Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster (Including Dublin): Cold spell and snow discussion (15/12/2010)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

Can anyone explain the 0z etc type models? I've learnt alot but this I haven't!

The 0z are the models for midnight that night. Same as the 18z is for 6pm.

They generally are released about 3 and a half hours after that time so the 0z will be out about 03:30 etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,350 ✭✭✭naughto

Yawn , can we PLEASE have one national thread ,these spats are really tiresome !

no i think its only fair to have a thread for each region

• Registered Users Posts: 9,233 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The regional thread thing will only prove its worth when it gets really busy with people posting 4 times a minute etc.

In reality people really need to exercise a little F5-rationing in the upcoming spell - 1,000 people posting and refreshing 5 times a minute means boards was taking 5 minutes to load a single page and times, and collapsed it altogether. The feedback guys say it wasn't the weather forum, but the problem ceased when the snow stopped.

I might set up an IRC room or something for those who want to have a natter-type chat and leave boards for update and proper discussion.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,017 ✭✭✭Tom Cruises Left Nut

sdonn wrote: »
    The regional thread thing will only prove its worth when it gets really busy with people posting 4 times a minute etc.

In reality people really need to exercise a little F5-rationing in the upcoming spell - 1,000 people posting and refreshing 5 times a minute means boards was taking 5 minutes to load a single page and times, and collapsed it altogether. The feedback guys say it wasn't the weather forum, but the problem ceased when the snow stopped.

I might set up an IRC room or something for those who want to have a natter-type chat and leave boards for update and proper discussion.

An IRC room would be a great idea

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Vudgie

The predictions for the east appear to be getting even more serious by the hour. If what is predicted comes to fruition things could get really interesting depending on your perspective. Either way roll on the next few days to see what happens as this feels like it has taken an age to come around.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭MilanPan!c

So wait, has the Leinster/Dub forecast been intensified in the last dew hours??

• Registered Users Posts: 14,514 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Just some of the nuts and bolts from the updated boards forecast, adapted to your regional forum ...

1. TIMING OF THE FIRST ARCTIC BLAST

0900 north Leinster
    1130 Dublin-Athlone
    1500 south coast

2. WHAT HAPPENS THEN?

It turns rapidly colder, with squally mixed showers turning to all snow, if just briefly ... flash freeze conditions especially on roads outside Dublin city centre where volume of traffic likely to keep roads slushy. If you plan to travel by road, expect good conditions before this front to turn to poor conditions quite rapidly, and you may even have a period where it's advisable to pull off the road and have a meal or whatever while the front does its business, slight improvements could follow but in general it gets colder so the icy conditions might get even worse especially in west to north parts of Leinster where snow from the northwest might be heavier.

3. FRIDAY?

A very cold, windy day with passing hail and snow showers. Road conditions are likely to be rather poor in general, may be passable enough near the coast but an additional hazard in these conditions can occur when bright sun breaks through low scudding shower clouds, especially if you're heading towards the sun. I think accumulations in Leinster on Friday will be greater well inland west and north as the wind will stay in a W-NW direction.

4. HOW ABOUT THE WEEKEND?

Heavy snow is now considered quite likely throughout Ireland but Leinster could take the heaviest hit. This is an organized storm rather than just streamers, there won't be much of an "Isle of Man" shadow effect in play, and it appears possible that this could be a snowstorm or even a blizzard by defined standards in Ireland. There could be heavy snow both days and amounts could reach 20-30 cms. Some mixing to sleet is possible along the seafront but it will generally be cold enough for accumulating snow.

5. WILL IT END BY CHRISTMAS?

I think this period of heavier snow will taper off to flurries but could reload to a further snowfall at some point towards Christmas Eve. The chances of a general thaw seem to be diminishing on models and I personally think it will stay cold, but you could say a one in three chance of a thaw possibly if you want to estimate the chances.

6. TRAVEL DISRUPTIONS?

Unfortunately, it seems quite possible that airlines, buses and trains may experience delays and cancellations in parts of Ireland, U.K. and nearby parts of Europe. Personal road travel may be risky, possible in some cases, but whether advisable or not depends on your vehicle and driving skills in snow.

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭qwert2

My pet rabbit who lives in the garden has been acting weird oer the last couple of days. It's been trying to get into the house. It's never done that before. Also the cat has been doing nothing but sleeping all day. I wonder if animals can detect severe cold on the way?

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭taffy lulu

Yay

• Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭Xxhaylsxx

qwert2 wrote: »
    My pet rabbit who lives in the garden has been acting weird oer the last couple of days. It's been trying to get into the house. It's never done that before. Also the cat has been doing nothing but sleeping all day. I wonder if animals can detect severe cold on the way?

I was thinking the same thing my dog and cat are doing the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭irishmotorist

At least you can have a stew if your provisions start to run low...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭pad199207

ah here lads your all going well over board with this weekend , although yee have me excited for leinster getting the heavy snow this weekend, but tbh i dont think it will happen

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭jarvis

pad199207 wrote: »
    ah here lads your all going well over board with this weekend , although yee have me excited for leinster getting the heavy snow this weekend, but tbh i dont think it will happen

What science are you basing you opinion on???? Read MT's post and do your own equally impressive post detailing the logic behind your opinion!..... No?
    MT says it will snow....... Then it'll snow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭istabraq

Met eireann slowly coming to join the party:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Feck it anyway!

I wanted to go down to Galway to pick up a jeep Sunday - it can snow all it likes after that! :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭piskins72

the last cold snap, the extremly cold days, my cat slept all day long, hardly moved except to eat and use litter tray initally I though he was sick or something, I was speaking to the lady I board my cat with when I am away and she said all her cats were doing the same thing!! so there must be something to it for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

piskins72 wrote: »
    the last cold snap, the extremly cold days, my cat slept all day long, hardly moved except to eat and use litter tray initally I though he was sick or something, I was speaking to the lady I board my cat with when I am away and she said all her cats were doing the same thing!! so there must be something to it for sure.

What are yiz like?

Cats sleep nearly all day every day all year 'round!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 16,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzo

snow is great but right now I do not really want it, last thing I want is to be snowbound the week before christmas preventing me from going to party nights out and pub sessions. This happened last year and it was terrible. Christmas holidays is a time for socialising with friends and family, not to be snow-bound/cabin fever for the holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭piskins72

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    What are yiz like?

Cats sleep nearly all day every day all year 'round!

haha nope not my cat :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭pad199207

jarvis wrote: »
    What science are you basing you opinion on???? Read MT's post and do your own equally impressive post detailing the logic behind your opinion!..... No?
    MT says it will snowio

oh fair play to him and i hear he has a very reputable reputation on this in terms of weather and i must say hes VERY BRAVE to put that reputation at risk with a forecast like that.

+1 to him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 jaycarlow

Can people who admit to not being experts please stop posing the followin line

Im not an expert and after reading the experts view of snow on the way....." i still dont think it will snow at all to be honest" :mad::mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,012 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Gonzo wrote: »
    snow is great but right now I do not really want it, last thing I want is to be snowbound the week before christmas preventing me from going to party nights out and pub sessions. This happened last year and it was terrible. Christmas holidays is a time for socialising with friends and family, not to be snow-bound/cabin fever for the holidays.

Pigs will fly the day snow stops me from getting to the pub

• Registered Users Posts: 959 ✭✭✭maringo

Just had a look here - hope we dont get the snow though - my dog is sleeping a lot too - only going out to do the necessary!:eek:

http://sat24.com/gb

• Registered Users Posts: 200 ✭✭jimmy.d

jaycarlow wrote: »
    Can people who admit to not being experts please stop posing the followin line

Im not an expert and after reading the experts view of snow on the way....." i still dont think it will snow at all to be honest" :mad::mad:
    just dont answer them they will soon get feed up if no one reply back:cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭flanzer

maringo wrote: »
    Just had a look here - hope we dont get the snow though - my dog is sleeping a lot too - only going out to do the necessary!:eek:

You can see that Arctic air wiping out everything in it's path! Wow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Brenireland

maringo wrote: »

haha so exciting the say the winter is a dogs summer,your dog must be resting so when it comes he can go out and roll around in it all day/month long!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I don't have a cat or dog..

I've read M.T. Cranium's excellent forecast..

Can any of the experts (weather experts rather than pet owners ;)) be slightly more specific to Carlow regarding the snow?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Brenireland

foxinsox wrote: »

Can any of the experts (weather experts rather than pet owners ;)) be slightly more specific to Carlow regarding the snow?

Cold spell returns tomorrow,cold/frost possibility(strong) widespread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Snowman10

foxinsox wrote: »

I hope to god it doesnt snow in carlow around the town at least or in graigue i wont be able to get around

• Registered Users Posts: 224 ✭✭muirsheen

Can I ask if i may do you think New ross will get snow?

(please don't shoot me)