where I live!!

No, not at all. Swords is a grand area to live in. Never felt unsafe there in my life!