Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

You may not marry your mother - and 27 other exclusions

• 14-12-2010 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Registered the intention to marry in July today, apparently has to be done.
    Below is a list of people you are not allowed to marry in the state of Ireland that was on the form we had to sign

Personally i thought #12 was fair game :pac:
    Prohibited Degrees of Kindred and Affinity

A man may not marry his

1. Grandmother
    2. Grandfather’s Wife
    3. Wife’s Grandmother
    4. Father’s Sister
    5. Mother’s Sister
    6. Father’s Brother’s Wife
    7. Mother’s Brother’s Wife
    8. Wife’s Father’s Sister
    9. Wife’s Mother’s Sister
    10. Mother
    11. Stepmother
    12. Wife’s Mother
    13. Daughter
    14. Wife’s Daughter
    15. Son’s Wife
    16. Sister
    17. Son’s daughter
    18. Daughter’s daughter
    19. Son’s son’s wife or Daughter’s son’s wife
    21. wife’s son's daughter
    22 Wife’s Daughter’s Daughter
    23. Brother’s Daughter
    24. Sister’s Daughter
    25. Brother’s son’s wife
    26. Sister’s son’s wife
    27. Wife’s Brother’s Daughter
    28 Wife’s sister’s daughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,522 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

thats pretty sexist, where's the list of what the woman can't do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Apparently it's ok to marry your son in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

snyper wrote: »
    Below is a list of people you are not allowed to marry in the state of Ireland that was on the form we had to sign

They just give you that list for ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

if it's all consensual then i don't see why you shouldnt be allowed marry them..... discrimination otherwise eh :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

That sounds like my elderly aunt telling me gossip and trying to get me to remember who someone is. "He's the son of Yer wan who was married to herself, who was the daughter of that woman who was married to Rosie's son".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

thats pretty sexist, where's the list of what the woman can't do?

http://www.groireland.ie/getting_married.htm
    A woman may not marry her

1. Grandfather
    2. Grandmother’s husband
    3. Husband’s grandfather
    4. Father’s brother
    5. Mother’s brother
    6. Father’s sister’s husband
    7. Mother’s sister’s husband
    8. Husband’s father’s brother
    9. Husband’s mother’s brother
    10. Father
    11. Stepfather
    12. Husband’s father
    13. Son
    14. Husband’s son
    15. Daughter’s husband
    16. Brother
    17. Son’s son 18. Daughter’s son
    19. Son’s daugh
    ter’s husband 20. Daughter’s daughter’s husband
    21. Husband’s son’s son
    22. Husband’s daughter’s son
    23. Brother’s son.
    24. Sister’s son
    25. Brother’s daughter’s husband
    29. Sister’s daughter’s husband
    27. Husband’s brother’s son.
    28. Husband’s sister’s son

I see no animals on this list.

Huzzah, my day has come.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

It's ok as long as I can still marry my good looking first cousins.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,522 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

well that's all right then. :D

biko wrote: »

no, they excluded same sex marriage in the line before the bit i quoted.
    SexOne party to a marriage must be male and the other female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I'd have presumed you couldn't marry your husband/wife's anything, as you'd already have a spouse. If you're divorced or widowed, then they're not your husband anymore surely? Similarly with your aunt's uncle's cat's owner's husband - if he's a husband he must be already married.

Or are they saying that if my aunt got divorced I couldn't marry her ex-husband?

Mrmoe wrote: »
    It's ok as long as I can still marry my good looking first cousins.:pac:

Law says:

- totally unrelated by blood mother in law is bad
    - your mothers sisters daughter that shares the same grandfather and genes as you - good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

I wonder has anyone ever looked at the list and went
    "eh on second thoughts I dont think I'll bother"

If this is a church jobby you might also want to crack on with booking the pre marriage course, can be a bit of a waiting list and the priest was quite insistant on getting it done

A man may not marry his

1. Grandmother
    2. Grandfather’s Wife
    3. Wife’s Grandmother
    4. Father’s Sister
    5. Mother’s Sister
    10. Mother
    11. Stepmother
    12. Wife’s Mother
    13. Daughter
    14. Wife’s Daughter
    15. Son’s Wife
    16. Sister
    17. Son’s daughter
    18. Daughter’s daughter
    23. Brother’s Daughter
    24. Sister’s Daughter
    25. Brother’s son’s wife
    26. Sister’s son’s wife

My head hurts.

Thoie wrote: »
    I'd have presumed you couldn't marry your husband/wife's anything, as you'd already have a spouse. If you're divorced or widowed, then they're not your husband anymore surely? Similarly with your aunt's uncle's cat's owner's husband - if he's a husband he must be already married.

Or are they saying that if my aunt got divorced I couldn't marry her ex-husband?

Well, im assuming you cant marry anyone else if you are already married. Tbh, im no too sure either.- So when we were in the reg office today I just looked at my missus and asked her who her mother and father was - they were not the same as mine - so we continued

red menace wrote: »
    I wonder has anyone ever looked at the list and went
    "eh on second thoughts I dont think I'll bother"

If this is a church jobby you might also want to crack on with booking the pre marriage course, can be a bit of a waiting list and the priest was quite insistant on getting it done

The course is in Feb.

Cant wait :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,099 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

The word "daughter" has lost all meaning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

The course is in Feb.

Ours was done between 10 and 5 with an hour for lunch one staurday
    the guy flew through it and with actual good advice re finaces and and the like
    I know, I was as shocked as anyone

red menace wrote: »
    Ours was done between 10 and 5 with an hour for lunch one staurday
    the guy flew through it and with actual good advice re finaces and and the like
    I know, I was as shocked as anyone

This one is friday evening and all day saturday, :mad:

And 150 euro :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

This one is friday evening and all day saturday, :mad:

And 150 euro :mad::mad:
    TBH the safe pass is cheaper and you get more out of it, (at least you would know how to dispose of her properly when the time comes....;))

I just looked at my missus and asked her who her mother and father was - they were not the same as mine - so we continued

What larks there'll be when her mother sits on one side of the aisle and her father on the other come the big day. You are getting married in a supermarket, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The course is in Feb.

Just ride yer finace on the guy's desk, he'll soon let you out.

or at least you'll feel it was €150 well spent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

It would cause some pandemonium if you pinned that list up down at the camp site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

How could it be if its illegal to marry your mother.

Wouldnt that make you a bigamist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Didn't bother reading any of the above but just thought I'd say thanks for the idea for the title of my next album.

tommy21 wrote: »
    Didn't bother reading any of the above but just thought I'd say thanks for the idea for the title of my next album.

Is it "I'm marrying my oul one"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Snyper I dare you to issue an open invitation to all boardsies to your afters, it would be gas if thousands of boardsies turned up!!! Free gaff at Snypers!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

DonJose wrote: »
    Snyper I dare you to issue an open invitation to all boardsies to your afters, it would be gas if thousands of boardsies turned up!!! Free gaff at Snypers!!!

His afters :confused: What a dreadful reference to his fiancee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

Law says:

- totally unrelated by blood mother in law is bad
    - your mothers sisters daughter that shares the same grandfather and genes as you - good

So I can marry my mother's sister's daughter, even if she is my daughter?

Ana suimiuil, ar fad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭fend

Brother's sister's uncle's mother's cousin's daughter...

I'm getting a migrane....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Zeitgeist observation: nobody has used the phrase "yore ma" in this thread so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

It's even more stringent than I had expected. What's wrong with a non-blood relative, like an Auntie related by marriage?

Fair game IMO.

Also, you can marry your brother's wife, but not your auntie? Seems a bit lopsided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

And your great grandmother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

17. Son’s daughter
    18. Daughter’s daughter
    Wouldn't it have been handier to just write "granddaughter"?

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭mawdz

11. Stepmother
    12. Wife’s Mother
    25. Brother’s son’s wife
    26. Sister’s son’s wife

All fair game to me :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Bunch of wierdos hanging around here.

Personally, I'm just going to marry my mirror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

How can a man who's married, married anyone, since polygamy is illegal?
    Why all the mention of "wife's" blah blah?

Does it mean if he gets divorced, he may not marry his ex-wife's mother etc.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

No feckin' list is going to tell me who I can or can't marry.

That's my Mammy's job.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Wouldnt that make you a bigamist?

Ive been called alot worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Ring-A-Ding-Ding...............I see corpses are still allowed.

Time to crack open some cold ones :pac:

Duggy747 wrote: »
    Time to crack open some cold ones :pac:

Ewwwwwww! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

A man may not marry his

1. Grandmother
    2. Grandfather’s Wife
    3. Wife’s Grandmother
    4. Father’s Sister
    5. Mother’s Sister
    10. Mother
    11. Stepmother
    12. Wife’s Mother
    13. Daughter
    14. Wife’s Daughter
    15. Son’s Wife
    16. Sister
    17. Son’s daughter
    18. Daughter’s daughter
    23. Brother’s Daughter
    24. Sister’s Daughter
    25. Brother’s son’s wife
    26. Sister’s son’s wife

Apart from it being very unlikely any person would wan't to marry these people, why is it illegal? There's no blood connection?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

lots on that list are techinicalities are they not?
    for instance you cant marry your wifes mother, but if your wife becomes your ex, her mother just becomes fair game no? unless you have had kids with your wife that is, in which case the bloodlines come into it, but otherwise she's just some older woman no?

17. Son’s daughter
    18. Daughter’s daughter

Could they not just say wife's aunt, your granddaughter, or your wife's granddaughter?

Saila wrote: »
    lots on that list are techinicalities are they not?
    for instance you cant marry your wifes mother, but if your wife becomes your ex, her mother just becomes fair game no? unless you have had kids with your wife that is, in which case the bloodlines come into it, but otherwise she's just some older woman no?

They don't usually give your kids/ex-wife transfusions if you remarry, but I'm sure if you ask they might make an exception for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

no, they excluded same sex marriage in the line before the bit i quoted.
    SexOne party to a marriage must be male and the other female
    I think we could go before a constitutional court and argue that this refers to hens and stags.

Apart from it being very unlikely any person would wan't to marry these people, why is it illegal? There's no blood connection?

You cant be married to two people at the same time.

It would have to have the word ex in front of it for it to become a non issue

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Jaysus, by July , suppose I'd better get started meself.

*checks out Russian mail order brides*