Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've a horse outside!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

no

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I'm all for bucking the system and all that jazz but this is just an embarrassment. It shouldn't be allowed in the music section, nor in the comedy section. It's neither. I'm sure they're in breach of the Trades description act or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,936 ✭✭✭✭Basq

This is in far too many places already and I'm tempted to lock this... but here's my 2c on it:

It's goddamn trash!

I don't get it.. it's not catchy and it's not funny. It's just poor and embarrassing, and I can't help but cringe when I hear / see it.

There's a thousand better comedy songs on YouTube that don't get nearly as much exposure.

Don't know what's worse.. The Rubberbandits or the people lapping this sh*t up! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Big H

I think its all about where in Ireland your from ..
    I doubt D4's would like it for some reason (could be wrong)

Seems like a song for the culchies really . About time :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

In Galway last weekend it was the song at parties and afterwards. The streets, taxis and chippers echoed to it after the pubs and clubs closed. iPhones and iPods provided the tinny backing tracks to bunches of off-key choirs from Salthill to Eyre Square and from the Wesht End to Mervue - I was glad to get home for a rest from it.

It's gone viral and I cannot explain why, but there is something vaguely endearing about a West of Ireland version of a Limerick accent!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Definitely for turf munchers but if it does make number 1 it'll be the best Christmas number 1 in the Ireland since around 91, so in that way I support it 100%.
    Anything but the usual bland plastic rubbish we get bombarded with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭stunt_penguin

basquille wrote: »
    This is in far too many places already and I'm tempted to lock this... but here's my 2c on it:

It's goddamn trash!

I don't get it.. it's not catchy and it's not funny. It's just poor and embarrassing, and I can't help but cringe when I hear / see it.

There's a thousand better comedy songs on YouTube that don't get nearly as much exposure.

Don't know what's worse.. The Rubberbandits or the people lapping this sh*t up! :mad:

You could replace Rubberbandits with X-Factor in that post and it would still ring true.... the point here is that yes, it is a terrible song, it's crass and not massively funny, it's embarrassing to us as a nation and we'll never hear of them again after this (or at least in relative terms- they'll still have their show)...... but these are the reasons why we SHOULD ****ing buy it as an up-yours to the retards who are pushing for the other embarrassment from TV to get to the top.

We should hold the Rubberbandits in higher regard than cowell's fake manufactured pop sentiment... if you can't fight fire with fire then maybe you should throw some sand on it... or some horse****. Or kick them in 'da feyyce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

It's goddamn trash!

Here's my 2c on it. It's genius!

Take a bunch of stereotypes about Limerick knackers, shoehorn them into a love song with some brilliant one liners and make it a catchy Christmas number one. Brilliant! I think what's worse is people with obvious sense of humour bypasses bemoaning the song.

Its even funnier than all the Biffy Clyro fans complaining about how their song was 'ruined' by the XFactor…

Biffy suck anyway.

nm wrote: »
    Definitely for turf munchers but if it does make number 1 it'll be the best Christmas number 1 in the Ireland since around 91, so in that way I support it 100%.
    Anything but the usual bland plastic rubbish we get bombarded with.

Not true. Change the accents and any place names and it's plenty of places in Dublin, or Cork or any urban area in Ireland.

You could replace Rubberbandits with X-Factor in that post and it would still ring true.... the point here is that yes, it is a terrible song, it's crass and not massively funny, it's embarrassing to us as a nation and we'll never hear of them again after this (or at least in relative terms- they'll still have their show)...... but these are the reasons why we SHOULD ****ing buy it as an up-yours to the retards who are pushing for the other embarrassment from TV to get to the top.

We should hold the Rubberbandits in higher regard than cowell's fake manufactured pop sentiment... if you can't fight fire with fire then maybe you should throw some sand on it... or some horse****. Or kick them in 'da feyyce.

Kirsty McCall will be 10 years dead this Saturday. Surely a much better thing to do would've been to get Fairy Tale of New York to number 1. It's a finger up to Simon Cowell and XFactor, it's a proper Christmas song, and above all it's not a bloody embarrassment.

How's A Horse Outside an embarrassment? Are they singing about your family?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭c montgomery

It's goddamn trash!

Its defiantly catchy, more so that alot of pop songs.

How's A Horse Outside an embarrassment? Are they singing about your family?

It's embarrassing that so many people would go out and buy it, and that so many people seem to think it's clever. It just shows that people will buy anything.

Actually I don't see any difference in people buying the XFactor song and people buying this. It's got to a point know where you could release anything, call it a protest against xfactor and people would buy it, it's a money making scheme and nothing else. People who think they're standing up to xfactor or whatever by buying this are just lining someone else's pockets.

The Saw Doctors released a Christmas song this year with all the money going to charity, surely backing a song where nobody profits except charity would've been a proper way of sticking it to the commercialism of xfactor.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

The Rubber Bandits have a history of producing original, witty acerbic songs commentating on / sending up social issues from their own locality and they're ours, all ours, 100% Irish, 100% authentic.

Their latest offering might not be their greatest opus but it is catchy and witty - it grows on you, as I've discovered. :) But then I'll support anything, including the Saw Doctors new release, that doesn't have Cowell / Sony-BMG stamped on it.

It's embarrassing that so many people would go out and buy it, and that so many people seem to think it's clever. It just shows that people will buy anything.

Again I don't see the embarrassment factor. Why are you embarrass by other people buying it? Is it capitalism in general that embarrasses you? I don't it's clever, I don't think you'd meet anyone who's going to say it's clever but it is a laugh.
    Actually I don't see any difference in people buying the XFactor song and people buying this. It's got to a point know where you could release anything, call it a protest against xfactor and people would buy it, it's a money making scheme and nothing else. People who think they're standing up to xfactor or whatever by buying this are just lining someone else's pockets.

It hasn't got to that stage yet. Sadly the cage against the machine campaign never took off - now that would have been a genius number one. If people thought it was rubbish it wouldn't have matter how much a campaign was organised nobody would have bought it. Surprisingly a lot of people think it's the business. Definitely a lot more than I thought would have. I think that's pretty cool.
    The Saw Doctors released a Christmas song this year with all the money going to charity, surely backing a song where nobody profits except charity would've been a proper way of sticking it to the commercialism of xfactor.

Yeah definitely the Saw Doctors is the more worthy contender for your money I'll grant you that. While we're at it we can buy the Fair City single as well to help fill us with the cosy glow of helping others but I'd much rather see the Rubberbandits at No.1 for Christmas. I seriously couldn't give a toss about it being a reaction to the XFactor.

Anyone listening to them debating it on Live Line? It's gas.

Wille O'Dea is defending it, and one of the rubberbandits is on saying it's art and metaphors and all that.

EDIT: I have to say I don't find this song to be terribly funny at all, but the reaction of these people on the radio about it being a bad influence on people, and that kids will be encouraged to buy bags of yokes and all that, it's ridiculous!! I don't find it funny, but I know that's the intention behind it. They're not being serious.
    God!! The things that people get outraged about when there's so many other things going on in their own back yards, I'd be more concerned with that than a few guys taking the piss out of Limerick.

Not true. Change the accents and any place names and it's plenty of places in Dublin, or Cork or any urban area in Ireland.

Ok I accept that, my real point was the second one though, that it's better than any of the other rubbish that usually tops the irish charts this time of year.
    It's got to a point know where you could release anything, call it a protest against xfactor and people would buy it

It's highly likely to be xmas #1 but that has little if anything at all to do with protesting against the xfactor. Its going to sell because its catchy and people like hearing it, it's clearly gone viral and now with mainstream publicity aswell it's probably the favourite.

I can't see anyone going out and buying/downloading this 3 or 4 copies etc in some sort of campaign like they did with RATM. That's not why people are listening to it, even search on boards it's been posted about 100 times already and theres been barely a mention of an anti-factor campaign.

nm wrote: »
    I can't see anyone going out and buying/downloading this 3 or 4 copies etc in some sort of campaign like they did with RATM. That's not why people are listening to it, even search on boards it's been posted about 100 times already and theres been barely a mention of an anti-factor campaign.

No but there are plenty of things going around telling people when to buy it to make sure it gets to Christmas number 1. It's already out now and if it was just a case of people liking it they'd be buying it whenever they wanted. There is no real relevance to being Christmas number 1 in Ireland, other than beating the XFactor.

I like it better now that Limerick is getting all offended by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Kold wrote: »
    I like it better now that Limerick is getting all offended by it.

One guy rings up on Joe Duffy complaining about it and now the entire city is offended by it? Get a grip ffs. Since when do the Joe Duffy brigade represent the views of the entire nation. Go onto the Bandits thread in the Limerick forum and see how "Limerick is getting all offended" there. :rolleyes:

magma69 wrote: »
    One guy rings up on Joe Duffy complaining about it and now the entire city is offended by it? Get a grip ffs. Since when do the Joe Duffy brigade represent the views of the entire nation. Go onto the Bandits thread in the Limerick forum and see how "Limerick is getting all offended" there. :rolleyes:

Fair enough, but the troll aspect is the best aspect to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

The profits from the Rubberbandits Horse Outside song will be going to charity.

No but there are plenty of things going around telling people when to buy it to make sure it gets to Christmas number 1.

Agreed, the amount of jokers on facebook is annoying.
    It's already out now and if it was just a case of people liking it they'd be buying it whenever they wanted.

They are, sure its already number 1 on the itunes charts.

It's one of those things where people didn't realise they were supposed to be offended by it until someone got up on their soap box and riled them all up.

One guy who rang into liveline hadn't even listened to it, he was just responding to what they guy from Limerick was saying. It'll probably all kick off in the papers and that tomorrow and people who had no idea it even existed will be up in arms about it.

I have to reiterate the fact that even though I've said I don't find it funny, and don't really think it's something we should be proud of per say, I don't really see the harm in it. Not like these loons ringing up Joe Duffy about it.

tech2 wrote: »
    The profits from the Rubberbandits Horse Outside song will be going to charity.

Really, because that's not what Blindboy implied on Joe Duffy earlier. When asked about making money off his art being a compromise as an artist he said, and I quote " I am an artist, but I loves money!!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

im from dublin and i enjoy the tune its clever but i think the song was intended for cultchies not dubs for sum reason i say cultchies love this tune

• Registered Users Posts: 6,012 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

It hasn't got to that stage yet. Sadly the cage against the machine campaign never took off - now that would have been a genius number one. If people thought it was rubbish it wouldn't have matter how much a campaign was organised nobody would have bought it. Surprisingly a lot of people think it's the business. Definitely a lot more than I thought would have. I think that's pretty cool.

Eh, Firstly it's rage against the machine not cage. And secondly it did take off and it did get to number one.

baraca wrote: »
    Eh, Firstly it's rage against the machine not cage. And secondly it did take off and it did get to number one.

He's talking about this year's John Cage campaign.

baraca wrote: »

http://www.catm.co.uk/

It was a campaign set up this year to get John Cage's 4.33 to Christmas No.1 this year.

Please do keep up.