Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National: Severe Cold/ Snow Discussion (Thanks to all!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 454 ✭✭irishdub14

Hey, what ever happened to 'Dublin gets everything', wheres me snow? :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

Rougies wrote: »
    lol, when you first posted it the pic was so big all I could see was an extreme closeup of snowflakes ;)
    Ah yes sorry about that lol

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭miseagustusa

Me, you and miseagustusa (that's quite funny) should form an informer ring.

First one to see snow gets a cookie.

hahahaha that actually was quite funny :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Rougies

You know, that Gerry Murphy lad is alright :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Cú Giobach

Rougies wrote: »
    It's all the whinging Cork accents driving me mad! At least a happy Cork accent is bearable ;):D

Happy accent here, everything turning white.
    Big fluffy flakes. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭Pangea

Coastal areas of North and West getting most snow tomorrow :D
    Thanks Gerry I always knew you would pull through in the end

• Registered Users Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

Stargate wrote: »
    Ha you`ll be there for the day with a name that long Caesar Augustus :D

You're right, I should bring my corona out to er, keep it cool. And keep the caligraphic tank topped up.

• Registered Users Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ffarrell7

Jake1 wrote: »
    Im hoping west dublin gets a few hours of heavy snow .

Why is it they always whinging in Cork?? Because it never snows there!!! Snwoing here again in D. 15 albeit lightly.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

no snow in dub yet

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭Beth

Jeepers that Cork city shield is working well :eek:.
    I have heard (from the Cork lads that work with me) about this Cork 'micro-climate', and it is something to do with the natural harbour (Cobh), but I took no heed to it until now, it really seems to be working :D, seriously tho, is there any truth to this idea, ie. Cork micro-climate, natural harbour etc !!! :confused:
    Its snowing in Kanturk and Bandon pretty well ;)
    So its definitely hit Cork, whether it makes it to the city is anyones guess!

Cars are having difficulty getting up the slope into the estate - sliding down it backwards (could be idiot drivers too crawling up it, I havent been out in it). As soon as the tracks on the road are made, its covering up again fairly quickly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 Cleavage1970

Steady snow fall in Athboy, Co. Meath the past hour or so!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭littlefriend

Pangea wrote: »

What did he say?

• Registered Users Posts: 270 ✭✭miseagustusa

kegg wrote: »
    Ye had enough a fortnight ago! Its our turn now! :D

We didnt have much:( the rest of wicklow/wexford/dublin had loads but arklow seemed 2 miss out with the isle of man shadow:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Lads seriously HEAVY snow in cork city!!! Omg!!!!! And gerry Murphy says severe snow for south tomorrow night!!!:eek::eek:

ffarrell7 wrote: »
    Why is it they always whinging in Cork?? Because it never snows there!!! Snwoing here again in D. 15 albeit lightly.:D

yeah back again here too. Fingers and toes crossed for more :)

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭Ogie84

finton wrote: »
    but seriously, reckon ye'll get some this time round, maybe tonight, hold tight
    Currently bucketing it down now, yard outside has gone from partially covered to totally covered. Heavy shower of it coming in from the north west

• Registered Users Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭davehey79

roads are not great to say the least from longford to strokestown. few pics below of the days snow

72018_464264790833_626040833_6047433_676565_n.jpg

this is from before i set out for work this morn havnt got outto remeasure the depth but below pics are from now

164049_464264890833_626040833_6047435_7868922_n.jpg

58062_464264920833_626040833_6047436_1948032_n.jpg

164884_464264960833_626040833_6047437_1651719_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭aurora 527

According to ME the south coast still looks like it's in for its fair share!!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 16,771 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Pangea wrote: »

snow shower to continue overnight as well. later tomorrow could be heartbreak hotel for some and ecstasy for others

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

leahyl wrote: »
    Lads seriously HEAVY snow in cork city!!! Omg!!!!! And gerry Murphy says severe snow for south tomorrow night!!!:eek::eek:

Glad to hear you got some, at last, you deserve your share.

I see more showers on their way across Galway, some look quite beefy.

PS. the ignore button is very handy;)

• Registered Users Posts: 148 ✭✭dmaprelude

Small sprinkling in Saggart/Citywest :) woo hoo!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Lads this is amazing!! I'm nearly crying here! So beautiful!!! And a week before Christmas!( I'm sad I know:o)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

Ogie84 wrote: »
    Currently bucketing it down now, yard outside has gone from partially covered to totally covered. Heavy shower of it coming in from the north west

What part of Cork Ogie84 ?

is it to snow all night can anyone tell me? or just much later on?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Rougies

both :) all night in some parts, later on for the east

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭B0X

Lads this is amazing!! I'm nearly crying here! So beautiful!!! And a week before Christmas!( I'm sad I know:o)

Jaysus, with that devotion when you make a snowman you'll have sworn you'd given birth or something!

Ah, Im delighted for you :) enjoy.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,068 ✭✭✭Iancar29

Rain today is ur best guess .. :)... any stew planned for 2moro? hhaha

• Registered Users Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

If you didn't get your snow, there couldn't have been a God.
    Delighted for ya. Snowing heavy here in Glanmire too.
    FFFFFFFFFfarell take that:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Stargate

leahyl im out the southside and theres nothing .. jez :eek: