Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National: Severe Cold/ Snow Discussion (Thanks to all!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I have to drive home to the north next week and it doesn't sound like it's going to feck off anytime soon. Not really fancying the idea of driving on dodgy roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

I thought I just heard a clap of thunder in West Dublin(Ballyfermot)?

That was just a sawn off shotgun

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭jack01986

Some darker clouds here in Dublin anyone think its gonna reach here?

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Samash

looking at the radar looks like more heavy showers on the way judging by the path the showers that hit us just now came from!...long evening ahead!

ya, looking at rain today there seems to be more on the way for us :D
    stopped snowing here now and by the radar that precip looks to be heading towards the city now!

• Registered Users Posts: 131 ✭✭mojopolo

milly4ever wrote: »
    the sky out here looks amazing, so many snow clouds!

Look what's about to hit us!

http://www.raintoday.co.uk/

• Registered Users Posts: 7,276 ✭✭✭kenmc

jack01986 wrote: »

I think that'll be cos we're officially after "sunset" :)

• Registered Users Posts: 31,080 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

That usually happens towards sunset.

edit: damnit, beaten!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Snowing in cork.

big county?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

I really hope not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 UpDonegal

Looks like this more prolonged spell of snow has started over most of donegal now! Like Artic conditions in Letterkenny last hour now, heavy snow & blizzard, quite strong wind! Whiteout, good few inches!!

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭popflop

mojopolo wrote: »
    Extreme weather warning from the Met Office UK for Co Antrim, Derry and Down. Never seen that before :eek:

Hope it reaches where i live west of warrenpoint :)

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭Alzar

Not a hint snow here in Clonmel.....:mad:

Al.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

Am I the only one who doesn't want any snow?

well as im self employed and live up on a hill, i would'nt be a fan of it. but if it arrives and according to MT 40cms is on the way, but i'll believe that when i see it, i'll have to work around it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭dacogawa

This is the model that is talked about (GFS) and it does look very wrong

10121906_1712.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 6,323 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

there are clouds, but is coming. oi:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Jaysus!! Belfast about to get hammered !!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,643 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Alzar wrote: »
    Not a hint snow here in Clonmel.....:mad:

Al.

It'll probably travel further south as the night goes on. Ye might wake up to a blanket of it in the morning?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Showers are beginning to look like they may make it to Meath in the next while, hopefully they will eventually hit the citah.

i know i said this morning i'll be patient, but i came home from studying in town to see something decent

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Samash

mojopolo wrote: »
    Look what's about to hit us!

http://www.raintoday.co.uk/

:eek: oh my goodness!
    so jealous! ha we are only after one shower here and i was quiet pleased with that! now i want more :D

Showers are beginning to look like they may make it to Meath in the next while, hopefully they will eventually hit the citah.

Citeh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Harps

Holy crap this is getting unbelievable, heavy blizzard for the past hour, looking at raintoday theres no end in sight, theres a constant stream of snow for probably the next hour and a half :eek:

small flakes here in northside of cork city

the hills will soon be white.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Just finished work there - on the way home and my friend from work rang me to say it's snowing like mad on the link toward the jack lynch tunnel yet I'm in cork city centre and just a misty rain??!! I'm thinking the heavy snow coming from the north is moving eastwards as it comes down and is missing us?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭dacogawa

Harps wrote: »
    Holy crap this is getting unbelievable, heavy blizzard for the past hour, looking at raintoday theres no end in sight, theres a constant stream of snow for probably the next hour and a half :eek:

Have a look at this, i think it might be a bit longer (thanks to OPR for image)

low.png

• Registered Users Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    small flakes here in northside of cork city

the hills will soon be white.

No I dnt think so - raining in city centre

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Starting to snow now here in Ringaskiddy. Big wet flakes. I'm stuck in work though. I might pop out for a smoke.

(well a play in the snow really :))

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Rougies

leahyl wrote: »
    Just finished work there - on the way home and my friend from work rang me to say it's snowing like mad on the link toward the jack lynch tunnel yet I'm in cork city centre and just a misty rain??!! I'm thinking the heavy snow coming from the north is moving eastwards as it comes down and is missing us?

Looking at the radar, that big blob split in two, with the city center right in the middle I'm afraid. Looks like there'll be more in the next few hours though.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,382 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

My garden in Boyle, about an hour ago and it's still snowing heavily

EDIT: I made an arse of that upload...

Rougies wrote: »
    Looking at the radar, that big blob split in two, with the city center right in the middle I'm afraid. Looks like there'll be more in the next few hours though.

What about Dublin West? Will it miss us too?