Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Night on the Tiles

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭dermo909

Jeez, talk about turning someone off going out in waterford!

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭uncle-mofo

Jesus I was in the Toddle last night and if I'd known that had happened I would have steered clear! Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

dermo909 wrote: »
    Jeez, talk about turning someone off going out in waterford!

It happens everywhere though, I don't think Waterford is any worse then say Cork/Kilkenny/Galway it's certainly not as dodgy as Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭jay.i.am

Still no sign of F.S.G anyone else worried that she may have got caught up in The Toddle friday.:eek: Who knows maybe she started it over access to the
    V.I.P area.Just a thought hope shes ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 FadeStGal

Afternoon everyone

First of all, just want to thank all those who helped by not suggesting to go the Toddle. Fortunately didn't go there on Friday. Sounds appalling.

Wasn't too sure why everyone got so defensive over a thread asking about Waterford nightlife... but now I can understand. Still doesn't really excuse the ignorance towards myself/my posts but whatever....

Anyway, we went to most places suggested over the weekend (Mason's, Revolution, Escape, Harvey's, etc..) I was going to review each place we went to but I don't want to step on any toes. Who knows who here owns/works in these places :p

It may be obvious which place I am referring to with some of this but here goes...

One of the bars/clubs has an upstairs section with seating. VIP? LOL! No chance. Instead, teenagers either fighting or 'more than kissing'. Was not happy walking through this area to get to the toilets. Some other 'minor' incidents in here such as a girl throwing and breaking a glass off her fella. Not thrown out though :eek:

We decided to find somewhere else for the last hour or so. Little did we know we were entering a Jack and Jones advert! Very rough crowd in here, most boasting giant hooped earrings or thick gold chains too.

On Saturday, we tried a different place. Absolutely packed. Dreadful night in there I have to say. We made our feelings known to the bouncers when we left. They had a chat with someone who seemed to be a manager and we were assured that we would be taken care of if we came back the following night. Given that we were going out again anyway, we gave it a shot. We were looked after I have to say, free cocktails and we had an area sectioned off by the dance floor. Fair play to the staff.

So we made the best of the weekend, as much as we possibly could. Will probably be going away for our next big weekend I think though.

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭jimbojazz

FadeStGal wrote: »
    Afternoon everyone

First of all, just want to thank all those who helped by not suggesting to go the Toddle. Fortunately didn't go there on Friday. Sounds appalling.

Wasn't too sure why everyone got so defensive over a thread asking about Waterford nightlife... but now I can understand. Still doesn't really excuse the ignorance towards myself/my posts but whatever....

Anyway, we went to most places suggested over the weekend (Mason's, Revolution, Escape, Harvey's, etc..) I was going to review each place we went to but I don't want to step on any toes. Who knows who here owns/works in these places :p

It may be obvious which place I am referring to with some of this but here goes...

One of the bars/clubs has an upstairs section with seating. VIP? LOL! No chance. Instead, teenagers either fighting or 'more than kissing'. Was not happy walking through this area to get to the toilets. Some other 'minor' incidents in here such as a girl throwing and breaking a glass off her fella. Not thrown out though :eek:

We decided to find somewhere else for the last hour or so. Little did we know we were entering a Jack and Jones advert! Very rough crowd in here, most boasting giant hooped earrings or thick gold chains too.

On Saturday, we tried a different place. Absolutely packed. Dreadful night in there I have to say. We made our feelings known to the bouncers when we left. They had a chat with someone who seemed to be a manager and we were assured that we would be taken care of if we came back the following night. Given that we were going out again anyway, we gave it a shot. We were looked after I have to say, free cocktails and we had an area sectioned off by the dance floor. Fair play to the staff.

So we made the best of the weekend, as much as we possibly could. Will probably be going away for our next big weekend I think though.

To be honest I think most of the comments left here were just a bit of banter and lads having a crack.

But I'd be interested to know why you were looked after in this pub and why it would appear you felt you should have had preferential treatment over the normal punters in that ye were given free drinks and had an area sectioned off.

Was one of your party harassed or assaulted or something.

You seem to have it in your head that you are above the normal clientele from reading your posts.

Realistically Waterford is a small city and the choice here is limited. We dont have the variances of Dublin, Cork, Galway or Limerick and this means that most places will have a mix of people who go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Step on as many toes as you'd like. It's a discussion forum and anyway, if you're going away somewhere else next time, you may as well :).

Going to guess that you started at Masons, then went to Escape and then Harveys for Sat/Sun?

Really want to say that it was Escape that you were looked after in because I've never heard of the managers getting involved to look after people in Harveys and that's what's confusing me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

have a pretty clear idea of where ye were each night alright, no need to name names as the venues in question would be fairly obvious to people who know them by your description but i cant imagine Harveys bouncers/management really giving too much of a toss whether you enjoyed your night there or not so cant see why they would give you free drinks and rope off a section.

Care to elaborate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

I don't see why any place would rope off a section unless it was for a very big group, like a bus full of hen nighters or if the people paid a bit for the roped off section. That said I would avoid a place that has this.

What's the point in going out if you want to segregate yourself? Why not just have a house party?

Maybe I'm getting old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

dayshah wrote: »
    I don't see why any place would rope off a section unless it was for a very big group, like a bus full of hen nighters or if the people paid a bit for the roped off section. That said I would avoid a place that has this.

What's the point in going out if you want to segregate yourself? Why not just have a house party?

Maybe I'm getting old.

I think he said that he lives in an apartment :p

Actually, an outsiders view on the pubs/clubs in the town might be interesting to read

Id be curious as to what ye thought of the venues/customers/prices/music etc... detailed though rather then, "it was ****e" and so on

kryogen wrote: »
    Actually, an outsiders view on the pubs/clubs in the town might be interesting to read

Id be curious as to what ye thought of the venues/customers/prices/music etc... detailed though rather then, "it was ****e" and so on

Some how or another I don't think the OP is an outsider.

me neither, was just a thought i had :)

would be interesting to me anyway to hear what people from other parts of the country think of Waterfords night life

kryogen wrote: »
    me neither, was just a thought i had :)

would be interesting to me anyway to hear what people from other parts of the country think of Waterfords night life

Yeah I agree with you it would be an interesting thread on its own,started by genuine people not from Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭Musicman2000

jimbojazz wrote: »
    To be honest I think most of the comments left here were just a bit of banter and lads having a crack.

But I'd be interested to know why you were looked after in this pub and why it would appear you felt you should have had preferential treatment over the normal punters in that ye were given free drinks and had an area sectioned off.

Was one of your party harassed or assaulted or something.

You seem to have it in your head that you are above the normal clientele from reading your posts.

Realistically Waterford is a small city and the choice here is limited. We dont have the variances of Dublin, Cork, Galway or Limerick and this means that most places will have a mix of people who go there.

The minute this thread was posted I said to myself here we go, and especially when a VIP area was asked for, Can I ask fade street girl why you wanted a VIP area? do you think you and your pals are better than any other punter? Because if I was in a show like fade street I would hang my head in shame, and I find it very hard to believe free cocktails were handed out for the night and you should name the venues you were in so the rest of us can kick up a fuss and get free drinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

The minute this thread was posted I said to myself here we go, and especially when a VIP area was asked for, Can I ask fade street girl why you wanted a VIP area? do you think you and your pals are better than any other punter? Because if I was in a show like fade street I would hang my head in shame, and I find it very hard to believe free cocktails were handed out for the night and you should name the venues you were in so the rest of us can kick up a fuss and get free drinks

Does it really matter if FSG wanted a VIP area to socialise with her friends? Is FSG can afford to hang out in VIP areas good luck to her. Shock horror someone with a few extra €'s wants to spend it as she wishes :eek:. It may well be possible that none of the locals get free cocktails after complaining about x, y or z because said locals say nothing and just accept p!ss poor standards as they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭newportwex

I'm a very very important person so I demand VVIP treatment when i go out in Waterford, and I usually get it. VIP would be a disapointment for me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 FadeStGal

Thanks for your post tonc76. Was feeling like I should stop posting from the negative comments on here :(

I said in my earlier post that I didn't mean to be snobby with the VIP question. It's surely not too much to ask to have a small area to ourselves?

I'm sure nobody here likes a drunken mess bumping into you and spilling drinks all over the place? Complaining to each other doesn't get you anywhere. We said it to the bouncers and they and the other staff were helpful. It's not like we waltzed in asking for preferential treatment.

The cocktails were merely a gesture of good-will. I imagine that we did spend quite a bit of money there that night, but again there was no mention of being better than anyone on my part.

The venues were quite quickly identified if you read the thread. I said I'd rather not name them myself. So if you want to know... read the thread.

To those who have been nice enough to help.....

Can you guys tell me about the bars on the Dunmore Road? I may be around more than expected at Xmas so looking for some new places to try. Is it a much older crowd than the city centre?

FSG X

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

FadeStGal wrote: »

Can you guys tell me about the bars on the Dunmore Road? I may be around more than expected at Xmas so looking for some new places to try. Is it a much older crowd than the city centre?

I think the VIP term is annoying. If one person is a VIP it makes everyone something else. If there was a big group of you it makes sense to have an area sectioned off, so you can stay sitting together after dancing. I've gone to birthday parties that were in a pubs function room. Its a bit like a VIP area but without that 'snobbyness' about it. How many of you were there?

Why were you given the cocktails? Was it that someone was hassling your group in the pub and the bouncers didn't deal with the situation properly? If someone was knocking over your drinks I think they should apologise and replace them. If a bouncer sees that they don't do this I think its reasonable they be kicked out.

Dunmore Rd has a generally older crowd. The Uluru would have some younger people too though. The best advice is just to give it a go and see if you like it. If you don't like it you can always leave and then head into town :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Harvey's giving something for free? I call shenanigans.