Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ospreys v Munster, 18 Dec, KO 15:30pm. SS1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

That annoying trait of Irish rugby players, the kick along the ground is so annoying to see at this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭D-Generate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Very scary stuff for Munster. They need the bonus point here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

jesus take the losing BP and run lads.

ah ****....

Ospreys penalty, 5m lineout.

So much dead wood at Munster right now. Tuitopu has done nothing since he joined, except give away penalties and get banned. The scrum is piss poor. Lots of change needed. :(
    Relax. They're up against a fine side. Munster will be a solid bet if they get through to playoffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

A few years ago Munster would be pounding the Ospreys' line looking for a try. Today we are scrabbling around on our try line praying for a bonus point.

Edit: umpteenth scrum shambles. We don't deserve anything here.

Mafi is a disgrace

Mafi binned for illegal tackle.

Ospreys penalty under the posts. tap and go

Shock horror, Mafi getting a yellow card.

Can't for the life of me understand why Ospreys didn't take the scrum there

FT

19-15

Ospreys totally lost it at the end, I can't believe they didn't take scrums at the end. Would have walked over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Stupid from the Ospreys. Really should have gone for the scrum.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

Wanna see a replay of that though.

Don't think we have enough points to even make playoffs. Miracle match could be coming up against LIrish for last match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,985 ✭✭✭budhabob

What happened between rog and Philips?we have to get rid of mafi.

JustinDee wrote: »
    Relax. They're up against a fine side. Munster will be a solid bet if they get through to playoffs

With a scrum like that im not optimistic :(

After the last game I said if we played as poorly as that again we would lose. We did, and we did. Ospreys let us off the hook there.

Management need to do something about the scrum shambles, and Leamy needs to use his head, made some bad calls earlier in the game. Tuitopu is looking like a waste of space. Didn't notice Murphy on the pitch at all until about 55 minutes in.

On the other hand, Ospreys are a good team, and we still have a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭eigrod

Have to win in Toulon now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

mike philips is like wales prettier version of bakkies botha.
    he either instigates or is involved in fisty cuffs in every match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I thought Mafi was unfortunate he never let go in the tackle! Phillips was just looking for a row all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Munster got out of jail there. Can't believe Ospreys didnt call a scrum at the end. Would have crushed Munster. But Toulon got their bounus point which pretty much negates Munsters one. Toulon will crush Munster at scrum time too with Carl Heyman. Munster may only now be able to get to 16 points..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Still can make it but two wins are needed.

castie wrote: »
    With a scrum like that im not optimistic :(
    Australia won the Bledisloe Cup two years running with no scrum. The irish scrum in 2009 wasn't exactly earthquakes either but a grand slam still during that year. They did this by adapting gameplan.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Australia won the Bledisloe Cup two years running with no scrum. The irish scrum in 2009 wasn't exactly earthquakes either but a grand slam still during that year. They did this by adapting gameplan.
    back in 2001?

Love to see the stats for each team on ball retention in their own scrum.
    Having a bad scrum is one thing but losing it constantly as well just adds to it.

Yeah, miracles happen sometimes. It's not really much of a gamplan though, counting on a miracle every match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

I hope Kidney was watching because maybe now he'll wake up and realise you can't go far without a scrum. Penalty after to penalty to the Ospreys, Buckley and Hayes got butchered. Our 2 best scrummaging tightheads are. Mike Ross and Jamie Hagan and it's about time he started to take note.

Quint2010 wrote: »
    Munster got out of jail there. Can't believe Ospreys didnt call a scrum at the end. Would have crushed Munster.

In the post-match interview Alun Wyn Jones said "apparently there wasn't time for one". Did Poite say something to them?

Du Preez 4
    Varley 7 - His carrying is excellent.
    Buckley 3 - Was absolutely mullered on his side. Scored a good try.
    DOC 6
    MOD 7
    Coughlan 6
    Wallace 7
    Leamy 6
    TOL 6
    ROG 6
    Murphy 5 - Never got into the game.
    Tuitupou 7
    Earls 6
    Howlett 7 - Brilliant kick for Earls try.
    Warwick 7

Hayes 2 - Brought on for Buckley to sort the scrums, epically failed.
    Quinlan 6
    Stringer 7

Table
    Toulon 13
    Munster 11
    Ospreys 10
    L Irish 5

Toulon vs Munster
    L Irish vs Ospreys
    Ospreys vs Toulon
    Munster vs L Irish

Well away to Toulon is a must win now, I'll be there so it should be brilliant!

What a pool. You gotta love the Heineken Cup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

A pathetic piece of refereeing from Poite. Ospreys were taking out tacklers all game and were lying all over the rucks.

Hopefully Collins will face time out for his tussle with Leamy at the start of the game, he went at his face (ie. eye area) and took off Leamy's scrumcap, dangerous play and should have seen a yellow (at least).

How Phillips finished the match I don't know, he knocked Wally with a shoulder charge. Then at the end of the game he threw a dig at ROG and should have been carded for that. But what can you expect from French Refs... :rolleyes:

Mafi's yellow was ridiculous, on first viewing there was nothing wrong with it. He lifted the man but big effin' deal, its a contact sport.

I doubt we'll see any of the hairsprays cited, but I wouldn't be surprised to see Mafi and TutiFruity cited for "dangerous" tackles by the "impartial" citing commisioner...

A pathetic display from the lads in red, they have completely lost their clinical edge and should have won the game.

Folks, relax! Lol
    The ref, the scrum, they fouled and Munster no way did ... zzzzzz
    Had Biggar been pulled up by the asst ref, Munster would have had a 5m scrum on Ospreys line. Munster's scrum hasn't changed that much over the past 3 or 4 years.
    Credit where credit is due. Ospreys were good for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

ROG is the biggest coward i've ever seen if Phillips is acting up then a right hook will put him in his place. i dont think he made a tackle all day

the scrum and lineouts were diasters. i dont believe its all down to flannery and POC being missing.whoever is the munster forwards coach would want to be looking at himself what are they doing in training all week.

Buckley just aint good enough its that simple and its an area munster need to rectify. Mafi was unfotunate for his binning but i'd have him ahead of Tuitopu every time

slingerz wrote: »
    ROG is the biggest coward i've ever seen if Phillips is acting up then a right hook will put him in his place. i dont think he made a tackle all day

In the post-match interview Alun Wyn Jones said "apparently there wasn't time for one". Did Poite say something to them?

As Greenwood said after the ref has to allow time for a scrum if they opt to go for it

Folks, relax! Lol

Had Biggar been pulled up by the asst ref, Munster would have had a 5m scrum on Ospreys line. Munster's scrum hasn't changed that much over the past 3 or 4 years.
    Credit where credit is due. Ospreys were good for the win.
    I agree with the bit in bold. But perhaps not even getting out of our group isn't really good enough for Munster.

Serious rebuilding is needed I think. The great players are too old, and the young players aren't good enough (with exceptions in both categories, of course).

A pathetic piece of refereeing from Poite. Ospreys were taking out tacklers all game and were lying all over the rucks.

Hopefully Collins will face time out for his tussle with Leamy at the start of the game, he went at his face (ie. eye area) and took off Leamy's scrumcap, dangerous play and should have seen a yellow (at least).

How Phillips finished the match I don't know, he knocked Wally with a shoulder charge. Then at the end of the game he threw a dig at ROG and should have been carded for that. But what can you expect from French Refs... :rolleyes:

Mafi's yellow was ridiculous, on first viewing there was nothing wrong with it. He lifted the man but big effin' deal, its a contact sport.

I doubt we'll see any of the hairsprays cited, but I wouldn't be surprised to see Mafi and TutiFruity cited for "dangerous" tackles by the "impartial" citing commisioner...

A pathetic display from the lads in red, they have completely lost their clinical edge and should have won the game.

A very one-eyed view of proceedings. Poite missed plenty of Munster infractions, as every ref does. A good performance from him.

Surely a miscommunication!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

Exactly what I called but someone said to me that it should be a 22 drop out. At least someone else agrees with my call :) Now off to touch judge a match :D

Quint2010 wrote: »
    As Greenwood said after the ref has to allow time for a scrum if they opt to go for it

I know but it was an odd choice of words. I'd say I'm just reading too much into it. He did also say that they probably wouldn't have gotten the try if they'd went for the scrum so probably just panicked then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Craig Dowling

poite is a pathetic ref he hates munster

but munster need a scrum they were butchered there
    got out of jail with a LBP
    toulon away and needing a win *shudders*

A very one-eyed view of proceedings. Poite missed plenty of Munster infractions, as every ref does. A good performance from him.

Little decisions are always missed and its up to the team to play the ref but Phillips should not have finished the match and if Collins did what it looked like he did, he will be out for the rest of the season, deservedly so. Leamy was indicating to the ref that they went at his eyes but he didn't have the balls to go against (the lack of) home support.

Surely a miscommunication!
    Well he's not going to tell somebody as unqualified in the game as Graeme Simmons that he let the heat of the moment get to him and he made a mistake.
    I know I wouldn't

I know but it was an odd choice of words. I'd say I'm just reading too much into it. He did also say that they probably wouldn't have gotten the try if they'd went for the scrum so probably just panicked then.

Jeez I dunno. They would have looked good for a penalty try anyway

kensutz wrote: »
    Exactly what I called but someone said to me that it should be a 22 drop out. At least someone else agrees with my call :) Now off to touch judge a match :D
    Correct actually. 22 would have been the right call.

Well he's not going to tell somebody as unqualified in the game as Graeme Simmons that he let the heat of the moment get to him and he made a mistake.
    I know I wouldn't

Fair point

Little decisions are always missed and its up to the team to play the ref but Phillips should not have finished the match and if Collins did what it looked like he did, he will be out for the rest of the season, deservedly so. Leamy was indicating to the ref that they went at his eyes but he didn't have the balls to go against (the lack of) home support.

I didn't see the Collins issue.

What did Phillips do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Lawstudent1

Poite was poor to both teams. He probably cost Ospreys a bonus point by wrongly saying that they didn't have time for a scrum at the end so for that I'm grateful! I also don't think Collins should be cited I mean its rugby after all it was a bit of hand bags and there wasn't even a punch thrown!
    Really disappointed with the result but I have every confidence that Munster will pull out an incredible performance and go onto to beat Toulon convincingly. They've done it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭kensutz

Correct actually. 22 would have been the right call.

Yeah 22. I thought he was still in play but then noticed Biggar was actually in goal.

I didn't see the Collins issue.

What did Phillips do?

The Collins issue looked bad at the time and Leamy was pretty pissed about it.

Phillips hit Wally with a blatent shoulder charge, why he was on the ground holding his head. In the last min of the game ROG and Phillips were having a scuffle and he smacked ROG in the face. Thats why ROG ignored him everytime he came up after the match trying to look the bigger man.

The Collins issue looked bad at the time and Leamy was pretty pissed about it.

Phillips hit Wally with a blatent shoulder charge, why he was on the ground holding his head. In the last min of the game ROG and Phillips were having a scuffle and he smacked ROG in the face. Thats why ROG ignored him everytime he came up after the match trying to look the bigger man.

Ah yes. At the end of the game when Munster players disappeared with the ball trying to waste time? Have no sympathy for O'Gara there.

Didn't have a problem with the Wally incident either. Maybe a bit overaggresive but certainly nothing to penalise.