Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've a horse outside!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭kronsington

Kold wrote: »
    I like it better now that Limerick is getting all offended by it.

I'm from Limerick and not one person I know is offended by it

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

ricero wrote: »
    im from dublin and i enjoy the tune its clever but i think the song was intended for cultchies not dubs for sum reason i say cultchies love this tune

Why though? Just because they have Limerick accents?

You could take this exact song, change no lyrics and have some Dublin scumbags doing it and it'd be the same exact song. Would people from Dublin like it better then, and people from "down the country" not get it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Why though? Just because they have Limerick accents?

You could take this exact song, change no lyrics and have some Dublin scumbags doing it and it'd be the same exact song. Would people from Dublin like it better then, and people from "down the country" not get it?

I think your reading a bit too much into it. It's not an embarassment, it's a p*ss take, nothing more nothing less. People like it because it's catchy and the video is fairly funny.
    Kirsty McCall will be 10 years dead this Saturday. Surely a much better thing to do would've been to get Fairy Tale of New York to number 1. It's a finger up to Simon Cowell and XFactor, it's a proper Christmas song, and above all it's not a bloody embarrassment.

Please god no. Anything but Fairy Tale of New York. I hate that f***ing song :mad:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Android 666

Please god no. Anything but Fairy Tale of New York. I hate that f***ing song :mad:.

What?!!? Even Ronan Keating's version?!?!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

What?!!? Even Ronan Keating's version?!?!

Ronan Keating murdered it as well? I always switch stations whenever it comes on so I don't realise there were different versions.

I think your reading a bit too much into it. It's not an embarassment, it's a p*ss take, nothing more nothing less. People like it because it's catchy and the video is fairly funny.

Your reply to that quote doesn't really make sense? Did you quote the wrong bit?

Regardless, I'll address both points.

I think it's an embarrassment in the fact that it barely deserves to be called music, and in terms of it being used as an anti XFactor campaign when it's just another money making scheme which lines someone elses pockets is a bit rediculous.
    I've since been informed that it's not an anti xfactor campaign, it's just a campaign to get it to number 1. Still, it's hardly music is it.

I don't find it funny, but I understand why other people clearly do. And although I don't think it's comedy or music, I don't think it's going to cause an epidemic of kids trading bags of yokes for horses nor is it painting Limerick in any worse a light than it's already been painted.

As for the accent thing, I'm just baffled by how many comments I've seen about how people in Dublin obviously don't get the humour, or the references. As I've said, this song could easily be transfered to any urban area in the country and everything they're saying would still apply. We're not that big a country that things would get lost in translation.

• Registered Users Posts: 608 ✭✭✭t0mm13b

Ahhhh ffs, listen up yiz lot of yous, as a proud Limerick man, I pity the poor foo' who put-down and say "Oi doan like rubberbandits" epitomises party-poopers, we need a cheer from the misery and crap on TV, such as "IMFecked 2010", the government's chasin-their-own-tails... for those miserable lil sh!ts - grow up and learn to laugh, the country truly needs it. If we get to #1 spot, that'll be the equivalent of the "Ole, Ole Ole" back in the early 90's (that was the state of Ireland back then with misery an' all), it might lift up our moods which is what this country needs.... for those that are "set in their ways" go back to your misery cave..... nuff said... GWAN RUBBERBANDITS....

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Props to nialler9

http://www.nialler9.com/2010/12/15/listen-liveline-rubberbandits-willie-odea/

this is radio gold. Stick with it til blind boy from rubberbandits comes on the line and kills.

lordgoat wrote: »
    Props to nialler9

this is radio gold. Stick with it til blind boy from rubberbandits comes on the line and kills.

There's already a thread discussing the liveline thing... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056120439

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭yawnstretch

Girlfriend just played this to me and we both had a decent laugh.

Fair play to them - Christmas number 1

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭brucechan

Fairytale of New York? Thats a great song and then it gets played 5000 times a day. Rubberbandits are a COMEDY act, and if people like it, they'll be no.1. CHALK IT DOWN!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭ludwit

i wasn't expecting to like it considering their previous output but along with the video for some reason it just works.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭NoseyMike2010

The girl wearing the blue dress in da video is a ride! I'd ride her like a horse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Jaysus they wreck me bulb. Seamus wants to be famous is way better

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭manster

x2_3c3a694

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Anything but Cage against the machine, lol get it, lol it sounds like rage against the machine but it's a John Cage piece of non-music sh1te, ohhh lollers. That'll show them, we'll force all the radio stations to play silence, because you know, they definitely will, they won't just not bother. That will show those pesky comercialists. *strokes goatee and adjusts lenseless glasses while trying to pull skinny jeans out of ass*

strobe wrote: »
    Anything but Cage against the machine, lol get it, lol it sounds like rage against the machine but it's a John Cage piece of non-music sh1te, ohhh lollers. That'll show them, we'll force all the radio stations to play silence, because you know, they definitely will, they won't just not bother. That will show those pesky comercialists. *strokes goatee and adjusts lenseless glasses while trying to pull skinny jeans out of ass*

Wasn't there a recorded minutes silence in the charts only the other week as a charity thing for Remembrance Sunday. It was literally silence and there was a video with a bunch of celebrity types wearing poppies and looking sad.
    These cage people didn't think their campaign through very well. Nobody's going to buy a cover version of a silent song that they all bought a few weeks earlier. Silly billies.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

From the paper of record - http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/features/2010/1216/1224285643246.html

No-one was able to post former minister O'Dea's response to the non-rhetorical question "What's a bag of yokes, Willie?". The answer of course is either "A hundred quid wholesale" or "A foal". It's kinda strange no-one knew before now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

This is crap, true and real representation of Irish music like Crystal Swing should be number one...

YA RIGHT! This is ****ing hilarious, I'm not getting any clulchie vibes from it. I hope people do know there are more cities in Ireland than Dublin and Limerick is one of them.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭amacca

I

The Saw Doctors released a Christmas song this year with all the money going to charity, surely backing a song where nobody profits except charity would've been a proper way of sticking it to the commercialism of xfactor.

well call me an uncaring scumbag but personally speaking I dont by music for charitable reasons...I buy it because I enjoy it no matter what genre it comes from....thats the only criteria I use when buying music

if it came out of the x-factor and I enjoyed it I'd buy it (i've never actually enjoyed anything from the x-factor btw)

if it came out of a horses arse and I enjoyed it I'd buy it.

and for what its worth I enjoyed "I've a horse outside", could'nt stop laughing mostly when video is viewed at the same time...

so I'm going to buy it....no matter how disrespectful/embarrassing etc it is, that I suspect is why its so popular

a lot of people do seem to actually enjoy it

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Real music fans barely pay for albums, never mind singles.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Kold wrote: »
    Real music fans barely pay for albums, never mind singles.

How does one go about giving money for music? Is it a new concept?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

How does one go about giving money for music? Is it a new concept?

Gigs yo. If I had paid for my entire music collection I'd be in debt for life. I buy stuff I really want but I listen to far more music than I can afford and it perpetuates an industry that can't die fast enough. If the record industry crashed tomorrow, music would not die out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭NWPat

I like it and I am from London. It is funny, it is art and it is better than any of the Sh*t on ITV that passes for entertainment. If you don't get it, thats OK, because I don't get X factor, strictly, soap operas, Joe Duffy, Neil Prenderville and all the other Wa*k that the media and business tells me I should.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 willielovesall

This buying music thing is a new concept to me! what is this itunes that people speak of?

And why is Joe Duffy a general twat?

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭Fergaloc

Whats wrong with the song? I find it pretty funny, now it probably wouldn't be AS funny if I hadn't known who they were and seen all of their other videos.

I find it catchy.. I also know most of the whole off by heart. :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

It's funny - simple as. And its really catchy, I heard it once and couldn't get it out of my head. Fair play lads - we all need a laugh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

NWPat wrote: »
    I like it and I am from London. ...
    Cool. Would you user name indicate that you're in the NW post-code area (Camden, Islington, etc.)? I lived near The Angel myself for a while donkeys years ago. I can just picture the Rubberbandits biggin' it up in the Roundhouse out on Chalkfarm Road :D

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 9,889 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Props to nialler9

He certainly was able to argue his case well......

And while I think it was weird for Willie O'Dea to be defending them it is good that he isn't trying to close them down.....

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭littlemis

What I am interested to know is why so against Rubberbandits,is it because of where they come from?????Did the recent budget include cutbacks to the Craic .....Is the rudeness and crudeness only acceptable east of the Shannon...:confused: