Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National: Severe Cold/ Snow Discussion (Thanks to all!)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭rc28

Some of the photos were shocking however. I do suspect that some of '82 was more localised than the impression given on threads.

Yes my older relatives have told me time and time again that 82 was only exceptional for north leinster ie Dublin, Meath, East Kildare and South Louth. There was far less snow in south Leinster and basically nothing from the midlands westwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Kev_tag

Well lads, where's it snowing now? Not falling in D12 at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭joe199

comming down heavy hear

• Registered Users Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

I'd hate to be working out there now, or even trying to get a flight!! Horrible:(

Oh it must be just desperate for all involved,workers,families stranded,and relatives worried,can't think of much else worse.Fair play to the airport workrs for doing all they can in this unpreceedented weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭dubal

heavy snow again in Rathfarnham

Dubal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

Snow whacking it down in Dublin 15 again... thought we had escaped!

joe199 wrote: »
    comming down heavy hear

Must be on its way this way so!!;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭jo06555

nizo888 wrote: »
    Cool radar image of a snow covered Ireland from yesterday. Ah, I can see now why the folks in Waterford are so frustrated!

http://met.ie/news/display.asp?ID=97

Edit for high res version http://met.ie/metadmin/useruploads/file/1164.jpg

:D iv given up on snow now at this stage ...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,642 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

angel01 wrote: »
    Snow whacking it down in Dublin 15 again... thought we had escaped!

That's probably coming this way too..........?

Starting off again here in D12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Not

Looks like south Dublin is in the IOM shadow again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

Certainly looks like our snow is coming to and end in the next 12 hours or so but the models are showing that the UK will be plastered on Christmas Day.

If that forecast changes and moves to the West then the East Coast will be hammered again :eek:

We can only wait with fingers crossed (some want more snow, some don't)

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Kazzehh

I take it back, snowing now in Terenure

Not wrote: »

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

• Registered Users Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

rc28 wrote: »
    Yes my older relatives have told me time and time again that 82 was only exceptional for north leinster ie Dublin, Meath, East Kildare and South Louth. There was far less snow in south Leinster and basically nothing from the midlands westwards.

All my relations and neighbours from back home in south Louth do not remember 1982 as being particularly bad. I was talking with some of them recently after the foot or so of snow in the area. They all separately said the 1978/1979 winter was much worse, and which ended up with a hefty snowstorm on St. Patrick's day 1979.

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭odyboody

Wife just told me there was another slurry.
    I said surely you mean flurry.
    She said I know exactly what I mean theres more sh1t falling from the sky:rolleyes:

Kev_tag wrote: »
    Starting off again here in D12

Radars must be even more banjaxed than I thought !

Edit : Yep, snowing in Terenure now !

• Registered Users Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭dfbemt

Airport not closed but nothing moving for the next 10 minutes - working on runway.

It is crazy out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Rougies

I think I'm just gonna report when it's NOT snowing from now on. No report here at the moment :)

dfbemt wrote: »
    Airport not closed but nothing moving for the next 10 minutes - working on runway.

It is crazy out there.

They're gonna end up closing it again, by the sounds of it. They're certainly earning their money out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 sboyle

does anyone know if waterford will get any snow?

• Registered Users Posts: 76 ✭✭Cabra

Snowing in Dublin 7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭angel01

Omg it has got much heavier now in D15, it is really endless :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭craggles

Not wrote: »

Tallaght definitely isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Strings

Airport transmissions sound crazy. Reckon it will be touch and go in the next hour.

craggles wrote: »
    Tallaght definitely isn't.

Radars indicated an IOM shadow, but they seem to be fecked. It's snowing everywhere in Dublin going by reports.

Edit : except Killiney...

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭beco

Not snowing in Killiney

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Strings wrote: »
    Airport transmissions sound crazy. Reckon it will be touch and go in the next hour.

ATC definitely earning their keep

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

yeah waiting on the break test results

does anyone have a link to ATC ?