Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you don't miss about the 90s

• 12-12-2010 11:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭My.testicals

Rick Astley, for one.

Joe Bloggs jeans - I used to hate these.

• Registered Users Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

Well, thanks be to jebus Rick Astley never encroached on the noughties/two thousands...GAH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭Iron Hide

Gina G and that " ooh ah just a little bit" nonsense

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

56k modems.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Pre-pubescence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Hairy vaginas
    Chris Evans on tv
    Hundreds of boybands
    That anti-piracy videotape ad where the guy complains about his Trainspotting bootleg
    Undercuts
    The Lighthouse Family
    Mr Blobby
    Waiting an hour to download a song
    Alan Shearers goal celebration
    Backwards flat caps
    Fully dressed women in rap videos
    Playstation loading screens
    Macauly Culkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

the poofy hair-do's
    coloured jeans
    friends (the show!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

battlefield earth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Sunny D

Listening to bizarre screeching noises while trying to get on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

16bit games on the PC

Not being able to ring somebody from a mobile phone just because you could.

Naf Naf jackets or Johhny Brubaker Jackets

Two Unlimited

Zits

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭My.testicals

Thought of another. Bryan Adams and that fcuking song "Everything I Do."

On the same note Wet, Wet, Wet and "Love is all around."

Reebok pumps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 856 ✭✭✭D e e

Saved by the bell
    cassette tapes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭dirtyghettokid

fedor.2. wrote: »
    Reebok pumps
    D e e wrote: »
    Saved by the bell
    cassette tapes

aww man! but those were win! except when cassette tapes got chewed :( or you had to rewind forever to get back to your fav song........or... or... lol

Furbys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

I was going to say the TV show "Friends" but the fvcking thing seems to be repeated more than ever now. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,152 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Not having Motorways. I really don't miss that.

Sorry to rain on your parade but Rick Astley's heyday was late 80s. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭My.testicals

Karsini wrote: »
    Sorry to rain on your parade but Rick Astley's heyday was late 80s. ;)

Aw :(

The rest stay!

aww man! but those were win! except when cassette tapes got chewed :( or you had to rewind forever to get back to your fav song........or... or... lol

Sh*te I thought this was "things you miss about the 90s"
    missed the "don't", whoops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

being a virgin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 ohnelly

school

where in the world - or whatever it was called...ye know that quiz?

those heaters with the gas cylinder, you'd get a broken thumb trying to start it when the gas was running out!

padded hairbands and scrunchies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Fido dido
    The leaving cert
    Being a virgin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Videos. Having to forward through the ads and rewind the movie before you bring it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

being too young to visit all the places in Europe where Easy Company fought :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

Platform shoes
    The luminous clothes revival of the late 90s
    CD Walkmans
    Arranging to meet people by land line and having to be on time.
    The beginning of the manufactured pop explosion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

the hassle of getting good weed in ireland...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Yokes laced with Rat Poison

Big mobile phones with ridiculously short battery lives and few functions..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I don't miss the 90's in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

The porn famine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

Stone Temple Pilots
    Spice Girls

But I do miss
    knee-high laced up boots on girls,
    Slagging off Leeds fans

I don't miss the 90's in general.
    I do miss the General. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

High prices for flights....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Hairy vaginas
    Chris Evans on tv
    Hundreds of boybands
    That anti-piracy videotape ad where the guy complains about his Trainspotting bootleg
    Undercuts
    The Lighthouse Family
    Mr Blobby
    Waiting an hour to download a song
    Alan Shearers goal celebration
    Backwards flat caps
    Fully dressed women in rap videos
    Playstation loading screens
    Macauly Culkin

Crikey; you must have been waiting to get this off your chest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

XworX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

XworX

Had loads of them and I was cool as fcuk!

*really I looked like an idiot*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

Thought of another. Bryan Adams and that fcuking song "Everything I Do."

On the same note Wet, Wet, Wet and "Love is all around."

It would have went on to be the longest at number 1 too only for Marti Pellow also got fed up of it and pulled the plug on it :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Most of it, bar the music - both chart and alt - in the early part of the decade. Not trying to be elitist - I love pop music, but it was sh1t in the 90s IMO. The 80s was the decade for fantastic chart music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Things you don't miss about the 90s

My teens.

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Spice girls shoes! (I don't remember the proper name but you know those ones with the 5+ inch heel all around)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Dudess wrote: »
    Most of it, bar the music - both chart and alt - in the early part of the decade. Not trying to be elitist - I love pop music, but it was sh1t in the 90s IMO. The 80s was the decade for fantastic chart music.

Got going in the mid 90's imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Whigfield's towel-no matter how many times you watched it stayed on:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Rockery Woman

Driving an ancient and downright dangerous car.
    Woodies Alcoholic Lemonade.
    Buying second-hand clothes.
    Battered Burgers.
    Doc Martens laced up to the knees (1 hour to put them on 4 hours to take them off)
    FAS Youthskills Course.
    DIY Highlight Kits - awful - used to make hair go green!
    Pound Shops (Constance Carroll anyone?)
    Topping up your coke with a naggin of vodka on the sly in the pub.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 393 ✭✭bonerjams03

Driving an ancient and downright dangerous car.
    Woodies Alcoholic Lemonade.
    Buying second-hand clothes.
    Battered Burgers.
    Doc Martens laced up to the knees (1 hour to put them on 4 hours to take them off)
    FAS Youthskills Course.
    DIY Highlight Kits - awful - used to make hair go green!
    Pound Shops (Constance Carroll anyone?)
    Topping up your coke with a naggin of vodka on the sly in the pub.;)

Most of that stuff is still around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Those horrible jackets that looked like they were made from garish blankets
    Exams
    Dial-up internet
    Fuzzy TV picture when watching British terrestrial television stations.
    The Spice Girls
    Not very good Indie bands like The Wedding Present
    Telephone boxes - though perhaps if today's allergy prone kids were to spend more time in these germ-ridden edifices they might have better immune systems
    Having to go to London on one of those god-awful ferry/coach packages due to exorbitant prices of flights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

spots
    teenage years
    algebra

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭bhovaspack

Britpop music and Britpop related paraphernalia, such as faux-vintage zip-up tracksuit tops.

Lack of good music festivals in Ireland.