Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National: Severe Cold/ Snow Discussion (Thanks to all!)

• Registered Users Posts: 37 DelBoyCORCAIGH

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    it's snowing people in cork. not sticking, but it's snowing:D

Miracles do happen:P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,177 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

same in north cork - some drop in temperatures from earlier!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

Thought I'd post this for posterity: Those "Géop z500" charts have very dark blue and purple colours associated with them but that basically indicates an area of Low Pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Clear skys this evening in cork midlands after an afternoon of corkGraupel roads will be cork treacherous tonight...

it would be good if it cork city snowed as it would offer some grip for people corking travelling...

Sky news giving some serious cork weather for week ahead...:cool:

Fucorker!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Yup. Temp dropped crazy fast too, like 3-4 degrees in half an hour.

Very wet snow/rain here atm. Near airport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Vizual Pics

Heavy snow in Castlebar now, just in the door after driving from Athy, roads were fine all the way apart from a shower of snow/sleet/graupel in Kildare. Glad to be home now to watch this unfold! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭ellieh1

Fucorker!

Can you put a cork in it? :p:D

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭laurence997

No need for a regional Cork thread. Just rename this one :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

If all the Cork posters pull together they can have a white Xmas!

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭DIF

seanTynan wrote: »
    I remember a few years ago it snowed heavily in Cork City on Christmas day.
    Was it that long ago??
    think that was 2004 or 2005... happy days our one snowfall that decade!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Brenireland

TheZohan wrote: »
    haha,a lads stop taking the cork pee,this is serious cork Ireland could be corked wiped out by this snow storm...

now back on corkicI mean topic...

• Registered Users Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

we're expecting a heat-wave down here in the rebel county this christmas... ye can keep your snow i'm taking out the barbie and starting summer early this year.... bbq'd turkey anybody?:D

You laugh but not too many years ago for the craic we actually did have a Christmas day BBQ. It got very messy in the end, but a jolly good laugh! Neighbours thought we had been knocked on the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

TheZohan wrote: »
    lol:D

Come on Cork. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭wild handlin

Only *just* a dusting here outside Enniskillen, the showers do seem to be getting heavier.

Biting wind outside, air tempature has dropped to -0.1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

haha,a lads stop taking the cork pee,this is serious cork Ireland could be corked wiped out by this snow storm...

now back on corkicI mean topic...

Bren, these Cork 'jokes' are wearing thinner than an arse-pickers underpants now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Probably been mentioned already but I'm only after getting home now

Heavy snow in Letterkenny all day, wasnt sticking until a couple of hours ago but everythings white now an with frequent and heavy showers it could be a fun night :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Brenireland

snow ghost wrote: »
    Bren, these Cork 'jokes' are wearing thinner than an arse-pickers underpants now.

agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Just Contribute

Redisle wrote: »
    Yup. Temp dropped crazy fast too, like 3-4 degrees in half an hour.

Very wet snow/rain here atm. Near airport.

Nothing here in Ballincollig at the moment. It rained for ten minutes at 11:20 but nothing since.

Very cold, strong wind though.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭DIF

snaps wrote: »
    You laugh but not too many years ago for the craic we actually did have a Christmas day BBQ. It got very messy in the end, but a jolly good laugh! Neighbours thought we had been knocked on the head.
    hi snaps, i like your idea.... maybe i'll do something similar.... hmmmm time to start a cunning plan me thinks!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭th3 s1aught3r

Anyone place a bet on a white christmas ?

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭noah45

Dry and +1C in athlone
    boo hoo:(

• Registered Users Posts: 103 ✭✭moogester

Few pics :)

IMG_1606-1.jpg

IMG_1607-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Newtown90

Nothing in Bishopstown :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭fulhamfanincork

Glenviewjf wrote: »
    Nothing in Bishopstown :(

nor douglas :(

• Registered Users Posts: 907 ✭✭✭bandit197

Heavy Snow here now

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Clear moonlite night here stars shining. Ominous clouds rolling in from nw and north. This will be the first after dark shower if it makes it this far. Have to go for a quick drive. Just my luck.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

Heavy snow here now.

Windy so it is blowing it around big time. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,138 ✭✭✭snaps

Heavy snow here now.

You in Westport? All the showers seem to be going around me.

noah45 wrote: »
    Dry and +1C in athlone
    boo hoo:(

We had an appetizer @14:10, just wait 'till the main course arrives. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭chelseavera

Heavy snow here now.

Where's that snow ghost? Graupel in Bofeenaun (butt of Neiphin) 20 mins ago - very cold .... working tonight in Castlebar! Fun Fun!!